Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-11, 17, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoo (20190157612).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo teaches an display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (par. 7); and
an encapsulation film (fig. 3: 1) on the display panel, the encapsulation film including:
an adhesive layer (fig. 3: 13; par. 69); and
an oxygen barrier layer (par. 57-86) on the adhesive layer, the oxygen barrier layer including:
binder resin (par. 68), and
oxygen collecting particles dispersed in the binder resin, the oxygen collecting particles including a first metal oxide that includes a crystal structure consisting of first metal sites and oxygen sites, wherein the crystal structure is in an oxygen deficiency state (par. 58-60).
Regarding claim 9, Yoo teaches an display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the oxygen barrier layer includes the oxygen collecting particles at a content of 0.5 to 50 wt % based on a total weight of the oxygen barrier layer (par. 65, 121).
Regarding claim 10, Yoo teaches an display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the oxygen barrier layer has a thickness of 5 to 50 μm (par. 67, 119).
Regarding claim 11, Yoo teaches an display apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the oxygen barrier layer has a thickness of 5 to 20 μm (par. 67, 119).
Regarding claim 17, Yoo teaches an display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the encapsulation film further includes a moisture barrier layer disposed on the oxygen barrier layer, and the moisture barrier layer includes adhesive resin and absorbent dispersed in the adhesive resin (par. 20).
Regarding claim 21, Yoo teaches a encapsulation film comprising:
an adhesive layer (par. 7); and
an oxygen barrier layer on the adhesive layer, the oxygen barrier layer including:
binder resin (par. 68), and
oxygen collecting particles dispersed in the binder resin, the oxygen collecting particles including a first metal oxide that includes a crystal structure consisting of first metal sites and oxygen sites, wherein the crystal structure is in an oxygen deficiency state (par. 58-60).
Claims 1-8, 12-14, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (20220209185).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (fig. 3: DA); and
an encapsulation film (fig. 3: 140) on the display panel, the encapsulation film including:
an adhesive layer (fig. 3: 141); and
an oxygen barrier layer (fig; 3: 143 + 143a) on the adhesive layer, the oxygen barrier layer including:
binder resin (fig. 3: 143; par. 74), and
oxygen collecting particles dispersed in the binder resin, the oxygen collecting particles including a first metal oxide that includes a crystal structure consisting of first metal sites and oxygen sites, wherein the crystal structure is in an oxygen deficiency state (fig. 3: 143a; par. 76-78).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first metal oxide is in a reduced state (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a bond energy of a first metal-oxygen bond is greater than a bond energy of an oxygen-oxygen bond in an oxygen molecule O.sub.2 (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the bond energy of the first metal-oxygen bond is greater than 498 kJ (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the bond energy of the first metal-oxygen bond is in a range of 550 kJ to 850 kJ (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first metal oxide includes at least one metal selected from actinium Ac, boron B, barium Ba, berkelium Bk, cerium Ce, curium Cm, dysprosium Dy, erbium Er, gadolinium Gd, germanium Ge, hafnium Hf, holmium Ho, lanthanum La, lawrencium Lr, ruthenium Ru, niobium Nb, neodymium Nd, neptunium Np, zirconium Zr, and osmium Os (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first metal oxide includes a cerium oxide represented by Chemical Formula 1:
CeO.sub.x [Chemical Formula 1] wherein 1.5<x<2 (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the first metal oxide is the cerium oxide, and wherein the crystal structure consists of: cerium at the first metal sites, oxygen at the oxygen sites, and at least one oxygen site being vacant (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the oxygen collecting particles have an average particle diameter of 0.5 to 10 μm (par. 77).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the oxygen collecting particles have an average particle diameter of 1 to 3 μm (par. 77).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the binder resin includes at least one binder selected from an acrylic polymer, an olefin-based polymer, an ester-based polymer, a silicon-based polymer, an amide-based polymer, a rubber-based polymer, and a copolymer thereof (par. 56, 62, 74).
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches a encapsulation film comprising:
an adhesive layer (141); and
an oxygen barrier layer on the adhesive layer, the oxygen barrier layer including:
binder resin (143 + 143a), and
oxygen collecting particles dispersed in the binder resin, the oxygen collecting particles including a first metal oxide that includes a crystal structure consisting of first metal sites and oxygen sites, wherein the crystal structure is in an oxygen deficiency state (par. 76-78).
Regarding claim 22, Kim teaches a encapsulation film according to claim 21, wherein the first metal oxide is in a reduced state (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 23, Kim teaches a encapsulation film according to claim 21, wherein a bond energy of a first metal-oxygen bond is greater than a bond energy of an oxygen-oxygen bond in an oxygen molecule O.sub.2 (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 24, Kim teaches a encapsulation film according to claim 23, wherein the bond energy of the first metal-oxygen bond is greater than 498 kJ (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 25, Kim teaches a encapsulation film according to claim 21, wherein the first metal oxide includes a cerium oxide represented by Chemical Formula 1:
CeO.sub.x [Chemical Formula 1] wherein 1.5<x<2 (par. 77-80).
Regarding claim 26, Kim teaches a encapsulation film according to claim 25, wherein the first metal oxide is the cerium oxide, and wherein the crystal structure consists of: cerium at the first metal sites, oxygen at the oxygen sites, and at least one oxygen site being vacant (par. 77-80).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 is objected to based on its dependence on claim 16.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 31 is objected to based on its dependence on claim 30.
Claims 32 and 33 allowed.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818