DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed November 10, 2025 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed August 11, 2025. Claims 1-8 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 10, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the information handling resource bay does not include a first side and a second side, wherein the mechanical guard is connected to the first side and the second side, because fool-proof member 230 is mounted to top plate 213 (Arguments, pages 5-6). However, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, Examiner submits the amendments do not prevent fool proof member 230 from being interpreted as being coupled, via its connection with top plate 213, to a first and second side of slot 211, considering top plate 213 defines a rear end of slot 211 (see annotated Figure 6A below; see also Paragraph [0025]). Specifically, a first half of member 230 is connected/coupled to a first half of slot 211, and a second half of member 230 is connected/coupled to a second half of slot 211.
However, even if the claims clarified the mechanical guard was directly coupled to a first and second sidewall defining the information handling resource bay, as suggested by Examiner in the Interview on November 5, 2025 (see Interview Summary Record mailed November 7, 2025), Examiner notes Hartman (US Publication No. 2016/0205804) teaches a similar configuration, where brace 246 is directly coupled to sidewalls defining an information handling resource bay (220, 238; see Figures 2-3 below). Cowles (US Publication No. 2013/0288494) also teaches a similar configuration (see base plate 27 in Figures 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the compatible information handling resource" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret the cited limitation as --a compatible information handling resource-- for the purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US Publication No. 2021/0126400).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses an information handling system comprising: a motherboard (Figures 6A-6B, circuit board 220); an information handling resource bay (slot 211, including portion of plate 213 defining rear of 211) comprising a first side (first half of 211) opposite to a second side (second half of 211); a first connector (connector 221) coupled to the motherboard (220) and configured to electrically couple to a compatible information handling resource (Paragraph [0029]-[0030], electronic device 100 with insert member 130 coded to engage with fool proof member 230) inserted into the information handling resource bay (211); and a mechanical guard (fool-proof member 230) coupled to the first side (first half of 211) and the second side (second half of 211) of the information handling resource bay (211) such that the mechanical guard (230) covers a portion of an opening (rear opening of 211) of the information handling resource bay (211) proximate to the first connector (221, where connector 221 is also located at a rear of slot 211), wherein the mechanical guard (230) is arranged relative to the opening (rear opening of 211) such that when an attempt is made to insert an incompatible information handling resource (Paragraphs [0029]-[0030], electronic device 100 with insert member 130 not coded to engage with fool proof member 230) into the information handling resource bay (211), the mechanical guard (230) mechanically interferes with an interference feature (uncoded 130) of the incompatible information handling resource (100 with uncoded 130) to prevent full insertion of a second connector (connector 120 of electronic device 100 with uncoded 130) of the incompatible information handling resource (100 with uncoded 130) into the first connector (221).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses a system comprising: an information handling resource bay (slot 211, including portion of plate 213 defining rear of 211) comprising a first side (first half of 211) opposite to a second side (second half of 211); and a mechanical guard (fool-proof member 230) coupled to the first side (first half of 211) and the second side (second half of 211) of the information handling resource bay (211) such that the mechanical guard (230) covers a portion of an opening (rear opening of 211) of the information handling resource bay (211) proximate to a first connector (electrical connector 221, where connector 221 and fool-proof member 230 are both located at a rear of slot 211), wherein the mechanical guard (230) is arranged relative to the opening (rear opening of 211) such that when an attempt is made to insert an incompatible information handling resource (Paragraph [0029]-[0030], electronic device with insert member 130 not coded to engage with fool proof member 230) into the information handling resource bay (211), the mechanical guard (230) mechanically interferes with an interference feature (insert member 130) of the incompatible information handling resource (100 with uncoded 130) to prevent full insertion of a second connector (electrical connector 120 of electronic device 100 with uncoded 130) of the incompatible information handling resource (100 with uncoded 130) into the first connector (electrical connector 221) proximate to the opening (rear opening of 211).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses an information handling resource, comprising: a housing (main body 110); a first connector (electrical connector 120) extending from the housing (110) at a connector end (see Figure 6A) of the housing (110); and a mechanical interference feature (insert member 130) at the connector end (see Figure 6A) of the housing (110) configured to, when an attempt is made to insert the information handling resource (Paragraph [0029]-[0030], electronic device 100 with insert member 130 not coded to engage with fool proof member 230) into a second connector (electrical connector 221) incompatible with the first connector (120), mechanically interfere with a mechanical guard (fool-proof member 230) of an information handling resource bay (slot 211, including portion of plate 213 defining rear of 211) to prevent full insertion of the first connector (120) into the second connector (221), wherein the information handling resource bay (211) comprises a first side (first half of 211) opposite to a second side (second half of 211) and the mechanical guard (230) is coupled to the first side (first half of 211) and the second side (second half of 211) of the information handling resource bay (211).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the information handling resource of Claim 5, and further discloses wherein the mechanical interference feature (130) is formed in the housing (110; where 130 is fit in holes 112 of housing 110).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses the information handling resource of Claim 5, and further discloses wherein the mechanical interference feature (130) comprises a mechanical feature (Figure 4, buckle structure 133) mechanically attached to the housing (110; see Paragraph [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Publication No. 2021/0126400) in view of Cowles (US Publication No. 2013/0288494).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the information handling system of Claim 1, and suggests wherein the compatible information handling resource (electronic device 100) is a compatible power supply unit (Paragraph [0015], wherein devices 100 are part of a power distribution apparatus) configured to be inserted into the information handling resource bay (211) and the first connector (221).
However, Cowles explicitly teaches wherein a compatible information handling resource (device 11) is a compatible power supply unit (see Paragraph [0012]) configured to be inserted into the information handling resource bay (device bay 15 within shelf 10, corresponding to slots 211 within shelf 200 in Lin) and the first connector (connector 65).
Because Lin and Cowles both teach electronic devices being inserted into a power supply device (see Figure 1 in Cowles; see Paragraph [0015] in Lin), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the electronic device of Lin for the power supply device of Cowles according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using interference features on devices inserted into power supply housings (see Figure 1 and Paragraphs [0001]-[0002], [0012] in Cowles; see Paragraph [0015] in Lin).
Regarding claim 4 (as best understood), Lin discloses the system of Claim 3, and suggests wherein a compatible information handling resource (electronic device 100) is a compatible power supply unit (Paragraph [0015], wherein devices 100 are part of a power distribution apparatus) configured to be inserted into the information handling resource bay (211) and the first connector (221).
However, Cowles explicitly teaches wherein a compatible information handling resource (device 11) is a compatible power supply unit (see Paragraph [0012]) configured to be inserted into the information handling resource bay (device bay 15 within shelf 10, corresponding to slots 211 within shelf 200 in Lin) and the first connector (connector 65).
Because Lin and Cowles both teach electronic devices being inserted into a power supply device (see Figure 1 in Cowles; see Paragraph [0015] in Lin), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the electronic device of Lin for the power supply device of Cowles according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using interference features on devices inserted into power supply housings (see Figure 1 and Paragraphs [0001]-[0002], [0012] in Cowles; see Paragraph [0015] in Lin).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses the information handling resource of Claim 5, and suggests wherein the information handling resource comprises a power supply unit (see Paragraph [0015]).
However, Cowles explicitly teaches an information handling resource (device 20), an interference feature (key slot 29) coupled to the information handling resource (20), wherein the information handling resource (20) comprises a power supply unit (see Paragraphs [0001]-[0002], [0012])
Because Lin and Cowles both teach electronic devices being inserted into a power supply device (see Figure 1 in Cowles; see Paragraph [0015] in Lin), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the electronic device of Lin for the power supply device of Cowles according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using interference features on devices inserted into power supply housings (see Figure 1 and Paragraphs [0001]-[0002], [0012] in Cowles; see Paragraph [0015] in Lin).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Klikic (US Publication No. 2017/0265325) also teaches compatible power supply units being installed into a power shelf.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc