DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner submits Syu (US Publication No. 2021/0037668) in view of Michna (US Publication No. 2020/0100380) teaches the claims device for the reasons detailed below.
Examiner also submits Hartman (US Publication No. 2016/0205804) in view of Lin (US Publication No. 2021/0126400) and submits Syu (US Publication No. 2021/0037668) in view of Curnalia (US Publication No. 2010/0182754) would also render the claimed device obvious.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 9, “the second site” should read --the second side--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syu (US Publication No. 2021/0037668) in view of Michna (US Publication No. 2020/0100380).
Regarding claim 1, Syu discloses an information handling system comprising: a motherboard (Figure 3, circuit board 11); an information handling resource bay (cage 122) comprising a first side (first side of 122) opposite to a second side (second side of 122) and a third side (top side of 122), wherein: the first side (first side of 122) and the second side (second side of 122) oppose each other (see Figure 5) and are mechanically coupled to the third side (top side of 122); and the first side (first side of 122) and the second side (second side of 122) each extend at a substantially perpendicular angle from the third side (top side of 122); a first connector (Figure 4, first electrical connector 141) coupled (electrically coupled via connector 111) to the motherboard (11) and configured to electrically couple to a compatible information handling resource (electronic module 13) inserted into the information handling resource bay (122), a mechanical guard (housing of electronic module 14) coupled to the first side (first side of 122, via guide components 143, 1222) and the second side (second side of 122, via guide components 143, 1222) of the information handling resource bay (122) such that the mechanical guard (housing of 14) covers a portion of an opening (rear opening of 122) of the
information handling resource bay (122) proximate to the first connector (141).
Syu does not disclose wherein the mechanical guard is arranged relative to the opening such that when an attempt is made to insert an incompatible information handling resource into the information handling resource bay, the mechanical guard mechanically interferes with an interference feature of the incompatible information handling resource to prevent full insertion of a second connector of the incompatible information handling resource into the first connector.
However, Michna teaches wherein a mechanical guard (comprised of backplane 101 and keying mechanism unit 102) is arranged relative to an opening (rear opening of chassis 100) such that when an attempt is made to insert an incompatible information handling resource (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031]) into the information handling resource bay (space within 100 accommodating devices 1000, 2000), the mechanical guard (101, 102) mechanically interferes with an interference feature (keying features 1005, 2005) of the incompatible information handling resource (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031] and Figure 3B) to prevent full insertion of a second connector (connector 2003) of the incompatible information handling resource (2000) into the first connector (connector 303B).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the keying mechanisms of Michna to the mechanical guard of Syu. Doing so would have ensured an incompatible power component was not plugged into the information handling system (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031] in Michna).
Regarding claim 2, Syu in view of Michna teaches the information handling system of Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the compatible information handling resource (computing device 1000 in Michna, corresponding to electronic modules 13 in Syu) is a compatible power supply unit (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031] in Michna; see Paragraph [0034] in Syu) configured to be inserted into the information handling resource bay (12 in Syu) and the first connector (141 in Syu).
Regarding claim 3, Syu discloses a system comprising: an information handling resource bay (Figure 3, case module 12) comprising a first side (first side of 12), opposite to a second side (second side of 12), and a third side (top side of 12), wherein: the first side (first side of 12) and the second side (second side of 12) oppose each other and are mechanically coupled to the third side (top side of 12); and the first side (first side of 12) and the second side (second side of 12) each extend at a substantially perpendicular angle from the third side (top side of 12); and a mechanical guard (housing of electronic module 14) coupled to the first side (first side of 12, via guiding components 143, 1222) and the second side (second side of 12) of the information handling resource bay (12) such that the mechanical guard (14) covers a portion of an opening (rear opening of 12) of the information handling resource bay (12) proximate to a first connector (electrical connector 141).
Syu does not disclose wherein the mechanical guard is arranged relative to the opening such that when an attempt is made to insert an incompatible information handling resource into the information handling resource bay, the mechanical guard mechanically interferes with an interference feature of the incompatible information handling resource to prevent full insertion of a second connector of the incompatible information handling resource into the first connector proximate to the opening.
However, Michna teaches wherein the mechanical guard (backplane 101, including keying mechanism unit 102) is arranged relative to the opening (rear opening of chassis 100) such that when an attempt is made to insert an incompatible information handling resource (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031], computing device 2000) into the information handling resource bay (100), the mechanical guard (101, 102) mechanically interferes with an interference feature (keying feature 2005) of the incompatible information handling resource (2000) to prevent full insertion of a second connector (connector 2003) of the incompatible information handling resource (2000) into the first connector (connector 303B) proximate to the opening (rear opening of 100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the keying mechanisms of Michna to the mechanical guard of Syu. Doing so would have ensured an incompatible power component was not plugged into the information handling system (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031] in Michna).
Regarding claim 4, Syu in view of Michna teaches the system of Claim 3, and further teaches wherein a compatible information handling resource (computing device 1000 in Michna, corresponding to electronic modules 13 in Syu) is a compatible power supply unit (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031] in Michna) configured to be inserted into the information handling resource bay (12 in Syu) and the first connector (141 in Syu).
Regarding claim 5, Syu teaches an information handling resource, comprising: a housing (Figure 3, housing of 13); and a first connector (131) extending from the housing (13) at a connector end of the housing (rear end of 13); wherein an information handling resource bay (Figure 3, case module 12) comprises a first side (first side of 12) opposite to a second side (second side of 12), wherein the first side (first side of 12) and the second side (second side of 12) each extend at a substantially perpendicular angle from a third side (top side of 12) of the information handling resource bay (12).
Syu does not disclose a mechanical interference feature at the connector end of the housing configured to, when an attempt is made to insert the information handling resource into a second connector incompatible with the first connector, mechanically interfere with a mechanical guard of an information handling resource bay to prevent full insertion of the first connector into the second connector, wherein the mechanical guard is coupled to the first side and the second side of the information handling resource bay.
However, Michna teaches an information handling resource, comprising: a housing (housing of 1000, 2000); and a first connector (connectors 1003, 2003) extending from the housing (housing of 1000, 2000) at a connector end of the housing (rear end of 1000, 2000); a mechanical interference feature (2005) at the connector end of the housing (rear ends of 1000, 2000) configured to, when an attempt is made to insert the information handling resource (2000) into a second connector (303B) incompatible with the first connector (2003; see Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031]), mechanically interfere with a mechanical guard (comprised of backplane 101 and keying mechanism 102) of an information handling resource bay (chassis 100) to prevent full insertion of the first connector (2003) into the second connector (303B; see Figures 3B), wherein the mechanical guard (101, 102) is coupled to the first side (first side of 100) and the second side (second side of 100) of the information handling resource bay (100).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the keying mechanisms of Michna to the mechanical guard of Syu. Doing so would have ensured an incompatible power component was not plugged into the information handling system (see Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031] in Michna).
Regarding claim 6, Syu in view of Michna teaches the information handling resource of Claim 5, and further teaches wherein the information handling resource (13 in Syu) comprises a power supply unit (see Paragraph [0034] in Syu; see also Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017], [0031] in Michna).
Regarding claim 9, Syu in view of Michna teaches the information handling system of Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the compatible information handling resource (13i n Syu, corresponding to 1000 in Michna) is configured to insert into the information handling resource bay (12 in Syu) such that the first side and the second side of the information handling resource bay (first and second sides of 12 in Syu) bracket the information handling resource (13 in Syu).
Regarding claim 10, Syu in view of Michna teaches the information handling system of Claim 4, and further teaches wherein the compatible information handling resource (13 in Syu, corresponding to 1000 in Michna) is configured to insert into the information handling resource bay (12 in Syu) such that the first side and the second side of the information handling resource bay (first and second sides of 12 in Syu) bracket the information handling resource (13 in Syu).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syu (US Publication No. 2021/0037668), Michna (US Publication No. 2020/0100380), and in further view of Lin (US Publication No. 2021/0126400).
Regarding claim 7, Syu in view of Michna teaches the information handling resource of Claim 5, and further suggests wherein the mechanical interference feature (2003) is formed in the housing (housing of 2000).
However, Lin teaches an information handling resource comprising: a housing (main body 110) and a mechanical interference feature (insert member 130), wherein the mechanical interference feature (130) is formed in the housing (110; wherein 130 fits within holes 112 of housing 110).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the mechanical interference feature of Syu as modified by Michna to be formed in the housing, as taught in Lin. Doing so would have improved the modularity and ease of assembly by allowing the interference feature to be easily formed within/to the rear of the housing (see Paragraph [0022] in Lin).
Regarding claim 8, Syu in view of Michna teaches the information handling resource of Claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein the mechanical interference feature comprises a mechanical feature mechanically attached to the housing.
However, Lin teaches an information handling resource comprising: a housing (main body 110) and a mechanical interference feature (insert member 130), wherein the mechanical interference feature (130) comprises a mechanical feature (buckle structure 133) mechanically attached to the housing (110; see Paragraphs [0021]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the mechanical interference feature of Syu as modified by Michna to be mechanically attached in the housing, as taught in Lin. Doing so would have improved the modularity and ease of assembly by allowing the interference feature to be easily coupled to the rear of the housing (see Paragraph [0022] in Lin).
Conclusion
/GAGE CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc