Claim status
Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are pending; claims 1, 16 and 18 are independent. Claims 8-15 and 20 withdrawn from further consideration. Claim 3 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the cited references do not appear to teach or suggest “wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first trace line or the second trace line is configured to be grounded or electrically floating”, as recited in amended claims 1 and 16.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees, Lee clearly taught in fig. 29 and Paras 0299-0301, wherein a plurality of sub-ground lines SGL may extend in the second direction (Y-axis direction). The plurality of sub-ground lines SGL may be connected to the second ground line GRL2 in the sensor peripheral area TPA, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto. The plurality of sub-ground lines SGL may be electrically floating without being connected to the second ground line GRL2. The protection pattern PPE may be electrically floated or connected to the second ground line GRL2 to receive a ground voltage. In this case, because static electricity applied to the sensor electrode SE may be discharged to the protective pattern PPE, the sensor electrode SE may be protected from static electricity (Para 0344, Lee).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 16-17, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2014/0139447), in view of Smith (US 2021/0373711), both references provided by applicant’s IDS, and further in view of Lee (US 2021/0263606).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches an electronic device (fig. 1, a touch screen panel) comprising:
a display layer in which a display region, and a non-display region adjacent to the display region, are defined (fig. 1, a substrate 10 and Para 0046, wherein a substrate 10 having flexibility and divided into an active area and a non-active area positioned at the outside of (e.g., surrounding or around) the active area); and
a sensor layer above the display layer for selectively operating in a first mode for sensing a touch, or in a second mode for sensing folding of the display layer and the sensor layer (fig. 1, and Para 0046, wherein sensing patterns 220 formed on the active area of a first surface of the substrate 10. In Para 0052, the touch screen panel according to this embodiment is implemented with a sensor sensing the presence of bending of the substrate 10, i.e., a bending sensor 240. In fig. 2A/B and Paras 0060-0065, folded or unfolded state of the flexible substrate 10 based on bending sensor 240), and comprising:
first electrode groups arranged in a first direction (fig. 1, sensing cells 220a);
second electrode groups arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction, crossing the first electrode groups (fig. 1, sensing cells 220b),
an insulating layer disposed between the first and second trace lines and the first and second electrode patterns (fig. 4 and Para 0083, wherein an insulation layer (not shown) for securing stability is interposed between the first connecting lines 220a1 and the second connecting lines 220b1), in fig. 8 and Para 0122, an insulation layer 270 is interposed between the first connecting lines 220a1 and the second connecting lines 220b1),
Kang does not expressly disclose the second electrode groups comprising a first electrode comprising first electrode patterns, and a second electrode comprising second electrode patterns in a same column as the first electrode patterns; first and second trace lines extending in parallel, and respectively connected to the first electrode patterns and the second electrode patterns in the same column; and wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first electrode or the second electrode is configured to be grounded or electrically floated.
However, Smith discloses disclose the second electrode groups comprising a first electrode comprising first electrode patterns, and a second electrode comprising second electrode patterns in a same column as the first electrode patterns; first and second trace lines extending in parallel, and respectively connected to the first electrode patterns and the second electrode patterns in the same column, see fig. 7B, and Paras 0074-0075; and wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first electrode or the second electrode is configured to be grounded or electrically floated (figs 3A/B and Paras 0031-0032).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a device of Kang by applying teaching of Smith to include a plurality of column electrodes and each column of touch nodes in touch sensor panel can include four conductive segments having the two-barred cross shape, with alternate conductive segments coupled together via routing (and/or driven with the same drive signal) and forming a column electrode. A touch electrode can have an inherent self-capacitance to ground associated with it, and also an additional self-capacitance to ground that is formed when an object, such as finger, is in proximity to or touching the electrode, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Kang in view of Smith does not expressly disclose wherein the first trace line is electrically connected with the first electrode patterns through first contacts penetrating the insulating layer, wherein the second trace line is electrically connected with the second electrode patterns through second contacts penetrating the insulating layer; and wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first trace line or the second trace line is configured to be grounded or electrically floating.
However, Lee discloses disclose wherein the first trace line is electrically connected with the first electrode patterns through first contacts penetrating the insulating layer, wherein the second trace line is electrically connected with the second electrode patterns through second contacts penetrating the insulating layer, see fig. 19 and 20 and Paras 0234 and 0268, wherein the sensor electrode SE may be connected to the sensor line SL through the sensor contact unit SCNT, and wherein the first and second trace lines overlap both the display region and the non-display region; and wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first trace line or the second trace line is configured to be grounded or electrically floating, see fig. 29 and Paras 0299-0301.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a device of Kang in view of Smith by applying teaching of Lee to include a sensor electrode SE that connected to a sensor line SL through a sensor contact unit SCNT which may be a region that penetrates the first sensor insulating film TINS1 to expose the sensor line SL. The plurality of sub-ground lines may be connected to the second ground line in the sensor peripheral area or the plurality of sub-ground lines may be electrically floating without being connected to the second ground line, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Regarding claim 2, Kang in view of Smith and in view of Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first electrode patterns are arranged in the first direction, wherein the second electrode patterns are arranged in the first direction, and wherein the first electrode patterns and the second electrode patterns are arranged such that at least one first electrode pattern and at least one second electrode pattern alternate with each other along the second direction (fig. 7B, and Paras 0074-0075, wherein a plurality of column electrodes and each column of touch nodes in touch sensor panel can include four conductive segments having the two-barred cross shape, with alternate conductive segments coupled together via routing (and/or driven with the same drive signal) and forming a column electrode, Smith).
Regarding claim 4, Kang in view of Smith and in view of Lee teaches the electronic device of claim1, wherein at least a portion of the first trace line and at least a portion of the second trace line overlapping the display region have a substantially same length as each other (figs 5A/B and Paras 0040, wherein each differential amplifier 508A-508D can be coupled to a respective pair of the column electrodes 504A-504H, Smith).
Regarding claim 5, Kang in view of Smith and in view of Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a sensor driver configured to drive the sensor layer, and comprising an analog front end and an analog-to-digital converter (figs 3A/B, a sensing circuit 314 includes an operational amplifier 308 and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC), Para 0032, Smith).
Regarding claim 6, Kang in view of Smith and in view of Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein, in the first mode, the sensor driver is configured to output a transmission signal to the first electrode groups, and the analog front end is configured to output, to the analog-to-digital converter, a signal obtained by calculating a difference between a signal received from the first electrode and a signal received from the second electrode (figs 3A/B and Para 0032, Smith).
Regarding claim 16, Kang teaches an electronic device (fig. 1, a touch screen panel) comprising:
a display layer in which a display region, and a non-display region adjacent to the display region, are defined (fig. 1, a substrate 10 and Para 0046, wherein a substrate 10 having flexibility and divided into an active area and a non-active area positioned at the outside of (e.g., surrounding or around) the active area);
a sensor layer above the display layer, configured to selectively operate in a first mode for sensing a touch or in a second mode for sensing folding of the display layer and the sensor layer (fig. 1, and Para 0046, wherein sensing patterns 220 formed on the active area of a first surface of the substrate 10. In Para 0052, the touch screen panel according to this embodiment is implemented with a sensor sensing the presence of bending of the substrate 10, i.e., a bending sensor 240. In fig. 2A/B and Paras 0060-0065, folded or unfolded state of the flexible substrate 10 based on bending sensor 240), and comprising:
first electrode groups arranged in a first direction (fig. 1, sensing cells 220a);
second electrode groups arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction (fig. 1, sensing cells 220b);
an insulating layer disposed between the first and second trace lines and the first and second electrode patterns (fig. 4 and Para 0083, wherein an insulation layer (not shown) for securing stability is interposed between the first connecting lines 220a1 and the second connecting lines 220b1), in fig. 8 and Para 0122, an insulation layer 270 is interposed between the first connecting lines 220a1 and the second connecting lines 220b1), and
a sensor driver configured to drive the sensor layer (Paras 0046-0047), and
Kang does not expressly disclose second electrode groups comprising a first electrode comprising first electrode patterns, and a second electrode comprising second electrode patterns in a same column as the first electrode patterns; first and second trace lines extending in parallel, and respectively connected to the first electrode patterns and the second electrode patterns in the same column; and a sensor driver comprising first analog front ends that are configured to, in the first mode, receive two signals respectively from the first electrode and the second electrode in the same column of the second electrode groups corresponding to the first analog front ends in a one-to-one correspondence, and output a signal obtained by calculating a difference between the two signals, and wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first electrode or the second electrode in the same column of the second electrode groups is configured to be grounded or electrically floated, and wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first trace line or the second trace line is configured to be grounded or electrically floating.
However, Smith discloses second electrode groups comprising a first electrode comprising first electrode patterns, and a second electrode comprising second electrode patterns in a same column as the first electrode patterns; first and second trace lines extending in parallel, and respectively connected to the first electrode patterns and the second electrode patterns in the same column, see fig. 7B, and Paras 0074-0075; and a sensor driver comprising first analog front ends that are configured to, in the first mode, receive two signals respectively from the first electrode and the second electrode in the same column of the second electrode groups corresponding to the first analog front ends in a one-to-one correspondence, and output a signal obtained by calculating a difference between the two signals, see fig. 8 and Paras 0078-0079; and wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first electrode or the second electrode in the same column of the second electrode groups is configured to be grounded or electrically floated (figs 3A/B and Paras 0031-0032).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a device of Kang by applying teaching of Smith to include a plurality of column electrodes and each column of touch nodes in touch sensor panel can include four conductive segments having the two-barred cross shape, with alternate conductive segments coupled together via routing (and/or driven with the same drive signal) and forming a column electrode. A touch electrode can have an inherent self-capacitance to ground associated with it, and also an additional self-capacitance to ground that is formed when an object, such as finger, is in proximity to or touching the electrode, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Kang in view of Smith does not expressly disclose wherein the first trace line is electrically connected with the first electrode patterns through first contacts penetrating the insulating layer, wherein the second trace line is electrically connected with the second electrode patterns through second contacts penetrating the insulating layer, and wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first trace line or the second trace line is configured to be grounded or electrically floating.
However, Lee discloses disclose wherein the first trace line is electrically connected with the first electrode patterns through first contacts penetrating the insulating layer, wherein the second trace line is electrically connected with the second electrode patterns through second contacts penetrating the insulating layer, see fig. 19 and 20 and Paras 0234 and 0268, wherein the sensor electrode SE may be connected to the sensor line SL through the sensor contact unit SCNT, and wherein the first and second trace lines overlap both the display region and the non-display region. wherein, in the second mode, at least one of the first trace line or the second trace line is configured to be grounded or electrically floating, see fig. 29 and Paras 0299-0301.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a device of Kang in view of Smith by applying teaching of Lee to include a sensor electrode SE that connected to a sensor line SL through a sensor contact unit SCNT which may be a region that penetrates the first sensor insulating film TINS1 to expose the sensor line SL. The plurality of sub-ground lines may be connected to the second ground line in the sensor peripheral area or the plurality of sub-ground lines may be electrically floating without being connected to the second ground line, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Regarding claim 17, Kang in view of Smith and in view of Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the first electrode patterns arranged in the first direction, wherein the second electrode patterns are arranged in the first direction, the first electrode patterns and the second electrode patterns being arranged such that at least one first electrode pattern and at least one second electrode pattern alternate with each other (fig. 7B, and Paras 0074-0075, wherein a plurality of column electrodes and each column of touch nodes in touch sensor panel can include four conductive segments having the two-barred cross shape, with alternate conductive segments coupled together via routing (and/or driven with the same drive signal) and forming a column electrode, Smith); and wherein the sensor driver further comprises second analog front ends comprising single-ended analog front ends or differential analog front ends (fig. 8 and Paras 0078-0079, Smith).
Regarding claim 19, Kang in view of Smith and in view of Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 17, wherein, in the second mode, the second analog front ends are configured to receive signals provided from the first electrode and the second electrode (fig. 8 and Paras 0078-0079, Smith).
Regarding claim 21, Kang in view of Smith and in view of Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the first and second trace lines overlap both the display region and non-display region (fig. 2, a plurality of sense lines 223 and Para 0030, fig. 7B, and Paras 0074-0075, Smith),
Wherein the first trace line extends past an outermost one of the first contacts, and Wherein the second trace line extends past an outermost one of the second contacts (fig. 8 and paras 0082, Smith).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is allowed.
Claims 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Krah (US 2020/0103993), relates generally to devices including a sensor panel and, more specifically, to touch-sensitive devices configured to reduce noise levels.
Ko (US 2016/0239133), relate to a display device. More particularly, exemplary embodiments relate to a foldable display device.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.E.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 2/19/2026
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625