CTNF 18/410,856 CTNF 98678 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Objections Claim 11 is objected to for minor informalities. Regarding claim 11, the claim states, "comprising connection electrodes respectively the current-spreading layers," which appears to be missing a preposition between respectively and the current spreading layers. Referring to paragraph [0016], Examiner assumes the claim should read, "comprising connection electrodes respectively on the current-spreading layers." Proper correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION. —The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 13 is rejected for indefiniteness. Regarding claim 13, the claim states, "wherein a third width of the third current-spreading layer is equal to or less than the second width." There is insufficient antecedent basis for "the third current-spreading layer." To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "wherein a third width of a third current-spreading layer is equal to or less than the second width." Proper correction is required Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-8, 10-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yoneda (US 20130119416 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Yoneda teaches a light-emitting element structure (Fig 1) comprising: a growth substrate (1) ; light-emitting elements (EML: layers 2-13) comprising a first light-emitting element (EML1: red stack containing 12r) for emitting light (red) of a first wavelength (640 nm, red, Fig 3) and a second light-emitting element (EML2: green stack containing 12g, Fig 1) for emitting light (green) of a second wavelength (510 nm, green, Fig 3) on (shown on) the growth substrate (1, Fig 1) , and comprising current-spreading layers (4) comprising a first current-spreading layer (4r: layer 4 in EML1) having a first width (W1: maximum width of 4r in vertical direction of Fig 1) on (shown on) the first light-emitting element (EML1) and a second current-spreading layer (4g: layer 4 in EML2) having a second width (W2: maximum width of 4g in vertical direction of Fig 1) that is less (shown less) than the first width (W1) on (shown on) the second light-emitting element (EML2) ; and an insulating layer (2) between (shown between) the light-emitting elements (EML) . Regarding claim 2, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the first light-emitting element (EML1, Fig 1) and the second light-emitting element (EML2) have a same width (W3: maximum width of 3 in horizontal direction of Fig 1) . Regarding claim 3, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the first light-emitting element (EML1, Fig 1) and the second light-emitting element (EML2) have different respective widths (shown different; W1 > W2) . Regarding claim 4, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the first wavelength (640 nm, Fig 3) corresponds (shown corresponding) to red light (red) , and wherein the second wavelength (510 nm) corresponds to green light (green) or blue light. Regarding claim 5, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the light-emitting elements (EML, Fig 1) further comprise a third light-emitting element (EML3: blue stack containing 12b) for emitting light (blue) of a third wavelength (455 nm, blue, Fig 3) , wherein the current-spreading layers (4, Fig 1) further comprise a third current-spreading layer (4b: layer 4 in EML3) on (shown on) the third light-emitting element (EML3) , wherein the first wavelength (640 nm, Fig 3) corresponds (shown corresponding) to red light (red) , wherein the second wavelength (510 nm) corresponds (shown corresponding) to green light (green) , and wherein the third wavelength (455 nm) corresponds (shown corresponding) to blue light (blue) . Regarding claim 6, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 5 and goes on to teach further comprising a first light-emitting area (12rA: total cross-sectional area of 12r when Fig 1 is rotated and viewed in plan view) corresponding (shown corresponding) to the first current-spreading layer (4r) , a second light-emitting area (12gA: total cross-sectional area of 12g when Fig 1 is rotated and viewed in plan view) corresponding (shown corresponding) to the second current-spreading layer (4g) , and a third light-emitting area (12bA: total cross-sectional area of 12b when Fig 1 is rotated and viewed in plan view) corresponding (shown corresponding) to the third current-spreading layer (4b) , wherein a first emission region (12rE: total surface area of 12r when Fig 1 is viewed in plan view) of the first light-emitting area (12rA) is greater (shown greater) than a second emission region (12gE: half of the total surface area of 12g when Fig 1 is viewed in plan view) of the second light-emitting area (12gA) and a third emission region (12bE: one third of the total surface area of 12b when Fig 1 is viewed in plan view) of the third light-emitting element (EML3) . Regarding claim 7, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 6 and goes on to teach wherein the second emission region (12gE, Fig 1 rotated and viewed in plan view) is greater (shown greater) than or equal to the third emission region (12bE) . Regarding claim 8, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 5 and goes on to teach wherein a planar shape (rectangle; not shown, but when Fig 1 is rotated and viewed in plan view, the layers of EML would appear as rectangles) of the first current-spreading layer (4r) , the second current-spreading layer (4g) , and the third current-spreading layer (4b) is circular or polygonal (shown polygonal, rectangle) . Regarding claim 10, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 1 and goes on to teach further comprising connection electrodes (3, Fig 1) respectively on (shown respectively on) the current-spreading layers (4) , and wherein the connection electrodes (3) respectively have a same width (W4: maximum width of surface interface, where layers 3 and 4 directly contact, in the horizontal direction of Fig 1) as the current-spreading layers (4) . Regarding claim 11, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 1 and goes on to teach further comprising connection electrodes (3, Fig 1) respectively (shown respectively on) the current-spreading layers (4) , and respectively having widths (W5: maximum width of 3 in vertical direction of Fig 1) that are different from widths (W1/W2) of the current-spreading layers (4) . Regarding claim 16, Yoneda teaches a display device (100, Fig 13) comprising: pixel electrodes (3B, Fig 1; layer 3 is comprised of 2 subparts: 3B is the bottom half in Fig 1, 3T is the top half) on (shown on) a substrate (1) ; light-emitting elements (EML: layers 2-13) on (shown on) the pixel electrodes (3B) , and comprising a first light-emitting element (EML1: red stack containing 12r) for emitting light (red) of a first wavelength (640 nm, red, Fig 3) , and a second light-emitting element (EML2: green stack containing 12g, Fig 1) for emitting light (green) of a second wavelength (510 nm, green, Fig 3) ; an insulating layer (2) between (shown between) the light-emitting elements (EML) ; and current-spreading layers (4) comprising a first current-spreading layer (4r: layer 4 in EML1) on (shown on) the first light-emitting element (EML1) , and a second current-spreading layer (4g: layer 4 in EML2) on (shown on) the second light-emitting element (EML2) , a first width (W1: maximum width of 4r in vertical direction of Fig 1) of the first current-spreading layer (4r) being greater (shown greater) than a second width (W2: maximum width of 4g in vertical direction of Fig 1) of the second current-spreading layer (4g) . Regarding claim 17, Yoneda teaches the device of claim 16 and goes on to teach wherein the light-emitting elements (EML, Fig 1) further comprise a third light-emitting element (EML3: blue stack containing 12b) for emitting light (blue) of a third wavelength (455 nm, blue, Fig 3) , wherein the first wavelength (640 nm, Fig 3) corresponds (shown corresponding) to red light (red) , wherein the second wavelength (510 nm) corresponds (shown corresponding) to green light (green) , and wherein the third wavelength (455 nm) corresponds (shown corresponding) to blue light (blue) . Regarding claim 18, Yoneda teaches the device of claim 16 and goes on to teach further comprising a first light-emitting area (12rA: total cross-sectional area of 12r when Fig 1 is rotated and viewed in plan view) corresponding (shown corresponding) to the first current-spreading layer (4r) , a second light-emitting area (12gA: total cross-sectional area of 12g when Fig 1 is rotated and viewed in plan view) corresponding (shown corresponding) to the second current-spreading layer (4g) , and a third light-emitting area (12bA: total cross-sectional area of 12b when Fig 1 is rotated and viewed in plan view) corresponding (shown corresponding) to the third current-spreading layer (4b) , wherein a first emission region (12rE: total surface area of 12r when Fig 1 is viewed in plan view) of the first light-emitting area (12rA) is greater (shown greater) than a second emission region (12gE: half of the total surface area of 12g when Fig 1 is viewed in plan view) of the second light-emitting area (12gA) and a third emission region (12bE: one third of the total surface area of 12b when Fig 1 is viewed in plan view) of the third light-emitting element (EML3) , and wherein the second emission region (12gE, Fig 1 rotated and viewed in plan view) is greater (shown greater) than or equal to the third emission region (12bE) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 9, 12-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda (US 20130119416 A1) as applied to claim s 1-8, 10-11, and 16-18 above, and further in view of Park (US 20240234622 A1) . Regarding claim 9, Yoneda teaches the structure of claim 5 and goes on to teach wherein the light-emitting elements comprise (EML, Fig 1) a first semiconductor layer (5) , a second semiconductor layer (8) , and an active layer (7) between (shown between) the first semiconductor layer (5) and the second semiconductor layer (8) , wherein the first light-emitting element (EML1) comprises a first active layer (7r) , wherein the second light-emitting element (EML2) comprises a second active layer (7g) , wherein the third light-emitting element (EML3) comprises a third active layer (7b) , wherein the first active layer (7r) , the second active layer (7g) , and the third active layer (7b) contain indium (ITO or IZO, [0093]). Yoneda fails to explicitly teach wherein an indium content of the first active layer is greater than an indium content of the second active layer and an indium content of the third active layer, and wherein the indium content of the second active layer is greater than the indium content of the third active layer. However, Park teaches wherein an indium content (35%, [0070]) of the first active layer is greater (greater; as the content of Indium increases, the wavelength of the resulting light increases, [0070]) than an indium content (25%) of the second active layer and an indium content (15%) of the third active layer , and wherein the indium content (25%) of the second active layer is greater (greater) than the indium content (15%) of the third active layer. Yoneda and Park are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Yoneda with the features of Park to create a light-emitting element structure wherein an indium content of the first active layer is greater than an indium content of the second active layer and an indium content of the third active layer, and wherein the indium content of the second active layer is greater than the indium content of the third active layer with advantages such as long life, low power consumption, fast response speed, and environmental friendliness (Park, [0003]). Regarding claim 12, Yoneda teaches a light-emitting element structure (Fig 1) comprising: a growth substrate (1) ; light-emitting elements (EML: layers 2-13) on (shown on) the growth substrate (1) and comprising first semiconductor layers (5) , second semiconductor layers (8) , and active layers (7) between (shown between) the first semiconductor layers (5) and the second semiconductor layers (8) , the light emitting elements (EML) comprising: a first light-emitting element (EML1: red stack containing 12r) comprising a first active layer (7r) and a first current-spreading layer (4r: layer 4 in EML1) ; and a second light-emitting element (EML2: green stack containing 12g) comprising a second active layer (7g) and a second current-spreading layer (4g: layer 4 in EML2) ; and an insulating layer (2) between (shown between) the light-emitting elements (EML) , wherein the first active layer (7r) and the second active layer (7g) comprise indium (ITO or IZO, [0093]) , wherein a first width (W1: maximum width of 4r in vertical direction of Fig 1) of the first current-spreading layer (4r) is greater (shown greater) than a second width (W2: maximum width of 4g in vertical direction of Fig 1) of the second current-spreading layer (4g) . Yoneda fails to explicitly teach an indium content of the first active layer being greater than an indium content of the second active layer. However, Park teaches an indium content (35%, [0070]) of the first active layer being greater (greater; as the content of Indium increases, the wavelength of the resulting light increases, [0070]) than an indium content (25%) of the second active layer. Yoneda and Park are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Yoneda with the features of Park to create a light-emitting element structure wherein an indium content of the first active layer being greater than an indium content of the second active layer with advantages such as long life, low power consumption, fast response speed, and environmental friendliness (Park, [0003]). Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yoneda and Park discloses the structure of claim 12. Yoneda teaches the second active layer (7g) goes on to teach wherein the light-emitting elements (EML, Fig 1) comprise a third light-emitting element (EML3: blue stack containing 12b) comprising a third active layer (7b) … , and wherein a third width (W5: one half of the maximum width of 4b in vertical direction of Fig 1) of the third current-spreading layer (4b: layer 4 in EML3) is equal to or less (shown less) than the second width (W2) . Park goes on to teach a third active layer having an indium content (15%, [0070]) that is less (less) than the indium content (25%) of the second active layer. Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yoneda and Park discloses the structure of claim 12. Yoneda goes on to teach wherein the first light-emitting element (EML1, Fig 1) and the second light-emitting element (EML2) have a same width (W3: maximum width of 3 in horizontal direction of Fig 1) . Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yoneda and Park discloses the structure of claim 12. Yoneda goes on to teach wherein the first light-emitting element (EML1, Fig 1) and the second light-emitting element (EML2) have different respective widths (shown different; W1 > W2) . Regarding claim 19, Yoneda teaches the device of claim 17 and goes on to teach wherein the light-emitting elements (EML, Fig 1) comprise first semiconductor layers (5) , second semiconductor layers (8) , and active layers (7) respectively between (shown respectively between) the first semiconductor layers (5) and the second semiconductor layers (8) , wherein the first light-emitting element (EML1) comprises a first active layer (7r) containing indium (ITO or IZO, [0093]) , wherein the second light-emitting element (EML2) comprises a second active layer (7g) containing indium (ITO or IZO, [0093]) , wherein the third light-emitting element (EML3) comprises a third active layer (7b) containing indium (ITO or IZO, [0093]). Yoneda fails to explicitly teach wherein an indium content of the first active layer is greater than an indium content of the second active layer and an indium content of the third active layer, and wherein the indium content of the second active layer is greater than the indium content of the third active layer. However, Park teaches wherein an indium content (35%, [0070]) of the first active layer is greater (greater; as the content of Indium increases, the wavelength of the resulting light increases, [0070]) than an indium content (25%) of the second active layer and an indium content (15%) of the third active layer , and wherein the indium content (25%) of the second active layer is greater (greater) than the indium content (15%) of the third active layer. Yoneda and Park are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Yoneda with the features of Park to create a light-emitting element structure wherein an indium content of the first active layer is greater than an indium content of the second active layer and an indium content of the third active layer, and wherein the indium content of the second active layer is greater than the indium content of the third active layer with advantages such as long life, low power consumption, fast response speed, and environmental friendliness (Park, [0003]). Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yoneda and Park discloses the device of claim 19. Yoneda goes on to teach further comprising connection electrodes (3T, Fig 1; layer 3 is comprised of 2 subparts: 3B is the bottom half in Fig 1, 3T is the top half) respectively between (shown respectively between) the current-spreading layers (4) and the pixel electrodes (3B) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Donofrio (US 20090283787 A1) - Single diode with opaque CSL on an ITO anode layer Palles-Dimmock (US 20200161585 A1) - Increasing thickness of ITO layer in R, G, B pixels respectively to optimize extraction efficiency Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jeremy D Watts whose telephone number is (703)756-1055. The examiner can normally be reached M-R 8:00am-4:30pm, F 8:00-3pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chad Dicke can be reached at (571) 270-7996. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 2 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 3 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 4 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 5 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 6 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 7 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 8 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 9 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 10 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 11 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 12 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/410,856 Page 13 Art Unit: 2897