DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MATSUOKA (Publication No.: US 2012/0251033 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 19, MATSUOKA teaches A component carrier, comprising: a stack comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (reference numeral 112 in Figure 6) and at least one electrically insulating layer structure (e.g. “Silicon-Oxide-Insulator” as in paragraph [0033], [0051]); and an at least partially optically transparent body (reference numeral 111 in Figure 6) on and/or in the stack, said at least partially optically transparent body being configured to guide light entering from or exiting to an external periphery of the at least partially optically transparent body along a predefined trajectory, and a component (reference numeral 107 in Figure 6) mounted on the stack, the component comprising an optical input and/or output element (reference numeral 101, 102, 103 in Figure 6), wherein light is focused onto the optical input and/or output element (e.g. by virtue of reference numeral 113a, 113b in Figure 5), wherein the component is an optical chip (reference numeral 107 in Figure 6; e.g. “optical interconnection module” as in paragraph [0067] wherein “the modulator device 102, the photo diode 103, the driver circuit 104, and the trans impedance amplifier 115 being integrated on the optical interconnection module” as in paragraph [0068] thus “monolithic integrated on a single Si (silicon) chip” as in paragraph [0066]) mounted on the stack by a connection structure (reference numeral 108, 500e, 500f, 502b in Figure 6) forming an electrical connection with at least one electrically conductive layer structure (reference numeral 112 in Figure 6) of the stack.
Regarding claim 2, 20, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the at least partially optically transparent body comprises an internal portion (reference numeral 110a, 110b in Figure 6) with a different refraction index with respect to that of a rest of the at least partially optically transparent body, the internal portion being configured to guide the light entering from or exiting to the external periphery of the at least partially optically transparent body along the predefined trajectory.
Regarding claim 3, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 2, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: wherein the internal portion with the different refraction index defines one or more optical guiding structures portion (reference numeral 110a, 110b in Figure 6) exposed to the external periphery of the at least partially optically transparent body, and wherein the internal portion with the different refraction index is configured to guide the light towards a predefined position on an external surface of the at least partially optically transparent body.
Regarding claim 4, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the at least partially optically transparent body comprises a first surface via which light enters or exits and a second surface via which light exits or enters (e.g. at least at reference numeral 113a, 113b as illustrated in Figure 6) .
Regarding claim 5, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 4, wherein the first surface and the second surface are perpendicular or inclined with respect to each other (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 1, further comprising: a deflecting member (reference numeral 109a, 109b in Figure 6) configured for deflecting the light after propagation along part of or the entire predefined trajectory.
Regarding claim 7, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 6, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: wherein the deflecting member is provided in one of external surfaces of the at least partially optically transparent body, wherein the deflecting member comprises a reflective portion (reference numeral 109a, 109b in Figure 6) provided on a surface of the at least partially optically transparent body, wherein the deflecting member has a surface that is inclined with respect to the light guided by an internal portion with the different refraction index, wherein the deflecting member (reference numeral 109a, 109b in Figure 6) is integrally formed with the at least partially optically transparent body, wherein the deflecting member is provided on a surface of the at least partially optically transparent body, wherein the light guided by an internal portion with the different refraction index is emitted towards or received from the deflecting member along a direction that is inclined with respect to a surface of the at least partially optically transparent body via which the light enters or exits (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6) and/or with respect to a surface of the at least partially optically transparent body via which the light exits or enters.
Regarding claim 8, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 2, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: wherein the internal portion with the different refraction index is configured to separately guide a plurality of light signals or portions simultaneously (e.g. bidirectionality as illustrated in Figure 6), wherein the component carrier comprises a deflecting member (reference numeral 109a, 109b in Figure 6) configured for deflecting all the light signals or portions, and wherein the component carrier comprises a focusing unit (reference numeral 113a, 113b in Figure 6) configured for focusing the light guided by the internal portion with the different refraction index towards a component.
Regarding claim 9, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 1, having an intermediate space (e.g. the space created by intermediate substrate 100 in Figure 5, 6) between the at least partially optically transparent body (reference numeral 111 in Figure 6) and a component receiving (reference numeral 103 in Figure 6) or emitting the light (reference numeral 101 in Figure 6) .
Regarding claim 10, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 9, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: a further at least partially optically transparent body (e.g. intermediate substrate 100 in Figure 5, 6) arranged in the intermediate space, wherein the further optically transparent body comprises at least one deflecting member and/or an internal portion with a different refraction index with respect to that of a rest of the further optically transparent body, wherein the intermediate space is an empty space (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6), wherein the intermediate space extends from the at least partially optically transparent body to the component receiving (reference numeral 103 in Figure 6) or emitting the light (reference numeral 101 in Figure 6) , wherein the intermediate space extends along a thickness direction of the stack (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6), wherein the intermediate space is formed at least partially by a cavity in the stack (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6), wherein the intermediate space is arranged completely inside of the stack (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6), and wherein the intermediate space is arranged at least partially outside of the stack.
Regarding claim 11, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: at least one lens (reference numeral 113a, 113b in Figure 6) arranged in the at least partially optically transparent body and/or in the intermediate space and being configured to change a focus of the light, and a component configured for receiving (reference numeral 103 in Figure 6) or emitting (reference numeral 101 in Figure 6) the light and being arranged externally from the stack.
Regarding claim 12, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: wherein the at least partially optically transparent body is arranged in the stack (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6), a component (reference numeral 101, 103 in Figure 6) configured for receiving or emitting the light and being arranged above the at least partially optically transparent body, and a component configured for receiving or emitting the light and being arranged laterally from the at least partially optically transparent body (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 12, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: wherein both the at least partially optically transparent body and the component, and optionally the intermediate space, are provided in the stack so that the light is transmitted by the at least partially optically transparent body and is received or emitted by the component from a side facing one to each other (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6); and wherein both the at least partially optically transparent body and the component are at least partially arranged in the same electrically conductive layer structure (reference numeral 107 in Figure 6) and/or electrically insulating layer structure of the stack.
Regarding claim 14, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: wherein the at least partially optically transparent body is made of glass, wherein the at least partially optically transparent body comprises an organic material (e.g. “silicon” as in paragraph [0015] and throughout), and wherein the at least partially optically transparent body comprises at least one portion of a material (reference numeral 110a, 110b in Figure 6) different from a main body.
Regarding claim 15, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: an optical connector being optically coupled with the at least partially optically transparent body at a sidewall of the component carrier (e.g. at least at reference numeral 113a, 113b as illustrated in Figure 6).
Regarding claim 16, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 15, further comprising: a further component (reference numeral 104, 501, 115 in Figure 6) electrically coupled with the component by the at least one electrically conductive layer structure, wherein the at least one electrically conductive layer structure electrically coupling the further component with the component is arranged on and/or above the at least partially optically transparent body (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6).
Regarding claim 17, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: a further at least partially optically transparent body (reference numeral 100 in Figure 5, 6) on and/or in the stack, a component (reference numeral 101, 103 in Figure 6) mounted on the stack and being in direct contact with at least a portion of the optically transparent body for evanescent light coupling between the component and the optically transparent body.
Regarding claim 18, MATSUOKA teaches The component carrier according to claim 6, wherein the component carrier comprises at least one of the following features: wherein the deflecting member is configured as constituent of the at least one electrically conductive layer structure, wherein the deflecting member (reference numeral 109a, 109b in Figure 6) is configured as alignment marker for ensuring alignment during a manufacturing process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues MATSUOKA fails to teach the newly added limitations pertaining to a component mounted on the stack, wherein the component is an optical chip mounted on the stack by a connection structure forming an electrical connection with at least one electrically conductive layer structure of the stack. However, as noted in the amended office action, examiner believes these limitations are met by MATSUOKA by virtue of reference numeral 107 in Figure 6, which MATSUOKA describes as an optical interconnection module the elements of which are monolithically integrated on a single silicon chip (paragraphs [0066]-[0068]). Furthermore, MATSUOKA’s optical chip is “electrically connected” (paragraph [0068]) to at least two electrically conductive layers (reference numeral 108, 112 in Figure 6) via a connection structure (reference numeral 108, 500e, 500f, 502b in Figure 6). As such, MATSUOKA clearly discloses an optical chip mounted on the stack by a connection structure that includes electrical interconnection elements connected to at least one electrically conductive layer of the stack.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635