DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments/remarks and amendments filed on 09/22/2026. Claims 21, 31, and 37-39 have been amended. No Claims have been cancelled. No Claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 21-39 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/22/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 31-36 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant argument that the recited elements of claim 31 require interaction with physical components of the appliance and cannot, as a practical matter, be performed solely in the human mind, the examiner respectfully disagrees with that statement. As recited above, the steps of monitoring, collecting, and determining, as recited by be performed in a human mind by a person looking at collected data and judging whether additional power or less power is needed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
With respect to applicant’s argument that the claim integrates the concept inti a practical application, the examiner respectfully disagrees with that statement. As discussed above, the sensor is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for use in the determining step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and the appliance is recited as an object that is being acted upon, i.e. generally applying the abstract idea to a particular technical field. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. A person sitting at a remote location can observe and monitor said data collected over time to make a determination of whether to increase or decrease or adjust power provided to the appliance. Accordingly, the claims are not eligible.
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s arguments/remarks, filed on 09/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-29 and 31-39 under 35 U.S.C. 102, and that Cooper doesn’t teach that the battery module being integrally disposed with the appliance and configured to provide power to the appliance, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cooper US 11,183,843 B1 and Montuoro et al US 7,266,962 B2 as detailed below.
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/22/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 21-29 and 31-39 under 35 U.S.C. 102, and that Cooper doesn’t teach "a sensor coupled to the appliance to monitor an operation condition of the appliance, the operation condition including a temperature value associated with a portion of the appliance; and a control unit ... communicatively coupled to the sensor to collect information obtained from the sensor, the control unit being configured to determine whether to adjust power provided to the appliance from the battery module based on the operation condition of the appliance, including based on the temperature value associated with the portion of the appliance" have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them. Applicant in this case didn’t present any arguments to show that Cooper doesn’t teach the recited limitations. The examiner showed in detail how Cooper reads on said limitations in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. With respect to claim 21, the applicant claims “a sensor coupled to the appliance to monitor an operation condition of the appliance, the operation condition including a temperature value associated with a portion of the appliance”. Said limitation is not supported in the specification. Paragraph 0071 discloses “a battery system 300 can comprise various suitable sensors to determine such aspects, characteristics or states of the battery 305 or aspects, characteristics or states of other elements of a building system 100 which can include environmental conditions such as temperature, humidity, or the like internal to or external to a building 105”. At best, said sensor can monitor the battery and not any portion of the appliance. Paragraph 0121 also describes “a battery system 300 can include a fire suppression system that comprises sensors operable to determine whether a fire is occurring in the battery”. Same as above, said sensor is capable of monitoring the battery and not any other portion of the appliance. Accordingly, the limitation ““a sensor coupled to the appliance to monitor an operation condition of the appliance, the operation condition including a temperature value associated with a portion of the appliance” is broader than what is supported in the specification. The same rational applies to claim 31.
With respect to claim 21, the applicant claims “the control unit being configured to determine whether to adjust power provided to the appliance from the battery module based on the operation condition of the appliance, including based on the temperature value associated with the portion of the appliance”. Since a sensor to monitor a portion of the appliance is not supported in the specification as recited above, supporting a function that relies on that sensor is not supported either for the same rational recited supra. The same rational applies to claim 31.
Claims 22-30, 37-39 and claims 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as being dependent on rejected dependent claims 21 and 31 respectively and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s), claim 31 recite(s) monitoring an operation condition of an appliance, collecting power usage data of the appliance, and determining whether to adjust power provided to the appliance.
The recited limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim elements preclude the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “monitoring, collecting and determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user visually observing the condition and power usage of an appliance and mentally calculating an adjusted value of power needed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of an appliance and a sensor. Regarding said additional elements, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities. In particular, the sensor is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for use in the determining step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and the appliance is recited as an object that is being acted upon, i.e. generally applying the abstract idea to a particular technical field. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. A conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of a sensor and an appliance are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 32-36 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 32-36 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-29, and 31-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper US 11,183,843 B1 (hence Cooper) in view of Montuoro et al US 7,266,962 B2 (hence Montuoro).
In re claims 21 and 31, Cooper discloses method and apparatus for managing one or more loads powered by an alternating current power source in order to prevent and mitigate overloads and other abnormal conditions of the power source (Abstract) and teaches the following:
an appliance having a battery module, the battery module being configured to provide power to the appliance (Fig.2, #13, #16 “oven”, and Col.17, lines 19-20 “Generator 13 may for example be a wind turbine, solar panel, fuel cell, flywheel, battery, water, wind or steam turbine and may incorporate a DC to AC inverter circuit, generator or alternator to provide electricity if that is the desired output”);
a sensor coupled to the appliance to monitor an operation condition of the appliance, the operation condition including a temperature value associated with a portion of the appliance (Col.27, lines 46-55 “refrigerator or freezer temperature to determine if additional cooling is needed. The sensors for example may be utilized by 25a in the setting of priorities for loads to be connected to the generator”, Col.29, lines 20-47 and lines 62-66, Col.31, lines 14-32, Fig.6, and Col.34, line 57 – Col.35, line 6, and Col.37, lines 22-24 “the current control 44 and/or load monitor 23b may be incorporated within the oven 16”));
and a control unit that includes control circuitry comprising one or more processors and that is communicatively coupled to the sensor to collect information obtained from the sensor, the control unit being configured to determine whether to adjust power provided to the appliance from the battery module based on the operation condition of the appliance (Col.30, lines 4-35 “After generator power is made available via the transfer switch, load control 25a operates to determine if the highest priority load 16-18 can be supported by the available power of generator 13 and if so load control 25a causes the load switch associated with that load to be closed via commands conveyed to the switch by its corresponding communications channel”), including based on the temperature value associated with the portion of the appliance (Col.27, lines 46-55 “refrigerator or freezer temperature to determine if additional cooling is needed. The sensors for example may be utilized by 25a in the setting of priorities for loads to be connected to the generator”, Col.29, lines 20-47 and lines 62-66, Col.31, lines 14-32, Fig.6, and Col.34, line 57 – Col.35, line 6)
However, Cooper discloses a battery module integrated in an electrical vehicle or a hybrid vehicle and also teaches that the load limit 43, the current control 44 and/or load monitor 23b may be incorporated within the oven 16 (Col.37, lines 22-24), but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
the battery module being integrally disposed with the appliance
Nevertheless, Montuoro discloses a refrigerator contains a battery pack for providing a DC current to drive a refrigeration system and alternatively is connectable to an AC power source for driving the refrigeration system from the AC power source (Abstract) and teaches the following:
the battery module being integrally disposed with the appliance (Fig.4, #54, and Col.6, lines 49-60)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Cooper reference to include an integrated battery pack within the appliance, as taught by Montuoro, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an appliance adapted to be actuated by either a battery pack or an AC power source or both (Montuoro, Col.7, Lines 61-63).
In re claims 22 and 32, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein the appliance is a stove (Fig.2, #16 “oven”)
In re claims 23 and 33, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein the sensor is configured to monitor a cooking process (Col.33, lines 29-36, and Col.33, line 65 – Col.34, line 13)
In re claims 24 and 34, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein the control unit is configured to determine whether to adjust power provided to the stove from the battery module according to the cooking process and a predefined cooking protocol (Col.33, lines 29-36, and Col.33, line 65 – Col.34, line 13)
In re claims 25 and 35, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein the appliance is a refrigerator (Col.18, lines 12-13 “food storage appliances such as freezers and refrigerators”)
In re claims 26 and 36, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein the control unit is further configured to determine a charge and discharge schedule for the battery module based on a power usage pattern of the appliance (Col.49, lines 5-30 “It is preferred that load control 25b operate to determine the level of charge of battery 68 at or below which it is desirable to start the generator 72 to charge the battery in order to maintain or extend the amount of energy which is available to power DC to AC inverter 67 to be utilized as backup power in the event of failure of the power grid 12”)
In re claim 27, Cooper teaches the following:
one or more sensors, including at least the sensor coupled to the appliance, or third party services coupled to the control unit that are configured to collect contextual information related to one or more of the battery module or the appliance (Col.27, lines 46-55 “These devices can include various sensors, for example such as temperature sensors to monitor outside temperature useful in controlling air conditioner operation, engine or alternator cooling air inlet or exhaust temperature useful in determining genset load, refrigerator or freezer temperature to determine if additional cooling is needed”)
In re claim 28, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein the control unit further comprises a machine learning model trained to predict a usage of the appliance based on the collected contextual information (Col. 34, lines 57 – Col.35, line 6)
In re claim 29, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein the control unit is further configured to adjust the determined charge and discharge schedule based on the predicted usage of the appliance by the trained machine learning model (Col.49, lines 5-30 “It is preferred that load control 25b operate to determine the level of charge of battery 68 at or below which it is desirable to start the generator 72 to charge the battery in order to maintain or extend the amount of energy which is available to power DC to AC inverter 67 to be utilized as backup power in the event of failure of the power grid 12”)
In re claim 37, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein the appliance further comprises a heat transfer element (Col.5, lines 11-15)
In re claim 38, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein the sensor is a temperature sensor and wherein the temperature sensor is configured to sense an environmental condition associated with the appliance (Col.27, lines 46-55 “These devices can include various sensors, for example such as temperature sensors to monitor outside temperature useful in controlling air conditioner operation), and wherein the environmental condition includes a cooking process associated with the appliance (Col.33, lines 29-36, and Col.33, line 65 – Col.34, line 13)
In re claim 39, Cooper teaches the following:
wherein: the appliance is an air conditioner (Col.11, lines 42-45 “FIG. 13 shows a simplified diagram of a combination of load coupler 80 shown by example configured with typical air conditioner load 18 for coupling the load to the power source”), and the contextual information includes an environmental condition that includes weather data (Col23, lines 7-17 “home & outdoor such as temperature, sunlight, humidity, wind, generator operating conditions”)
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper and Montuoro as recited above and further in view of Jeong et al US 2022/0077691 A1 (hence Jeong).
In re claim 30, Cooper discloses the claimed invention as recited above but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
a physical user interface configured to receive a user input for manually editing the charge and discharge schedule for the battery module at a time point
Nevertheless, Jeong discloses battery charging, including but not limited to managing battery charging based on battery powered device usage (Paragraph 0001) and teaches the following:
a physical user interface configured to receive a user input for manually editing the charge and discharge schedule for the battery module at a time point (Paragraph 0081 “he scheduling user interface enables a user to set and/or revise a battery charging (and swapping) schedule”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Cooper reference to include the scheduling user interface, as taught by Jeong, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to set and/or revise a battery charging (and swapping) schedule such as said schedule helps prevent multiple devices from needing battery replacements at the same time and therefore can minimize downtime due to drained batteries (Jeong, Paragraph 0081).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669