Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is “driving unit” in claim 1.
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for the “driving unit” is: a rotation mechanism (e.g. actuator, rotation shaft) and a linear/vertical movement mechanism (e.g., actuator, gear part, support bracket) and their equivalents thereof (See Spec. paras. [0057-0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0196674 A1 [hereinafter Newham].
Regarding Claim 1:
Newham teaches a sterilization apparatus (para. [0005]: a device for disinfection), comprising:
a housing (Fig.1-3);
a sterilization unit (Fig. 1-1) that irradiates at least one sterilization target area with sterilization light (paras. [0009, 0012, 0027]: a UVC emitter head unit 1 includes UV-C energy emitting LEDs (and white light emitters) and outputs UV-C energy into the treatment area); and
a driving unit that moves the sterilization unit into and out of the housing via an opening (Fig.1- 4) provided in the housing and rotates the sterilization unit about a rotation axis (paras. [0009. 0027, 0029, 0031, 0042] and Claim 8: the emitter head raise/lower tube 2 is connected to the UVC emitter head unit 1, a drive/actuation arrangement (“driving unit”), at least includes the emitter head raise/lower tube 2, is configured to (i) open the surface retractable enclosure doors 4 and raise/lower the UVC emitter head unit 1 via the opening into/out of the protective storage enclosure 3, and (ii) rotate the UVC emitter head unit 1 about its central rotation axis during operation).
Claim 1 recites a “driving unit” for performing the functions of (i) moving the sterilization unit into and out of the housing via an opening and (ii) rotating the sterilization unit about a rotation axis; accordingly, the “driving unit” limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The corresponding structure in the specification includes a first operating part and a second operating part, where the first operating part includes a first actuator and a rotation shaft to enable rotation, and the second operating part includes a second actuator, a gear part, and a support bracket to enable linear movement through the opening (Spec. paras. [0057-0059]). Newham discloses that the UV-C emitting head (structure 1) is raised above and retracted into a protective enclosure (structure 3) via a support tube (structure 2) through a top opening/door of the enclosure, and further discloses continuous rotation of the UV-C emitting head about its axis during use, with operator-selected reciprocal vertical action of the support tube. Thus, Newham includes a drive/movement arrangement that performs the identical claimed functions of rotating the sterilization unit about an axis and moving the unit into/out of the housing through the opening. Although Newham does not specifically describe the drive components using the same labels as Applicant’s disclosed “first actuator/rotation shaft” and “second actuator/gear/support bracket,” a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of known rotation-and-translation drive arrangements that achieve continuous rotation and controlled reciprocal vertical movement of a head relative to a housing, and thus would have understood Newham’s movement arrangement as an equivalent structure for performing the claimed functions under MPEP § 2183. Therefore, Newham teaches the “driving unit” limitation as properly construed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Regarding Claim 2:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 1. Newham further teaches wherein the sterilization unit is moved in a vertical direction through the opening, which is formed on a top surface of the housing (paras. [0027, 0043]: the UVC emitter head unit 1 moves reciprocally and vertically through the top surface retractable enclosure door 4, which is formed on the top surface of the protective storage enclosure 3).
Regarding Claim 3:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 1. Newham further teaches wherein the sterilization unit includes at least one light source to generate the sterilization light and a mounting bracket in which the at least one light source is mounted (paras. [0022 and 0037]: the UVC emitter head unit includes at least one UV-C LED light source to generate sterilization light and a mounting structure in which the light source is mounted, so that each reflective nacel can incorporate a high-intensity UV-C LED mounted within the nacel).
Regarding Claim 4:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 3. Newham further teaches wherein the sterilization unit further includes at least one reflector to reflect the sterilization light generated from the at least one light source to the at least one sterilization target area (Fig. 5 and paras. [0009, 0040-0041]: the UVC emitter head unit includes reflective nacels (e.g., reflective nacel 14) associated with the UV-C LED light source(s) (e.g., UV-C LED 15). The nacels are expressly described as reflective and are arranged on the emitter surface to direct/return UV-C output outward toward the treatment area, i.e., to contribute to delivery of sterilization light to the target area).
Regarding Claim 5:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 4. Newham further teaches wherein the at least one reflector includes a plurality of reflective surfaces formed at different locations with respect to the at least one light source (Fig. 5 and paras. [0009, 0036-0037]: teaches a plurality of reflective nacels (reflective nacel 14) arranged in pods (e.g., a “6 nacel pod”) and across the emitter surface, which provides reflective surfaces at different locations on the emitter head. Each nacel also incorporates a UV-C LED (15) mounted within it, so the reflective nacel surfaces are formed/positioned with respect to the light source(s)).
Regarding Claim 6:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 1. Newham further teaches wherein the driving unit includes a first operating part that is coupled to the sterilization unit and allows the sterilization unit to rotate about the rotation axis and a second operating part that allows the sterilization unit to move through the opening of the housing (paras. [0009. 0027, 0029, 0031, 0042]: teaches the drive/actuation arrangement includes a rotation-enabling mechanism (“first operating part”) that rotates the UVC emitter head unit 1 about its rotation axis, and a linear movement mechanism (“second operating part”), e.g., the rise/lower tube 2 and associated activation that provides the reciprocal vertical motion of the support tube, so that the head retracts into the protective enclosure (i.e., through the top opening/doors)).
Regarding Claim 7:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 6. Newham further teaches wherein the second operating part allows the sterilization unit to move in a direction parallel to the rotation axis (Newham expressly describes vertical raise/lower motion of UVC emitter head unit 1on support tube 2 (i.e., reciprocal vertical action). Since the rotation axis for the rotating UVC emitter unit 1 is the central axis of the emitter head, the vertical motion of the support tube is parallel to that rotation axis).
Regarding Claim 14:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 1. Newham further teaches wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength in a UV-C range (Newham explicitly teaches the disinfection device uses UV-C LEDs / UV-C emission).
Regarding Claim 15:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 1. Newham further teaches wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength of about 222 nm to about 280 nm (para. [0008]: the disclosed system emits UV-C, and Newham expressly discusses UV-C disinfection effectiveness across a 200–280 nm emission spectrum and notes typical UV-C systems around 253 nm, which lies within the claimed about 222–280 nm range; the disclosed UV-C LED emission therefore includes wavelengths within the claimed range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newham in view of US 2009/0089820 A1 [hereinafter Toshiba].
Regarding Claim 8:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 6. However, Newham does not specifically note that wherein the second operating part includes a support bracket that supports the first operating part, and wherein, as the support bracket moves, the sterilization unit coupled to the first operating part moves through the opening of the housing.
Toshiba teaches:
a second operating part includes a support bracket (paras. [0040, 0052]: teaches a chassis mount 24 (“support bracket”), acts as “ascent/descent retaining member which supports the medium drive unit and is supported by the main frame for ascent and descent between a raised position corresponding to the drive position and a lowered position corresponding to the retracted position”, as such, the chassis mount is part of a vertical movement mechanism (“second operating part”)).
Thus, Newham in light of Toshiba teaches Claim 8, because Toshiba provides an explicit support bracket/carriage structure for the vertical translation taught by Newham: the sterilization unit (including the portion corresponding to the first operating part) is mounted to and supported by the moving support bracket, and as that support bracket moves vertically, the sterilization unit correspondingly moves through Newham’s housing opening.
Newham teaches vertically moving a sterilization unit through a housing opening. Toshiba teaches a support bracket/carriage (chassis mount 24) configured for ascent/descent while supporting a device unit. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to incorporate Toshiba’s support bracket/ carriage into Newham’s deployment mechanism to provide a stable, repeatable vertical translation structure for the moving unit (i.e., the unit is carried by the bracket, and moves as the bracket moves), which is a predictable mechanical implementation of the same deploy/retract function taught by Newham.
Regarding Claim 9:
Newham in view of Toshiba teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 8. Toshiba further teaches wherein the support bracket includes at least one guide rib movably inserted in at least one guide rail, which is formed in the housing (Figs, 5 , 16 and 18; paras. [0054, 0078]: the chassis mount 24 (“support bracket”) has a guide boss 27 (“guide rib”), as in Fig. 16, the guide boss 27 moves in the guide groove 18 (“guide rail), as in Fig. 18, and the guide grooves 18 formed to the main frame 11 (“housing”), as in Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 10:
Newham in view of Toshiba teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 9. Toshiba further teaches:
a pressurizing member elastically deformed by the at least one guide rib (Fig. 18 and para. [0080]: the press projection 30 (“pressurizing member”) is elastically deformed by contact with the guide structure associated with the guide boss/groove interface (specifically, a protruding portion 17c adjacent the boss-in-groove arrangement), thereby producing elastic force that presses the guide boss 27 against an inner surface of the guide groove 18),
wherein a first end portion of the pressurizing member is coupled to the housing (Figs. 24-26 and para. [0085]: the root/base end of press projection 30 at the wall-junction (“first end portion”) formed on the inner surface of the front wall 11d of the main frame 11 (housing). Note although para. [0085] corresponds to an embodiment in which the press projection is formed integrally on the main frame, it is still describing the same anti-rattle guide interface (press projection 30 cooperating with the guide boss/groove and associated guide features) and merely relocates the press projection from the moving member to the housing-side member. This placement variation does not change the function or cooperation of the parts relevant o the claimed pressurizing-member end portions), and
a second end portion of the pressurizing member is elastically deformed by the at least one guide rib to exert pressure on one side of the at least one guide rib to allow the at least one guide rib to contact an inner surface of the at least one guide rail (Fig. 18 and para. [0080]: the distal end including abutting portion 31 (“second end portion”), abuts a projection 17c on the guide surface 17b and is flexed a predetermined amount, producing elastic force, with that elastic force, the press projection elastically presses the second guide rib 17 (the guide rib having guide surface 17b / projection 17c) and clamps it between the press projection 30 and the guide boss 27 (“guide rib”) so that to presses the guide boss 27 against an inner surface of the guide groove 18).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newham in view of Toshiba, and further in view of US 2003/0081534 A1 [hereinafter Sony].
Regarding Claim 11:
Newham in view of Toshiba teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 9. However, the combined references do not specially note an elastic part formed to extend from the at least one guide rib, wherein an end portion of the elastic part is elastically deformed by the at least one guide rail.
Sony teaches an elastic part (plate spring 72) and an end portion of the elastic part is elastically deformed (Figs. 22A-22C and para. [0137]: “by only adjusting the movement of the guide sub-shaft 46 in the vertical direction ... the end 72a of the plate spring 72 is resiliently deformed within a large range of angle...”).
As such, Toshiba in light of Sony teaches the limitations of claim 11. Toshiba teaches the rail/groove guide interface for the moveable bracket-support unit (i.e., the guide rail defining a guiding surface for the moving guide member). Sony teaches a plastic spring having a fixed end and a resiliently deformable free end that extends from the guided member. Thus, when Sony’s plate spring is incorporated into Toshiba’s moving guide member region, the plate spring constitutes the claimed “elastic part formed to extend from the at least one guide rib,” and the free end of the plate spring is elastically deformed by the guide rail/groove wall during guided movement, thereby satisfying claim 11.
Both Toshiba and Sony are related to optical disk/disk drive apparatus having guided moving components, where controlling play/vibration/rattling of the guided member is a design concern. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to incorporate Sony’s plate-spring biasing structure (plate spring with resiliently deformable end portion / spring acting portions) into Toshiba’s guide boss/groove moving interface to provide an additional elastic preload at the guide interface, thereby improving stability and reducing looseness/rattle during repeated guided movement, which is an objective consistent with both references.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newham in view of US 2017/0290933 A1 [hereinafter Collins].
Regarding Claim 12:
Newham teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 1. However, Newham does not specially note the sterilization apparatus further comprising a cover part provided on a side of the sterilization unit. Collins teaches a cover part provided on a side of the sterilization unit (Claim 1: a reflector cup disposed around the UV source... an optically transmissive cover disposed over the reflector cup).
Newham teaches a sterilization unit that is withdrawn into the housing through a top opening, such that a cover part on the sterilization unit is desirable to block the opening and prevent foreign substances from entering when stored. Collins teaches an optically transmissive cover disposed over a UV source/reflector assembly, and further teaches that a major surface of the cover is roughened (i.e., an optical surface structure). Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to provide Newham’s sterilization unit with an optically transmissive cover as taught by Collins (with a roughened/patterned surface) so that, when the unit is retracted, the cover protects the unit/opening while still allowing sterilization light to pass and providing surface light-scattering/appearance effects consistent with the cover’s function.
Regarding Claim 13:
Newham in view of Collins teaches the sterilization apparatus of claim 12. Collins further teaches:
wherein the cover part is formed of a light-transmitting material (Collins explicitly teaches an “optically transmissive cover”), and
wherein an optical pattern that reflects or scatters light incident from the outside is formed on at least one surface of the cover part (para. [0016]: “the top side of cover 34 (the side facing away from UVLED 1), the bottom side of cover 34 (the side facing UVLED 1), or both are roughened, textured, or patterned, for example to act as a diffuser to the radiation exiting cover 34,” such the roughened/textured/patterned surface provides an optical surface structure that scatters incident light, including light incident from outside).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4, and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 18, and 19 of copending Application No. 18/410,976 to Choi et al. (Choi `976) (reference application) in view of Newham. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as demonstrated in the claim chart below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Chart
#18/410,967 (Present Application)
# 18/410,976 (Choi `976)
1.A sterilization apparatus comprising:
a housing; a sterilization unit that irradiates at least one sterilization target area with sterilization light; and a driving unit that moves the sterilization unit into and out of the housing via an opening provided in the housing and rotates the sterilization unit about a rotation axis.
2.The sterilization apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sterilization unit is moved in a vertical direction through the opening, which is formed on a top surface of the housing.
3.The sterilization apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sterilization unit includes at least one light source to generate the sterilization light and a mounting bracket in which the at least one light source is mounted.
4.The sterilization apparatus of claim 3, wherein the sterilization unit further includes at least one reflector to reflect the sterilization light generated from the at least one light source to the at least one sterilization target area.
14. The sterilization apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength in a UV-C range.
15. The sterilization apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength of about 222 nm to about 280 nm.
1.A sterilization device comprising: a housing; a sterilization unit that irradiates sterilization light for sterilization of at least one sterilization target area; and a driving unit that moves at least a portion of the sterilization unit between exterior and interior of the housing via an opening provided in the housing.
2.The sterilization device of claim 1, wherein the sterilization unit is moved in a vertical direction through the opening, which is formed on a top surface of the housing.
3.The sterilization device of claim 1, wherein the sterilization unit includes at least one light source to generate the sterilization light and a mounting part in which the at least one light source is mounted.
6.The sterilization device of claim 3, wherein the sterilization unit further includes at least one reflector to reflect the sterilization light generated from the at least one light source to the at least one sterilization target area.
18. The sterilization device of claim 1, wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength in a UV-C range.
19. The sterilization device of claim 1, wherein the sterilization light has a wavelength of about 222 nm to about 280 nm.
Claim 1 of Choi `976 lacks the driving unit rotates the sterilization unit about a rotation axis. Newham `008 discloses a driving/actuation mechanism can cause both the rotation and vertical movement of the sterilization unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the driving unit recited in claim 1 of Choi `976 to additionally rotate the sterilization unit as taught by Newham because rotation predictably sweeps the emitted sterilization light through multiple angular directions, thereby improving coverage and uniformity of irradiation and reducing shadowed regions that can occur with a fixed-orientation emitter.
Conclusion
/JING WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/ROBERT H KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2881