Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of sub-species 1a in the reply filed on 6/25/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 4 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/25/2026.
Sub-species 1a does not include a protective layer as claimed in claim 4. Claim 4 is drawn to the non-elected subspecies 1d, an electronic device (100f) further comprising a protection layer (G1), a protection layer (G2), and a protection layer (BM) as it related to species 1d.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2025 was filed prior to the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s)
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 7, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20220344373 A1; hereinafter Wang) in view of Oh et al. (US 20220328439 A1; hereinafter Oh).
Annotated Fig. 3 - Wang
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an electronic device (Figs. 1–3B, 200), comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 3B: 210);
a first metal layer, disposed on the substrate (Fig. 3B, metallization layer comprising contact window 241, and electrode 242);
a second metal layer, disposed on the substrate (Fig. 2B, 221b layers, including M21, M22, and M23, as well as L21);
a third metal layer, disposed on the substrate (Fig. 2B: metallization layer comprising contact window 291 and pad 292);
a plurality of pads, disposed on the substrate (Fig. 3A, pads 292; Fig. 2A, electrode 242), and comprising
a first pad (Figure 2A, Figure 3A: electrode 242, equivalent to a pad),
a second pad (see annotated Figure 3A: left most pad 292), and
a third pad (see annotated Figure 3A: right most pad 292);
an electronic element, disposed on the substrate and connected to the first pad
a switching element (Fig. 2B, T21, wherein T21 includes at least TS2, TG2, and TD2), disposed on the substrate and connected to the second pad (Fig. 2A and 3B, T21 electrically connected to L21, which is electrically connected to 291), wherein
the second metal layer is disposed between the first metal layer and the third metal layer (Fig. 2B: 221b layers are electrically between connectors 291 and 241, but also physically between the display area, where first metal layer 241 and 242 reside, and non-display area, where 291 and 292 reside; [0044]),
the first pad and the first metal layer belong to the same layer (Fig. 3B: 291 extends up to the same layer as 292), and
the first pad is electrically connected to the second pad through the first metal layer and the third metal layer (Fig. 2A–3B: first metal layer contact window 241 is connected to 291 through L21, connecting the first pad to the third).
However, Wang also teaches in paragraphs 44 - 45, that bonding pads 292 can be electrically connected to a wiring substrate (not shown) where the wiring substrate is an FPC with a chip mounted on the wiring substrate can be electrically connected to the bonding pads 292, and the chip can be a source driver. The chip (e.g. source driver) transmits driving signals through the data lines L21, and this transmits pixel signals to electrode 242, electrically connecting the source driver to the first pad, electrode 242.
Oh teaches the following limitations not explicitly disclosed by Wang:
an electronic element, disposed on the substrate and connected to the first pad (Fig. 2-3: pad area PA includes a plurality of first pads 141 that receive a signal via the driving IC 151 which are then connected to the display; [0060] – [0062]).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang with the driving IC of Oh by connecting an electronic component to the pads in the non-display area to send signals to the pixel electrodes in the display.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of the second pad on the substrate does not overlap an orthographic projection of the first metal layer on the substrate (Fig. 2A - 3A: metal layer made up of 242 and 241 in figure 2A and 2B do not overlap pad 2 in Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the second pad, the third pad, and the third metal layer belong to the same layer (Fig. 3A-3B: third metal layer comprises 291 and 291 which make up the second and third pads respectively) and the second pad is electrically connected to the third pad through the second metal layer (Fig. 2A - 2B: connected through the line L21 which is in the second metal layer as shown in Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 6, Wang does not explicitly teach the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising: a circuit board, disposed on the substrate and connected to the third pad.
However, Wang does teach in paragraphs 44 - 45, that bonding pads 292 can be electrically connected to a wiring substrate where the wiring substrate is an FPC with a chip mounted on the wiring substrate can be electrically connected to the bonding pads 292, and the chip can be a source driver.
However, Oh teaches wherein the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising: a circuit board, disposed on the substrate and connected to the third pad (Fig. 3: printed circuit film 150 connected to pad area PA by a plurality of pads 141 and 142 and including the driving IC 151; [0060] – [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang with the circuit board of Oh in order to receive a signal from the driving IC included on the circuit board.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the electronic device according to claim 6, further comprising:
a plurality of first conductive structures (Fig. 3B: contact windows 241 and 292), respectively
disposed between the electronic element and the first pad (Fig. 1 - 3B: 241 connected to wiring structure 221, connected to L21 which connects to further wiring structures and the source driver; [0042] - [0045]), and
between the switching element and the second pad (Fig. 2B: contact window 292 connected to L21 which connects to switching element T21); and
a second conductive structure,
disposed between the circuit board and the third pad.
Oh teaches the following limitations not disclosed by Wang:
a second conductive structure (Fig. 7: conductive balls CB; [0062]),
disposed between the circuit board and the third pad (Fig. 3 and 7: conductive balls CB connecting pad 141 to the printed circuit film 150; [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang with the conductive structure of Oh in order to connect the third pads with the printed circuit film.
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the electronic device according to claim 7, wherein
the first conductive structures comprise a plurality of electroless nickel immersion gold bumps or a plurality of metal pillars (Fig. 3B: contact window 291 and 241, can be a conductive pillar substantially and formed in the passivation layer 230, [0045]) and
the second conductive structure comprises an electroless nickel immersion gold bump, an anisotropic conductive layer, or a metal pillar.
Oh teaches the second conductive structure, however does not explicitly disclose that the second conductive structure comprises an electroless nickel immersion gold bump, an anisotropic conductive layer, or a metal pillar.
However, Wang also teaches in paragraph [0044], "the bonding pads 292 can be electrically connected to a wiring substrate with anisotropic conductive film (ACF)".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang with the conductive structure of Oh further with the teachings of Wang to replace the second conductive structure with an anisotropic conductive film in order to improve the adhesive properties of the conductive structure.
Regarding claim 18, Wang does not explicitly teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic element comprises a passive element or an active element.
However, Oh teaches wherein the electronic element comprises a passive element or an active element (Fig. 3: driving IC 151 send signals to the pads 141, which inherently requires them to have active elements; [0062])
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang with the IC of Oh in order to transmit signals to the device.
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches \the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the switching element comprises a thin-film transistor (TFT) element, a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) element, or an integrated circuit (Fig. 2B: T21 stated to be a thin-film transistor; [0036]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Oh as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 20070035239 A1; hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claim 12, Wang and Oh do not explicitly teach the electronic device according to claim 6, wherein the circuit board comprises a reel-to-reel chip on film (COF) or chip on glass (COG).
However, Kang teaches wherein the circuit board comprises a reel-to-reel chip on film (COF) or chip on glass (COG) (Fig. 8A: COG 500 connected to pad 253 through conductive balls 410 and ACF 400; [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang and Oh with the circuit board of Kang by replacing the circuit board with a chip on glass circuit board in order to apply external signals to the device.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 20210335986 A1; hereinafter Jeon).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the following limitations:
Electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first insulation layer (Fig. 2b: insulating layer 223),
a second insulation layer,
a third insulation layer (Fig. 2b: insulating layer 224), and
a fourth insulation layer, wherein
the first insulation layer is disposed on the substrate and located between the substrate and the first metal layer (Fig. 2B: layer 224 is between substrate 210 and first metal layer comprising 241 and 242),
the first metal layer is located between the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer,
the second metal layer is located between the second insulation layer and the third insulation layer, and
the third metal layer is located between the third insulation layer and the fourth insulation layer.
Wang also teaches, in Fig. 1 - 2A and paragraphs 21 - 23 and 41 - 42, that there is an imaging part 110 above the passivation layer 230 in the display area, covering the electrodes 242 wherein the signals are driven to the imaging part through the electrodes.
However, Jeon teaches the following limitations not explicitly taught by Wang:
a second insulation layer (Fig. 5B: encapsulation layer 320 disposed above the pixel electrode in the display area in the encapsulation area, equivalent to the first pad and first metal layer),
a fourth insulation layer (Fig. 5B: inorganic insulation layer IIL1 disposed above pad P in the pad area PA, equivalently the non-display area), wherein,
the first metal layer is located between the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer (Wang Fig. 2B: the first insulation layer 223 is below the metal layer; Jeon Fig. 5B: the second insulating layer is above the first metal layer, pixel electrode 221 and common electrode CM; [0135]),
the second metal layer is located between the second insulation layer and the third insulation layer (Wang Fig. 2B: the third insulation layer 224 is below the second metal layer; Jeon Fig. 5B: layer 320 is above the first metal layer, pixel electrode 221 and common electrode CM, which is above the second metal layer; [0135])), and
the third metal layer is located between the third insulation layer and the fourth insulation layer (Wang Fig. 3A: the third insulation layer is below the third metal layer comprising of contact windows 291 and 292; Jeon Fig. 5B: the fourth insulating layer IIL is above the third metal layer, equivalently pad P in the pad-area, equivalent to a pad in the non-display area; [0091])).
Jeon also teaches in paragraphs 83, that the encapsulation layer may protect the display element layer from dust particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang and Oh with the insulation layers of Jeon by having insulation layers above the pads and protecting the pads from foreign substances.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein a material of the first insulation layer ([0033], the material of the first insulating layer 223 can be silicon oxide, a dielectric), a material of the second insulation layer, a material of the third insulation layer ([0033], the material of the third insulating layer 224 can be silicon nitride), and a material of the fourth insulation layer comprise silicon nitride, dielectric, polymer, organic material, or polyimide.
However, Jeon teaches a material of the second insulation layer ([0148], encapsulation layer 320 may include a polymer-based material, such as polyimide), and a material of the fourth insulation layer ([0136], [0155], insulating layer IL is made of the same material as 211, which is stated to be made of a general-purpose polymer) comprise silicon nitride, dielectric, polymer, organic material, or polyimide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang with the insulation materials of Jeon in order to protect the device from foreign substances.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hatano et al. (US 7122902 B2; hereinafter Hatano).
Regarding claim 15, Wang does not explicitly teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first pad comprises a first titanium nitride layer, a copper layer, and a second titanium nitride layer.
However, Hatano teaches wherein the first pad comprises a first titanium nitride layer, a copper layer, and a second titanium nitride layer (Fig. 14C: copper interconnect 611, with two titanium nitride layers 609 and 610 disposed on the sides of the copper; [12] – [14]).
Hatano also teaches in paragraph 10, that the titanium nitride film prevents diffusion of the copper film, and also improves the adhesiveness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang with the pad of Hatano, in order to improve the interconnection by preventing diffusion of the copper.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US 20100078819 A1; hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 16, Wang does not explicitly teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the second pad comprises a titanium nitride layer, a copper layer, and a titanium layer.
However, Shin teaches wherein the second pad comprises a titanium nitride layer, a copper layer, and a titanium layer (Fig. 1B: copper pad 120 and pad barrier layer 130, where the barrier layer is stated to be made of a multilayer structure, including a titanium layer at the bottom and a titanium nitride layer at the top; [0053]).
Shin further teaches in paragraph 52, that titanium has increased adherence to the copper pad, and titanium nitride has an increased diffusion barrier properties and may prevent oxidation and contamination of the surface of the copper pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang with the pad of Shin in order to prevent oxidization and diffusion of the copper, but also to improve the adherence of the barrier layer with the copper pad.
Regarding claim 17, Wang does not explicitly teach the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the second pad comprises a titanium nitride layer, a copper layer, and a titanium layer.
However, Shin teaches wherein the second pad comprises a titanium nitride layer, a copper layer, and a titanium layer (Fig. 1B: copper pad 120 and pad barrier layer 130, where the barrier layer is stated to be made of a multilayer structure, including a titanium layer at the bottom and a titanium nitride layer at the top; [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Wang with the pad of Shin in order to have improve both the second and third pads by preventing oxidization and diffusion of the copper, and also increasing the adherence of the barrier layer with the copper pad.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN HOANG TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817