DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment dated 06/04/2026 has been received and entered. By the amendment, claims 1-6 are pending in the application. Claims 7-20 stand withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as following:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaka et al., US 2018/0053917 A1, in view of Kanou et al., US 2004/0070709 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki et al. figures 1A-1B and accompanying text which discloses a liquid crystal display (LCD) device 10 comprising:
. a first glass substrate 11
. a display portion 32/31 including a light emitting element 31
. a second glass substrate 12
. a liquid crystal layer 22 contacting one surface of the second substrate, wherein the liquid crystal layer inherently includes a plurality of liquid crystal molecules LC,
Sakaki et al., however, do not disclose a surface of the liquid crystal layer facing the first substrate having a concavo-convex shape. Kanou et al. disclose that an LCD device has a liquid crystal layer 56 that facing a first substrate 40 with a concavo-convex shape including a concavely curved portion and a convexly curved portion (fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in a display art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Sakaki et al. liquid crystal layer having a convex/concave shape, as shown by Kanou et al., to obtain a display device with a scattering function ([0008]).
Re claim 4, a sealing portion inherently disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate along an edge of each of the first substrate and the second substrate for coupling/bonding those the first/second substrates to each other (according to an LCD structure).
Re claim 5, wherein the LCD substrates 11, 12 includes a glass substrate ([0096]).
Claims 2, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaka et al., US 2018/0053917 A1, in view of Kanou et al., US 2004/0070709 A1, further in view of Sasaki et al., US 2021/0165274 A1.
Re claims 2-3, the modification to Isaka et al. disclose the claimed invention as describe above except for liquid crystal molecules aligned in vertical and/or horizontal direction. Sasaki et al. do disclose a vertical aligned (VA) LCD mode with liquid crystal molecules aligned in a vertical and/or horizontal direction (figs 1A, 1B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an VA LCD mode over the Isaka et al. LCD display, as shown by Sasaki et al., to improve a wide-viewing angle over an LCD device.
Re claim 6, the modification to Isaka et al., in view of Sasaki et al would result an average thickness of the liquid crystal layer is in a range from about 1000 nm to about 3000 nm as claimed (Sasaki et al., [0071]).
Conclusion
/DUNG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871