DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikebe (US 2021/0208498; IDS, 01/12/2024) in view of Jaiswal (WO 2023/055945).
Ikebe discloses a reflective mask blank and method of making the mask blank. Ikebe discloses and illustrates a cross-sectional view of a main part for explaining the configuration of the reflective mask blank 100. (Para, 0050). Ikebe discloses a reflective mask blank 100 has a mask blank substrate 1 (simply also referred to as “substrate 1”.), a multilayer reflective film 2, a protective film 3 and a phase shift film 4, and these are built up in this order. (Para, 0050; Fig.1). Ikebe explains the phase shift film 4 for shifting a phase of EUV light is formed on the protective film 3. (Para, 0078). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 1, ‘ A reflective mask blank comprising: a substrate; a multilayer reflective film that reflects EUV light; a phase shift film that shifts a phase of the EUV light, the substrate, the multilayer reflective film, the phase shift film being arranged in this order…’ Ikebe discloses at the portion where the phase shift film 4 (phase shift pattern 4a) is formed, a part of the light is reflected at a level that does not adversely affect the pattern transfer while absorbing and reducing the EUV light. (Para, 0078). Ikebe discloses at an opening portion (the portion where no phase shift film 4 is provided), EUV light is reflected from the multilayer reflective film 2 via the protective film 3. (Para, 0078). Ikebe explains the reflected light from the portion where the phase shift film 4 is formed forms a desired phase difference with the reflected light from the opening portion. (Para, 0078). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘A reflective mask blank comprising: …wherein an opening pattern is to be formed in the phase shift film…’ and the limitation of claim 14.
Ikebe discloses the multilayer reflective film 2 formed on the first main surface (front surface) side reflects EUV light that is exposure light and the protective film 3 is provided to protect the multilayer reflective film 2 and is formed of a material having resistance to an etchant and a cleaning liquid used when patterning the phase shift film 4 described later. (Para, 0050). Ikebe discloses the phase shift film 4 absorbs EUV light. (Para, 0050; Fig.1). Ikebe discloses a back side conductive film 5 for an electrostatic chuck is formed on the second main surface (back surface) side of the substrate 1. (Para, 0050; Fig.1). Ikebe discloses the multilayer reflective film 2 imparts a function that reflects EUV light in a reflective mask, and the multilayer reflective film 2 has the configuration of a multilayer film in which each layer composed mainly of elements having different refractive indices is cyclically layered. (Para, 0060; Fig.1). Ikebe discloses a layer containing silicon (Si) is employed as the high refractive index layer and in addition to Si alone, a Si compound containing Si and boron (B), carbon (C), nitrogen (N) and oxygen (O) can be used as a material containing Si. (Para, 0062). Ikebe discloses a reflective mask 200 for EUV lithography excellent in reflectance of EUV light can be obtained by using the layer containing Si as a high refractive index layer. (Para, 0062). Ikebe discloses metal alone selected from molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh) and platinum (Pt), or an alloy thereof is used as a low refractive index layer. (Para, 0062). Ikebe explains a Mo/Si periodic layered film in which Mo films and Si films are alternately layered for about 40 to 60 periods is preferably used as the multilayer reflective film 2 for EUV light having a wavelength of 13 nm to 14 nm. (Para, 0062).
Ikebe discloses the protective film 3 can be formed on the multilayer reflective film 2 or formed in contact with the surface of the multilayer reflective film 2 in order to protect the multilayer reflective film 2 from dry etching and cleaning in the manufacturing process of the reflective mask 200 to be described later. (Para, 0066). Ikebe discloses when the layer of the phase shift film 4 in contact with the surface of the protective film 3 is a thin film of a material (predetermined Ru-based material) comprising metals comprising ruthenium (Ru) and at least one or more elements of chromium (Cr), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), aluminum (Al), silicon (Si), titanium (Ti), vanadium (V), germanium (Ge), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), tin (Sn), tellurium (Te), hafnium (Hf), tungsten (W) and rhenium (Re), the material that can be used as the protective film 3 is a material selected from a silicon-based material such as silicon (Si), a material containing silicon (Si) and oxygen (O), a material containing silicon (Si) and nitrogen (N) and the like, and, a chromium-based material such as chromium (Cr), and a material containing chromium (Cr) and at least one or more elements of oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C). (Para, 0069). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 11.
Ikebe explains the protective film 3 of the reflective mask blank 100 of the present embodiment is preferably made of silicon (Si), or a material containing silicon (Si) and oxygen (O) (silicon-based material). (Para, 0073). Ikebe discloses the phase shift film 4 made of a material (predetermined Ru-based material) comprising metals comprising ruthenium (Ru) and at least one or more elements of chromium (Cr), nickel (Ni) and cobalt (Co), and a material (predetermined ruthenium (Ru)-based material) comprising metals comprising ruthenium (Ru) and at least one or more elements of vanadium (V), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), tungsten (W) and rhenium (Re) can be etched by dry etching using a chlorine-based gas containing oxygen, or an oxygen gas. (Para, 0073). Ikebe discloses the silicon-based material such as silicon (Si), a material containing silicon (Si) and oxygen (O), or a material containing silicon (Si) and nitrogen (N) or the like has resistance to these dry etching gases, and the higher the oxygen content gives the greater the resistance. (Para, 0073). These disclosures and the disclosures and illustrations of Ikebe as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 10.
Ikebe discloses to obtain a sufficient phase shift effect, the absolute reflectance of the phase shift film 4 is preferably 9% or more. (Para, 0078). Ikebe explains the absolute reflectance of the phase shift film 4 (phase shift pattern 4a) refers to a reflectance (ratio of incident light intensity and reflected light intensity) of EUV light reflected from the phase shift film 4 (or phase shift pattern 4a). (Para, 0078). Ikebe discloses to further improve resolution and to improve throughput at the time of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the relative reflectance of the phase shift pattern 4a is preferably 6% to 40%, more preferably 6 to 35%, further preferably 15% to 35%, and further preferably 15% to 25%. (Para, 0080). Ikebe discloses to further improve resolution and to improve throughput at the time of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the absolute reflectance of the phase shift film 4 (or phase shift pattern 4a) is desirably 4% to 27%, and more preferably 10% to 17%. (Para, 0081).
Ikebe discloses the phase shift film 4 of the present embodiment has a thin film of a material comprising metals comprising ruthenium (Ru) and at least one or more elements of chromium (Cr), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), aluminum (Al), silicon (Si), titanium (Ti), vanadium (V), germanium (Ge), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), tin (Sn), tellurium (Te), hafnium (Hf), tungsten (W) and rhenium (Re). (Para, 0082; Fig.1). These disclosures and illustrations of Figure 1 teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 2-4.
Ikebe discloses the phase shift film 4 of a reflective mask blank 100 of the present embodiment can obtain a phase shift pattern 4a having a relative reflectance of 6% to 40% by using a predetermined material(s). (Para, 0083). Ikebe discloses the phase shift film 4 of the reflective mask blank 100 of the present embodiment can obtain an absolute reflectance of 4% to 27% by using a predetermined material(s). (Para, 0083). Ikebe discloses the phase shift film 4 of the reflective mask blank 100 of the present embodiment has a thin film thickness for obtaining a predetermined phase difference (a phase difference between the reflected light from the opening portion and the reflected light from the phase shift pattern 4a). (Para, 0083). Ikebe discloses in the reflective mask 200, the shadowing effect caused by the phase shift pattern 4a can be reduced more and a throughput at the time of manufacturing a semiconductor device can be improved by using the reflective mask 200 manufactured using the reflective mask blank 100 of the present embodiment. (Para, 0083).
Ikebe discloses the refractive index n of Ru is n=0.886 (the extinction coefficient k=0.017), and it is preferable as a material of the phase shift film 4 having high reflectance. (Para, 0086). However, a Ru-based compound such as RuO and the like are likely to have a crystallized structure and have poor processing characteristics. (Para, 0086). Ikebe discloses when the crystal structure of the phase shift film 4 is amorphous, adverse effect at the time of forming the phase shift pattern 4a can be reduced. (Para, 0086). Ikebe discloses the crystal structure of the phase shift film 4 can be amorphous by adding a predetermined element(s) (X) to Ru, which results in making the etching rate rapid, making the pattern shape good and improve processing characteristics. (Para, 0086). Ikebe discloses the predetermined element(s) (X), include at least one or more of Cr, Ni, Co, Al, Si, Ti, V, Ge, Nb, Mo, Sn, Te, Hf, W and Re. (Para, 0086). Ikebe also discloses the refractive index and extinction coefficient of the various materials which may comprise the phase shift film 4 as well as in relation to the phase differences. (Para, 0087-0092). These disclosures and the disclosures and illustrations of Ikebe as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘A reflective mask blank comprising: …and the phase shift film has a refractive index of 0.920 or less with respect to the EUV light, an extinction coefficient of 0.024 or more with respect to the EUV light…’ and the limitation of claim 12. Ikebe also discloses the phase difference and the reflectance of the phase shift film 4 can be adjusted by changing the refractive index n, the extinction coefficient k and the thickness. (Para, 0093). Ikebe discloses the thickness of the phase shift film 4 is preferably 60 nm or less, more preferably 50 nm or less and further preferably 40 nm or less and preferably 25 nm or more. (Para, 0093). Ikebe explains, when it has a protective film 3, the phase difference and the reflectance of the phase shift film 4 may be adjusted in consideration of the refractive index n, the extinction coefficient k and the thickness of the protective film 3. (Para, 0093). These disclosures and the disclosures and illustrations of Ikebe as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘A reflective mask blank comprising: …and the phase shift film has… a thickness of 50 nm or less…’
Ikebe discloses the binary materials (RuV, RuNb, RuMo, RuW and RuRe) in which a predetermined element(s) (X) is/are added to Ru are an amorphous structure, and it is possible to easily subject to etching using a mixed gas of a chlorine-based gas and an oxygen gas. (Para, 0097). Ikebe discloses these materials can be etched by an oxygen gas. (Para, 0097). Ikebe discloses a mixing ratio of Ru and a predetermined element(s) (X) will be described with regard to a predetermined Ru-based material that is a material of the phase shift film 4 of the present embodiment. (Para, 0098). Ikebe discloses when the material of the phase shift film 4 of the reflective mask blank 100 of the present embodiment contains Ru and Re, the composition ratio of Ru and Re (Ru:Re) is preferably 20:1 to 1:20. (Para, 0130). These disclosures and the disclosures of Ikebe as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 8.
Ikebe discloses an etching mask film can be formed on the phase shift film 4 or in contact with the surface of the phase shift film 4. (Para, 0144). Ikebe discloses as a material for the etching mask film, a material having a high etching selectivity of the phase shift film 4 to the etching mask film 25 is used. (Para, 0144). Here, the “etching selectivity of B to A” refers to the ratio of the etching rate of B that is a layer on which etching is desired to be carried out to A that is a layer where etching is not carried out (layer serving as mask). (Para, 0144). Ikebe explains, more specifically, etching selectivity is specified with the equation “etching selectivity of B to A=etching rate of B/etching rate of A”. (Para, 0144). Ikebe discloses “high selectivity” means that a value of the selectivity defined above is large relative to the comparison target. (Para, 0144). Ikebe discloses the etching selectivity of the phase shift film 4 to the etching mask film is preferably 1.5 or more and more preferably 3 or more. (Para, 0144). Ikebe also discloses the phase shift film 4 of a predetermined ruthenium (Ru)-based material, which is a material containing a metal of Ru and at least one or more elements of Cr, Ni, Co, V, Nb, Mo, W and Re, can be etched by dry etching using a chlorine-based gas containing oxygen, or an oxygen gas. (Para, 0145). Ikebe discloses a material of silicon or a silicon compound, or a tantalum (Ta)-based material can be used as a material of the etching mask film, which has high etching selectivity to the phase shift film 4 of a predetermined ruthenium (Ru)-based material. (Para, 0145). These disclosures and the disclosures and illustrations of Ikebe as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 13.
Ikebe also discloses a method of manufacturing the reflective mask 200 using the reflective mask blank 100 of the present embodiment will be described. (Para, 0161). Ikebe discloses a reflective mask blank 100 is prepared, and a resist film 11 is formed on the phase shift film 4 of the first main surface thereof (when the resist film 11 is provided as a reflective mask blank 100, it is not required). (Para, 0162). Ikebe discloses a desired pattern is drawn (exposed) on the resist film 11, further developed and rinsed to form a predetermined resist pattern 11a. (Para, 0162; Fig. 2A-2D). Ikebe discloses in the case of the reflective mask blank 100, the phase shift film 4 is etched using the resist pattern 11a as a mask to form the phase shift pattern 4a, and the resist pattern 11a is removed by ashing, resist stripping liquid, or the like to form the phase shift pattern 4a. (Para, 0163; Fig. 2A-2D). Finally, wet cleaning using an acidic or alkaline aqueous solution is performed. (Para, 0163; Fig.2A-2D). These disclosures and illustrations and the disclosures and illustrations of Ikebe as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 15, ‘ A method of manufacturing a reflective mask blank, the method comprising: forming a multilayer reflective film on a substrate, the multilayer reflective film reflecting EUV light; and forming a phase shift film on the multilayer reflective film, the phase shift film shifting a phase of the EUV light, wherein an opening pattern is to be formed in the phase shift film, and the phase shift film has a refractive index of 0.920 or less with respect to the EUV light, an extinction coefficient of 0.024 or more with respect to the EUV light, a thickness of 50 nm or less…’ and the limitations of claim 16.
Ikebe also discloses, by performing EUV exposure using the above-described reflective mask 200 of the present embodiment, a desired transfer pattern based on the phase shift pattern 4a on the reflective mask 200 can be formed on the semiconductor substrate by suppressing deterioration of the transfer dimensional accuracy due to the shadowing effect. (Para, 0169). In addition, Ikebe discloses the phase shift pattern 4a is a pattern that is fine and has high accuracy with less side wall roughness so that a desired pattern can be formed on the semiconductor substrate with high dimensional accuracy. (Para, 0169). These disclosures and the disclosures of Ikebe as discussed above contemplate the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A reflective mask blank comprising: … and a tolerance range of a focal depth of the transferred image is 60 nm or less.’
Still, the disclosures of Ikebe as disused above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘A reflective mask blank comprising: a normalized image log slope of 2.9 or more for a transferred image when a line-and-space pattern is formed on a target substrate…’ However, the disclosures of Ikebe in view of the disclosures of Jaiswal provide such teachings.
Jaiswal discloses an EUV photomask comprising a multilayer reflective coating and a diffraction grating which replaces a typical absorber layer. (Abstract). Jaiswal discloses the EUV mask has an increased NILS value as a function of a decreased “Zeff” or “Zeff” value as depicted in FIG. 2 for Mo-Si. (Para, 0071). Jaiswal explains the Zeff refers to the effective plane from which the reflective wave arrives — e.g., the reflective ML starts to reflect light, after it propagates this plane. (Para, 0071). In certain embodiments, the contemplated EUV mask provided herein, has an increased NILS as a result of a decreased Zeff. (Para, 0071). Jaiswal discloses in some embodiments, the Zeff is of or between 5 to 60 nm, which corresponds to the reflective ML material. (Para, 0071). Jaiswal discloses the substrate can include any suitable material. (Para, 0072). Jaiswal discloses the multilayer can include any suitable material capable of substantially reflecting extreme ultraviolet or X-ray radiation. (Para, 0073). Jaiswal discloses the EUV mask as disclosed and shown herein has a submerged non-reflective region in the reflective ML. (Para, 0079). Jaiswal discloses EUV masks with submerged non- reflective regions have low Z (or low Zeff) mirrors. (Para, 0079). Jaiswal discloses in the exemplary EUV masks depicted herein, the height (h) and the depth (Zeff) of the non-reflective region submerged in the ML may be tuned to reduce the dose and render a throughput gain and increase in NILS. (Para, 0083). Jaiswal explains that a decrease in Zeff of a submerged non-reflective region, renders an increase in NILS. (Para, 0083). Jaiswal also discloses reduced Zeff also improves other important imaging lithography parameters such as dose to size and non-tele- centricity. (Para, 0083). The disclosures and illustrations of Ikebe as discussed above further in view of these disclosures of Jaiswal contemplate the limitation of claims 1 and 15, ‘A reflective mask blank comprising: …a normalized image log slope of 2.9 or more for a transferred image when a line-and-space pattern is formed on a target substrate…’
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the disclosures of Ikebe in view of the disclosures and illustrations of Jaiswal because both are directed to analogous EUV reflective masks and Jaiswal illustrates how throughput gain of a reflective mask and therefore the accuracy of patterns formed using the mask can be improved.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikebe (498) in view of Jaiswal as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 10-16 in paragraph 4 above, and further in view of Ikebe (US 2019/0384158; IDS, 01/12/2024).
The disclosures of Ikebe (498) in view of Jaiswal as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 5, ‘ The reflective mask blank according to claim 2, wherein the phase shift film contains Ir, or the phase shift film contains Ir and Re, and when the phase shift film contains Ir and Re, an element ratio of Re to Ir (Re:Ir) is 0:1 to 1:1.’ However, the disclosures of Ikebe and Jaiswal further in view of the disclosures of Ikebe (158) provides such teachings.
Ikebe (158), similar to Ikebe (498) and Jaiswal, is also directed to an EUV reflective mask. Ikebe (158) also discloses an EUV reflective mask having a structure similar to the EUV reflective mask of Ikebe (498). Ikebe (158) discloses and illustrates in Figure 1, the reflective mask blank 10 is provided with a substrate 12 having a back side conductive film 11, a multilayer reflective film 13, a protective film 14 and a phase shift film 15. (Para, 0083; Fig.1). Ikebe (158) discloses the multilayer reflective film 13 is formed on a main surface of the substrate 12 (main surface on the opposite side from the side where the back side conductive film 11 has been formed) and reflects exposure light in the form of EUV light. (Para 0083); Fig. 1). Ikebe (158) discloses the protective film 14 is formed on the uppermost layer of this multilayer reflective film 13 and is formed with a material having ruthenium (Ru) as the main component thereof in order to protect the multilayer reflective film 13. (Para, 0083; Fig.1). Ikebe (158) discloses the phase shift film 15 is formed on the protective film 14 and the phase shift film 15 absorbs EUV light while reflecting a portion of the EUV light to cause a shift in the phase thereof. (Para, 0083; Fig.1).
Ikebe (158) discloses for the phase shift film, one type of metal element each is selected from Group A and Group B. (Para, 0102). Ikebe (158) discloses metal elements belonging to Group A include Pd, Ag, Pt, Au, Ir, W, Cr, Co, Mn, Sn, Ta, V, Ni, Fe, Hf, Cu, Te, Zn, Mg, Ge and Al and examples of metal elements belonging to Group B include Rh, Ru, Mo, Nb, Ti, Zr, Y and Si. Ikebe (158) discloses one or more types of metal element each is selected from Group A and Group B. (Para, 0105). The disclosures of Ikebe (498) and Jaiswal as discussed above further in view of these disclosures of Ikebe (158) teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 5-6.
The disclosures of Ikebe (498) in view of Jaiswal as discussed above also discloses the phase shifting layer may comprise a ternary material. (Para, 0133-0134). The disclosures of Ikebe (498) in view of Jaiswal further in view of the disclosures of Ikebe (158) contemplate the limitations of claim 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the combination of Ikebe (498) and Jaiswal further in view of the disclosures of Ikebe (158) because similar to Ikebe (498) and Jaiswal, Ikebe (158) also discloses an EUV reflective mask and the disclosures of Ikebe (158) discloses a EUV reflective mask which improves resolution attributable to phase shift effect.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikebe (498) in view of Jaiswal as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 10-16 in paragraph 4 above, and further in view of Tanabe (US 2019/0384156).
The disclosures of Ikebe (498) in view of Jaiswal as discussed in paragraph 4 above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 9, The reflective mask blank according to claim 1, wherein a rate of etching the phase shift film with a sulfuric acid-hydrogen peroxide mixture is 0 nm/min to 0.05 nm/min.’ However, the disclosures of Ikebe (498) and Jaiswal further in view of the disclosures of Tanabe provides such teachings.
Tanabe, similar to Ikebe and Jaiswal, is directed to a reflective mask blank. Tanabe discloses the reflective mask blank comprises a layer to reflective UEV light and an absorber layer, which is similar to the phase shift layer of Ikebe (498) and the diffraction grating layer of Jaiswal. Tanabe discloses in the course of manufacturing the reflective mask 20, the absorber layer 14 is exposed to a cleaning liquid when the cleaning liquid is used for removing a resist pattern 191 that remains on the reflective mask blank after being etched. (Para, 0057). Tanabe discloses as the cleaning liquid, a sulfuric acid-peroxide mixture (SPM), sulfuric acid, ammonia, an ammonia hydrogen peroxide mixture (APM), cleaning water containing hydroxyl radical, ozonized water, or the like may be used. (Para, 0057). Tanabe discloses that in EUV lithography, SPM is commonly used as the cleaning liquid of resist, which is a solution in which sulfuric acid and hydrogen peroxide are mixed. (Para, 0057), for example, a solution in which sulfuric acid and hydrogen peroxide are mixed by a volume ratio of 3:1. (Para, 0057). Tanabe discloses it is favorable to control the temperature of SPM to be 100° C. or higher from the viewpoint of improving the etching rate. (Para, 0057). Tanabe discloses the absorber layer 14 needs to be highly resistant to the cleaning liquid and to have a low etching rate (e.g., less than or equal to 0.10 nm/min.) when immersed in a solution at 100° C. of, for example, 75 vol % of sulfuric acid and 25 vol % of hydrogen peroxide. (Para, 0057). The disclosures of Ikebe (498) in view of Jaiswal as discussed above further in view of these disclosures of Tanabe teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the combination of Ikebe (498) and Jaiswal further in view of the disclosures of Tanabe because similar to Ikebe(498) and Jaiswal, Tanabe is also directed to a reflective mask blank, and Tanabe discloses parameters for the absorber layer, phase shifting layer or diffraction grating layer which will provide a desired reflective mask pattern that is undamaged by the cleaning/resist removal step.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899