DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang US 2010/0296247.
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a water cooling structure comprising: a heat sink 120, having an inlet hole 122, an outlet hole 125, and an inner space, the space between the inlet and the outlet, wherein the inner space communicates with the inlet hole and the outlet hole, see fig. 6 showing the water traveling through the heat exchanger; a cover plate, referring to fig 6, the portion of the heat sink having the heat exchange module and ribs, disposed on the heat sink to seal the inner space, the heat sink is sealed by the cover plate 140; a heat exchange module 124, disposed on the cover plate and located in the inner space, see fig. 3; a retaining wall, see retaining wall, disposed on the cover plate and located in the inner space, see annotated fig. 3, wherein the inlet hole and the outlet hole are disposed on different side of the retaining wall, the retaining wall separates the two inlets and outlets; a plurality of ribs 123, disposed on the cover plate and located in the inner space to form a plurality of flow channels through the heat exchange module, see para. [0041] stating that a plurality of guide pins 123 may be formed, thus the embodiment relied upon is the embodiment where a plurality of guide pins are formed in the space 121 as shown by fig. 4-5, wherein the plurality of ribs each have opposite ends, labeled 1, 2, with one end 1 extended outside the heat exchange module and towards the retaining wall, and the other end 2 of the plurality of ribs connected to the heat exchange module; and a coolant, located in the inner space and diverted by the plurality of flow channels, see para. [0042] stating water flows through the space between channels; see also claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses the heat exchange module, the retaining wall and the ribs are all formed on the cover plate, as shown in the figures above.
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses the heat exchange module has a first fin assembly and a second fin assembly respectively located on two sides of the retaining wall, the first fin assembly, labeled B fin, is corresponding to the inlet hole, and the second fin assembly, labeled A fin, is corresponded to the outlet hole.
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses the ribs are located on one of the two sides of the retaining wall near the outlet hole and connected to the second fin assembly. For the purposes of claim 4, the ribs are interpreted as the portion of 123 as claimed attached to the A fin assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses the ribs are located on one of the two sides of the retaining wall near the inlet hole and connected to the first fin assembly. Referring to annotated fig. 3 above, the ribs 123 are connected to fin assembly B.
Regarding claim 6, Chang discloses the ribs are located on both sides of the retaining wall and respectively connected to the first fin assembly and the second fin assembly. Referring to claims 4 and 5, the ribs 123 are present on both sides as claimed.
Regarding claims 7-8, referring to claim 1 at para. [0040] above, Chang discloses a plurality of guide pins 123 may be formed, which thus must include at least 2 guide pins forming at least three flow channels.
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses a first passage and a second passage disposed on a top surface of the heat sink and respectively communicating with the inlet hole and the outlet hole. The top surface labeled above must have first and second passages to provide the water circuit thereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Zhang US 10,842,043.
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses all elements except for the heat sink has a locking groove and the cover plate is disposed in the locking groove.
Referring to figs. 4A-4D, Zhang teaches that a heat exchanger cover plate and heat sink may include a locking groove 425 in which the other end of the element may be fit therein. The locking groove facilitates hermetically sealing of the two components. See col. 11, lines 25-50.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to include a locking groove on the heat sink of Chang, as taught by Zhang, in order to hermetically seal the two components. Id.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Rondier US 2007/0163765.
Regarding claim 11, Chang discloses all elements but does not expressly state the heat sink and cover plate are interconnected by soldering, riveting, or adhesion. Rather Chang appears to show a connection via mechanical fastener holes.
Rondier teaches the cover plate and the heat sink are fixed together by brazing. See para. [0041]. The use of brazing allows for fixing the plates while at the same time obtaining metallurgical continuity, and therefor thermal continuity between the elements. See para. [0080].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide a brazed connection between the cover plate and the heat sink of Chang, as taught by Rondier, in order to provide a means to fix the elements together while maintaining metallurgical continuity. Id.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GERALD L SUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741