DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2017/0038676).
Jung discloses a pellicle and a photomask assembly including the same. Jung discloses a pellicle 100 which may include a pellicle membrane 140 and a pellicle frame 150, where the pellicle frame 150 may support the pellicle membrane 140 and the pellicle membrane 140 may include a porous thin film 120. (Para, 0060; Fig.1). Jung discloses the pellicle frame 150 may be adhered to the porous thin film 120 by an adhesive layer 160 and the pellicle frame 140 may be evenly maintained to have a free-standing structure on the pellicle membrane 150. (Para 0061; Fig.1). Jung discloses the porous thin film 120 may have a thickness D of about 50 nm (nanometer) to about 4 μm (micrometer). (Para, 0062: Fig.1). This disclosure teaches and/or suggests the limitation of claim 10, ‘ …wherein the pellicle membrane has a thickness of 0.6nm to 200nm.’ Jung explains, since the porous thin film 120 has a relatively large thickness D, the pellicle membrane 140 may provide mechanical stability, and structural stability to the pellicle 100; therefore, an additional support structure for stably supporting the pellicle membrane 140 on the pellicle frame 150 may not be needed. (Para, 0064). Jung discloses the porous thin film 120 may include a plurality of nanowires, which may be arranged across one another to form a net-like structure. (Para, 0065; Fig.1).
Jung discloses in the porous thin films 120A, 120B, 120C, and 120D, the plurality of nanowires NW1, NW2, NW3, and NW4 may have uniform widths and/or diameters, or different widths and/or diameters. (Para, 0075). Jung explains in at least some example embodiments, the plurality of nanowires NW1, NW2, NW3, and NW4 may have widths and/or diameters, which are selected in the range of about 5 nm (nanometer) to about 100 nm, in a thickness direction of each of the plurality of nanowires. (Para, 0075). Jung also discloses the porous thin film 120 may include a hetero nanowire 220B including two kinds of materials such as a nanowire 220B may include a circular or elliptical core wire 222B, and a shell wire 224B where the core wire 222B includes a first material, and the shell wire 224B includes a second material and the shell wire 224B surrounds the core wire 222B. (Para, 0086-0094). Jung explains the second material may be different from the first material. These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 10, ‘ The pellicle of claim 4, wherein the uncoated nanotube are single-walled, double-walled, or multi-walled, and have a thickness of 0.3 nm to 100 nm…’
Jung discloses the plurality of nanowires included in the porous thin film 120 of FIG. 1 may include a material selected from the group consisting of, including but not limited to, silicon (Si), carbon (C), nickel (Ni), platinum (Pt), gold (Au), ruthenium (Ru), indium phosphide (InP), gallium nitride (GaN), silicon nitride (Si3N4), silicon dioxide (SiO2), titanium dioxide (TiO2), yttrium barium copper oxide (YBCO), silicon carbide (SiC), and/or a combination thereof. (Para, 0081). This disclosure teaches and/or suggests the limitation of claim 2.
Jung discloses an opening 150H formed in the center of the pellicle frame 150 may have a width 150 W of about 50 mm (millimeter) to about 150 mm, and it may be a square shape of about 50 mm×50 mm, a rectangular shape of about 50 mm×80 mm, and/or a rectangular shape of about 110 mm×140 mm. (Para, 0109; Fig.1). Jung also discloses the porous thin film 120 may have a sufficient large size to completely cover the opening 150H. (Para, 0110; Fig.1). Jung explains the porous thin film 120 may have a larger planar size than a planar size of the opening 150H such as a planar size of about 60 mm×60 mm, about 60 mm×90 mm, and/or about 120 mm 150 mm. (Para, 0110; Fig.1). These disclosures, the disclosures of Jung as discussed above and the illustrations of Figure 1 teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘A pellicle for extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography, comprising: a frame having an opening formed in a central portion; and a pellicle membrane supported by the frame and covering the opening, formed in a reticular structure based on nanotubes…’ Moreover, these disclosures, the disclosures of Jung as discussed above and the illustrations of Figure 1 teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 16, ‘ A method for manufacturing a pellicle membrane of a pellicle for extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography, the method comprising: forming the pellicle membrane in a reticular structure based on nanotubes…’
Jung also discloses another embodiment of the pellicle as illustrated in Figure 5. Jung discloses the pellicle 300 may include a porous thin film 120 and a pellicle membrane 340 and the pellicle membrane 340 includes a capping layer 330, which covers at least one side surface of the porous thin film 120. (Para, 0117; Fig.5). Jung discloses the capping layer 330 may include first and second capping layers 330A and 330B covering both side surfaces of the porous thin film 120; however, when necessary, the pellicle 300 may include only the first capping layer 330A, which covers a surface of the porous thin film 120 facing the pellicle frame 150, and/or include only the second capping layer 330B, which covers another surface of the porous thin film 120. (Para, 0117; Fig.5). Jung explains the second capping layer 330B is the reverse side of the surface of the porous thin film 120 facing the pellicle frame 150. (Para, 0117; Fig.5). Jung discloses the capping layer 330 may include a different material from a material included in the porous thin film 120. (Para, 0118). Jung discloses the capping layer 330 may include a material selected from the group consisting of, including but not limited to, silicon carbide (SiC), silicon dioxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (Si3Nd), silicon oxynitride (SiON), yttrium oxide (Y2O3), yttrium nitride (YIN), barium carbide (BaC2), barium nitride (Ba(NO3)2), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh), and a combination thereof. (Para, 0118). These disclosures, the disclosures of Jung as discussed above and the illustrations of Figure 5 teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 1, ‘A pellicle for extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography, comprising: … the pellicle membrane including a coating layer formed by coating at least part of the nanotubes with a metal or metal compound, wherein the metal or metal compound is based on at least one of Mo, Si, Zr, Nb, Ru, Y, La, or Ce, or any alloy thereof.’ These disclosures also teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim claims 3 and 4-8. Furthermore, these disclosures, the disclosures of Jung as discussed above and the illustrations of Figure 1 teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 16, ‘ A method for manufacturing a pellicle membrane of a pellicle for extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography, the method comprising: …coating at least part of the nanotubes with a metal or metal compound to form a coating layer of the pellicle membrane.’ These disclosures and illustrations also teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 17-19.
Jung also discloses the plurality of nanowires NW1, NW2, NW3, and NW4 that constitute the porous thin films 120A, 120B, 120C, and 120D, respectively, may be arranged across one another at a density of about 0.01 g/cm3 to about 2 g/cm3. Densities of the plurality of nanowires NW1, NW2, NW3, and NW4 in per unit area in the porous thin films 120A, 120B, 120C, and 120D may be the same over the entire area of the porous thin films 120A, 120B, 120C, and 120D, respectively. (Para, 0074). Jung also discloses alternatively, densities of the plurality of nanowires NW1, NW2, NW3, and NW4 may be different in respective regions of the porous thin films 120A 120B, 120C, and 120D. (Para, 0074). These disclosures, the disclosures of Jung as discussed above and the illustrations of Figures 1 and 5 teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 13-15.
While the recitations of claims 1-8, 10 and 13-19 are not exactly and/or identically disclosed by Jung, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected to successfully fabricate a pellicle having a desired structure that provides proper protection to a lithography photomask that is also durable and allows for accurate pattern formation processes.
Claim(s) 9, 11-12 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to claims 1-8, 10, and 13-19 in paragraph 4 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0326603; IDS, 07/15/2025).
The disclosures and illustrations of Jung as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 9, ‘ The pellicle of claim 8, wherein the capping layer is formed by coating the metal or the metal compound on the core layer and then performing heat treatment at a temperature of 200 ℃ to 1500 ℃.’ However, the disclosures of Jung further in view of the disclosures of Kim provide such teachings.
Kim is also directed to a pellicle that is used for EUV lithography similar to the pellicle disclosed in Jung. Kim discloses a pellicle with comprises a substrate 10 supports the support layer 20 and the pellicle layer 30 and makes it easy to handle and transport the pellicle 100 during and after the process of manufacturing the pellicle 100. (Para, 0061; Fig.1). Kim discloses the support layer 20 serving as an etch stopper is formed on the substrate 10 and the pellicle layer 30 is formed on the support layer 20. (Para, 0062; Fig.1). Kim discloses there is an opening 13 in the central portion of the substrate 10 may be formed using a micro-machining technique such as micro-electro mechanical systems (MEMS). (Para, 0064; Fig.1). Kim explains the opening 13 is formed by removing the central portion of the substrate 10 under the support layer 20 by means of the micro-machining technique and it partially exposes the etch stopper 20 under the pellicle layer 30. (Para, 0064; Fig.1). Kim also discloses the pellicle layer 30 includes the core layer 31 and the capping layer 37 and at least one of the core layer 31 and the capping layer 37 is a molybdenum carbide containing layer. (Para, 0065).
Kim discloses the molybdenum carbide containing layer can be prepared as a carbide at a lower temperature, for example, 700° C., than other carbides. (Para, 0069). Kim explains, the temperature at which crystallization starts is 900° C. for silicon carbide and 1000° C. or more for zirconium carbide and boron carbide. (Para, 0069). The disclosures of Jung as discussed above further in view of these disclosures of Kim teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 12. Kim discloses because molybdenum carbide has a high bonding strength between molybdenum and carbon, carbide preparation begins at 700° C. (Para, 0069). Kim discloses an embodiment where the capping layer 37 may be the molybdenum carbide containing layer. (Para, 0077). Kim discloses the capping layer 37 formed with the molybdenum carbide containing layer may have a thickness of 10 nm or less. (Para, 0077). Kim discloses with respect to the capping layer 37 formed with the molybdenum carbide containing layer, the material of the core layer 31 may include at least one of graphene, Me-α (Me is at least one of Zr and Mo, and α is at least one of nitride, boride, carbide, and silicide), ZrSi2, ZrBx (2≤x<16), ZrBxSiy (x≥2, y≥2), and YBx (x≥2). (Para, 0077). Kim discloses the core layer 31 and the capping layer 37 may be formed using various deposition methods such as sputtering, CVD, and ALD. (Para, 0084). The disclosures and illustrations of Jung as discussed above in view of these disclosures of Kim teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 11.
Kim explains when forming a Mo2C layer as the molybdenum carbide containing layer, a Mo thin film is deposited on the support layer 20 by sputtering. (Para, 0085). Kim discloses by heat-treating the Mo thin film in an atmosphere containing hydrocarbon gas and hydrogen at a temperature of 700° C. or higher, it is possible to form the Mo2C layer on the support layer. (Para, 0085). The disclosures and illustrations of Jung as discussed above further in view of these disclosures and illustrations of Kim teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 9 and 20-21.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the disclosures of Jung further in view of he disclosures of Kim because both Jung and Kim are directed to analogous pellicle structures used for protecting photomasks used in EUV lithography and Kim discloses a pellicle structure that includes a capping or protective layer comprising molybdenum carbide which can be formed at lower temperatures which also has a transmittance of 90% or more while being thermally, mechanically and chemically stable so as to not impede the accuracy of the lithographic pattern formation process.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899