DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“holder” in claims 45-47 . Since there is no disclosure for holder, Examiner will interpret holder to mean anything capable of supporting the arm member.
-“connector” in claim 51 will be interpreted according to para. [0046] as having internal engaging and disengaging elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically it is unclear whether Applicant is intending to recite that both tubes completely overlap the bendable tube or whether each tube overlaps a portion of the bendable tube. It appears that Applicant is intending to recite that each tube entirely overlaps the bendable member as disclosed in claim 48, but it is unclear how that is possible in light of Applicant’s figures. Specifically, Fig. 5B shows bendable tube 58 and a first tube 59 overlapping the bendable tube and further para. [0039] discloses a second tube covering 58c. However, claim 49 recites that the first tube is longer than the bendable tube and the second tube and as such it is unclear how the first tube can be “entirely disposed between a distal end and a proximal end of the bendable tube” while also being longer than the bendable tube. Additionally, Applicant discloses in Claim 43, that the bendable tube is located at a distal end of the first rigid tube and a second rigid tube is located at a distal end of the bendable tube, so it is unclear what Applicant is intending to recite especially in light of Fig. 8 of Applicant’s drawings. For purposes of this Office Action, Examiner will interpret claims 48 and 49 and the dependents thereof to mean that at least a portion of each tube overlaps the proximal and distal ends of the bendable member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 43-50, 52-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mueller (US 2012/0179151 A1).
Regarding claim 43, Mueller discloses a clip delivery device (Fig. 1), comprising: a sheath 20 including: a first tube 24, a bendable tube 28 located at a distal end of the first tube (Fig. 2), and a second tube 22a located at a distal end of the bendable tube (Fig. 2) and a clip unit 16 including an arm member (i.e., 30, 32) and detachably connected to the sheath (i.e., by way of pin as shown in Fig. 4 which can be detachably connected at least during assembly and disassembly), wherein: the bendable tube is more flexible than the first tube and the second tube (i.e., as shown in Fig. 4), each of the first tube and the second tube overlaps the bendable tube and is fixed to the bendable tube (para. [0032] discloses a reduced diameter coupling the flexible portion 28 between the end effector support tube 22a and the outer tubular member 24 (Fig. 2) such that the first and second tube at least partially overlap the bendable tube).
Regarding claim 44, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 43. Mueller also discloses wherein the bendable tube is fixed to the first tube to maintain a position of the bendable tube relative to the first tube in a longitudinal direction of the bendable tube (para. [0032]; see also Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 45, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 44. Mueller also discloses wherein the clip unit includes a holder (i.e., pin as shown in Fig. 4 will be interpreted according to 112f above which is capable of supporting the arm member) that supports the arm member (i.e., by coupling it to 22a), and the clip unit is detachably engaged with the sheath (i.e., as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 46, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 44. Mueller also discloses wherein the clip unit includes a holder (i.e., pin as shown in Fig. 4 will be interpreted according to 112f above which is capable of supporting the arm member) that supports the arm member (i.e., by coupling it to 22a), and the clip unit detachably abuts the sheath (i.e., as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 47, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 44. Mueller also discloses wherein the clip unit includes a holder (i.e., pin as shown in Fig. 4 will be interpreted according to 112f above which is capable of supporting the arm member) that supports the arm member (i.e., by coupling it to 22a), and the clip unit detachably connected to the second tube (i.e., as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 48, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 44. Mueller also discloses wherein the first tube and the second tube are each
Regarding claim 49, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 48. Mueller also discloses wherein the first tube is longer than the bendable tube and the second tube (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 50, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 48. Mueller also discloses further comprising a wire 60 located within the sheath (Fig. 2), wherein the wire is configured to operate the arm member and wherein, when the arm member is opened, a distal end of the wire is located distally relative to the bendable tube and is located in the second tube (para. [0029]; Fig. 2)).
Regarding claim 52, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 44. Mueller also discloses further comprising: a wire 60 located within the sheath (Fig. 2) and configured to operate the arm member (para. [0029]), and a handle 46 connected to the sheath and the wire (Fig. 1; para. [0029])), wherein the bendable tube is connected to the handle (i.e., indirectly by way of 24).
Regarding claim 53, Mueller discloses a clip delivery device (Fig. 1), comprising: a sheath 20 including: a first portion 24, a bendable portion 28 located at a distal end of the first portion (Fig. 2), and a second portion 22a located at a distal end of the bendable portion (Fig. 2); and a clip unit 16 including an arm member 30, 32 and detachably connected to the second portion (i.e., by way of pin as shown in Fig. 4 at least upon assembly/disassembly), wherein: the bendable portion is more flexible than the first portion and the second portion (i.e., as shown in Fig. 4), and the first portion comprises a bendable tube (i.e, portion of 28) and a first tube 24 covering the bendable tube (i.e., para. [0032]), the bendable portion is the bendable tube, and the second portion comprises the bendable tube and a second tube covering the bendable tube (para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 54, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 53. Mueller also discloses wherein the bendable tube is fixed to the first tube to maintain a position of the bendable tube relative to the first tube in a longitudinal direction of the bendable tube (para. [0032]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 55, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 54. Mueller also discloses wherein the first tube and the second tube each
Regarding claim 56, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 54. Mueller also discloses further comprising: a wire 60 located within the sheath (Fig. 2) and configured to operate the arm member (para. [0029]), and a handle 46 connected to the sheath and the wire (Fig. 1; para. [0029]), wherein the bendable tube is connected to the handle (i.e., indirectly via 24).
Regarding claim 57, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 54. Mueller also discloses wherein the bendable tube is formed by a coil (i.e., as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 58, Mueller discloses a clip delivery device (Fig. 1), comprising: a clip unit 16 including an arm member 30, 32; a wire 60 configured to operate the arm member (para. [0029]); a sheath 18 through which the wire is inserted (Figs. 1-4; para. [0023]); and a handle 46 connected to the sheath (Fig. 1), wherein the clip unit is detachably connected to the sheath (i.e., by way of pin as shown in Fig. 4 at least upon assembly and disassembly), wherein the sheath includes: a first portion 20, a second portion (i.e., at 22) located distal to the first portion (Fig. 2), and a bendable portion 28 located between the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 2), wherein the first portion is covered by a first tube 24 (para. [0023]), wherein the second portion is covered by a second tube 22a (i.e., note also that alternatively the bendable piece 28 that is covered by 22a may be interpreted as the second portion), and wherein the bendable portion is more flexible than the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 59, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 58. Mueller also discloses wherein the clip unit is detachably engaged with the sheath (i.e., by way of pin as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 60, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 58. Mueller also discloses wherein the clip unit detachably abuts the sheath (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 61, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 58. Mueller also discloses wherein the clip unit detachably connected to the second portion (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 62, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 58. Mueller also discloses wherein the sheath is formed by a coil (i.e, at least part of the sheath (i.e., 28) is formed by a coil as shown in Figs. 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller in view of Dunki-Jacobs et al. (US 20090036734 A1).
Regarding claim 51, Mueller discloses the clip delivery device according to claim 50. Mueller doesn’t directly disclose further comprising a connector located at the distal end of the wire, wherein the connector is configured to be connected to the arm member, and wherein, when the arm member is opened, the connector is located distally relative to the bendable tube and is located in the second tube.
In the same field of endeavor of devices and methods for introducing a device into the anatomy, Dunki-Jacobs discloses a similar device to Mueller including a handle 169, an arm 166, 167, a wire 174, and further discloses a connector (i.e., suitable endoscopic actuating mechanism is being interpreted according to 112f as disclosed above which includes engaging and disengaging elements) located at the distal end of the wire (para. [0070]), wherein the connector is configured to be connected to the arm member (para. [0030]), and wherein, when the arm member is opened, the connector is located distally relative to the bendable tube and is located in the second tube (i.e, the resulting device would teach this since the connector is coupled to the arms as disclosed by para. [0070] and would therefore be located in the second tube).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mueller to have a connector as disclosed by Dunki-Jacobs for the purpose of coupling the wire to the arm for purposes of opening and closing the jaw (para. [0070]).
Conclusion
/RACHAEL L GEIGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771