DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 21-32) in the reply filed on July 22, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
The present application is a CON of U.S. App. Serial No. 17/352,015 (U.S. Patent No. 11,920,116), which is a CON of U.S. App. Serial No. 15/769,387 (U.S. Patent No. 11,066,633), which was a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of the International Application No.
PCT/US2016/058220, filed Oct. 21, 2016. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed parent provisional application 62/244,963 filed on Oct. 22, 2015 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is Oct. 22, 2015.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements, both filed Apr. 16, 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “are perfused stromal media…”. There appears to be an “in” missing – “are perfused in stromal media…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et
al. (U.S. Patent App. No. 2014/0093905 A1, cited in IDS filed on April 16, 2024) in view of Yoo et al. (U.S. Patent App. No. 2011/0212501 A1, cited in IDS filed on April 16, 2024).
The claims are directed to a microdevice which has an upper microchannel that includes cervical epithelial cells and a lower microchannel that includes three lanes, two side lanes including stromal media and a central lane lined with uterine fibroblasts and smooth muscle cells embedded in hydrogel.
With respect to independent claim 21, Ingber et al. teach a microfluidic device for culturing cells (abstract) that includes an upper microchannel that includes live epithelial cells (Figs. 2B-C, microchannel 230 has epithelial cells that are delivered through inlet port 210 (paras. [0073], [0078], [0088]); a lower microchannel that includes two parallel lanes (Fig. 2D, lower body 206, parallel lanes 242, paras. [0077], [0089]) that include stromal media (para. [0011]), and the two, parallel lanes are lined with vascular endothelial cells. (para. [0043], [0136]). Ingber et al. teach three parallel lanes (Fig. 2D, central lane 240, para. [0089]), that fibroblasts can be used (para. [0049], [0125]) and that uterine endometrial ciliated cells can be present in the third lane (para. [0137]). Ingber et al. teach that smooth muscle cells can be used (para. [0049],[0139]). Ingber et al. teach that the three lanes are separated by protrusions (Fig. 2d, walls 244 separate lanes 240 and 242). Ingber et al. teach a porous membrane in between the upper microchannel and lower microchannel (Abstract; Fig. 2B porous membrane 208, para. [0087]), configured to allow nutrients to pass between the upper and lower microchannel. (paras. [0021], [0054], [0060]). Ingber et al. teach that specialized cells, such as fibroblasts and other stem cells can be used, and that medium that appropriate for the cells, such as stem cell SFM (serum free medium) may be used (paras. [0125]-[0126], rendering obvious the inclusion of stomal medium (which would be present to support stromal stem cells or fibroblasts, both of which are included in the teachings of Ingber et al.)
Ingber et al. does not teach cervical epithelial cells, though they generally teach the microdevice can be used to co-culture different cell types, allowing it to mimic human organs, such as lung. (Title, para. [0003], [0018]). Ingber et al. does not teach a third lane in the lower microchannel having uterine fibroblasts and smooth muscle cells embedded in hydrogel.
Yoo et al. teach a three-dimensional hydrogel cell culture device (Abstract) where epithelial cells are cultured and indicate the cells can be cells from the cervix (para. [0113]) and HeLa cells (cervical cancer cells) may be used. (para. [0103]). Yoo et al. further teach that smooth muscle cells are embedded in hydrogel. (paras. [0011], [0101)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the teachings of Ingber et al. to incorporate cervical epithelial cells in an upper microchannel and uterine fibroblasts and live smooth muscle cells in a third parallel lane of a lower microchannel, allowing the microfluidic device to be used to mimic a cervix, because it would have been obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Incorporating cervical epithelial cells (as taught by Yoo et al.) in the organ mimicking microdevice taught by Ingber et al. would have led to predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success because Ingber et al. specifically teach that their microfluidic device is intended to be used to reproduce organs, and can be lined with epithelial and endothelial cells and Yoo et al. teach that cervical cells can be cultured in microfluidic devices intended to mimic different organs, including the cervix.
With respect to claim 22, Ingber et al. teach the porous membrane is configured to allow nutrients to pass between the upper and lower microchannel. (para. [0021], [0054], [0060]).
With respect to claim 23, Ingber et al. teach upper and lower microchannels have separate inlets through which materials can be injected (Fig. 2B, inlets 210, 218 allow for injecting into upper and lower lanes, para. [(0073]).
With respect to claim 24, Ingber et al. further teach that cells in the upper microchannel may be perfused with different medium than those in the lower microchannel (para. 0114], rendering obvious perfusing upper microchannel with epithelial cells with epithelial media and perfusing lower microchannel with stromal media in the first side lane and the second side lane.
With respect to claims 25 and 26, Ingber et al. further teach the first and second side lanes can include endothelial cells (paras. [0111]-[0112]); combined with the Ingber et al.’s teaching that the microdevice can be used to reproduce organs, and can be lined with epithelial and endothelial cells, this modification would be obvious.
With respect to claims 27-30, these variants of the porous membrane are either taught or rendered obvious by Ingber et al., who teaching indicate that the porous membrane may include numerous art-recognized modifications, including the addition of biomaterial, such as decellularized extracellular matrix. (paras. [0087], [0106], [0121]). Ingber et al. also teach the porous membrane may be made of PDMS, which is optically transparent. (para. [0159]).
With respect to claims 31 and 32, Ingber et al. further teach that ECM proteins, including various collagen types (which would include collagen type 1), can be used; ([0121]) and micropatterning can also be incorporated. (paras. [0106], [0157]).
Double Patenting
Double Patenting
Claims 21-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,066,633 (the ‘633 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the application claims are taught within the claims of the '633 Patent. Claim 1 of the '633 Patent
teaches most of the limitations in the application. Claims 2 and 4 of the '633 Patent supply the
missing limitations of the present claims.
Claims 21-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,920,116 (the ‘116 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the application claims are taught within the claims of the '116 Patent. Claim 1 of the '633 Patent teaches most of the limitations in the application. Claims 4 and 5 of the '633 Patent supply the missing limitations of the present claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TERESA E KNIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634