This action is in response to the amendment filed 6 January 2026. Claims 1, 16, 19 have been amended. Claims 13 and 21-22 have been canceled. Claims 1-12, 14-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2016/0132215 A1) in view of Gilger et al. (US 2015/0248214 A1) and further in view of Flammer et al. (US 2014/0236849 A1) and Danton et al. (US 2009/0228786 A1) and Slinker (US 2011/0184992 A1).
Claim 1. Zhang discloses a method for visually presenting a hierarchical organization for an entity, the method comprising:
displaying, by a computer system comprising one or more processors coupled with memory, a tree structure that includes a number of levels of the hierarchical organization for the entity in a graphical user interface on a display system, displaying a workflow for presenting a first selected node in a hierarchical organizational chart (P 0029 Fig 1),
the number of levels comprising a first level with a plurality of nodes, nodes of a same ranking are displayed along the same horizontal plane (P 0029) a user selects a node in the same ranking (P 0040) and the sub-nodes of the selected node are displayed in a horizontal manner (P 0043 Fig 5),
displaying, by the computer system, in a first node of the first plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a first graphical user interface element for a first position …, wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises a first image … of the first position, and a second image … of the first position, a user selects a first dimension from a plurality of dimensions on a graphical user interface associated with employees within an organizational chart (P 0003) wherein a group of employees within the organization can be presented as a cluster of a plurality of clusters within a hierarchical level of the organizational chart (P 0004) wherein employee attributes can include title and/or role (P 0052) metrics represent employee attributes (P 0053) employees can be clustered within a node based on the employees having a same metric or attribute and being at the same hierarchical level (P 0056 Fig 9a) In Figure 9a, graphics for employee nodes 982 and 986 are clustered together as a single graphic, and employee nodes 983 and 985 are clustered together as a single graphic, each cluster belonging to the same hierarchical level, while Figures 9a and 9b of Zhang do not show the same form of organizational hierarchy of Figures 1-6, Zhang makes it clear that clustering may be applied to the organizational hierarchical display of Figures 1-6;
displaying, by the computer system, in a second node of the plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a second graphical user interface element for a second position …, wherein the second graphical user interface element comprises a third image …, the employee clustered nodes 983 and 985 are at the same hierarchical level as clustered nodes 982 and 986 (P 0056 Fig 9a); Zhang does not disclose that the clustered employee nodes belong to a work shift,
receiving, by the computer system, a user input that selects a node of interest from the … plurality of nodes within a selected level of the number of levels of the hierarchical organization, a user selects a node in the chart (P 0032 Fig 2); and
moving, by the computer system, the node of interest, the selected node is moved to a new location in the same horizontal plane (P 0033).
Zhang does not disclose displaying, by the computer system, in a first node of the first plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a first graphical user interface element for a first position configured with a plurality of shifts, wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises a single position tile, and a first image … for a first shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position, joined with a second image … indicating that a second shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position …; displaying, by the computer system, in a second node of the first plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a second graphical user interface element for a second position configured with a single shift, wherein the second graphical user interface element comprises a third image for the single shift, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Gilger discloses groups of employees may be monitored (P 0084) wherein the group may be represented by a tiled image by group attribute and a second layer attribute superimposed on the image (P 0094 Fig 14) wherein an object of interest can be a person (P 0120) personnel or employee (P 0122) wherein display tiles of objects of interest representing single employees or multiple employees together (P 0131 Fig 14) may be displayed in a timeline, where the same types of objects are assigned to two different times and single employees may be displayed at specific time periods (P 0131 Fig 29) and the employees are monitored per day, week, month and/or year on a calendar (P 0132). The images representing the objects of interest can represent employees, including a single icon for single employee and a group icon for persons sharing a common attribute or position, displayed together, and the employee images can be assigned to different times, wherein an employee of the same type can be assigned to different times, and single employees may be displayed at specific time periods, which can be representative of work shifts. Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang and Gilger, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine displaying, by the computer system, in a first node of the first plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a first graphical user interface element for a first position configured with a plurality of shifts, wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises a single position tile, and a first image … for a first shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position, joined with a second image … indicating that a second shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position …; displaying, by the computer system, in a second node of the first plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a second graphical user interface element for a second position configured with a single shift, wherein the second graphical user interface element comprises a third image for the single shift with the teachings of Zhang with the motivation to create a suitable visual perspective of high volume, repetitive data that allows an observer to quickly determine the status of a particular subject (i.e., person, thing, business) being monitored even when multiple subjects are being monitored at the same time (Gilger: P 0010) based on employee metrics (Zhang: P 0056).
Zhang does not disclose wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises a single position tile and a first image that visually represents an assignment for a first shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position joined with second image comprising a null image indicating that a second shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position is vacant; the second graphical user interface element comprises a first position title, a second position title, as disclosed in the claims. However, Gilger discloses groups of employees may be monitored (P 0084) display tiles of objects of interest may represent single employees or multiple employees together (P 0131 Fig 14). In the same field of invention, Flammer discloses in an organizational chart, a panel may represent a group of employees (P 0016) including a title of an employee in specific panel (P 0017) wherein a position associated with a panel is indicated as not yet filled (P 0017) each of the employee positions in the group of employee positions has at least one common attribute (Claim 31) the common attribute includes a status of the employee position (Claim 32). The combination of Gilger and Flammer with Zhang would provide a combination of employee icons into one icon, as in icon 696 in Figure 14 of Gilger representing multiple individuals, which may be employees, and an employee panel may be indicated as being not yet filled (vacant), where a group of employees, represented by panes, may be characterized by a common attribute including an employee status of an employee position. Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger and Flammer, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises a single position tile and a first image that visually represents an assignment for a first shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position joined with second image comprising a null image indicating that a second shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position is vacant; the second graphical user interface element comprises a first position title, a second position title with the teachings of Zhang and Gilger with the motivation to allow a manager to more effectively view the status of employees in relation to other employees in the organization (Flammer: P 0004- 0006).
Zhang does not disclose the second graphical user interface element comprises a first position title, a second position title, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Flammer discloses in an organizational chart, a panel may represent a group of employees (P 0016) wherein a panel for a position represented by a panel is indicated as not yet filled (P 0017). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger and Flammer, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the second graphical user interface element comprises a first position title, a second position title with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger and Flammer with the motivation to allow a manager to more effectively view the status of employees in relation to other employees in the organization (Flammer: P 0004- 0006).
Zhang does not disclose receiving … a user input that selects a node of interest from the first plurality of nodes within a selected level, as disclosed in the claims. However, Zhang discloses the new location can be to the left or the right of matrix (P 0033). In the same field of invention, Danton discloses a user may shift an element in a graph horizontally (P 0091) a graph of elements is displayed, a user may move a first element between two other elements, and the at least one of the two other elements is shifted horizontally in response to placing the first element between the two other elements (P 0110 – 0112 Fig 13A-13B). The graph elements in Danton are in the same horizontal level. Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer and Danton, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine receiving … a user input that selects a node of interest from the first plurality of nodes within a selected level with the teachings of Zhang Gilger and Flammer with the motivation to more clearly indicated the higher level employee to which the selected employee reports (Zhang: P 0026) and appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (Danton: P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008).
Zhang does not disclose and [moving] in response to receiving the user input, at least one other node in the plurality of nodes in the selected level relative to a horizontal axis, as disclosed in the claims. However, Zhang discloses a node is selected with user input (P 0032) the new location can be to the left or the right of matrix (P 0033). Danton discloses a user may shift an element in a graph horizontally (P 0091) a graph of elements is displayed, a user may move a first element between two other elements, and the at least one of the two other elements is shifted horizontally in response to placing the first element between the two other elements (P 0110 – 0112 Fig 13A-13B). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer and Danton, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine and [moving] in response to receiving the user input, at least one other node in the plurality of nodes in the selected level relative to a horizontal axis with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer and Danton with the motivation to more clearly indicated the higher level employee to which the selected employee reports (Zhang: P 0026) and appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (Danton: P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose to align the node of interest with a vertical alignment axis in the graphical user interface, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Slinker discloses nodes in a tree structure may be aligned in a left-justified orientation rendered row by row, where each higher row represented a parent of the row directly below (P 0032 Fig 2A). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine to align the node of interest with a vertical alignment axis in the graphical user interface with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer and Danton with the motivation to more clearly indicated the higher level employee to which the selected employee reports (Zhang: P 0026) and appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (Danton: P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Claim 2. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 1, and Zhang discloses wherein displaying, by the computer system, the tree structure comprises: displaying a root level of the hierarchical organization for the entity in the graphical user interface on the display system, wherein the root level includes a root node, the view of the chart is based on the relationships with a manager in the hierarchical organization that is being represented by node that appears at the apex of organizational chart (P 0029).
Claim 3. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 1, but Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein moving, by the computer system, the node of interest and the at least one other node in the plurality of nodes comprises: moving the node of interest in a left direction relative to the horizontal axis to align the node of interest with a left alignment axis, as disclosed in the claims. However, Zhang discloses the new location can be to the left or the right of matrix (P 0033). Slinker discloses nodes in a tree structure may be aligned in a left-justified orientation rendered row by row, where each higher row represented a parent of the row directly below (P 0032 Fig 2A). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein moving, by the computer system, the node of interest and the at least one other node in the plurality of nodes comprises: moving the node of interest in a left direction relative to the horizontal axis to align the node of interest with a left alignment axis with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Claim 4. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 1, but Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein moving, by the computer system, the node of interest and the at least one other node in the plurality of nodes comprises: moving the node of interest in a right direction relative to the horizontal axis to align the node of interest with a right alignment axis, as disclosed in the claims. However, Zhang discloses the new location can be to the left or the right of matrix (P 0033) while adjusting for the minimum spacing requirement, the workflow may horizontally shift other nodes (particularly parent nodes of the second set of subnodes) so that the parent nodes of the subnodes appear above the matrix (P 0038 Fig 4). While the parent node is not exactly aligned with the selected node and the subnodes to the right, the parent node has been shifted along with the elected node and is shifted to the right. Slinker discloses nodes in a tree structure may be aligned in a left-justified orientation rendered row by row, where each higher row represented a parent of the row directly below (P 0032 Fig 2A). While Slinker discloses a left-justified alignment of nodes, Slinker discloses several different alignments and justifications of the nodes, see paragraphs 0022 – 0023 and Figures 2B and 2C. Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein moving, by the computer system, the node of interest and the at least one other node in the plurality of nodes comprises: moving the node of interest in a right direction relative to the horizontal axis to align the node of interest with a right alignment axis with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Claim 5. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 1, but Zhang does not disclose and wherein moving, by the computer system, the node of interest and the at least one other node in the plurality of nodes comprises: moving the node of interest in either a left direction or a right direction relative to the horizontal axis to align the node of interest with a center alignment axis, as disclosed in the claims. However, Zhang discloses while adjusting for the minimum spacing requirement, the workflow may horizontally shift other nodes (particularly parent nodes of the second set of subnodes) so that the parent nodes of the subnodes appear above the matrix (P 0038 Fig 4). While the parent node is not exactly aligned with the selected node and the subnodes on a center axis, the parent node has been shifted along with the elected node and is shifted to approximately the center of the chart. Slinker discloses nodes are centered with spacing retained for positioning a non-constrained amount of data in a semblance of a tree, in accordance with aspects of the present invention, wherein the nodes of the chart are then centered horizontally, the root node of the chart is centered at the base (as shown in FIG. 2B), and the parent relationships fan out from the root node (P 0022 Fig 2B). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine and wherein moving, by the computer system, the node of interest and the at least one other node in the plurality of nodes comprises: moving the node of interest in either a left direction or a right direction relative to the horizontal axis to align the node of interest with a center alignment axis with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Claim 6. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 1 and Zhang further discloses adding, by the computer system, a new level to the tree structure in the graphical user interface in which the new level is linked to the node of interest, when the subnode has been moved to its new location, sub-subnodes are presented in the matrix below the selected subnode (P 0034 Fig 2).
Claim 7. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 6, but Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein adding, by the computer system, the new level to the tree structure comprises: displaying a set of new nodes horizontally to form the new level below the node of interest, as disclosed in the claims. However, Zhang discloses the added nodes are displayed below the selected node and in a horizontal orientation (P 0041 Fig 5) and Danton discloses a new element may be added at a corresponding location (P 0109) the other elements are shifted in a horizontal direction (P 0110-0112 Fig 13A–13B). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein adding, by the computer system, the new level to the tree structure comprises: displaying a set of new nodes horizontally to form the new level below the node of interest with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008).
Claim 8. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 7, but Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein adding, by the computer system, the new level to the tree structure further comprises: displaying a direct linkage between the node of interest in the selected level and each new node of the set of new nodes in the new level, as disclosed in the claims. This limitation appears to be derived from Figure 2 of Applicant’s drawings. When compared to Figures 2 and 5 of Zhang, Figure 2 of Applicant’s drawings displays an explicit linking line from the node of interest to each of the subordinate nodes, as disclosed in the claims. However, in at least Figures 2 and 5 of Zhang, it is clear that the selected node is connected to each of the subnodes or sub-subnodes, whether shown by an explicit connecting line or not. Therefore, the explicit connecting lines of Applicant’s Figure 2 is not patentably distinct from Zhang. However, Danton disclose a new element is added to a chart (P 0062) and linked to a common node and the other elements in the chart are rearranged to accommodate the connection and the new element, and each element at the level of the new element are connected by distinct individual connecting lines (P 0075 Fig 3A-3D). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine explicitly disclose wherein adding, by the computer system, the new level to the tree structure further comprises: displaying a direct linkage between the node of interest in the selected level and each new node of the set of new nodes in the new level, as disclosed in the claims. This limitation appears to be derived from Figure 2 of Applicant’s drawings. When compared to Figures 2 and 5 of Zhang, Figure 2 of Applicant’s drawings displays an explicit linking line from the node of interest to each of the subordinate nodes with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008).
Claim 9. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 6 and Zhang discloses receiving, by the computer system, another user input that selects a new node of interest from a set of new nodes in the new level of the hierarchical organization, a node is selected and subnodes are displayed along a vertical vector (P 0029 Fig 1) a subnode is selected and a set of sub-subnodes is displayed and shifted horizontally from the selected subnode (P 0032 Fig 2). Danton discloses a user may shift an element in a graph horizontally (P 0091) a graph of elements is displayed, a user may move a first element between two other elements, and the at least one of the two other elements is shifted horizontally in response to placing the first element between the two other elements (P 0110 – 0112 Fig 13A-13B). Slinker discloses nodes in a tree structure may be aligned in a left-justified orientation rendered row by row, where each higher row represented a parent of the row directly below (P 0032 Fig 2A). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine moving, by the computer system, the new node of interest relative to the horizontal axis to align the new node of interest with the vertical alignment axis in response to receiving the user input that selects the new node of interest; and adding, by the computer system, an additional new level to the tree structure in which the additional new level is linked to the new node of interest in the new level with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Claim 10. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 1 and Danton discloses visual feedback is provided to distinguish the selected element and the corresponding connections (P 0116 Fig 15A). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine changing, by the computer system, an appearance of the node of interest in response to receiving the user input that selects the node of interest with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Claim 11. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 10, and Danton discloses visual feedback is provided to distinguish the selected element and the corresponding connections, such as, for example, changes to color, brightness, size, shape (P 0116 Fig 15A). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein changing, by the computer system, the appearance of the node of interest comprises: changing at least one of a background color, a font color, or a highlight color of at least a portion of the node of interest with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Claim 12. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 1, and Zhang discloses wherein displaying, by the computer system, the tree structure comprises: displaying a set of nodes in a level of the tree structure in which at least one node in the set of nodes represents a position associated with the entity and includes an image of a person that currently holds the position, a name of the person, a title of the person, and a dependent number that identifies a number of positions that are supervised by the person, a large tile template includes a profile picture associated with the node, the name of the employee associated with the node, the title of the employee associated with the node, the number of employees who directly report to the employee associated with the node, and/or additional information on the employee associated with the node (P 0049 Fig 7a).
Claim 13. Canceled.
Claim 16. Zhang discloses a method for visually presenting a hierarchical organization for an entity, the method comprising:
displaying, by a computer system comprising one or more processors coupled with memory, a tree structure that represents the hierarchical organization for the entity in a graphical user interface on a display system, displaying a workflow for presenting a first selected node in a hierarchical organizational chart (P 0029 Fig 1);
the hierarchical organization comprising a first level with a plurality of nodes, nodes of a same ranking are displayed along the same horizontal plane (P 0029) a user selects a node in the same ranking (P 0040) and the sub-nodes of the selected node are displayed in a horizontal manner (P 0043 Fig 5),
displaying, by the computer system, in a first node of the plurality of nodes … in the graphical user interface, a first graphical user interface element for a first position …, wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises a first image … of the first position, and a second image … of the first position, a user selects a first dimension from a plurality of dimensions on a graphical user interface associated with employees within an organizational chart (P 0003) wherein a group of employees within the organization can be presented as a cluster of a plurality of clusters within a hierarchical level of the organizational chart (P 0004) wherein employee attributes can include title and/or role (P 0052) metrics represent employee attributes (P 0053) wherein employees can be clustered within a node based on the employees having a same metric or attribute and being at the same hierarchical level (P 0056 Fig 9a) In Figure 9a, graphics for employee nodes 982 and 986 are clustered together as a single graphic, and employee nodes 983 and 985 are clustered together as a single graphic, each cluster belonging to the same hierarchical level, while Figures 9a and 9b of Zhang do not show the same form of organizational hierarchy of Figures 1-6, Zhang makes it clear that clustering may be applied to the organizational hierarchical display of Figures 1-6;
displaying, by the computer system, in a second node of the first plurality of nodes … in the graphical user interface, a second graphical user interface element for a second position …, wherein the second graphical user interface element comprises a third image …, the employee clustered nodes 983 and 985 are at the same hierarchical level as clustered nodes 982 and 986 (P 0056 Fig 9a); Zhang does not disclose that the clustered employee nodes belong to a work shift,
receiving, by the computer system, a sequence of user inputs through the graphical user interface, a node is selected and subnodes are displayed along a vertical vector (P 0029 Fig 1) a subnode is selected and a set of sub-subnodes is displayed and shifted horizontally from the selected subnode (P 0032 Fig 2).
Zhang does not disclose displaying, by the computer system, in a first node of the first plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a first graphical user interface element for a first position configured with a plurality of shifts, wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises … a first image for a first shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position, and a second image indicating a second shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position … ; displaying, by the computer system, in a second node of the first plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a second graphical user interface element for a second position configured with a single shift, wherein the second graphical user interface element comprises … a third image for the single shift, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Gilger discloses groups of employees may be monitored (P 0084) wherein the group may be represented by a tiled image by group attribute and a second layer attribute superimposed on the image (P 0094 Fig 14) wherein an object of interest can be a person (P 0120) personnel or employee (P 0122) wherein display tiles of objects of interest representing single employees or multiple employees together (P 0131 Fig 14) may be displayed in a timeline, where the same types of objects are assigned to two different times and single employees may be displayed at specific time periods (P 0131 Fig 29) and the employees are monitored per day, week, month and/or year on a calendar (P 0132). The images representing the objects of interest can represent employees, including a single icon for single employee and a group icon for persons sharing a common attribute or position, displayed together, and the employee images can be assigned to different times, wherein an employee of the same type can be assigned to different times, and single employees may be displayed at specific time periods, which can be representative of work shifts. Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang and Gilger, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine displaying, by the computer system, in a first node of the first plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a first graphical user interface element for a first position configured with a plurality of shifts, wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises … a first image for a first shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position, and a second image indicating a second shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position … ; displaying, by the computer system, in a second node of the first plurality of nodes of the first level in the graphical user interface, a second graphical user interface element for a second position configured with a single shift, wherein the second graphical user interface element comprises … a third image for the single shift with the teachings of Zhang with the motivation to create a suitable visual perspective of high volume, repetitive data that allows an observer to quickly determine the status of a particular subject (i.e., person, thing, business) being monitored even when multiple subjects are being monitored at the same time (Gilger: P 0010) based on employee metrics (Zhang: P 0056).
Zhang does not disclose wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises a single position tile; a second image indicating a second shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position is vacant; the second graphical user interface element comprises a first position title, a second position title, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Flammer discloses in an organizational chart, a panel may represent a group of employees (P 0016) including a title of an employee in specific panel (P 0017) wherein a position associated with a panel is indicated as not yet filled (P 0017). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger and Flammer, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises a single position tile; a second image indicating a second shift of the plurality of shifts of the first position is vacant; the second graphical user interface element comprises a first position title, a second position title with the teachings of Zhang and Gilger with the motivation to allow a manager to more effectively view the status of employees in relation to other employees in the organization (Flammer: P 0004- 0006).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose transforming, by the computer system, in response to receiving the sequence of user inputs, a plurality of levels of the tree structure in the graphical user interface based on the sequence of user inputs such that a series of direct linkages from a topmost level of the plurality of levels to a bottommost level of the plurality of levels is aligned with a vertical alignment axis, as disclosed in the claims. When compared to Figures 2 and 5 of Zhang, Figure 2 of Applicant’s drawings displays an explicit linking line from the node of interest to each of the subordinate nodes, as disclosed in the claims. However, in at least Figures 2 and 5 of Zhang, it is clear that the selected node is connected to each of the subnodes or sub-subnodes, whether shown by an explicit connecting line or not. Therefore, the explicit connecting lines of Applicant’s Figure 2 is not patentably distinct from Zhang. However, in the same field of invention, Danton disclose a new element is added to a chart (P 0062) and linked to a common node and the other elements in the chart are rearranged to accommodate the connection and the new element, and each element at the level of the new element are connected by distinct individual connecting lines (P 0075 Fig 3A-3D). Furthermore, Zhang discloses a node is selected and subnodes are displayed along a vertical vector (P 0029 Fig 1). In the same field of invention, Slinker discloses nodes in a tree structure may be aligned in a left-justified orientation rendered row by row, where each higher row represented a parent of the row directly below (P 0032 Fig 2A). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine transforming, by the computer system, in response to receiving the sequence of user inputs, a plurality of levels of the tree structure in the graphical user interface based on the sequence of user inputs such that a series of direct linkages from a topmost level of the plurality of levels to a bottommost level of the plurality of levels is aligned with a vertical alignment axis with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger and Flammer with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Claim 17. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 16, and Zhang discloses the new location can be to the left or the right of matrix (P 0033) and Danton discloses a user may shift an element in a graph horizontally (P 0091) a graph of elements is displayed, a user may move a first element between two other elements, and the at least one of the two other elements is shifted horizontally in response to placing the first element between the two other elements (P 0110 – 0112 Fig 13A-13B). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein transforming, by the computer system, the plurality of levels of the tree structure comprises: moving a node of interest and at least one other node in a plurality of nodes in a selected level in the tree structure relative to a horizontal axis to align the node of interest with the vertical alignment axis in response to receiving a user input that selects the node of interest with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Zhang discloses and adding a new level to the tree structure in the graphical user interface in which the new level is linked to the node of interest in the selected level, a node is selected and a series of subnodes connected to the selected node are displayed (P 0030) and if a subnode is selected, then a series of sub-subnodes are displayed connected to the selected subnode (P 0033-0034, Fig 2).
Claim 18. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 17, and Danton discloses a user may shift an element in a graph horizontally (P 0091) a graph of elements is displayed, a user may move a first element between two other elements, and the at least one of the two other elements is shifted horizontally in response to placing the first element between the two other elements (P 0110 – 0112 Fig 13A-13B) and Slinker discloses nodes in a tree structure may be aligned in a left-justified orientation rendered row by row, where each higher row represented a parent of the row directly below (P 0032 Fig 2A). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein moving, by the computer system, the node of interest and the at least one other node in the plurality of nodes comprises: moving the node of interest relative to the horizontal axis to align the node of interest with one of a left alignment axis, a right alignment axis, and a center alignment axis with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
Claim(s) 19 is/are directed to apparatus claim(s) similar to the method claim(s) of Claim(s) 1 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 20. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the apparatus of claim 19, Zhang discloses a node is selected and subnodes are displayed along a vertical vector(P 0029 Fig 1) Danton discloses a user may shift an element in a graph horizontally (P 0091) a graph of elements is displayed, a user may move a first element between two other elements, and the at least one of the two other elements is shifted horizontally in response to placing the first element between the two other elements (P 0110 – 0112 Fig 13A-13B) and Slinker discloses nodes in a tree structure may be aligned in a left-justified orientation rendered row by row, where each higher row represented a parent of the row directly below (P 0032 Fig 2A). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the vertical alignment axis is selected from one of a left alignment axis, a right alignment axis, and a center alignment axis with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to appropriately convey the new meaning of the diagram (P 0006) while assisting users in appropriately adjusting shapes and connections in response changes to a diagram (Danton: P 0008) and provide for a more efficient and intuitive method to for dynamically adding, removing and repositioning of nodes in a tree structure (Slinker: P 0001).
21. (Cancelled)
22. (Cancelled)
Claim(s) 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2016/0132215 A1) in view of Gilger et al. (US 2015/0248214 A1) and Flammer et al. (US 2014/0236849 A1) and Danton et al. (US 2009/0228786 A1) and Slinker (US 2011/0184992 A1) and further in view of Banning (US 6,380,957 B1).
Claim 14. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker disclose the method of claim 1 and Zhang discloses displaying a set of new nodes horizontally below the node of interest to form a new level of the tree structure in the graphical user interface in which the new level is linked to the node of interest, a node is selected and subnodes are displayed along a vertical vector (P 0029 Fig 1) a subnode is selected and a set of sub-subnodes is displayed and shifted horizontally from the selected subnode (P 0032 Fig 2). However, Zhang does not disclose and displaying an expander control in the graphical user interface, wherein the expander control indicates that the new level includes at least one other new node in addition to the set of new nodes that are displayed in the graphical user interface, as disclosed in the claims. In the same field of invention, Banning discloses providing controls to expand and collapse tree nodes (C 3 L 32-48 Fig 4A-4B). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton, Slinker and Banning, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine and displaying an expander control in the graphical user interface, wherein the expander control indicates that the new level includes at least one other new node in addition to the set of new nodes that are displayed in the graphical user interface with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton and Slinker with the motivation to provide a method of simplifying the display of a directory tree to avoid oversizing the tree as a result of node expansion and retain the current behavior and user interaction for GUIs, and extend the functionality without unduly increasing the visual complexity (Banning: C 3 L 11-17).
Claim 15. Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton, Slinker and Banning disclose the method of claim 14 and Banning discloses expanding a first node of the tree to reveal one or more branches of the first node, expanding a second node of the tree to reveal one or more branches of the second node, and automatically collapsing the first node of the tree to conceal the one or more branches of the first node in response to said expanding of the second node (C 3 L 32-48 Fig 4A-4B). Therefore, considering the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton, Slinker and Banning, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine further comprising: receiving, by the computer system, another user input that selects the expander control through the graphical user interface; removing, by the computer system, a portion of the set of new nodes currently displayed in the new level from the graphical user interface in response to receiving the user input; and displaying, by the computer system, at least a portion of the at least one other new node in the new level in the graphical user interface with the teachings of Zhang, Gilger, Flammer, Danton, Slinker and Banning with the motivation to provide a method of simplifying the display of a directory tree to avoid oversizing the tree as a result of node expansion and retain the current behavior and user interaction for GUIs, and extend the functionality without unduly increasing the visual complexity (Banning: C 3 L 11-17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner agreed that the amendments submitted for the interview conducted 12/23/2026 overcome the prior art of record, and that amendments to the claims will require search and consideration by the examiner. The examiner has reviewed and considered the current prior art of record, and upon review, the examiner believes that the amendments do not overcome the prior art.
The amendments to the claims capture, for example, joined icons 240 and 246 in icon 238 of Applicant’s Figure 2. Gilger discloses groups of employees may be monitored (P 0084) display tiles of objects of interest may represent single employees or multiple employees together (P 0131 Fig 14). Flammer discloses in an organizational chart, a panel may represent a group of employees (P 0016) including a title of an employee in specific panel (P 0017) wherein a position associated with a panel is indicated as not yet filled (P 0017) each of the employee positions in the group of employee positions has at least one common attribute (Claim 31) the common attribute includes a status of the employee position (Claim 32). The combination of Gilger and Flammer with Zhang would provide a combination of employee icons into one icon, as in icon 696 in Figure 14 of Gilger representing multiple individuals, which may be employees, and an employee panel may be indicated as being not yet filled (vacant), where a group of employees, represented by panes, may be characterized by a common attribute including an employee status of an employee position.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 5/21/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145