DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination with Amendments and Remarks filed on 5/27/2026. Claims 2, 11, and 17 have been amended. Claims 2-21 are present for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 with respect to the priority claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits: “at least the Application No. 63/119,590 in combination with ‘Appendix to the specification’ of Application No. 63/119,590, filed concurrently therewith, does disclose dividing surface into patches, as recited by the claims of the current application.” (See Remarks filed on 5/27/2026, p. 7.) Applicant further provides a mapping among the claim limitation of claim 2, Appendix, and the current Specification to support this submission. (See Remarks filed on 5/27/2026, pp. 8-9.)
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The mapping submitted does not provide the required support to show that the claim limitations of claim 2 has been described in the Application No. 63/119,590 in combination with “Appendix to the specification”. For example, Applicant submits:
(See Remarks filed on 5/27/2026, p. 7.)
However, the claim limitation recited above requires “a surface” while Appendix only has Ray Query and a LOD Selector, and Specification only refers to “voxel v”. A person skilled in the art will understand a voxel is an element of a volume structure, not a surface. Therefore, the cited portion of the Appendix does not support the limitation above.
Further, another claim limitation is “dividing the surface into a plurality of surface patches corresponding to portions of the surface”, while the corresponding portion of Appendix only provide different resolutions corresponding to a sparce Octree Features, and the corresponding paragraph [0042] of the specification cited by Applicant only discuses a ray-AABB intersection against the voxels for octree intersection corresponding to a feature volume. Again, voxels, octrees, and volumes are different than surface and surface patches.
Claim 2 also recites “rendering the surface using then plurality of surface patch representations”. However, the cited portion of the Appendix has been shown as follows:
It is not clear which part in the above portion, “Truncation”, “0.1”, or “d” corresponding to surface rendering.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments that the Application No. 63/119,590 in combination with ‘Appendix to the specification’ discloses the limitations of claim 2 are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-21 with respect to the 35 USC 112(a) rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In particular, the amendments still fail satisfy the 35 USC 112(a) written description requirement. Detailed can be found in the relevant sections below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections claim(s) 2-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/119,590, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Therefore, the effectively filing date regarding the claims of the current application is being considered as 5/7/2021 because the support for the claims in the current application can be found in the parent application 17/314,182 filed on 5/7/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, it recites:
A computer-implemented method, comprising: determining that a surface satisfies a complexity threshold or criterion; dividing the surface into a plurality of surface patches corresponding to portions of the surface, one or more of the portions having a respective specified portion complexity; determining, using one or more neural networks and based at least in part upon the plurality of surface patches, a plurality of surface patch representations; and rendering the surface using the plurality of surface patch representations.
(Emphasis added.)
Applicant submits that the amendments are supported by at least paragraphs [0022], [0030], [0042], and [0056]-[0057]) of the specification. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Para. [0022] discusses using an octree-based feature volume that adaptively fits shapes with multiple discrete levels of details (LODs), and enables continuous LOD with SDF interpolation. Para. [0030], discusses encoding the SDF using a sparse voxel octree, allowing the representation to adapt to different levels of detail. A feature volume can be used which contains a collection of feature vectors stored in a sparse voxel octree, and voxels are allocated only if the voxel contains a surface. Para. [0042] discloses adaptive ray stepping to perform ray-AABB intersection against the voxels in the target LOD level. Para. [0056] discloses when a shape is complex, the complex surface can be divided into a collection of smaller surface patches, where each surface patch represents a portion of the complex surface. Para. [0057] discloses different objects in the scene can have different LOD over time according to their distance to the camera. And the values or ranges for levels of detail for certain objects or portions of a scene can be set.
However, nowhere in these paragraphs disclose specifying portion complexity of different portion of a surface. Nor do they disclose the divided patches having respective portion complexities. At most para. [0056] discloses dividing the surface into a plurality of surface patches, and para. [0057] discloses different objects in the scene can have different LOD. However, the disclosure fail to disclose dividing a surface into surface patches where one or more of the portions having a respective specified portion complexity. Therefore, the amendment of claim 2 still contains new matter.
Claims 3-10 depend from claim 2 but fail to cure the deficiencies of claim 2. Claims 11 and 17 respectively recite similar limitations discussed above with respect to claim 2. Claims 12-16 depend from claim 11 but fail to cure the deficiencies of claim 11. Claims 18-21 depend from claim 17 but fail to cure the deficiencies of claim 17.
Therefore, claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement by introducing new matter
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 and 10-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. 20110046923 A1 to Lee et al. in view of US Patent Publication No. 20130038620 A1 to Hakura et al. and Genova (Genova et al., Local Deep Implicit Functions for 3D Shape).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses A computer-implemented method (Lee, para. [0027]), comprising:
determining that a surface satisfies a complexity threshold or criterion (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing subdividing a large 3D mesh model having a complexity value greater than a preset complexity threshold into multiple smaller 3D mesh models);
dividing the surface into a plurality of surface patches corresponding to portions of the surface (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing subdividing a large 3D mesh model having a complexity value greater than a preset complexity threshold into multiple smaller 3D mesh models).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose one or more of the portions having a respective specified portion complexity; determining, using one or more neural networks and based at least in part upon the plurality of surface patches, a plurality of surface patch representations; and rendering the surface using the plurality of surface patch representations.
On the other hand, Hakura discloses dividing the surface into a plurality of surface patches corresponding to portions of the surface, one or more of the portions having a respective specified portion complexity (Hakura, para. [0068], disclosing the surface may be divided into several exterior regions and an interior region that are associated with different LOD values, an LOD value may be specified for the interior region and different LOD values may be specified for each one of the exterior regions).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Lee with Hakura. The suggestion/motivation would have been for allowing redistribution of primitive processing based on LODs, as suggested by Hakura (see Hakura, para. [0069]).
However, Lee or Hakura does not expressly disclose determining, using one or more neural networks and based at least in part upon the plurality of surface patches, a plurality of surface patch representations; and rendering the surface using the plurality of surface patch representations.
On the other hand, Genova discloses dividing the surface into a plurality of surface patches corresponding to portions of the surface (Genova, Figure 1, showing surfaces are divided into a plurality of shape elements as surface patches corresponding to portions of the surfaces respectively, Figure 2, showing the network architecture starting with a SIF encoder to extract a set of shape elements, then producing a latent vector zi , a local decoder network is used to decode each zi to produce an implicit function fi(x, zi));
determining, using one or more neural networks and based at least in part upon the plurality of surface patches, a plurality of surface patch representations (Genova, p. 4858, col. 1, 2nd para., disclosing LDIF encodes a shape as a latent vector that can be evaluated with a neural network to estimate the inside/outside function f(x,z) for any location x, col. 2, Sec. 3, disclosing a new 3D shape representation, Local Deep Implicit Functions (LDIF) represented by a set of shape elements, Figure 2, showing the network architecture starting with a SIF encoder to extract a set of shape elements, then producing a latent vector zi , a local decoder network is used to decode each zi to produce an implicit function fi(x, zi), which combined with local Gaussian function g(x,θi) and summed with other shape elements to produce the output function LDIF(x), indicating the implicit functions and/or local Gaussian functions can correspond a plurality of surface patch representations determined using the neural networks and based on the shape elements as the plurality of surface patches); and
rendering the surface using the plurality of surface patch representations (Genova, Figure 1, showing resulting implicit surface reconstructed from the input surface and the LDIF, Figure 3, showing the surface rendered using the proposed method of LDIF, p. 4859, col. 2, last para., disclosing complete surfaces can be reconstructed for visualization by evaluating LDIF(x)).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Lee in view of Hakura and Genova. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable accurate surface reconstruction, compact storage, efficient computation, etc. as suggested by Genova (see Genova, Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the surface satisfies the complexity threshold or criterion based on at least one of size, shape, or variation (Lee, para. [0052], disclosing when a 3D mesh model having too many vertices, overload can be experienced, a complexity threshold is set so that a large 3D mesh model having a complexity value greater than the complexity threshold, the large mesh model can be subdivided into multiple smaller 3D mesh models, para. [0053], disclosing the complexity of a 3D mesh model can be determined in correspondence with the number of faces forming the 3D mesh, indicating large 3D mesh model satisfying the complexity threshold can be based on size or variation corresponding to number of faces).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining that the surface satisfies the complexity threshold or criterion further comprises: determining the surface satisfies the complexity threshold or criterion for a plurality of frames depicting at least a portion of the surface (Lee, para. [0008], disclosing compressing 3D images such as 3D mesh, para. [0051], disclosing subdivide large 3D mesh model having a complexity value greater than a preset complexity threshold into multiple smaller 3D mesh models, Genova, Figures 1 and 7, showing a plurality of models being decomposed into shape elements and reconstructed using a deep network, indicating the combination of Lee and Genova can determine whether the surface satisfies the complexity threshold or criterion for a plurality of frames corresponding to the input shape depicting at least a portion of the surface). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Lee and Genova. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable accurate surface reconstruction, compact storage, efficient computation, etc. as suggested by Genova (see Genova, Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: determining, based at least in part on a type of the surface, a complexity of the surface (Lee, para. [0052], disclosing when a 3D mesh model having too many vertices, overload can be experienced, a complexity threshold is set so that a large 3D mesh model having a complexity value greater than the complexity threshold, the large mesh model can be subdivided into multiple smaller 3D mesh models, para. [0053], disclosing the complexity of a 3D mesh model can be determined in correspondence with the number of faces forming the 3D mesh, indicating large 3D mesh model satisfying the complexity threshold can be based on the type of the surface such as large mesh model with large number of faces).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the complexity of the surface is able to change over time (Lee, para. [0053], disclosing the complexity can be adjusted according to operational environments, indicating the complexity of the surface is able to change over time).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: determining a preset complexity is specified for the surface; and applying the preset complexity to the surface for determining that the surface satisfies the complexity threshold or criterion (Lee, para. [0052], disclosing when a 3D mesh model having too many vertices, overload can be experienced, a complexity threshold is set in advance so that a large 3D mesh model having a complexity value greater than the complexity threshold, the large mesh model can be subdivided into multiple smaller 3D mesh models, indicating the complexity threshold as the preset complexity is applied to the mesh model as the surface to determine if the mesh model satisfies the complexity threshold to determine whether to subdivide the large mesh model).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the determining the plurality of surface patch representations comprises using the one or more neural networks to compute one or more neural signed distance functions (SDFs) for the plurality of surface patches (Genova, p. 4857, col. 2, last para., disclosing training a neural network to estimate the insider/outside or signed-distance function f(x,z) for reconstruction of objects, Figure 2, showing a network structure producing f(x,zi), p. 4860, col. 2, 1st para., disclosing estimating a signed distance function for each training shape including shape elements, indicating the one or more neural networks are used to compute one or more neural signed distance functions (SDFs) for the shape elements corresponding to the plurality of surface patches). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Lee in view of Hakura and Genova. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable accurate surface reconstruction, compact storage, efficient computation, etc. as suggested by Genova (see Genova, Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more neural networks are used to represent surfaces other than those used to train the neural networks (Genova, p. 4860, col. 2, Sec. 5, 2nd para., disclosing using ShapeNet dataset, with train and test splits, indicating the test dataset can correspond to surfaces other than the train dataset as those used to train the neural networks). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Lee in view of Hakura and Genova. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable accurate surface reconstruction, compact storage, efficient computation, etc. as suggested by Genova (see Genova, Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, it recites similar limitations of claim 2 but in a system form. The rationale of claim 2 rejection is applied to reject claim 11. In addition, Lee discloses one or more processors (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Regarding claim 12, it recites similar limitations of claim 8 but in a system form. The rationale of claim 8 rejection is applied to reject claim 12. In addition, Lee discloses one or more processors (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Regarding claim 13, it recites similar limitations of claim 3 but in a system form. The rationale of claim 3 rejection is applied to reject claim 13. In addition, Lee discloses one or more processors (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Regarding claim 14, it recites similar limitations of claim 4 but in a system form. The rationale of claim 4 rejection is applied to reject claim 14. In addition, Lee discloses one or more processors (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Regarding claim 15, it recites similar limitations of claim 5 but in a system form. The rationale of claim 5 rejection is applied to reject claim 15. In addition, Lee discloses one or more processors (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the system comprises at least one of: a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications; a system for rendering graphical output; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system incorporating one or more Virtual Machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Genova, p. 4859, col. 1, 2nd para., disclosing using deep network to decode an implicit function, Figures 7-9. Showing surface reconstruction and rendered results, indicating the system can comprise a system for rendering graphical output and/or a system for performing deep learning operations). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Lee in view of Hakura and Genova. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable accurate surface reconstruction, compact storage, efficient computation, etc. as suggested by Genova (see Genova, Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, it recites similar limitations of claim 2 but in a processor form. The rationale of claim 2 rejection is applied to reject claim 17. In addition, Lee discloses a processor having one or more processing units (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Regarding claim 18, it recites similar limitations of claim 8 but in a processor form. The rationale of claim 8 rejection is applied to reject claim 18. In addition, Lee discloses a processor having one or more processing units (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Regarding claim 19, it recites similar limitations of claim 3 but in a processor form. The rationale of claim 3 rejection is applied to reject claim 19. In addition, Lee discloses a processor having one or more processing units (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Regarding claim 20, it recites similar limitations of claim 4 but in a processor form. The rationale of claim 4 rejection is applied to reject claim 20. In addition, Lee discloses a processor having one or more processing units (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Regarding claim 21, it recites similar limitations of claim 5 but in a processor form. The rationale of claim 5 rejection is applied to reject claim 21. In addition, Lee discloses a processor having one or more processing units (Lee, para. [0051], disclosing an operating unit implemented by a microprocessor).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Liu (Liu et al., DIST: Rendering Deep Implicit Signed Distance Function with Differentiable Sphere Tracing).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2. However, Lee, Hakura, or Genova does not expressly disclose wherein rendering the surface occurs at an interactive frame rate.
On the other hand, Liu discloses rendering the surface occurs at an interactive frame rate (Liu, p. 3, col. 1, Sec. 3, 1st para., disclosing rendering for implicit signed distance function represented as a neural network, p. 5, col. 2, Sec. 4.1, 1st para., disclosing rendering an image within 0.99s, indicating rendering an image of a surface model can occur at an interactive frame rate).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine the combination of Lee, Hakura, and Genova with Liu. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable efficient differentiable rendering on the implicit signed distance function represented as a neural network, as suggested by Liu (see Liu p. 2, col. 1, last para.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 5963209 A to Hoppe, which discloses an efficient, lossless, continuous-resolution representation (the "PM representation") of highly detailed geometric models for computer graphics specifies a succession of progressively more detailed polygonal meshes (i.e., "progressive meshes") as a base polygonal mesh and a sequence of complete mesh refinement transformations (e.g., the vertex split transformation) that approximate the model at progressively finer levels of detail.
/HAIXIA DU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611