DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter (see the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure section 2106). Claim 17 recites a “computer-readable storage medium”, however, Applicant’s Specification states at ¶00158 that “Further, modules may be stored on a computer-readable medium, which may be, for instance, a hard disk drive, flash device, random access memory (RAM), tape, or any other such medium used to store data.”. It is noted that this can be interpreted to include signals, carrier waves and other transmission media which is non-statutory. The Examiner suggests amending the claims to include “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium" to direct the claim to only statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims incorporate all of the limitations of their respective independent or intervening claim(s) and are rejected on the same basis.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Daredia et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0403817), referred to as Daredia herein.
Mostafa et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0010049), referred to as Mostafa herein.
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daredia.
Regarding claim 1, Daredia discloses an apparatus comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to (Daredia, ¶0121, ¶0132 – processor executing instructions stored in hardware memory):
establish a communication session between a first user device and a second user device from among the plurality of user devices (Daredia, Figs. 1 and 4B with ¶0029-¶0033, ¶0085 – client devices capture and send video data during a meeting),
train an artificial intelligence (AI) model to learn user interface preferences of a plurality of user devices during the communication session (Daredia, Fig. 3 with ¶0060, ¶0064-¶0067, Figs. 4A-4E with ¶0108, ¶0112 – training the machine-learning model based on user preferences regarding the meeting),
receive a description associated with the communication session (Daredia, ¶0084 – meeting agenda is analyzed by the content management system. ¶0108-¶0111 – machine learning),
generate a plurality of windows of content and display the plurality of windows of content on a user interface of the first user device during the communication session based on execution of the AI model on the description associated with the communication session (Daredia, Figs. 4A-4E with ¶0082-¶0091 – moderation messages are provided in a separate window. Content items associated with the meeting are presented and highlighted based on the meeting agenda),
and generate a second plurality of windows of content and display the second plurality of windows of content on a user interface of the second user device based on an execution of the AI model on the description associated with the communication session (Daredia, ¶0083, ¶0085 – content can be synchronized across all clients, or customized for each client. ¶0088, ¶0091 – moderation can be presented only to one user. See also Figs. 5A-5B with ¶0074, ¶0112-¶0118 – meeting insights are based on the agenda and are included in user-specific summaries).
Regarding claim 2, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute the AI model on content of the communication session and visual content from previous meetings between the first user device and the second user device to train the AI model (Daredia, ¶0018, ¶0024, ¶0041 – learning is based on prior meetings. ¶0065 – the training data set includes scenarios involving specific users and client devices. ¶0110, ¶0113, ¶0115 – each user’s participation in previous meetings. ¶0074 – video data used to train the model).
Regarding claim 3, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive an audio feed and a video feed from a meeting application on one or more of the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, ¶0017, ¶0044, ¶0122 – audio and video feeds from client meeting applications).
Regarding claim 4, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive a meeting summary of the communication session with a summary description of content to be discussed during the communication session between the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, Fig. 4E with ¶0107 – content management system generates a summary which is modified by the meeting presenter. Modifications to the summary a received from the client application before the summary is presented to other users. See also ¶0070 – manually generated summaries. See also, ¶0084 – meeting agenda is analyzed by the content management system).
Regarding claim 5, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate at least one window of missing content for the second plurality of windows of content that is not included in the plurality of windows of content displayed on the user interface of the first user device (Daredia, Figs. 4A-4E with ¶0082-¶0091 – moderation messages are provided in a separate window. Content items associated with the meeting are presented and highlighted based on the meeting agenda. Content items which have not been covered are shown to the presenter. ¶0083, ¶0085 – content can be synchronized across all clients, or customized for each client. ¶0088, ¶0091 – moderation can be presented only to one user. See also Figs. 5A-5B with ¶0074, ¶0112-¶0118 – meeting insights are based on the agenda and are included in user-specific summaries).
Regarding claim 8, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to display the second plurality of windows of content on the user interface of the second user device simultaneously while displaying the plurality of windows of content on the user interface of the first user device (Daredia, ¶0083, ¶0085 – content can be synchronized across all clients, or customized for each client. ¶0088, ¶0091 – moderation can be presented only to one user. See also Figs. 5A-5B with ¶0074, ¶0112-¶0118 – meeting insights are based on the agenda and are included in user-specific summaries).
Regarding claim 9, Daredia discloses a method comprising: establishing a communication session between a first user device and a second user device from among the plurality of user devices (Daredia, Figs. 1 and 4B with ¶0029-¶0033, ¶0085 – client devices capture and send video data during a meeting. ¶0121, ¶0132 – processor executing instructions stored in hardware memory);
training an artificial intelligence (AI) model to learn user interface preferences of a plurality of user devices during the communication session (Daredia, Fig. 3 with ¶0060, ¶0064-¶0067, Figs. 4A-4E with ¶0108 – training the machine-learning model based on user preferences regarding the meeting);
receiving a description associated with the communication session (Daredia, ¶0084 – meeting agenda is analyzed by the content management system. ¶0108-¶0111 – machine learning);
generating a plurality of windows of content and displaying the plurality of windows of content on a user interface of the first user device during the communication session based on execution of the AI model on the description associated with the communication session (Daredia, Figs. 4A-4E with ¶0082-¶0091 – moderation messages are provided in a separate window. Content items associated with the meeting are presented and highlighted based on the meeting agenda); and
generating a second plurality of windows of content and displaying the second plurality of windows of content on a user interface of the second user device based on an execution of the AI model on the description associated with the communication session (Daredia, ¶0083, ¶0085 – content can be synchronized across all clients, or customized for each client. ¶0088, ¶0091 – moderation can be presented only to one user. See also Figs. 5A-5B with ¶0074, ¶0112-¶0118 – meeting insights are based on the agenda and are included in user-specific summaries).
Regarding claim 10, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the training comprises executing the AI model on content of the communication session and visual content from previous meetings between the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, ¶0018, ¶0024, ¶0041 – learning is based on prior meetings. ¶0065 – the training data set includes scenarios involving specific users and client devices. ¶0110, ¶0113, ¶0115 – each user’s participation in previous meetings. ¶0074 – video data used to train the model).
Regarding claim 11, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the establishing the communication session comprises receiving an audio feed and a video feed from a meeting application on one or more of the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, ¶0017, ¶0044, ¶0122 – audio and video feeds from client meeting applications).
Regarding claim 12, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the receiving the description comprises receiving a meeting summary of the communication session with a summary description of content to be discussed during the communication session between the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, Fig. 4E with ¶0107 – content management system generates a summary which is modified by the meeting presenter. Modifications to the summary a received from the client application before the summary is presented to other users. See also ¶0070 – manually generated summaries. See also, ¶0084 – meeting agenda is analyzed by the content management system).
Regarding claim 13, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the generating the second plurality of windows of content comprises generating at least one window of missing content for the second plurality of windows of content that is not included in the plurality of windows of content displayed on the user interface of the first user device (Daredia, Figs. 4A-4E with ¶0082-¶0091 – moderation messages are provided in a separate window. Content items associated with the meeting are presented and highlighted based on the meeting agenda. Content items which have not been covered are show to the presenter. ¶0083, ¶0085 – content can be synchronized across all clients, or customized for each client. ¶0088, ¶0091 – moderation can be presented only to one user. See also Figs. 5A-5B with ¶0074, ¶0112-¶0118 – meeting insights are based on the agenda and are included in user-specific summaries).
Regarding claim 16, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the displaying the second plurality of windows of content on the user interface of the second user device comprises displaying the second plurality of windows of content on the user interface of the second user device simultaneously while displaying the plurality of windows of content on the user interface of the first user device (Daredia, ¶0083, ¶0085 – content can be synchronized across all clients, or customized for each client. ¶0088, ¶0091 – moderation can be presented only to one user. See also Figs. 5A-5B with ¶0074, ¶0112-¶0118 – meeting insights are based on the agenda and are included in user-specific summaries).
Regarding claim 17, Daredia discloses a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored therein which when executed by a processor cause a computer to perform (Daredia, ¶0121 – processor executing instructions stored in hardware memory):
establishing a communication session between a first user device and a second user device from among the plurality of user devices (Daredia, Figs. 1 and 4B with ¶0029-¶0033, ¶0085 – client devices capture and send video data during a meeting);
training an artificial intelligence (AI) model to learn user interface preferences of a plurality of user devices during the communication session (Daredia, Fig. 3 with ¶0064-¶0067, Figs. 4A-4E with ¶0108 – training the machine-learning model based on user preferences regarding the meeting);
receiving a description associated with the communication session (Daredia, ¶0084 – meeting agenda is analyzed by the content management system. ¶0108-¶0111 – machine learning);
generating a plurality of windows of content and displaying the plurality of windows of content on a user interface of the first user device during the communication session based on execution of the AI model on the description associated with the communication session (Daredia, Figs. 4A-4E with ¶0082-¶0091 – moderation messages are provided in a separate window. Content items associated with the meeting are presented and highlighted based on the meeting agenda); and
generating a second plurality of windows of content and displaying the second plurality of windows of content on a user interface of the second user device based on an execution of the AI model on the description associated with the communication session (Daredia, ¶0083, ¶0085 – content can be synchronized across all clients, or customized for each client. ¶0088, ¶0091 – moderation can be presented only to one user. See also Figs. 5A-5B with ¶0074, ¶0112-¶0118 – meeting insights are based on the agenda and are included in user-specific summaries).
Regarding claim 18, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein the training comprises the executing of the AI model on content of the communication session and visual content from previous meetings between the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, ¶0018, ¶0024, ¶0041 – learning is based on prior meetings. ¶0065 – the training data set includes scenarios involving specific users and client devices. ¶0110, ¶0113, ¶0115 – each user’s participation in previous meetings. ¶0074 – video data used to train the model).
Regarding claim 19, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein the establishing the communication session comprises receiving an audio feed and a video feed from a meeting application on one or more of the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, ¶0017, ¶0044, ¶0122 – audio and video feeds from client meeting applications).
Regarding claim 20, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein the receiving the description comprises receiving a meeting summary of the communication session with a summary description of content to be discussed during the communication session between the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, Fig. 4E with ¶0107 – content management system generates a summary which is modified by the meeting presenter. Modifications to the summary a received from the client application before the summary is presented to other users. See also ¶0070 – manually generated summaries).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daredia in view of Mostafa.
Regarding claim 6, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate a same plurality of windows of content for the user interface of the first user device and the user interface of the second user device and arrange the second plurality of windows of content in
However, Daredia appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mostafa discloses video conference session management (Mostafa, ¶0035-¶0036), including
generate a same plurality of windows of content for the user interface of the first user device and the user interface of the second user device and arrange the second plurality of windows of content in different locations on the user interface of the second user device than the plurality of windows of content on the user interface of the first user device based on different preferences of the second user device (Mostafa, Figs. 9-11 with ¶0053 – tailored window layouts during a video conference. ¶0064-¶0083 – windows of content are positioned and sized according to the attribute description of the communication session. ¶0045-¶0046 – default values can specify rank where no input for attributes for personal preferences are received. ¶0065 – windows can be pinned to a particular rank and location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the content locations of Daredia to include different window locations on different client devices based on the teachings of Mostafa. The motivation for doing so would have been offer client devices addition control over layout, improving user experience during the video conference (Mostafa, ¶0034).
Regarding claim 7, Daredia as modified discloses the elements of claim 6 above, and further discloses wherein the different preferences are determined based on the execution of the AI model on content of the communication session and visual content from previous meetings between the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, ¶0018, ¶0024, ¶0041 – learning is based on prior meetings. ¶0065 – the training data set includes scenarios involving specific users and client devices. ¶0108 – user preferences and historical operations. ¶0074 – video data used to train the model. Mostafa, Figs. 9-11 with ¶0053 – tailored window layouts during a video conference).
Regarding claim 14, Daredia discloses the elements of claim 9 above, and further discloses wherein the generating the second plurality of windows of content comprises generating a same plurality of windows of content for the user interface of the first user device and the user interface of the second user device and arranging the second plurality of windows of content in
However, Daredia appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mostafa discloses video conference session management (Mostafa, ¶0035-¶0036), including
generate a same plurality of windows of content for the user interface of the first user device and the user interface of the second user device and arrange the second plurality of windows of content in different locations on the user interface of the second user device than the plurality of windows of content on the user interface of the first user device based on different preferences of the second user device (Mostafa, Figs. 9-11 with ¶0053 – tailored window layouts during a video conference. ¶0064-¶0083 – windows of content are positioned and sized according to the attribute description of the communication session. ¶0045-¶0046 – default values can specify rank where no input for attributes for personal preferences are received. ¶0065 – windows can be pinned to a particular rank and location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the the content locations of Daredia to include different window locations on different client devices based on the teachings of Mostafa. The motivation for doing so would have been offer client devices addition control over layout, improving user experience during the video conference (Mostafa, ¶0034).
Regarding claim 15, Daredia as modified discloses the elements of claim 14 above, and further discloses wherein the different preferences are determined based on the execution of the AI model on content of the communication session and visual content from previous meetings between the first user device and the second user device (Daredia, ¶0018, ¶0024, ¶0041 – learning is based on prior meetings. ¶0065 – the training data set includes scenarios involving specific users and client devices. ¶0108 – user preferences and historical operations. ¶0074 – video data used to train the model. Mostafa, Figs. 9-11 with ¶0053 – tailored window layouts during a video conference).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References are at least relevant as indicated in the corresponding summary.
Callegari et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0205037) – AI-based video conference custom meeting summaries.
Gambhir (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0045581) – AI-based window layout.
Viswanathan Iyer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0236782) – AI based video conference layout.
Browne et al. (US Patent Number 9,888,211) – custom window arrangements for meetings.
Gupta et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0207489) – AI-based meeting summaries and task management.
Asthana et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0109585) – machine-learning customized meeting summaries.
Kikim-Gil et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0383127) - – machine-learning customized meeting summaries.
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174