DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by FUKUNAGA et al., US 2020/0061742 A1.
Claim 1. FUKUNAGA et al., disclose a laser processing apparatus (such as item 1, fig. 1 to fig. 11, [0047]-[0049]) comprising:
-a stage (first holding sub-portion 11) having a wafer (such as item 2) holding surface (upper surface item 11),
-a laser irradiation mechanism (item 50, fig. 8, and [0052] indicates head 50 is configured to irradiate a first portion 82 of first main surface 3 of workpiece 2 with a laser beam 62),
-and a nozzle (item 54, as [0057] indicates the first nozzle 54 is configured to supply a first liquid 73 to first portion 82 of first main surface 3 of workpiece 2), wherein the wafer holding surface is configured to hold, a semiconductor wafer (item 2) having a first surface (upper surface) and a second surface (lower surface) opposite to the first surface such that the wafer holding surface faces the second surface, the laser irradiation mechanism is configured to apply a laser beam (item 62) from a first surface side, and the nozzle is configured to supply a liquid (item 73) from a second surface side (as [0057] disclosed).
Claim 7. FUKUNAGA et al., disclose a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (such as item 1, fig. 1 to fig. 11, [0047] - [0049]), the method comprising:
-preparing a semiconductor wafer (item 2, fig. 8) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the semiconductor wafer having an outer circumferential portion and an inner circumferential portion located inside the outer circumferential portion (this limitation would read through [0052] wherein is disclosed First portion 82 is a portion of workpiece 2 to be laser-processed, such as a boundary portion between inner circumferential region 5 and outer circumferential region 6);
-processing the second surface located at the inner circumferential portion to be recessed toward the first surface (this limitation would read also through [0052] wherein is disclosed First portion 82 is a portion of workpiece 2 to be laser-processed, such as a boundary portion between inner circumferential region 5 and outer circumferential region 6),
-disposing the semiconductor wafer on a wafer holding surface of a stage such that the second surface faces the wafer holding surface (this limitation would read also through [0052] wherein is disclosed inner circumferential region 5 of workpiece 2 is held on first holding sub-portion 11),
-and applying a laser beam (item 62) from a first surface side while supplying a liquid (item 73) from a second surface side, to separate the outer circumferential portion from the semiconductor wafer (this limitation would read also through [0177] wherein is disclosed the method for manufacturing a semiconductor apparatus in the present embodiment includes separating (S1) workpiece 2 into inner circumferential region 5 of workpiece 2 and outer circumferential region 6 of workpiece 2 using a laser processing apparatus in any one of embodiments 1 to 8).
Claims 2, 8. FUKUNAGA et al., disclose the laser processing apparatus according to claims 1, 7, wherein the stage has a side surface contiguous to the wafer holding surface, the stage is configured to be rotated about an axis of rotation running in a direction of a normal to the wafer holding surface, the liquid is configured to be sprayed toward the side surface, and the side surface has a width increasing toward the wafer holding surface. This limitation would read through [0168] wherein is disclosed for example, while first portion 82 is being irradiated with laser beam 62, due to this centrifugal force 27, the thickness of liquid layer 79 formed by first liquid 73 and second liquid 78 can be gradually reduced from center 2c toward first portion 82. Therefore, diffusion and attenuation of laser beam 62 due to liquid layer 79 can be reduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 3-6, 8-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKUNAGA et al., US 2020/0061742 A1, in view of NAGATA et al, US 2012/0298649 A1.
Claim 3. FUKUNAGA et al., disclose the laser processing apparatus according to claim 1, but does not specifically specify “wherein the nozzle sprays the liquid in an atomized state”.
However, [0022] fig. 10 of NAGATA et al., wherein is disclosed that a portion of the laser beam strikes the jet liquid column at the flow contracting portion in the vicinity of the nozzle inlet opening, thereby giving a disturbance to the jetted jet liquid column. This disturbance excites the surface wave on the jet liquid column and thereby allows a further increase in size of the surface wave, so that the jet liquid column after reaching the workpiece can be immediately atomized.
Examiner notes that applicant has created a genus of functionality wherein the materials disclosed function in the same manner. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the appropriate material for the nozzle layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Also, it would have been within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the laser machining apparatus NAGATA et al., because at the atomic scale, this means more atoms of the liquid can simultaneously interact with neighboring atoms in a solid, gas, or other medium.
Claims 4-6, 9-12. FUKUNAGA et al., disclose the laser processing apparatus according to claim 1, above.
FUKUNAGA et al., appear to not indicate specifically “wherein the nozzle has an opening from which the liquid is sprayed, and an opening edge of the opening has an elliptical shape”.
However, [0056], fig. 10 of NAGATA et al., a lower end surface 24e of the liquid oscillating chamber forming member 24 abuts on the top end surface of the nozzle 20, and an inclined surface 24f at a lower portion of the liquid oscillating chamber forming member 24 abuts on an inner wall surface of the head body 16. In this manner, with the window abutting surface 24d abutting on the window 22 and the lower end surface 24e abutting on the nozzle 20, the cylindrical liquid oscillating chamber 24c is defined by the lower end surface of the window 22, the top end surface of the nozzle 20, and the inner peripheral surface of the liquid oscillating chamber forming member 24. In this embodiment, the defined liquid oscillating chamber 24c is 6 mm in height and 5 mm in diameter and is formed in a cylindrical shape having a height greater than the diameter.
Therefore, at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of FUKUNAGA et al., in view of the teachings of NAGATA et al., to optimize the edge opening of the nozzle layer during routine experimentation to have an elliptical shape, because an elliptical nozzle with a cross-section shaped like an ellipse rather than a circle offers several performance advantages over conventional circular nozzles, depending on the application. This is due to better exhaust flow distribution, improved thrust vectoring, and reduced structural mass.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant contends that:
Fukunaga fails to anticipate "the laser irradiation mechanism is configured to supply a liquid from a second surface side," as recited in amended claim 1, and "applying a laser beam from a first surface side while supplying a liquid from a second surface side, to separate the outer circumferential portion from the semiconductor wafer," as recited in claim 7.
This argument is not persuasive. Examiner notes that the term "configured" is the past simple and past participle form of the verb "configure". To configure something means to arrange or put its parts together in a particular form or arrangement. This can apply to various contexts, such as assembling a physical object or setting up a system or software to function in a specific way.
In the context of computing, configured refers to the process of arranging or making changes to a computer system, piece of equipment, or software to enable it to perform a particular task or operate in a specific manner. For example, configuring a server involves setting it up to handle specific tasks, such as hosting a website or managing network resources.
In this context, applicant’s disclosure the scope of the invention as a laser processing apparatus includes a stage having a wafer holding surface, a laser irradiation mechanism, and a nozzle. On the wafer holding surface, a semiconductor wafer having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface is disposed such that the wafer holding surface faces the second surface. In a similar manner, FUKUNAGA et al., disclose a laser processing apparatus includes a holder configured to hold a workpiece, a head, a first nozzle, and a driver. The head is configured to irradiate a first portion of a main surface of the workpiece with a laser beam. The first nozzle is configured to supply a first liquid to the first portion. The driver is configured to drive the holder in such a manner that the workpiece can revolve around the optical axis of the laser beam at the first portion. Accordingly, the workpiece can be efficiently processed, and debris of the workpiece can be prevented from adhering to the main surface of the workpiece. Thus, FUKUNAGA, meets this limitation.
7. Applicant contends that: Further, Nagata fails to remedy at least the above deficiencies of Fukunaga.
However, [0056], fig. 10 of NAGATA et al., a lower end surface 24e of the liquid oscillating chamber forming member 24 abuts on the top end surface of the nozzle 20, and an inclined surface 24f at a lower portion of the liquid oscillating chamber forming member 24 abuts on an inner wall surface of the head body 16. In this manner, with the window abutting surface 24d abutting on the window 22 and the lower end surface 24e abutting on the nozzle 20, the cylindrical liquid oscillating chamber 24c is defined by the lower end surface of the window 22, the top end surface of the nozzle 20, and the inner peripheral surface of the liquid oscillating chamber forming member 24. In this embodiment, the defined liquid oscillating chamber 24c is 6 mm in height and 5 mm in diameter and is formed in a cylindrical shape having a height greater than the diameter.
Therefore, at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of FUKUNAGA et al., in view of the teachings of NAGATA et al., to optimize the edge opening of the nozzle layer during routine experimentation to have an elliptical shape, because an elliptical nozzle with a cross-section shaped like an ellipse rather than a circle offers several performance advantages over conventional circular nozzles, depending on the application. This is due to better exhaust flow distribution, improved thrust vectoring, and reduced structural mass.
Thus, the combination of FUKUNAGA with NAGATA et al., meets this limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899