DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to Applicant's Amendment filed on 10/02/25. By virtue of this amendment, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant ‘s argument that, Pyshos et do not disclose “wherein in the second working mode, the first type LED modules and the second type LED modules are both turned on to generate a second output light of a third color temperature, wherein the second type LED modules are not turned on if the first type LED modules are not turned on”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, since Examiner does not see how to use the second working mode for “wherein the second type LED modules are not turned on if the first type LED modules are not turned on” when the second working mode for the first type LED modules and the second type LED modules are both turned on to generate a second output light of a third color temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 14-15, the limitations “wherein the second type LED modules are not turned on if the first type LED modules are not turned on”. It is unclear how to use the second working mode for the second type LED modules are not turned on if the first type LED modules are not turned on when “the first type LED modules (LED1) and the second type LED modules (LED 2) are both turned on to generate a second output light of a third color temperature”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pyshos et al (US Pub. No: 2017/0303363).
With respect to claim 1, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 3 that, a lighting apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of first type LED modules((LED 1,150) which includes a color temperature(3000K)), wherein the first type LED modules emits a first light of a first color temperature; a plurality of second type LED modules((LED 2, 155) which includes a color temperature (4000K), wherein the second type LED modules emits a second light of a second color temperature, wherein the first color temperature is different from the second color temperature; and a driver circuit(controller(215) for converting an external power(switches(131)) to generate multiple driving currents to the first type of LED modules(LED 1) and the second type of LED modules(LED2), wherein the driver circuit (the controller (215) which includes switches(210)) provides a first working mode and a second working mode, wherein in the first working mode( the switches(131) which includes first switch and second switch(ON,ON state) and , the second type LED modules (LED 2)are disabled (off) so that only the first type LED modules are turned on to emit a first output light of the first color temperature(300K), wherein in the second working mode(switch 1 ON or OFF, switch 2 ON or OFF), the first type LED modules(LED1) and the second type LED modules(LED 2) are both turned on to generate a second output light of a third color temperature(3500K).See table as show in figure 3, paragraphs[41-46].
Pyshos et al also disclose in figure 3, the dual inline pin switch 131 comprises individual switches 210 that provide an input for configuring the luminaire 100 to operate at a selected color temperature (paragraph 37])( if not select color temperature, then the second type LED modules are not turned on and the first type LED modules are not turned on).
With respect to claim 2, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 3 that, wherein an intensity offset between the first output light of each first type LED module and the second output light of each second type LED module is less than 10% of a first light intensity of the first output light of the first type LED module. Figure 3, when ON, ON state, both LED 1 and LED 2 turn on with both current supply or provide current/voltage to the first and second (LED1, LED2) more light intensity or light brightness than LED1 off or LED2 off.
With respect to claim 4, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 3 that, further comprising a manual switch (131) coupled to the driver circuit for a user to select the first working mode or the second working mode. Table and paragraph [43-45] for ON and OFF state.
With respect to claim 5, Pyshos et al disclose in figures 1I,1J,1K and 3 that, further comprising a light housing, wherein the manual switch(131) is disposed on an external surface of the light housing, and the first type LED modules and the second type LED modules are disposed inside the light housing. Paragraph[50].
With respect to claim 6, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 3 as table that, wherein the driver circuit keeps either the first working mode or the second working mode unless the user operates the manual switch to change a working mode from the first working mode to the second working mode or from the second working mode to the first working mode. Paragraphs [41-46].
With respect to claim 7, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 3 and table that, wherein a label aside the manual switch indicates only the first color temperature and the third color temperature. Paragraphs [41-46].
With respect to claim 8, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 3, table that, wherein there is a first offset between the first color temperature and the third color temperature, wherein there is a second offset between the second color temperature and the third color temperature, wherein the first offset if smaller than the second offset. Paragraphs [41-46].
With respect to claim 9, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 3, table that, wherein a difference between the first color temperature and the third color temperature is more than 20% of the second offset. Paragraphs [41-46].
With respect to claim 10, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 3, table that, wherein the difference between the first color temperature and the third color temperature is larger than 50% of the second offset. Paragraphs [41-46].
With respect to claim 11, Pyshos et al disclose, wherein a level switch is coupled to the driver circuit for a user to adjust a first light intensity of the first output light and a second light intensity of the second output light.Paragraph [28] for manually set a dual inline pin (DIP) switch 131 to configure the luminaire 100 and a selected color temperature, a selected lumen output.
With respect to claim 12, Pyshos et al disclose wherein a first variation rate of the driving currents supplied to the first type LED modules is the same as a second variation rate of the driving currents to the second type LED modules. Figure 4 and table for ON or OFF, or ON, ON or OFF,OFF for different current or same current LED 1 and LED2.
With respect to claim 13, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 3 that, wherein the first type LED modules and the second type LED modules are disposed on a single power path for receiving the driving currents.
With respect to claim 14, Pyshos et al disclose, further comprising a light source plate(figures 1D-1E), wherein the first type of LED modules and the second type of LED modules are arranged on multiple concentric circles of the light source plate.
With respect to claim 16, Pyshos et al disclose in figures 3 that, wherein a quality of the second type LED modules are determined after the first color temperature and the third color temperature are determined. Paragraph [8].
With respect to claim 17, Pyshos et al disclose in figures 3 that, wherein the driver circuit adjusts a current ratio between the driving currents supplied to the first type LED modules and the second type LED modules to change the third color temperature. Paragraphs [8,20].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Pyshos et al (US Pub. No: 2017/0303363) as applied in claim 14 above in view of Jiang (U.S pub. No: 2022/0104320).
With respect to claim 15, Pyshos et al disclose in figure 1D or1E for the light source plate (figures 1D-1E), wherein the first type of LED modules and the second type of LED modules are arranged on multiple concentric circles of the light source plate.
Pyshos et al do not explicitly disclose that, wherein a first concentric E for circle is used for disposed the first type LED modules, wherein a second concentric circle is used for disposing the second type LED modules, wherein in a circular sector covering a portion of the first concentric circle and a portion of the second concentric circle, a first number of the first type LED modules is a multiple of a second number of the second type LED modules.
Jiang et al disclose in figures 5-6 that, the light source plate (603), wherein a first concentric E for circle is used for disposed the first type LED modules (30 or 40), wherein a second concentric circle is used for disposing the second type LED modules (30 or 40). Paragraphs [53-54,78-79].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the lighting apparatus of Pyshos et al with the first/second type of LED modules as taught by Jiang et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of two different light spreading angles.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Pyshos et al (US Pub. No: 2017/0303363) in view of Huang (US.Pub. No: 2014/026882).
With respect to claim 18, Pyshos et al disclose wherein the driver circuit has the manual switches as shown in figure 3 except for night light mode, wherein in the night light mode, only the second type LED modules are turned on.
Huang discloses a night light mode, wherein in the night light mode, only the second type LED modules are turned on. Abstract.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the lighting apparatus of Pyshos et al with the night light mode as taught by Hoang for purpose of providing an advantageous way of controlling light output of the lighting apparatus.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Pyshos et al (US Pub. No: 2017/0303363) in view of Liu (US.11,211,365).
With respect to claim 19, Pyshos et al disclose wherein the first type LED modules and the second type LED modules.
Pyshos et al do not disclose wherein the first type LED modules have a first spreading light angle and the second type LED modules have a second spreading light angle, wherein the first light spreading angle is different from the second light spreading angle.
Liu discloses a lighting apparatus having the first type LED modules have a first spreading light angle and the second type LED modules have a second spreading light angle, wherein the first light spreading angle is different from the second light spreading angle (figures 1, 3 and 5, abstract, col. 2 lines 60-64, col. 3 lines 12-15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the lighting apparatus of Pyshos et al with the first/second type LED modules having different light spreading angle as taught by Liu for purpose of providing an advantageous way of adopting design solutions of large and small light emitting angles in mixed arrangement in the mini LED backlight panel is advantageous for an ultra-thin design.
With respect to claim 20, Pyshos et al as modified as claim 19 that, wherein the first type LED modules and the second type LED modules use different types of lenses to achieve different light spreading angles. See figure 5 of Liu.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844