DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-15 and 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/21/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 1/15/24, 7/19/24, 2/28/25, 10/27/25, 1/8/26, and 6/3/26. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner and initialed copies of the forms are attached to this correspondence.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,876,150. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are the broader genus claims to the species claims of the ‘150 patent. Therefore, the present claims are inherently anticipated by the ‘150 patent claims and a rejection under single reference nonstatutory double patenting is proper (see MPEP §804).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0284824) (“Liu”).
Regarding Claim 16, Liu teaches a device (Figure 2), comprising: a semiconductor substrate (Figure 3, item 302); a non-light emitting strain management structure (Figure 3, item 314) on the semiconductor substrate, the non- light emitting strain management structure including components configured to operate at a first wavelength (see Figure 9, note this is dependent on material choice); and a light emitting structure (Figure 3, item 336) above the non-light emitting strain management structure, the light emitting structure configured to emit light at a second wavelength that is longer than the first wavelength (¶0079).
Regarding Claim 17, Liu further teaches the first wavelength corresponds to at least one of ultraviolet (see Figure 9, note this is dependent on material choice) or blue light and the second wavelength corresponds to at least one of red, orange, yellow, or green light (¶0079).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu further teaches the device is a light emitting diode (see Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Liu further teaches the non-light emitting strain management structure includes a quantum well structure (¶0071).
Regarding Claim 20, Liu further teaches the light emitting structure includes a red micro-quantum well structure (¶0058).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bergmann et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0341593)
Chua et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0054248)
MARK W. TORNOW
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/MARK W TORNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891