DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotjohn et al (US 2012/0047950) in view of Ishizuka et al (JP 2022-001537), an English computer translation (CT) is provided.
Grotjohn et al teaches a method of growing single crystal diamond, the method comprising: a) providing a seed diamond material; b) growing diamond on the seed diamond material with an initial finished surface; c) providing a process gas; and d) growing a thin film of diamond on top of the initial finished surface to form a second finished surface by using chemical vapor deposition with the process gas. ([0010]-[0020], [0025]-[0042] teaches a deposition processes generally include the homoepitaxial growth of layers of single crystal gemstone ("SCG") material of diamond, of multiple (different) colors onto a substrate/seed of diamond using a chemical vapor deposition process; and the first single crystal diamond (SCD) layer having a growth surface and remove a portion of the first SCD layer and growing a second SCD layer and polishing a portion of the second SCD layer and growing a third SCD layer on the second SCD layer).
Grotjohn et al does not explicitly teach growing diamond on the to a mass of greater than 0.1 gram. Grotjohn et al teaches the thickness of an individual layer will depend on the deposition time and can be suitably selected based on the desired shape/size parameters of the resulting gemstone 142; and the thickness may be as large as several millimeters (e.g., up to 1 mm, 2 mm, 3 mm, 4 mm, 5 mm, 7 mm, 10 mm) for larger gemstone cuts ([0042]). Gemstones would with a thickness of 10 mm would be expected to have a mass greater than 0.1 gram. Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Grotjohn et al to grow a diamond layer will a desired thickness and mass of greater than 0.1 gram to produce a desirable size. Also, changes in size and shape are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Grotjohn et al does not teach providing a process gas that contains at least some carbon from a deceased or living being; and d) growing a thin film of diamond on top of the initial finished surface to form a second finished surface by using chemical vapor deposition with the process gas.
In a method of growing diamond by CVD, Ishizuka et al teaches graphite is extracted from the remains or hair of a deceased family member or historical figure, or the remains, hair, or nails of a pet; and the graphite extracted as described above is mixed and sintered with powder of a high-melting-point metal (for example, a metal with a melting point of 1500°C or higher) to create pellets, which are then placed in the plasma used for diamond crystal growth and used as a carbon source for diamond; or it is possible to produce methane gas from this graphite and mix it with the raw material gas itself (CT [0018]-[0033]), which clearly suggests providing a process gas that contains at least some carbon from a deceased or living being; and growing a thin film of diamond on top of the initial finished surface to form a second finished surface by using chemical vapor deposition with the process gas.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Grotjohn et al by providing a carbon process gas for producing a diamond, as taught by Ishizuka et al, to produce a keepsake that preserves the remains of the deceased.
Referring to claim 2, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al does not explicitly teach a diamond material from a particular geographic location. Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al by selecting diamond starting material from any suitable geographic location because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07) and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Referring to claim 3, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches single crystal diamond by high pressure high temperature growth (Grotjohn [0029]; Ishizuka CT [0011]).
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches chemical vapor deposition (Grotjohn [0003]; Ishizuka CT [0011]).
Referring to claim 6, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches collecting carbon from human remains or a deceased pet (Ishizuka CT [0028]-[0029]).
Referring to claim 8-10, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches thickness of an individual layer (e.g., length scale in the growth direction of the SCD layer) will depend on the deposition time and can be suitably selected based on the desired shape/size parameters of the resulting gemstone; and thickness of up to 10mm or 1 to 500 mm (Grotjohn [0042]). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
Referring to claim 13-14, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches one method that uses a portion of a specific individual or pet, or a portion of an item associated with a specific individual, as a raw material is to first chemically or physically process a portion of the specific individual or pet, or a portion of an item associated with a specific individual, and extract carbon with a carbon content of 90% or more and when using granular activated carbon, carbon powder, or binchotan charcoal that has been sulfonated in concentrated sulfuric acid or fuming sulfuric acid at 160-200°C as a catalyst for carbon extraction, decomposition and carbonization can be performed at 100-120°C (Ishizuka CT [0031]), which clearly suggests a method of carbon extraction without cremation.
Referring to claim 15, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches the carbon from the remains of a decreased person (Ishizuka CT [0013], [0026]-[0031]), which would clearly include tissue.
Referring to claim 16-20, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al grow of a plurality of layer of diamond and polishing the diamond prior to the next diamond layer, and coloring different diamond layers which would change the optical properties (Grotjohn [0036]-[0055]).
Referring to claim 17, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al grow of a plurality of layer of diamond and polishing the diamond prior to the next diamond layer, and coloring different diamond layers which would change the optical properties (Grotjohn [0036]-[0055]), and the growth of second layer of diamond changes the color.
Referring to claim 18, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al grow of a plurality of layer of diamond and polishing the diamond prior to the next diamond layer, and coloring different diamond layers which would change the optical properties (Grotjohn [0036]-[0055]).
Referring to claim 19, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al grow of a plurality of layer of diamond and polishing the diamond prior to the next diamond layer, and coloring different diamond layers which would change the optical properties (Grotjohn [0036]-[0055]). The combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches growing the thin film on the initial finished surface; therefore, clearly suggests growing the thin film as forming the second surface to improve the second finished surface.
Referring to claim 20, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al grow of a plurality of layer of diamond and polishing the diamond prior to the next diamond layer, and coloring different diamond layers which would change the optical properties (Grotjohn [0036]-[0055]); therefore, the layer necessarily has a sufficient thickness suitable for polishing.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotjohn et al (US 2012/0047950) in view of Ishizuka et al (JP 2022-001537), an English computer translation (CT) is provided), as applied to claim 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 13-20 above, and further in view of Giquel et al (US 2021/0087676).
The combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, as discussed above, except growing diamond by a hot filament method. The combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches CVD and HPHT growth, as discussed above in regards to claims 3-4.
In a method of growing diamond, Giquel et al teaches growing a single crystal diamond by thickening in height and/or width a seed diamond single crystal (or substrate) from a natural diamond single crystal, or produced by a high pressure-high temperature (HPHT) or CVD (chemical vapor deposition, plasma or hot filament-assisted, and the like) method ([0080]-[0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al by using a hot filament method for growing diamond, as taught by Giquel et al, because hot filament is a suitable and equivalent method of growing single crystal diamond, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotjohn et al (US 2012/0047950) in view of Ishizuka et al (JP 2022-001537), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, as applied to claim 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 13-20 above, and further in view of VandenBiesen et al (US 2004/0031434).
Referring to claim 7, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 7, as discussed above, except the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al does not explicitly teach processing calcium carbonate. Applicant teaches “The ashes resulting from cremation often contain carbon predominately in the form of calcium carbonate. In order to use cremation ashes in a CVD diamond growth process, the carbon needs to be removed from the calcium carbonate and transformed into a gas” in paragraph [0027] of the published application.
In a method of growing diamond, VandenBiesen et al teaches a synthetic diamond is made from carbon collected from the remains of a human using sublimation; and the carbon from human remains is used to replace or supplement purified/graphitized carbon of other origin, and processed into synthetic diamonds ([0028]-[0037]), which clearly suggests using carbon from a deceased being and growing a diamond from a gas. VandenBiesen et al teaches a synthetic gem to be used as a permanent keepsake that preserves the remains and memories of the deceased with a synthetic diamond. VandenBiesen et al also teaches cremation requires the carbon must be separated from the bone ash, which can be done by the steps of collecting, filtering, purifying, and graphitized ([0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al by obtaining purified carbon by collecting, filtering, purifying, and graphitized, as taught by VandenBiesen et al, from bone ash.
The combination of Grotjohn et al, Ishizuka et al and VandenBiesen et al teaches cremation requires the carbon must be separated from the bone ash, which can be done by the steps of collecting, filtering, purifying, and graphitized (VandenBiesen [0007]). Therefore, the process of calcium carbonate would be expected since the prior art teaches cremation, like applicant, and the combination of Grotjohn et al, Ishizuka et al and VandenBiesen et al teaches filtering, purifying, and graphitized to obtain carbon from the ashes, which would necessarily require processing the calcium carbonate formed during cremation.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotjohn et al (US 2012/0047950) in view of Ishizuka et al (JP 2022-001537), an English computer translation (CT) is provided), as applied to claim 1-4, 6-10, and 15-20 above, and further in view of Spuhler (US 2010/0074830).
The combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above, except the carbon is from more than one deceased or living being.
In a method of making jewelry, Spuhler teaches the production of a personalized ornamental alloy originates from a carbon-containing organic basic material from selected clearly identifiable individuals or clearly identifiable groups of individuals; and a group of persons, for example a married couple or members of a family ([0015]-[0026]). Spuhler also teaches the basic material used is keratin-containing human or animal material, such as, for example, hair, fur, fingernails or mixtures thereof ([0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al by using carbon from more than one deceased or living being, i.e. a group, as taught by Spuhler, to produce a piece of jewelry with more symbolic meaning.
Referring to claim 12, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al and Spuhler teaches carbon from members of a family (Spuhler [0026]).
Referring to claim 13, the combination of Grotjohn et al and Ishizuka et al and Spuhler teach carbon from hair by coking, i.e. not cremated (Spuhler [0026], [0046]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Parrondo et al (US 2008/0145299) teaches Keratin is natural protein found, in humans, in hair, nails and skin, amongst other parts and the ease of extraction makes protein an easy and affordable source of carbon ([0009]). Parrondo et al teaches manufacture large diamond monocrystals of different colors from carbon obtained from the keratin contained in the ectoderm of many living beings being possible to extract carbon from a human being by cutting a lock of hair and carbonizing it, and then subjecting it to a high pressure high temperature process (Abstract), which clearly suggests the carbon from hair that has not been cremated because Parrondo et al does not teach cremation.
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714