`Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 2, 9-12, and 15-17 are pending, no amendment is made from last set of claims rejected on office action mailed 4/1/26.
In response to prior art rejection of claims 1, 16, and 17 based on Smith in view of Fleck, Ma and Masuda, applicant submitted argument that there is no motivation to combine Masuda reference because “the light source 25 of Masuda has a different function from the light source of the present application”. Applicant cites fig. 27-29 of Masuda showing incident light being routed different while the light source is being turned on and off as alleged evidence that the light source of Masuda is used to “control trajectory of light transmission” instead of “providing sufficient light”.
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully submit that applicant’s characterization of the function of light source 25 of Masuda as “controlling trajectory of light transmission” as opposed to “providing sufficient light” is unfounded. It is noted the direction of light being transmitted or reflected in Masuda is controlled via other components (such as polarization plate and liquid crystal panel 53, 60, 30) and light source 25 is turned on or off in different modes. The light source is not used to modify direction of light transmission, but instead exactly serving the function of providing more light to the system. The fact that trajectory of light transmission is being controlled does not exclude the light source from providing more light to the system, i.e. achieving the function of providing sufficient light.
Furthermore, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Smith in view of Fleck and Ma already teaches the display system comprises a light source to provide sufficient light (see Fleck, fig. 2, paragraph 29, lighting system 222 including a light source that illuminates the display panels for image display). Masuda is only cited for teaching the concept of additional second polarization component may be disposed between light source and wave guide to further modify light transmission. The particular embodiment of Masuda configuring the light source to provide additional function other than providing addition light does not prevent one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that second polarization component may be incorporated to further modify light transmission. Hence corresponding prior art rejection are respectfully maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 17, 1, 2, 9, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al., US 20210390784 A1 (hereinafter “Smith”), in view of Fleck et al., US 20120162268 A1 (hereinafter “Fleck”) and in further view of Ma, US 20200233254 A1 (hereinafter “Ma”), and Masuda, US 20190129246 A1 (hereinafter “Masuda”).
Regarding claim 16, Smith discloses an electrically controlling eyewear (fig. 3A, 3B, paragraph 50, smart glasses), comprising:
an eyewear frame (fig. 3A, 3B, paragraph 50, smart glasses with frame 302);
a controller (fig. 4, paragraph 59, central processor 421), arranged on the eyewear frame (paragraph 52, “The glasses 300 can include a device, such as a computer 330, which can be of any suitable type so as to be carried by the frame 302”), for transmitting a control signal according to a display content (fig. 4, paragraphs 59-65, controller working in conjunction with display processor to display content, see also fig. 1, paragraphs 26-30, communication server in communication with client device / wearable device to generate display content); and
a lens, arranged on the eyewear frame to display content (see fig. 3A, 3B, paragraph 50, optical lens with display 312/313/360, fig. 3B, paragraph 58, “FIG. 3B illustrates an outward-facing display 360 integrated into the optical elements 312 and 313. The outward-facing display 360 is capable of displaying messages that include keyboard input data (e.g., text and emojis), graphical representations of users (e.g., an avatar), images, and other graphical content. The outward-facing display may, in some embodiments, be or include a liquid crystal display (LCD). The outward-facing display 360 may, for example, comprise a transparent display integrated into optical elements 312 and 313. In some embodiments, the optical elements 312 and 313 include layered transparent displays with at least a first layer providing the inward-facing display mechanism and a second layer providing the outward-facing display mechanism),
While disclosing the lens displaying content may be a transparent display with liquid crystal display (LCD) (see Smith, paragraph 58 as cited above), Smith does not disclose in particular the detailed structure of the eyewear, that the eye wear comprising:
a light source, for providing sufficient light, and
that the lens comprising:
a polarization component, for confining a polarization state of an ambient light;
a partially reflecting mirror component, for reflecting and transmitting the ambient light;
a polarization converter, disposed between the polarization component and the partially reflecting mirror component, for converting the polarization state of the ambient light passed through the polarization component;
a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the lens, and
a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide;
wherein the partially reflecting mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal.
In similar field of endeavor of LCD display, Fleck discloses a transparent/transflective display (paragraph 18, “A displayed image 122 may be viewable through the front and back display surfaces, and as illustrated, the display device 104 is transparent”) comprising:
a light source, for providing sufficient light (fig. 2, paragraph 29, lighting system 222 including a light source that illuminates the display panels for image display, “The transparent display assembly 200 also includes a lighting system 222 that illuminates the display panel for image display. In this example, a light source of the lighting system is located or positioned between the display panel system 206 and a multi-mode panel 224. Alternatively, the light source can be implemented as a front-light that is located or positioned between the display panel system and a touch screen 226”, fig. 3, paragraph 35, “a light source 320 is implemented as an edge-lighted source that generates light 322, which is directed by light extraction features within the light guide 310 to illuminate the display panel with directed light 324”)
a polarization component, for confining a polarization state of an ambient light (fig. 2, paragraph 28, polarizer 218 in front of LCD panel, “the polarizers 218 can be implemented for a percentage of transparency that permits the image being viewable through the display device”);
a partially reflecting mirror component, for reflecting and transmitting the ambient light (fig. 2, active reflector 230, active shutter 232, active diffuser 228 behind LCD panel, paragraph 31, multi-mode panel 224 with active reflector 230 capable of switching between being transparent or being reflective mirror, paragraph 22, “The multi-mode panel may be implemented to switch on and/or off the entire panel, sections of the panel, and/or individual pixels of the panel, such as when implemented with an active matrix in an active shutter. In embodiments of transparent display active panels, the multi-mode panel can be implemented as an active reflector … an active reflector can be used in a reflective mode with an inactive backlight unit, and ambient or environment light reflected off of the active reflector illuminates the display panel”); and
a polarization converter, disposed between the polarization component and the partially reflecting mirror component, for converting the polarization state of the ambient light passed through the polarization component; (fig. 2, LCD panel 212 between switchable mirror 230 and polarizer 218, paragraph 28, “the display panel system 206 may include any one or combination of an LCD panel 212, an electrowetted panel 214, a color filter system 216 that may be implemented as a passive or active system, one or more polarizers 218 that may be implemented as passive or active, and/or an implementation of field sequential color 220. The LCD panel 212 can be implemented as a transparent LCD panel”, examiner respectfully submit it is well known that an LCD display panel works by converting polarization state of incident light, and a liquid crystal display panel is a polarization converter, see relevant information in applicant admitted prior art in IDS filed 9/25/24: “reflective liquid crystal color display technologies”, see also art cited but not relied upon, Hinata, 20040051827, paragraph 4, “The liquid crystal panel is configured to allow switching between the state that the first polarized light is changed to the second polarized light for transmission and the state that the polarization axis is not changed for transmission”);
a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the display (fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 31, 33, 35, 37, 39, 43, “The lighting system can include a light source, a light guide that directs light generated by the light source”, “a light source 320 is implemented as an edge-lighted source that generates light 322, which is directed by light extraction features within the light guide 310 to illuminate the display panel with directed light 324”)
wherein at least one of the polarization component, the partially reflecting mirror component and the polarization converter is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal (claim 7, wherein the multi-mode panel and the active diffuser are configured as polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PD-LC) active panels, paragraph 32, “an active reflector may be implemented with a CH-LCD Aluminum-Hydride material”, paragraph 22, paragraph 28, “the display panel system 206 may include any one or combination of an LCD panel 212, an electrowetted panel 214, a color filter system 216 that may be implemented as a passive or active system, one or more polarizers 218 that may be implemented as passive or active, and/or an implementation of field sequential color 220.” Paragraph 30, “The multi-mode panel may be implemented to switch on and/or off the entire panel, sections of the panel, and/or individual pixels of the panel. In various embodiments, the multi-mode panel may include any one or combination of an active reflector 230, an active shutter 232, and/or an implementation of an electrowetted panel 234 (e.g., implemented as an active reflector)”, paragraph 36, active reflector may be implemented in active matrix mode of separately controllable zones).
Both Smith and Fleck discloses device with transparent/transflective display capable of displaying content based on user control, Smith does not disclose details of the display structure while Fleck discloses an embodiment of display capable of realizing display function as prescribed by Smith. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the LCD display of Fleck into the device of Smith, such that the display integrated in lens of Smith constitute a display comprising: a light source, for providing sufficient light, a polarization component, for confining a polarization state of an ambient light; a partially reflecting mirror component, for reflecting and transmitting the ambient light; and a polarization converter, disposed between the polarization component and the partially reflecting mirror component, for converting the polarization state of the ambient light passed through the polarization component; a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the lens, wherein at least one of the polarization component, the partially reflecting mirror component and the polarization converter is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal, such is an incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would result in wearable eyewear capable of displaying content on lens.
Smith in view of Fleck, while disclosing that the polarization converter is a liquid crystal panel, does not specifically disclose:
a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide;
wherein the partially reflecting mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal.
In similar field of endeavor of display device, Ma discloses a partially reflecting mirror display, wherein the partially mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying content (abstract, reflective liquid crystal display, specifically a cholesteric liquid crystal display employing TFT substrate with mirror pixel electrode array; paragraphs 25-28, “The liquid crystal layer 110, including at least one stable focal conic texture area 111 and at least one stable planar texture area 112, is positioned between the transparent front substrate 101 with a transparent common electrode 103 and the translucent back substrate 102 with mirror pixel electrodes 104 … The display works in an optical ON state when the liquid crystal layer 110 is addressed in a focal conic texture area 111… As the forward-scattered light component hits on the mirror electrode 104, more than 90% of it will be effectively reflected back to the viewer. As a result, both of the back-scattered portion and the forward-scattered portion will finally emerge to the viewer 150 as natural light 141. … the display works in an optical OFF state when the liquid crystal layer 110 is addressed in a planar texture area 112. The slant incoming light 140, passing through the transparent front substrate 101, will be Bragg-reflected by the liquid crystal … Practically, the display can be of a passive matrix substrate (PMLCD) or an active matrix TFT substrate (AMLCD) as long as there is a mirror electric array patterned on the back substrate).
Smith in view of Fleck discloses active matrix display capable of switching between transparent and/or reflective state to display content according to control signal, Ma discloses similar display device with switchable mirror/display state with the concept that partially reflective mirror being implemented with active liquid crystal cell with display function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of mirror display as disclosed in Ma, into the display device of Smith in view of Fleck, such that the partially reflective mirror component of Smith in view of Fleck is at least in part implemented with the mirror display of Ma, to constitute wherein the partially reflecting mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would provide the benefit of additional display function incorporated into the mirror component layer to increase versatility of the display device.
Smith in view of Fleck and Ma does not disclose in particular a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide;
In similar field of endeavor of display capable of switching between transparent and/or reflective state, Masuda discloses that the display may further comprises a light source, for providing sufficient light, a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the lens, and a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide (fig. 26-29, paragraph 168 – 177, , “As illustrated in FIG. 26, in the display 18, a polarization element 26 that transmits the first polarization wave and absorbs the second polarization wave is disposed between a light source 25 and a light guide plate 20. … the light emitted from the light guide plate 20 to the front surface side and the back surface side includes only the first polarization wave”, paragraphs 169 – 177 additional describe various display options by controlling light source 25 and directing polarized light toward front or back surface side of display to effect various display functions).
Both Smith in view of Fleck and Ma as well as Masuda discloses transparent/reflective display with light source and light guide to achieve display function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of disposing additional polarization component between light source and light guide, such as disclosed by Masuda, into the display device of Smith in view of Fleck and Ma, to constitute a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would enhance the versatility of the transflective display by providing additional display control option to allow display to direct polarized light toward front or back surface side of display from light source.
Regarding claim 17, Smith discloses a system, comprising:
a platform, for providing a user interface and generating display contents according to user’s controlling (see fig. 4, paragraph 59-63, The computer 330 of the glasses 300, system platform for wearable device with central processor and display controller to control displayed content); and
an electrical controlling eyewear (fig. 3A, 3B, paragraph 50, smart glasses), coupled to the platform, comprising:
an eyewear frame (fig. 3A, 3B, paragraph 50, smart glasses with frame 302);
a controller (fig. 4, paragraph 59, central processor 421), arranged on the eyewear frame (paragraph 52, “The glasses 300 can include a device, such as a computer 330, which can be of any suitable type so as to be carried by the frame 302”), for receiving the display content and transmitting a control signal according to the display content (fig. 4, paragraphs 59-65, controller working in conjunction with display processor to display content, see also fig. 1, paragraphs 26-30, communication server in communication with client device / wearable device to generate display content); and
a lens, arranged on the eyewear frame to display content (see fig. 3A, 3B, paragraph 50, optical lens with display 312/313/360, fig. 3B, paragraph 58, “FIG. 3B illustrates an outward-facing display 360 integrated into the optical elements 312 and 313. The outward-facing display 360 is capable of displaying messages that include keyboard input data (e.g., text and emojis), graphical representations of users (e.g., an avatar), images, and other graphical content. The outward-facing display may, in some embodiments, be or include a liquid crystal display (LCD). The outward-facing display 360 may, for example, comprise a transparent display integrated into optical elements 312 and 313. In some embodiments, the optical elements 312 and 313 include layered transparent displays with at least a first layer providing the inward-facing display mechanism and a second layer providing the outward-facing display mechanism),
While disclosing the lens displaying content may be a transparent display with liquid crystal display (LCD) (see Smith, paragraph 58 as cited above), Smith does not disclose in particular the detailed structure of the eyewear, that the eye wear comprising:
a light source, for providing sufficient light, and
that the lens comprising:
a polarization component, for confining a polarization state of an ambient light;
a partially reflecting mirror component, for reflecting and transmitting the ambient light;
a polarization converter, disposed between the polarization component and the partially reflecting mirror component, for converting the polarization state of the ambient light passed through the polarization component;
a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the lens, and
a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide;
wherein the partially reflecting mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal.
In similar field of endeavor of LCD display, Fleck discloses a transparent/transflective display (paragraph 18, “A displayed image 122 may be viewable through the front and back display surfaces, and as illustrated, the display device 104 is transparent”) comprising:
a light source, for providing sufficient light (fig. 2, paragraph 29, lighting system 222 including a light source that illuminates the display panels for image display, “The transparent display assembly 200 also includes a lighting system 222 that illuminates the display panel for image display. In this example, a light source of the lighting system is located or positioned between the display panel system 206 and a multi-mode panel 224. Alternatively, the light source can be implemented as a front-light that is located or positioned between the display panel system and a touch screen 226”, fig. 3, paragraph 35, “a light source 320 is implemented as an edge-lighted source that generates light 322, which is directed by light extraction features within the light guide 310 to illuminate the display panel with directed light 324”)
a polarization component, for confining a polarization state of an ambient light (fig. 2, paragraph 28, polarizer 218 in front of LCD panel, “the polarizers 218 can be implemented for a percentage of transparency that permits the image being viewable through the display device”);
a partially reflecting mirror component, for reflecting and transmitting the ambient light (fig. 2, active reflector 230, active shutter 232, active diffuser 228 behind LCD panel, paragraph 31, multi-mode panel 224 with active reflector 230 capable of switching between being transparent or being reflective mirror, paragraph 22, “The multi-mode panel may be implemented to switch on and/or off the entire panel, sections of the panel, and/or individual pixels of the panel, such as when implemented with an active matrix in an active shutter. In embodiments of transparent display active panels, the multi-mode panel can be implemented as an active reflector … an active reflector can be used in a reflective mode with an inactive backlight unit, and ambient or environment light reflected off of the active reflector illuminates the display panel”); and
a polarization converter, disposed between the polarization component and the partially reflecting mirror component, for converting the polarization state of the ambient light passed through the polarization component; (fig. 2, LCD panel 212 between switchable mirror 230 and polarizer 218, paragraph 28, “the display panel system 206 may include any one or combination of an LCD panel 212, an electrowetted panel 214, a color filter system 216 that may be implemented as a passive or active system, one or more polarizers 218 that may be implemented as passive or active, and/or an implementation of field sequential color 220. The LCD panel 212 can be implemented as a transparent LCD panel”, examiner respectfully submit it is well known that an LCD display panel works by converting polarization state of incident light, and a liquid crystal display panel is a polarization converter, see relevant information in applicant admitted prior art in IDS filed 9/25/24: “reflective liquid crystal color display technologies”, see also art cited but not relied upon, Hinata, 20040051827, paragraph 4, “The liquid crystal panel is configured to allow switching between the state that the first polarized light is changed to the second polarized light for transmission and the state that the polarization axis is not changed for transmission”);
a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the display (fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 31, 33, 35, 37, 39, 43, “The lighting system can include a light source, a light guide that directs light generated by the light source”, “a light source 320 is implemented as an edge-lighted source that generates light 322, which is directed by light extraction features within the light guide 310 to illuminate the display panel with directed light 324”)
wherein at least one of the polarization component, the partially reflecting mirror component and the polarization converter is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal (claim 7, wherein the multi-mode panel and the active diffuser are configured as polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PD-LC) active panels, paragraph 32, “an active reflector may be implemented with a CH-LCD Aluminum-Hydride material”, paragraph 22, paragraph 28, “the display panel system 206 may include any one or combination of an LCD panel 212, an electrowetted panel 214, a color filter system 216 that may be implemented as a passive or active system, one or more polarizers 218 that may be implemented as passive or active, and/or an implementation of field sequential color 220.” Paragraph 30, “The multi-mode panel may be implemented to switch on and/or off the entire panel, sections of the panel, and/or individual pixels of the panel. In various embodiments, the multi-mode panel may include any one or combination of an active reflector 230, an active shutter 232, and/or an implementation of an electrowetted panel 234 (e.g., implemented as an active reflector)”, paragraph 36, active reflector may be implemented in active matrix mode of separately controllable zones).
Both Smith and Fleck discloses device with transparent/transflective display capable of displaying content based on user control, Smith does not disclose details of the display structure while Fleck discloses an embodiment of display capable of realizing display function as prescribed by Smith. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the LCD display of Fleck into the device of Smith, such that the display integrated in lens of Smith constitute a display comprising: a light source, for providing sufficient light, a polarization component, for confining a polarization state of an ambient light; a partially reflecting mirror component, for reflecting and transmitting the ambient light; and a polarization converter, disposed between the polarization component and the partially reflecting mirror component, for converting the polarization state of the ambient light passed through the polarization component; a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the lens, wherein at least one of the polarization component, the partially reflecting mirror component and the polarization converter is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal, such is an incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would result in wearable eyewear capable of displaying content on lens.
Smith in view of Fleck, while disclosing that the polarization converter is a liquid crystal panel, does not specifically disclose:
a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide;
wherein the partially reflecting mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal.
In similar field of endeavor of display device, Ma discloses a partially reflecting mirror display, wherein the partially mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying content (abstract, reflective liquid crystal display, specifically a cholesteric liquid crystal display employing TFT substrate with mirror pixel electrode array; paragraphs 25-28, “The liquid crystal layer 110, including at least one stable focal conic texture area 111 and at least one stable planar texture area 112, is positioned between the transparent front substrate 101 with a transparent common electrode 103 and the translucent back substrate 102 with mirror pixel electrodes 104 … The display works in an optical ON state when the liquid crystal layer 110 is addressed in a focal conic texture area 111… As the forward-scattered light component hits on the mirror electrode 104, more than 90% of it will be effectively reflected back to the viewer. As a result, both of the back-scattered portion and the forward-scattered portion will finally emerge to the viewer 150 as natural light 141. … the display works in an optical OFF state when the liquid crystal layer 110 is addressed in a planar texture area 112. The slant incoming light 140, passing through the transparent front substrate 101, will be Bragg-reflected by the liquid crystal … Practically, the display can be of a passive matrix substrate (PMLCD) or an active matrix TFT substrate (AMLCD) as long as there is a mirror electric array patterned on the back substrate).
Smith in view of Fleck discloses active matrix display capable of switching between transparent and/or reflective state to display content according to control signal, Ma discloses similar display device with switchable mirror/display state with the concept that partially reflective mirror being implemented with active liquid crystal cell with display function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of mirror display as disclosed in Ma, into the display device of Smith in view of Fleck, such that the partially reflective mirror component of Smith in view of Fleck is at least in part implemented with the mirror display of Ma, to constitute wherein the partially reflecting mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would provide the benefit of additional display function incorporated into the mirror component layer to increase versatility of the display device.
Smith in view of Fleck and Ma does not disclose in particular a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide;
In similar field of endeavor of display capable of switching between transparent and/or reflective state, Masuda discloses that the display may further comprises a light source, for providing sufficient light, a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the lens, and a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide (fig. 26-29, paragraph 168 – 177, , “As illustrated in FIG. 26, in the display 18, a polarization element 26 that transmits the first polarization wave and absorbs the second polarization wave is disposed between a light source 25 and a light guide plate 20. … the light emitted from the light guide plate 20 to the front surface side and the back surface side includes only the first polarization wave”, paragraphs 169 – 177 additional describe various display options by controlling light source 25 and directing polarized light toward front or back surface side of display to effect various display functions).
Both Smith in view of Fleck and Ma as well as Masuda discloses transparent/reflective display with light source and light guide to achieve display function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of disposing additional polarization component between light source and light guide, such as disclosed by Masuda, into the display device of Smith in view of Fleck and Ma, to constitute a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would enhance the versatility of the transflective display by providing additional display control option to allow display to direct polarized light toward front or back surface side of display from light source.
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a see-through display (fig. 3A, 3B, paragraph 50, smart glasses with transparent display), comprising:
a frame (fig. 3A, 3B, paragraph 50, smart glasses with frame 302);
a controller (fig. 4, paragraph 59, central processor 421), arranged on the eyewear frame (paragraph 52, “The glasses 300 can include a device, such as a computer 330, which can be of any suitable type so as to be carried by the frame 302”), for transmitting a control signal according to a display content (fig. 4, paragraphs 59-65, controller working in conjunction with display processor to display content, see also fig. 1, paragraphs 26-30, communication server in communication with client device / wearable device to generate display content); and
a lens, arranged on the eyewear frame to display content (see fig. 3A, 3B, paragraph 50, optical lens with display 312/313/360, fig. 3B, paragraph 58, “FIG. 3B illustrates an outward-facing display 360 integrated into the optical elements 312 and 313. The outward-facing display 360 is capable of displaying messages that include keyboard input data (e.g., text and emojis), graphical representations of users (e.g., an avatar), images, and other graphical content. The outward-facing display may, in some embodiments, be or include a liquid crystal display (LCD). The outward-facing display 360 may, for example, comprise a transparent display integrated into optical elements 312 and 313. In some embodiments, the optical elements 312 and 313 include layered transparent displays with at least a first layer providing the inward-facing display mechanism and a second layer providing the outward-facing display mechanism),
While disclosing the lens displaying content may be a transparent display with liquid crystal display (LCD) (see Smith, paragraph 58 as cited above), Smith does not disclose in particular the detailed structure of the eyewear, that the eye wear comprising:
a light source, for providing sufficient light, and
that the lens comprising:
a polarization component, for confining a polarization state of an ambient light;
a partially reflecting mirror component, for reflecting and transmitting the ambient light;
a polarization converter, disposed between the polarization component and the partially reflecting mirror component, for converting the polarization state of the ambient light passed through the polarization component;
a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the lens, and
a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide;
wherein the partially reflecting mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal.
In similar field of endeavor of LCD display, Fleck discloses a transparent/transflective display (paragraph 18, “A displayed image 122 may be viewable through the front and back display surfaces, and as illustrated, the display device 104 is transparent”) comprising:
a light source, for providing sufficient light (fig. 2, paragraph 29, lighting system 222 including a light source that illuminates the display panels for image display, “The transparent display assembly 200 also includes a lighting system 222 that illuminates the display panel for image display. In this example, a light source of the lighting system is located or positioned between the display panel system 206 and a multi-mode panel 224. Alternatively, the light source can be implemented as a front-light that is located or positioned between the display panel system and a touch screen 226”, fig. 3, paragraph 35, “a light source 320 is implemented as an edge-lighted source that generates light 322, which is directed by light extraction features within the light guide 310 to illuminate the display panel with directed light 324”)
a polarization component, for confining a polarization state of an ambient light (fig. 2, paragraph 28, polarizer 218 in front of LCD panel, “the polarizers 218 can be implemented for a percentage of transparency that permits the image being viewable through the display device”);
a partially reflecting mirror component, for reflecting and transmitting the ambient light (fig. 2, active reflector 230, active shutter 232, active diffuser 228 behind LCD panel, paragraph 31, multi-mode panel 224 with active reflector 230 capable of switching between being transparent or being reflective mirror, paragraph 22, “The multi-mode panel may be implemented to switch on and/or off the entire panel, sections of the panel, and/or individual pixels of the panel, such as when implemented with an active matrix in an active shutter. In embodiments of transparent display active panels, the multi-mode panel can be implemented as an active reflector … an active reflector can be used in a reflective mode with an inactive backlight unit, and ambient or environment light reflected off of the active reflector illuminates the display panel”); and
a polarization converter, disposed between the polarization component and the partially reflecting mirror component, for converting the polarization state of the ambient light passed through the polarization component; (fig. 2, LCD panel 212 between switchable mirror 230 and polarizer 218, paragraph 28, “the display panel system 206 may include any one or combination of an LCD panel 212, an electrowetted panel 214, a color filter system 216 that may be implemented as a passive or active system, one or more polarizers 218 that may be implemented as passive or active, and/or an implementation of field sequential color 220. The LCD panel 212 can be implemented as a transparent LCD panel”, examiner respectfully submit it is well known that an LCD display panel works by converting polarization state of incident light, and a liquid crystal display panel is a polarization converter, see relevant information in applicant admitted prior art in IDS filed 9/25/24: “reflective liquid crystal color display technologies”, see also art cited but not relied upon, Hinata, 20040051827, paragraph 4, “The liquid crystal panel is configured to allow switching between the state that the first polarized light is changed to the second polarized light for transmission and the state that the polarization axis is not changed for transmission”);
a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the display (fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 31, 33, 35, 37, 39, 43, “The lighting system can include a light source, a light guide that directs light generated by the light source”, “a light source 320 is implemented as an edge-lighted source that generates light 322, which is directed by light extraction features within the light guide 310 to illuminate the display panel with directed light 324”)
wherein at least one of the polarization component, the partially reflecting mirror component and the polarization converter is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal (claim 7, wherein the multi-mode panel and the active diffuser are configured as polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PD-LC) active panels, paragraph 32, “an active reflector may be implemented with a CH-LCD Aluminum-Hydride material”, paragraph 22, paragraph 28, “the display panel system 206 may include any one or combination of an LCD panel 212, an electrowetted panel 214, a color filter system 216 that may be implemented as a passive or active system, one or more polarizers 218 that may be implemented as passive or active, and/or an implementation of field sequential color 220.” Paragraph 30, “The multi-mode panel may be implemented to switch on and/or off the entire panel, sections of the panel, and/or individual pixels of the panel. In various embodiments, the multi-mode panel may include any one or combination of an active reflector 230, an active shutter 232, and/or an implementation of an electrowetted panel 234 (e.g., implemented as an active reflector)”, paragraph 36, active reflector may be implemented in active matrix mode of separately controllable zones).
Both Smith and Fleck discloses device with transparent/transflective display capable of displaying content based on user control, Smith does not disclose details of the display structure while Fleck discloses an embodiment of display capable of realizing display function as prescribed by Smith. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the LCD display of Fleck into the device of Smith, such that the display integrated in lens of Smith constitute a display comprising: a light source, for providing sufficient light, a polarization component, for confining a polarization state of an ambient light; a partially reflecting mirror component, for reflecting and transmitting the ambient light; and a polarization converter, disposed between the polarization component and the partially reflecting mirror component, for converting the polarization state of the ambient light passed through the polarization component; a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the lens, wherein at least one of the polarization component, the partially reflecting mirror component and the polarization converter is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal, such is an incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would result in wearable eyewear capable of displaying content on lens.
Smith in view of Fleck, while disclosing that the polarization converter is a liquid crystal panel, does not specifically disclose:
a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide;
wherein the partially reflecting mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal.
In similar field of endeavor of display device, Ma discloses a partially reflecting mirror display, wherein the partially mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying content (abstract, reflective liquid crystal display, specifically a cholesteric liquid crystal display employing TFT substrate with mirror pixel electrode array; paragraphs 25-28, “The liquid crystal layer 110, including at least one stable focal conic texture area 111 and at least one stable planar texture area 112, is positioned between the transparent front substrate 101 with a transparent common electrode 103 and the translucent back substrate 102 with mirror pixel electrodes 104 … The display works in an optical ON state when the liquid crystal layer 110 is addressed in a focal conic texture area 111… As the forward-scattered light component hits on the mirror electrode 104, more than 90% of it will be effectively reflected back to the viewer. As a result, both of the back-scattered portion and the forward-scattered portion will finally emerge to the viewer 150 as natural light 141. … the display works in an optical OFF state when the liquid crystal layer 110 is addressed in a planar texture area 112. The slant incoming light 140, passing through the transparent front substrate 101, will be Bragg-reflected by the liquid crystal … Practically, the display can be of a passive matrix substrate (PMLCD) or an active matrix TFT substrate (AMLCD) as long as there is a mirror electric array patterned on the back substrate).
Smith in view of Fleck discloses active matrix display capable of switching between transparent and/or reflective state to display content according to control signal, Ma discloses similar display device with switchable mirror/display state with the concept that partially reflective mirror being implemented with active liquid crystal cell with display function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of mirror display as disclosed in Ma, into the display device of Smith in view of Fleck, such that the partially reflective mirror component of Smith in view of Fleck is at least in part implemented with the mirror display of Ma, to constitute wherein the partially reflecting mirror component is a liquid crystal panel with active matrix connected to the controller for displaying the display content according to the control signal, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would provide the benefit of additional display function incorporated into the mirror component layer to increase versatility of the display device.
Smith in view of Fleck and Ma does not disclose in particular a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide;
In similar field of endeavor of display capable of switching between transparent and/or reflective state, Masuda discloses that the display may further comprises a light source, for providing sufficient light, a waveguide, for guiding the sufficient light into the lens, and a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide (fig. 26-29, paragraph 168 – 177, , “As illustrated in FIG. 26, in the display 18, a polarization element 26 that transmits the first polarization wave and absorbs the second polarization wave is disposed between a light source 25 and a light guide plate 20. … the light emitted from the light guide plate 20 to the front surface side and the back surface side includes only the first polarization wave”, paragraphs 169 – 177 additional describe various display options by controlling light source 25 and directing polarized light toward front or back surface side of display to effect various display functions).
Both Smith in view of Fleck and Ma as well as Masuda discloses transparent/reflective display with light source and light guide to achieve display function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of disposing additional polarization component between light source and light guide, such as disclosed by Masuda, into the display device of Smith in view of Fleck and Ma, to constitute a second polarization component, disposed between the light source and the waveguide, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would enhance the versatility of the transflective display by providing additional display control option to allow display to direct polarized light toward front or back surface side of display from light source.
Regarding claim 2, Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda discloses the see-through display of claim 1, wherein the see-through display is in the form of a window, a door, a windshield, a show case, a partition, a wall, an eyewear, or a mask (Smith, fig. 3A, 3B, the see-through display as an eyewear).
Regarding claim 9, Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda discloses the see-through display of claim 1, wherein the polarization component comprises at least one of a polarizer, a wave-plate, a color filter, an anti-reflection film, an anti-smudge film and an angular attenuation filter (Fleck, paragraph 28, “the display panel system 206 may include any one or combination of an LCD panel 212, an electrowetted panel 214, a color filter system 216 that may be implemented as a passive or active system, one or more polarizers 218 that may be implemented as passive or active, and/or an implementation of field sequential color 220”, Cole, col. 7, ln. 55 – col. 8, ln. 6, the polarization component is a polarizer).
Regarding claim 10, Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda discloses the see-through display of claim 1, wherein the liquid crystal panel is filled with cholesteric liquid crystal layer (Ma, paragraphs 25, 29, 34, claim 1, the liquid crystal in display panel is a cholesteric liquid crystal layer).
Regarding claim 15, Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda discloses the see-through display of claim 1, wherein the lens further comprises a transparent display having an active light source (Fleck, paragraph 18, “A displayed image 122 may be viewable through the front and back display surfaces, and as illustrated, the display device 104 is transparent”, paragraph 29, “The transparent display assembly 200 also includes a lighting system 222 that illuminates the display panel for image display. In this example, a light source of the lighting system is located or positioned between the display panel system 206 and a multi-mode panel 224”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda, as applied in claim 1, and in further view of Bergstrom et al., US 20210041970 A1 (hereinafter “Bergstorm”).
Regarding claim 11, Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda discloses the see-through display of claim 1.
Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda further discloses the partially reflection mirror component may further comprise a diffuser to diffuse ambient light (Fleck, fig. 2, active diffuser 228, paragraphs 14, “an active diffuser is operable to scatter and/or diffuse the light that illuminates a display panel of the display device, and may be utilized in low-light and for a low power mode to scatter light from the environment to illuminate the display panel”).
Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda only does not disclose in particular the diffuser comprises micro structures or micro refractive index distribution that diffuses the ambient light.
In similar field of endeavor of display device, Bergstorm disclose the concept that diffuser of light may be implement with micro structures (paragraph 71, “the diffusive light scattering element 108 may comprise … a light transmissive diffusing material covered by a reflective material, diffusive polymer or metal, an engineered diffuser, a reflective semi-random micro-structure …”)
Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda discloses a display device with selectable reflective mirror/diffuser component, Bergstorm further discloses diffuser component may be implement with micro structures. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of implementing diffuser with micro structures, such as disclosed by Bergstorm into display device of Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda, to constitute wherein the partially reflecting mirror component comprises micro structures or micro refractive index distribution that diffuses the ambient light, such is incorporation of a known concept into known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow partially reflective mirror to diffuse environmental light and to facilitate displaying of content as intended.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda, as applied in claim 1, and in further view of Croft et al., US 20100066974 A1 (hereinafter “Croft”).
Regarding claim 12, Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda discloses the see-through display of claim 1.
Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda does not disclose in particular the see-through display further comprising: a tinting component, adjacent to or integrated with the partially reflecting mirror component.
In similar field of endeavor of eyewear, Croft discloses an eyewear may comprises tinted partially reflecting mirror component to filter out unwanted light (abstract, paragraphs 106-108, “the eyewear comprises a frame and two lenses. The lenses can also include a partially transmissive mirror coating, tinting, and anti-reflective coatings. In one embodiment, a partially transmissive mirror coating or tinting spectrally filters light to remove spectral peaks in fluorescent or incandescent lighting”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of applying tint to partially reflecting mirror component such as disclosed by Croft into display device of Smith in view of Fleck, Ma, and Masuda, to constitute the see-through display further comprising: a tinting component, adjacent to or integrated with the partially reflecting mirror component, such is incorporation of a known concept into known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would attain the benefit of filtering unwanted light for user of eyewear.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEIJIE SHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622