Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 – 8, and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by Terakoshi, JP2016157570A (cited in IDS filed 1/16/24)(see attached machine translation for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus (safety valve), comprising:
a pressure relief portion (sealing plate (3)) provided with a first surface and a second surface arranged opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the pressure relief portion (outer (3A) and inner surfaces of sealing plate)[fig. 1]; and
a plurality of stages of indented grooves (grooves (31)(32)(33)(34))[fig. 2.][fig. 7] formed in the pressure relief portion (sealing plate (3)) in sequence in a direction from the first surface to the second surface (grooves (33)(34) formed within grooves (31)(32) extending in the thickness direction)[fig. 7], among two adjacent stages of indented grooves, the stage of indented groove away from the first surface being formed in a bottom surface of the stage of indented groove close to the first surface (grooves (33)(34) formed within grooves (31)(32))[fig. 7];
wherein the pressure relief portion is provided with an opening area (hatch portions (304))[fig. 2], the indented grooves are formed along an edge of the opening area (hatch surrounded by grooves (33))[fig. 2], and the opening area is configured to be openable with the stage of indented groove farthest away from the first surface as a boundary (hatch (304) surrounded by grooves (31) is configured to open)[0017][fig. 2],
wherein the pressure relief apparatus further comprises: at least one stage of depressed groove (recessed portion (301))[fig. 2],
the at least one stage of depressed groove and the plurality of stages of indented groove being formed in the pressure relief portion in sequence in a direction from the first surface to the second surface (recessed portion (301) and grooves (31)(32)(33)(34) extending in sequence in the thickness direction)[fig. 2],
wherein the opening area is formed in a groove bottom wall of the stage of depressed groove farthest away from the first surface (hatch formed in recessed portion (301))[fig. 2][fig. 3], and
wherein the first surface is provided with a flange (curve portion (303)) which surrounds the stage of depressed groove formed in the first surface [0024][fig. 2].
Regarding claim 2, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the indented groove comprises a first groove segment (312)(311), a second groove segment (312)(311) and a third groove segment (321)[fig. 6], the first groove segment and the second groove segment being arranged opposite to each other, the first groove segment and the second groove segment both intersecting with the third groove segment, and the first groove segment, the second groove segment and the third groove segment being arranged along the edge of the opening area (hatch (304))[fig. 6].
Regarding claim 5, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first groove segment, the second groove segment and the third groove segment jointly define at least one opening area (grooves (33)(34) define hatch (304))[fig. 7].
Regarding claim 6, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first groove segment, the second groove segment and the third groove segment define two opening areas respectively located on two sides of the third groove segment (grooves (33)(34) define hatches (304))[fig. 7].
Regarding claim 7, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the pressure relief portion is provided with two stages of indented grooves ((33)(34) within (31)(32))[fig. 7].
Regarding claim 8, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the thickness direction, the outermost stage of indented groove is formed in the first surface (grooves formed in sealing plate (3A) outer surface)[fig. 1].
Regarding claim 15, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 1, wherein among two adjacent stages of indented grooves, the stage of indented groove away from the first surface has a maximum width less than a minimum width of the stage of indented groove close to the first surface (grooves (33)(34) have widths configured to fit within grooves (31)(32))[fig. 7]..
Regarding claim 16, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the pressure relief portion is an end cap (sealing plate (3)) for closing an opening (opening 3A) of a housing (2)[fig. 1].
Regarding claim 17, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the first surface (3A) is the surface of the end cap facing away from the housing [fig. 1].
Regarding claim 18, Terakoshi teaches a battery cell, comprising a pressure relief apparatus according to claim 1 [0002].
Regarding claim 19, Terakoshi teaches a battery, comprising a battery cell according to claim 18 [0002].
Regarding claim 20, Terakoshi teaches a power consuming device, comprising a battery according to claim 19 [0002].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terakoshi, JP2016157570A as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kim, US20120021259A1 (cited in IDS filed 1/9/26).
Regarding claim 3, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 2.
Terakoshi does not teach wherein the pressure relief portion is provided with a fourth groove segment, the fourth groove segment being located between the first groove segment and the second groove segment and intersecting with the third groove segment.
Kim teaches a pressure relief apparatus [0005] comprising a pressure relief portion (151) wherein the pressure relief portion comprising a first (161c), second (161b), third (161a), and fourth (562) groove segment wherein the fourth groove segment being located between the first groove segment and the second groove segment and intersecting with the third groove segment [fig. 5]. Further, Kim teaches the addition of the fourth groove segment (sub grooves) increases the reliability of the pressure relief apparatus [0070]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the fourth groove segment of Kim into the pressure relief apparatus of Terakoshi to increase reliability.
Regarding claim 4, combined Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 3.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the fourth groove segment intersects with the third groove segment at an intersection position, and in an extending direction of the third groove segment, a distance from the intersection position to the first groove segment is equal to a distance from the intersection position to the second groove segment [0088][fig. 6].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terakoshi, JP2016157570A as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sodeyama, US20200091551A1 (cited in IDS filed 10/22/25).
Regarding claim 10, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 1,
Terakoshi does not teach wherein the depressed groove is a rectangular groove or a circular groove.
Sodeyama teaches a pressure relief apparatus [0005] comprising a pressure relief portion wherein the pressure relief portion comprises a depressed groove (31y) wherein the depressed groove is a rectangular groove or a circular groove (safety valve (30) having circular shape)[fig. 3]. Further, Sodeyama teaches that the shape of the pressure relief apparatus is not limited to a circle and is applicable to other shapes [0058]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the teaching for pressure relief apparatus shape as in Sodeyama into the pressure relief apparatus of Terakoshi as an obvious change of shape,
Claims 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terakoshi, JP2016157570A as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Shiotani, US20210175577A1.
Regarding claim 12, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 1,
Terakoshi does not teach wherein the pressure relief portion partially protrudes from the second surface in a direction away from the first surface to form a protrusion; and the protrusion comprises the groove bottom wall and a reinforcement, the reinforcement being connected to the second surface and surrounding the groove bottom wall.
Shiotani teaches a pressure relief apparatus [0002] comprising a pressure relief portion wherein the pressure relief portion partially protrudes from the second surface (19b) in a direction away from the first surface (19a) to form a protrusion (bead (52))[fig. 12]; and the protrusion comprises the groove bottom wall (bottom of (84)) and a reinforcement (55), the reinforcement (55) being connected to the second surface (19b) and surrounding the groove bottom wall [fig. 12]. Further, Shiotani teaches that the protrusion results from a compression step [0061] which is easily formed [0028]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the protrusion of Shiotani into the pressure relief apparatus of Terakoshi to simplify formation.
Regarding claim 13, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 12,
Further, Shiotani teaches wherein the second surface is provided with a recess arranged around the protrusion (depression (20))[fig. 12]
Regarding claim 14, Terakoshi teaches the pressure relief apparatus according to claim 12.
Further, Shiotani teaches wherein in the thickness direction, the protrusion protrudes from the second surface by a height of H1 (T3), and the distance between the first surface and the second surface is represented by H2 (T2) where H1>H2 [fig. 4].
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724