DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2024 and 7/15/2024 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 13-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0190473 (Ausserlechner) in view of US 2021/0373091 (Hiligsmann).
Regarding claim 1, Ausserlechner teaches an inductive sensor device (inductive angle sensor 1000 of Fig. 1; see Fig. 1), comprising:
at least one die mounted in or on a substrate (chip 21 is mounted on substrate 20; see Fig. 1; see [0047]);
a redistribution layer (RDL) and at least one die, the RDL region including multiple RDL metal layers (at least two metallization layers 11 and 12 may be in the so-called redistribution layer, RDL and a chip 21; see Fig. 1; see [0038]); and
at least one inductive coil formed in the RDL region, the at least one inductive coil including at least one conductive coil element formed in at least one RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers (at least two metallization layers 11 and 12 may be in the so-called redistribution layer, RDL, and receiving coils 31, 32 may be implemented in the at least two metallization layers 11, 12; see Fig. 1; see [0038], [0040]);
wherein the at least one die includes a sensor circuitry connected to the at least one inductive coil to perform sensor measurements (semiconductor chip 21 comprises an integrated circuit designed to evaluate the induction signals received from the receiving coil arrangement 30, and to ascertain a rotation angle; see [0036]).
Ausserlechner fails to teach a redistribution layer (RDL) region formed over the at least one die.
Hiligsmann teaches a redistribution layer (RDL) region formed over the at least one die (an inductive sensor package 100b comprises an evaluation circuit 120 which may be referred to as an integrated circuit or die, and a non-conductive substrate 105 comprising layers, such that the non-conductive substrate 105 may comprise a redistribution layer, and wherein the coils 111a-c are integrated into the non-conductive substrate 105; see [0021], [0073], [0077]-[0078]; see Fig. 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Hiligsmann into Ausserlechner in order to gain the advantage of arranging the evaluation circuit into a mold material of a sensor package which protects the sensor package from corrosion and/or physical damage and shield the sensor package from the environment, wherein the coils form an inductive sensor to transmit or receive signals for rotary and/or linear position sensing.
Regarding claim 13, Ausserlechner teaches a method, comprising:
arranging at least one die on a carrier, the at least one die including sensor circuitry (chip 21 is mounted on substrate 20; see Fig. 1; see [0047]);
depositing an encapsulant over the at least one die to form a substrate supporting the at least one die (electrically insulating sealing or potting compound 20 encapsulated the semiconductor chip and integrated circuit; see Fig. 1; see [0047]); and
forming a redistribution layer (RDL) region including multiple RDL metal layers (at least two metallization layers 11 and 12 may be in the so-called redistribution layer, RDL; see Fig. 1; see [0038]),
wherein forming the RDL region includes forming at least one inductive coil including at least one conductive coil element in at least one RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers (the at least two aforementioned receiving coils 31, 32 of the receiving coil arrangement 30 may be implemented in the aforementioned at least two metallization layers 11, 12 of the vertical stack of layers by thin-film technology and an excitation coil may be arranged in the stator package 10, the excitation coil 40 may be formed in at least one of the two metallization layers 11, 12 or in a third metallization layer; see Fig. 1; see [0034], [0038]-[0041, [0073]); and
wherein the at least one inductive coil is connected to the sensor circuitry in the at least one die (semiconductor chip 21 comprises an integrated circuit connected to the excitation coil and secondary coils to evaluate the induction signals received from the receiving coil arrangement 30, and to ascertain a rotation angle; see [0034]-[0036]), [0073], [0092].
Ausserlechner fails to teach forming a redistribution layer (RDL) region including multiple RDL metal layers over the at least one die.
Hiligsmann teaches forming a redistribution layer (RDL) region including multiple RDL metal layers over the at least one die (an inductive sensor package 100b comprises an evaluation circuit 120 which may be referred to as an integrated circuit or die, and a non-conductive substrate 105 comprising layers, such that the non-conductive substrate 105 may comprise a redistribution layer, and wherein the coils 111a-c are integrated into the non-conductive substrate 105; see [0021], [0073], [0077]-[0078]; see Fig. 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Hiligsmann into Ausserlechner in order to gain the advantage of arranging the evaluation circuit into a mold material of a sensor package which protects the sensor package from corrosion and/or physical damage and shield the sensor package from the environment, wherein the coils form an inductive sensor to transmit or receive signals for rotary and/or linear position sensing.
Regarding claim 19, Ausserlechner teaches an inductive sensor device (inductive angle sensor 1000 of Fig. 1; see Fig. 1), comprising:
at least one die mounted in or on a substrate (chip 21 is mounted on substrate 20; see Fig. 1; see [0047]);
a redistribution layer (RDL) region and at least one die, the RDL region including multiple RDL metal layers (at least two metallization layers 11 and 12 may be in the so-called redistribution layer, RDL and a chip 21; see Fig. 1; see [0034], [0038]);
a primary coil including a primary coil element formed in a first RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers (an excitation coil may be arranged in the stator package 10, the excitation coil 40 may be formed in at least one of the two metallization layers 11, 12 or in a third metallization layer; see Fig. 1; see [0034], [0038], [0073]);
a first secondary coil including a first secondary coil element formed in a second RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers; and a second secondary coil including a second secondary coil element formed in a third RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers (the at least two aforementioned receiving coils 31, 32 of the receiving coil arrangement 30 may be implemented in the aforementioned at least two metallization layers 11, 12 of the vertical stack of layers by thin-film technology; see [0040]-[0041]);
wherein the at least one die includes sensor circuitry connected to the primary coil, the first secondary coil, and the second secondary coil (semiconductor chip 21 comprises an integrated circuit connected to the excitation coil and secondary coils to evaluate the induction signals received from the receiving coil arrangement 30, and to ascertain a rotation angle; see [0034]-[0036]).
Ausserlechner fails to teach a redistribution layer (RDL) region formed over the at least one die.
Hiligsmann teaches a redistribution layer (RDL) region formed over the at least one die (an inductive sensor package 100b comprises an evaluation circuit 120 which may be referred to as an integrated circuit or die, and a non-conductive substrate 105 comprising layers, such that the non-conductive substrate 105 may comprise a redistribution layer, and wherein the coils 111a-c are integrated into the non-conductive substrate 105; see [0021], [0073], [0077]-[0078]; see Fig. 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Hiligsmann into Ausserlechner in order to gain the advantage of arranging the evaluation circuit into a mold material of a sensor package which protects the sensor package from corrosion and/or physical damage and shield the sensor package from the environment, wherein the coils form an inductive sensor to transmit or receive signals for rotary and/or linear position sensing.
Regarding claim 2, Ausserlechner teaches wherein the at least one inductive coil includes respective conductive coil elements formed in at least two RDL metal layers of the multiple RDL metal layers (the at least two aforementioned receiving coils 31, 32 of the receiving coil arrangement 30 may be implemented in the aforementioned at least two metallization layers 11, 12 of the vertical stack of layers by thin-film technology and an excitation coil may be arranged in the stator package 10, the excitation coil 40 may be formed in at least one of the two metallization layers 11, 12 or in a third metallization layer; see Fig. 1; see [0034], [0038]-[0041, [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Ausserlechner teaches comprising multiple conductive signal routing elements formed in the RDL region, wherein (a) a respective conductive coil element of the at least one conductive coil element and (b) a respective conductive signal routing element of the multiple conductive signal routing elements are formed in a common RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers (alternation of the coil segments between the two levels of the metallization layers 11, 12 may for example take place in vertical plated-through holes or vias 210, 220 provided specifically for this purpose. That is to say that, in these vias 210, 220, the coil structure of a receiving coil 31, 32 changes between a first (upper) level and a second (lower) level. The two receiving coils 31, 32 cross one another as it were in these vias 210, 220, and change their respective level, so that there is no intersection of the receiving coils 31,32 with one another; see Fig. 2; see [0059]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 4, Ausserlechner teaches wherein: the at least one inductive coil includes a primary coil and at least one secondary coil; and the sensor circuitry includes: an oscillator connected to the primary coil to generate a magnetic field from the primary coil; and a voltage detection circuitry connected to the at least one secondary coil to detect voltages at the at least one secondary coil (the at least two aforementioned receiving coils 31, 32 of the receiving coil arrangement 30 may be implemented in the aforementioned at least two metallization layers 11, 12 of the vertical stack of layers by thin-film technology and an excitation coil may be arranged in the stator package 10, the excitation coil 40 may be formed in at least one of the two metallization layers 11, 12 or in a third metallization layer; see Fig. 1; see [0034], [0038]-[0041, [0073]).
Regarding claim 6, Ausserlechner teaches wherein: the primary coil includes at least one primary coil element is formed in a first RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers; the first secondary coil includes at least one first secondary coil element formed in a second RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers; and the second secondary includes at least one second secondary coil element formed in a third RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers (the at least two aforementioned receiving coils 31, 32 of the receiving coil arrangement 30 may be implemented in the aforementioned at least two metallization layers 11, 12 of the vertical stack of layers by thin-film technology and an excitation coil may be arranged in the stator package 10, the excitation coil 40 may be formed in at least one of the two metallization layers 11, 12 or in a third metallization layer; see Fig. 1; see [0034], [0038]-[0041, [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Ausserlechner fails to teach wherein the inductive sensor device comprises a linear position sensor.
Hiligsmann teaches wherein the inductive sensor device comprises a linear position sensor (inductive sensor are used to detect rotational or linear movement; see [0001]-[0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Hiligsmann into Ausserlechner in order to gain the advantage of an inductive sensor package for determining a rotary and/or linear movement of a target with respect to a sensor.
Regarding claim 8, Ausserlechner teaches wherein the inductive sensor device comprises a rotation sensor (the inductive sensor is a rotational angle sensor; see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Ausserlechner teaches wherein the inductive sensor device is formed as a system-in-package (SiP) including the at least one die mounted in or on the substrate, the RDL region, and the at least one inductive coil formed in the RDL region (die 21 is mounted on a substrate with coils 31, 32 formed in an RDL region, which would reasonably correspond to sensor formed as a “system-in-package” as claimed; see Figs. 1, 2; see [0038]).
Regarding claim 14, Ausserlechner teaches wherein forming the RDL region including multiple RDL metal layers includes forming multiple RDL metal layers alternating with multiple RDL via layers, and forming respective conductive coil elements of the at least one inductive coil includes forming respective conductive coil elements in at least two respective RDL metal layers of the multiple RDL metal layers (receiving coils 31, 32 are formed in metallization layers 11, 12 which are formed by alternating metallization layers with via layers 210, 220 as claimed; see [0062]-[0063]; see Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 15. The method of Claim 13, comprising forming multiple conductive signal routing elements in the RDL region, wherein (a) a respective conductive coil element of the at least one conductive coil element and (b) a respective conductive signal routing element of the multiple conductive signal routing elements are formed in a common RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers (alternation of the coil segments between the two levels of the metallization layers 11, 12 may for example take place in vertical plated-through holes or vias 210, 220 provided specifically for this purpose. That is to say that, in these vias 210, 220, the coil structure of a receiving coil 31, 32 changes between a first (upper) level and a second (lower) level. The two receiving coils 31, 32 cross one another as it were in these vias 210, 220, and change their respective level, so that there is no intersection of the receiving coils 31,32 with one another; see Fig. 2; see [0059]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 16, Ausserlechner teaches wherein forming the at least one inductive coil includes (a) forming a primary coil in a respective RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers and (b) forming at least one secondary coil in at least one other respective RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers (the at least two aforementioned receiving coils 31, 32 of the receiving coil arrangement 30 may be implemented in the aforementioned at least two metallization layers 11, 12 of the vertical stack of layers by thin-film technology and an excitation coil may be arranged in the stator package 10, the excitation coil 40 may be formed in at least one of the two metallization layers 11, 12 or in a third metallization layer; see Fig. 1; see [0034], [0038]-[0041, [0073]).
Regarding claim 17, Ausserlechner teaches wherein forming the at least one inductive coil including at least one conductive coil element in at least one RDL metal layer of the multiple RDL metal layers includes: forming at least one primary coil element of a primary coil in a first RDL metal layer; forming at least one first secondary coil element of a first secondary coil in a second RDL metal layer; and forming at least one second secondary coil element of a second secondary in a third RDL metal layer (the at least two aforementioned receiving coils 31, 32 of the receiving coil arrangement 30 may be implemented in the aforementioned at least two metallization layers 11, 12 of the vertical stack of layers by thin-film technology and an excitation coil may be arranged in the stator package 10, the excitation coil 40 may be formed in at least one of the two metallization layers 11, 12 or in a third metallization layer; see Fig. 1; see [0034], [0038]-[0041, [0073]).
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0190473 (Ausserlechner) in view of US 2021/0373091 (Hiligsmann), and in further view of US 2021/0381817 (Ausserlechner-817).
Regarding claim 5, Ausserlechner teaches wherein: the at least one secondary coil includes a first secondary coil and a second secondary coil; and the voltage detection circuitry is connected to the first secondary coil and the second secondary coil to detect a first voltage at the first secondary coil and a second voltage at the second secondary coil (semiconductor chip 21 is bonded to the receiving coil arrangement 30 comprising receiving coils 31, 32 via bonding wires 22 and receives signals from the receiving coil arrangement 30 to ascertain on the basis of these induction signals the rotation angle; see [0036]; see Fig. 1).
Ausserlechner fails to explicitly teach calculating a ratio of the first voltage to the second voltage in US 2021/0373091, however, such a calculation is routine and conventional in the art to determine a position based on a ratio of a first voltage of a first receiving coil and a second voltage of a second receiving coil as claimed in order to determine a position measurement from two secondary windings of an inductive sensor. See, for example, [0053] of Ausserlechner-817 wherein the position is determined based on an arctangent function of the ratio of two signals. Therefore, although not explicitly disclosed in US 2021/0373091 (Ausserlechner), one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand the angular position of Ausserlechner would be calculated in an equivalent manner as claimed with Ausserlechner-817 cited to provide additional support.
Regarding claim 20, Ausserlechner teaches wherein the sensor circuitry includes: an oscillator to generate a magnetic field from the primary coil; and a voltage detection circuitry to: detect a first voltage at the first secondary coil and a second voltage at the second secondary coil, and determine a position or movement of a target object (an excitation coil is driven by an alternating current to generate a magnetic field, and detects a voltage induced in the receiving coils to determine an position of a target 131; see [0004]).
Ausserlechner fails to explicitly teach the limitations of calculate a ratio of the first voltage to the second voltage; and determine a position or movement of a target object based at least on the calculated ratio of the first voltage to the second voltage in US 2021/0373091, however, it is routine and conventional in the art to determine a position based on a ratio of a first voltage and a second voltage as claimed in order to determine a position measurement from two secondary windings of an inductive sensor. See, for example, [0053] of Ausserlechner-817 wherein the position is determined based on an arctangent function of the ratio of two signals. Therefore, although not explicitly disclosed in US 2021/0373091 (Ausserlechner), one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand the angular position of Ausserlechner would be calculated in an equivalent manner as claimed with Ausserlechner-817 cited to provide additional support.
Claim(s) 10-11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0190473 (Ausserlechner) in view of US 2021/0373091 (Hiligsmann), and in further view of US 2020/0116532 (Janisch) and US 2022/0320019 (Chang).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Ausserlechner teaches the at least one die (see rejection of claim 1), but fails to teach wherein the at least one die includes a first die and a second die; and the RDL region includes at least one conductive routing element defining a conductive connection between the first die and the second die; and wherein the at least one die includes an analog die and a digital die.
Chang teaches wherein the at least one die includes a first die and a second die; and the RDL region includes at least one conductive routing element defining a conductive connection between the first die and the second die (a circuit comprises dies 300, 310, 320, 330 and a redistribution structure provides electrical connection between the integrated circuit dies and an organic substrate and/or between the integrated circuit dies; see [0016], [0022], [0059]; see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Chang into Ausserlechner in order to gain the advantage of using a metallization layer in the RDL to electrically connect various components in a manner well-known in the art of semiconductor packaging and fabrication.
Janisch teaches wherein the at least one die includes an analog die and a digital die (a control circuit 102 comprises an analog circuit 320 and a digital electronic control unit 322, wherein the analog circuit 320 comprises analog circuit components including offset adders 302/304, amplifiers 306/308, etc. for processing the analog signals received by receiver coils 106 and digital electronic control unit 322 comprises analog-to-digital circuits 314/316 and a digital signal processor 318; see Fig. 3; see [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Janisch into Ausserlechner in order to gain the advantage of a first chip/die in the form of an analog signal processing circuit to process the analog signals from the receiving coils to correct for offset and gain errors and filtering and a second chip/die for digital signal processing to convert the corrected analog signals into digital signals for digital processing to calculate a position and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the RDL to electrically connect various components in the semiconductor package as disclosed in Chang.
Regarding claim 18, Ausserlechner fails to teach wherein the at least one die includes a first die and a second die; and the method includes forming at least one conductive routing element in the RDL region to conductively connect the first die to the second die (the claim is rejected in a similar manner as claims 10 and 11 above).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0190473 (Ausserlechner) in view of US 2021/0373091 (Hiligsmann), and in further view of US 2014/0184460 (Yen).
Regarding claim 12, Ausserlechner fails to teach comprising an antenna including an antenna coil including at least one conductive coil element formed in the RDL region.
Yen teaches comprising an antenna including an antenna coil including at least one conductive coil element formed in the RDL region (RDL layers are used to form antennas 110 comprising a coil; see abstract, [0026], [0036]; see Figs. 1, 4A,B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Yen into Ausserlechner in order to gain the advantage of an antenna integrated into a miniaturized semiconductor chip to increase speed and circuit density, wherein the antenna allows for communication between chips and devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
US 2021/0343662 teaches in [0018]: “A die comprising semiconductors and passive components (other than magnetics) is affixed to or embedded in the substrate. Thereafter the sheet of coils is disposed atop the die and affixed to the substrate.”
US 2021/0223023 teaches the use of analog and digital circuitry to process signals from a position sensor and determining the angle using at arctan function of the measured values.
US 2006/0044101 teach in [0001]: “The die may, in turn, be fully or partially encapsulated into a package, which often includes a ceramic or plastic substrate although other materials may be used. The package mechanically supports and protects the die which is often relatively fragile.”
US 2014/0027880 teaches in [0005]: “In some applications, discrete inductors are attached directly to a printed circuit board. In other applications, inductors have been embedded into printed circuit boards or integrated into or onto the semiconductor substrate of an integrated circuit die. In die substrates having multiple metal interconnect layers, a turn of an inductor may be embedded into each layer. In yet other applications, inductors have been embedded into the substrate of a package supporting And protecting an integrated circuit die. In package substrates having multiple built-up layers, a turn of an inductor may be embedded into each layer.”
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858