Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued:
Figures 2 and 3 of Joly show one cited elastic finger 88 of the cited housing 52 is
adjacent to and positioned on an outside of one cited elastic arm 70 (Joly column 3, lines 59-66).
Although Joly describes that the cited pair of elastic fingers 88 "are resiliently biasable against the contact arms 70 of the inner contact body, for increasing the contact pressure of the contact arms", describing that the elastic fingers 88 are positioned on an outside of the contact arms 70, nowhere does Joly describe that the elastic fingers 88 pass through the terminal body 63, 64. As shown in Figures 2-4, Joly only establishes that the fingers 88 support the contact arms 70, and does not establish that, in any position of the terminal body 63, 64 receiving a mating terminal 12', the elastic fingers 88 pass through the terminal body 63, 64. Joly therefore does not disclose "a housing having a pair of elastic fingers the elastic fingers pass through the terminal bodies of the terminals as claimed in claim 1. Independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2, 3, 10- 14, and 19 are therefore allowable over Joly.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Joly in figure 4, shows the elastic fingers 88 bent inward from the outer planar surface of side 88, the second finger is clearly shown to be projecting into the cavity. Joly, in figure 3, shows terminal body (63, 84), here the terminal body is box shaped and the resilient terminals 70, 72 are cut out from the side walls. The resilient fingers are clearly shown as bent inward into the cavity of terminal body.
The claim 1, in part recites ‘a housing having a pair of elastic fingers’, for Joly, that will be box shaped housing shown in figure 4, one of the wall is identified as element 84. Claim 1, further recites’ a pair of terminals at least partly accommodated in the housing’, each of the terminals has a terminal body coupled to the housing and an elastic arm connected to the terminal body, For Joly, terminal body is not separately identified, but examiner has used numeral 63 used for part of the wall, but intended to represent entire right wall as terminal body. The second terminal body is 62 and intended to represent entire left wall as terminal body. There are two elastic arms 70, figure 3 identifies one on the right with numeral 70, the other arm is not visible. Claim 1 further recites “the elastic fingers pass through the terminal bodies of the terminals and press against the elastic arms of the terminal.
Joly, in column 4, lines 63-66, states “the side walls 84 have inwardly biased cantilever beam spring 88 that are resiliently biasable against the contact arm 70”. Since elastic arms 70 are inwardly bent from the surface of the housing (box shaped housing, not separately numbered, say 63). The only way the elastic fingers 88 can bias elastic arm 70 (press against the elastic arm 70), which is inwardly positioned from the outer surface of the housing (say 63), is to pass through the terminal body (surface of side wall 63). Hence the reference also satisfies the limitations “the elastic fingers pass through the terminal bodies of the terminals and press against the elastic arms of the terminal.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Joly et al. (US 5,695,368).
Regarding Claim 1, Joly et al. discloses a connector, comprising:
a housing (52, fig. 2, 4) having a pair of elastic fingers (88); and
a pair of terminals (72, 72, figure 3) at least partially accommodated in the housing (figure 1), each of the terminals has a terminal body (63) coupled with the housing and an elastic arm (70) connected to the terminal body, the elastic arms of the terminals face each other and clamp a mating terminal (12’, figure 5) inserted between them, the elastic fingers pass through the terminal bodies of the terminals and press against the elastic arms of the terminals.
Regarding Claim 2, Joly et al. discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the housing has an outer peripheral wall (84, fig. 4) surrounding an inner cavity (90), a portion of the terminal bodies and the elastic arms are accommodated in the inner cavity of the housing, the elastic fingers (88) are formed on the outer peripheral wall of the housing and extend into the inner cavity of the housing.
Regarding Claim 3, Joly et al. discloses the connector according to claim 2, wherein the outer peripheral wall of the housing includes a pair of first sidewalls (88, fig. 4) opposite to each other in a first direction and a pair of second sidewalls opposite to each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the terminal bodies of the terminals (72, 72) respectively face the pair of first sidewalls, the elastic fingers (88) are respectively formed on the first sidewalls and pass through the terminal bodies (column 3, line 62-65).
Regarding Claim 10, Joly et al. discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the elastic arms (70) of the terminals are symmetrically arranged on both sides of a symmetry plane and extend diagonally relative to the symmetry plane to form a V-shape.
Regarding Claim 11, Joly et al. discloses the connector according to claim 10, wherein a V-shaped slot is defined between the elastic arms of the terminals, the V-shaped slot is flared outward to guide the mating terminal to be inserted between the elastic arms (flare visible in figure 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Joly et al. discloses the connector according to claim 10, wherein the elastic arm of each of the terminals has an arm body extending obliquely relative to the symmetry plane, an arm root (bend between 70 and 72) bent into an arc and connected between a pair of upper ends of the arm body and the terminal body, and an arm end (tip of 72) connected to a lower end of the arm body and bent at a predetermined angle relative to the arm body in a direction away from the symmetry plane (tip 72 bends away from a vertical plane passing through the center, figure 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Joly et al. discloses the connector according to claim 12, wherein the arm end has a contact portion (inner face of bend of 70) connected to the lower end of the arm body, (body is part of 70) the contact portion is bent into an arc and has a raised inner surface facing the symmetry plane, the raised inner surface of the contact portion electrically contacts a surface of the mating terminal (contacts mating terminal 58’).
Regarding Claim 14, Joly et al. discloses the connector according to claim 13, wherein when the mating terminal is inserted between the elastic arms of the pair of terminals, the elastic fingers on the housing are against an outer side of the contact portion opposite to the symmetry plane (figure 1, mating of 58” with 70 not shown).
Regarding Claim 19, Joly et al. discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein: the terminal is an integral metal stamped piece, and/or the housing is an integral metal stamped piece or an integral injection molded piece (stamping is discloses in column , lines 40-55).
Regarding Claim 20, Joly et al. discloses connector assembly, comprising:
a connector including a housing (52, fig. 4) having a pair of elastic fingers (88) and a pair of terminals (70) at least partially accommodated in the housing, each of the terminals has a terminal body coupled with the housing and an elastic arm (70) connected to the terminal body, the elastic arms of the terminals face each other, the elastic fingers pass through the terminal bodies of the terminals and press against the elastic arms (column 3, lines 62-66) of the terminals; and
a mating terminal (58’, fig. 5) inserted between the elastic arms of the terminals, the elastic arms clamp the mating terminal and are electrically connected to the mating terminal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For claim 4, the recitation of ‘wherein the elastic fingers are L-shaped and each include a first finger part extending along the first direction and a second finger part extending in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, one end of the first finger part is connected to the second finger part, and another end of the first finger part rests against the elastic arm of one of the terminals’ defines the claim over the art of record.
For claim 7, the recitation of “wherein a slot hole is formed in each of the pair of second sidewalls of the housing, a protrusion is formed on each of a pair of longitudinal side edges of each of the terminal bodies, the protrusions engage in the slot holes in the second sidewalls” defines the claim over art of record.
For claim 15, the recitation of “a plurality of separation grooves are formed on the elastic arms of the terminals, and the separation grooves are spaced from each other in the second direction and the elastic arms have a comb like shape” defines the claim over art of record.
Regarding claim 18, the recitation of “wherein the terminals each include a connecting part connected to a lower end of the terminal body and located outside of the housing, a connecting hole is formed in the connecting part that allows a connecting piece to pass through and electrically connect to a metal bar through the connecting piece” defines the claim over art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834