DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 06/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “there must be a serious burden on the examiner if restriction is not required”. This is not found persuasive because Inventions I and II are related to the process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown:
(1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or
(2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)).
The groupings of patently distinct inventions require a different field of search e.g. searching different classes and/or subclasses and/or electronic resources and/or employing different search strategies and/or search queries. The electronic device comprised of a substrate, active surface, sensor, conductive pads, bump metallization layers, with a continuous wall on the active surface having a cover to prevent foreign substances from entering the cavity where the continuous wall can be made by a materially different method requiring at least two different search queries. When it is necessary to search in a manner that is not likely in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s) (e.g. searching different classes and/or subclasses and/or electronic resources and/or employing different search strategies and/or search queries).
Furthermore, absent evidence showing, or a statement asserting, the two groups to be obvious variants of each other, the Applicant’s arguments are merely conclusory, and are not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the “continuous wall “ and “continuous openings” as described in the specification. Fig. 1A shows continuous wall in layer 124, but this wall appears to be segmented and discontinuous. Also, Fig 1A shows continuous openings in layer 118, but the continuous openings appear to be discontinuous because they are located at the top of separated trenches. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “continuous wall” in claim 1,6, and 11 is used by the claim to mean “a segmented wall,” while the accepted meaning is “a wall that has no breaks.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. In this case, claims will be considered with the meaning “a continuous wall comprised of segmented pieces”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Faes et. al. (EP 3385218 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Faes teaches an electronic device (fig 1J: 10 device) comprising: a substrate (¶0040, fig 1J: 13 substrate) having an active surface (¶0039, fig 1J: surface of 13 including integrated circuit 22);
a sensor (¶0039, fig 1J: 12) disposed on the active surface (¶0039, fig 1J: 12 disposed on 22) of the substrate (¶0040, fig 1J: 13 substrate) the sensor (¶0039, fig 1J: 12) being in communication with the active surface (¶0039, fig 1J: 22 integrated circuit) of the substrate (¶0040, fig 1J: 13) (¶0039, 12 electrically communicates with 22 of 13) ;
a continuous wall (¶0040, fig 1J: 24 continuous layer of segmented pieces) disposed on the active surface (¶0039, fig 1J: 22) (page 12, fig 1J: 22) of the substrate (¶0040, fig 1J: 13 substrate) (fig 1J: 24 disposed on 22 of 13), the continuous wall (¶0039, fig 1J: 24) surrounding the sensor (¶0039, fig 1J: 12) having an open top (annotated fig 1J: segmented pieces of 24 surrounding at least one 12, with openings); and
a cover (¶0041, fig 1J: cap body 11) disposed on a top surface of the continuous wall (page 12, fig 1J: 24) (fig 1J: 11 disposed on 24), the cover (¶0041, fig 1J: 11) closing off the open top of the continuous wall (page 12, fig 1J: 24) to form a cavity (see annotated fig 1J: 11 closes off the open top of 24) inside the continuous wall (page 12, fig 1J: 24) to prevent foreign substance from entering the cavity (Examiners note: not given patentable weight since it is an intended use, product claims are limited to structure).
Regarding claim 2, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the substrate (¶0040, fig 1J: 13) includes a continuous trench (¶0040, fig 1J: 15) defined therein that surrounds (Meriam webster definition: to enclose on all sides) the sensor (¶0039, fig 1J: 12) to isolate the sensor (see annotated fig 1J: 13 includes 15 that encloses at least a sensor on all sides) from stress that may occur during fabrication, installation, and/or use (Examiners note: not given patentable weight since it is an intended use, product claims are limited to structure).
Regarding claim 3, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 2 further comprising conductive pads (¶0048, fig IJ: 31 contact areas) disposed on the active surface (¶0039, fig 1J: 22) of the substrate (¶0040, fig 1J: 13) (fig 1J: 31 disposed on 22 of 13).
Regarding claim 4, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 3 further comprising a first lamination film (¶0039, fig 1J: 23 , Merriam webster definition of lamination is to make by uniting layers of one or more material) formed on the active surface (¶0039, fig 1J: 22) of the substrate (¶0040, fig 1J: 13) (fig 1J: 23 formed on 22 of 13), the first lamination film (¶0039, fig 1J: 23) being formed over the sensor (¶0039, fig 1J: 12) (¶0050, fig 1J: 23 deposited on 12).
Regarding claim 5, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the first lamination film (¶0039, fig 1J: 23) includes a continuous opening (see annotated figure 1J) that aligns with the continuous trench (¶0048, fig 1J: 15) (annotated fig 1J: 23 includes continuous openings that align with 15) and openings (¶0047, fig 1J: 32 is the opening before conductive material 34 is filled in) aligned with the conductive pads (¶0048, fig 1J: 31) to thereby expose the conductive pads (¶0048, fig 1J: 31 contact) (fig 1J: 32 aligned with 31 to expose 31).
Regarding claim 6, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the continuous wall (¶0040, fig 1J: segmented 24) is formed on the first lamination film (¶0040, fig 1J: 23) (¶0040, fig 1J: 24 is applied to 23).
Regarding claim 7, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the cover (¶0041, fig 1: 11 cap) is comprised of a second lamination film(¶0041 silicon, Merriam webster definition of lamination is to make by uniting layers of one or more material) (fig 1J: 11 is comprised of silicon and unites the substrate sensor and continuous wall layers.
Regarding claim 8, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 3 further comprising interconnects (¶0047, fig 1J: 34 conductive material) formed on the conductive pads (¶0048, fig IJ: 31), the conductive pads (fig IJ: 31) and the interconnects (fig 1J: 34) providing an electrical connection via solder (¶0048, fig 1J: 28) from the substrate(¶0040, fig 1J: 13)(¶0048, fig 1J: 34 formed on 31, 31 and 34 provide electrical connection via 28 from 13) to an external electronic device (28 provided on external surface, and is therefore capable of electrical connection to external devices).
Regarding claim 9, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the interconnects (fig 1J: 34) are under bump metallization layers (¶0048, fig 1J: 34 is made of metal and located under solder bump 28).
Regarding claim 11, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the continuous wall (¶0040, fig 1J: 24 bonding material) has a circular, square, or rectangular shape (fig 1J: 24 has a rectangle shape in a cross-sectional side view).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faes as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of How (Pg Pub. US 20150035130 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Faes teaches the electronic device of claim 1 comprising a substrate (¶0040, fig 1J: 13), sensor (¶0039, fig 1J: 12) , and cavity (see previous annotated fig 1J: continuous openings).
Faes does not teach a mold compound formed over the substrate, sensor, and cavity.
How teaches an IC device package further comprising a mold compound (¶0003, fig 6: 670 Epoxy mold compound) formed over the substrate (¶0003, fig 9: 120), the sensor (¶0035, fig 9: 104), and the cavity (annotated figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the semiconductor device or Faes with the encapsulation of the mold compound of How to protect the integrated circuit from mechanical and environmental damage (How ¶0028).
Conclusion
/LYTESHIA M PRICE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818