DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 11, 2024 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 5, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2, “electrod” should be “electrode”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being taught by Zhou et al. (Super-tough MXene-functionalized graphene sheets. Nat Commun 11, 2077 (2020)).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou teaches an electrode (see Fig. 4) comprising:
a π electron conjugated compound film which comprises a π electron conjugated compound having a carbon-carbon double bond (e.g. graphene oxide; see Abstract in p. 1);
and a conductive film bonded to the π electron conjugated compound film, wherein the conductive film comprises particles of a layered material comprising one or plural layers, the one or plural layers comprising a layer body represented by: MmXn wherein M is at least one metal of Group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7, X is a carbon atom, a nitrogen atom, or a combination thereof, n is not less than 1 and not more than 4, and m is more than n but not more than 5, and a modifier or terminal T existing on a surface of the layer body, wherein T is at least one selected from the group consisting of a hydroxyl group, a fluorine atom, a chlorine atom, an oxygen atom, and a hydrogen atom, (e.g., Ti3C2Tx; see p. 2, col. 1, para 2),
and wherein a ratio of an amount of the π electron conjugated compound film to a total amount of the conductive film and the π electron conjugated compound film is not less than 5% by mass and not more than 80% by mass (see p. 2, col. 2, para. 3, “All samples were assembled by using basically the same method, and are termed MGO-I, MGO-II, MGO-III, MGO-IV, and MGO-V, depending upon the weight percent of MXene (5.5, 9.9, 17.7, 29.9, and 45.1 wt%, respectively).”).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhou teaches the π electron conjugated compound is a reduced graphene oxide (see Abstract in p. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhou teaches a thickness of the π-electron conjugated compound film is 16 μm (see Supplementary Figure 4 in Supplementary Information p. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 9-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (Super-tough MXene-functionalized graphene sheets. Nat Commun 11, 2077 (2020)).
Regarding Claim 5 and 6 and 9, Zhou fails to disclose a number-average value of a ferret diameter of the particles of the layered material that is not less than 3 μm (see p.2, col. 1, para. 3, “The exfoliated MXene nanosheets have . . . a lateral size of ~1.5 μm”). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the average value of a ferret diameter of the MXene particles to be no less than 3 μm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, for example, in order to reduce the poor oxidization of the MXene and increase the number of bonds between the surfaces to aid in stability.
Regarding Claim 4 and 11 and 13, Zhou does not explicitly teach an area of at least 80% of a surface of the conductive film on a side thereof facing the π electron conjugated compound film is covered with the π electron conjugated compound film. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least 80% of a surface be covered since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, at least some surface contact is disclosed (see e.g. Fig. 1), and although the reference is silent as to the dimension of the surface that is covered, the invention would perform just as well with the claimed range, and a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to have the surface of the conductive film on a side thereof facing the π electron conjugated compound film be covered with the π electron conjugated compound film as much as feasible to reduce the oxidization of the MXene and aid in stability.
Regarding Claim 10 and 14, Zhou teaches the π electron conjugated compound is a reduced graphene oxide (see Abstract in p. 1).
Claims 7-8, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (Super-tough MXene-functionalized graphene sheets. Nat Commun 11, 2077 (2020)) in view of Sharifuzzaman et al. (Smart bandage with integrated multifunctional sensors based on MXene-functionalized porous graphene scaffold for chronic wound care management, Biosensors and Bioelectronics, Volume 169 (2020).
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, 12, 15, and 16, Zhou does not explicitly teach the electrode is constructed as a biosignal electrode. However, Sharifuzzaman teaches that electrodes with a π electron conjugated compound film (e.g., laser guided graphene) and MXene conductive films offer abundant surface functionalities suitable for sensing different biological signals (see p. 2, col. 1, para. 2). Sharifuzzaman also provides for a smart bandage with integrated multifunctional sensors based on MXene-functionalized porous graphene (see Abstract). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou and Sharifuzzaman to provide that the electrode be constructed as a biosignal electrode. Doing so would introduce the structural advantages of high conductivity and improved electrochemistry (as recognized by Zhou and Sharifuzzaman) in another type of use (biosignals).
Conclusion
/C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794