DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse to the restriction requirement mailed on 3/20/26 of species A in the reply filed on 5/20/26 was acknowledged in a previous office action. The requirement was previously made final. Claims 7-17 and 19 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/23/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0124770 A1 (“Maruyama”).
Maruyama teaches, for example:
Maruyama teaches:
1. A light emitting package (see e.g. Fig. 10) comprising:
a body (“ceramic carrier C”, see e.g. para 4, 161) formed of a ceramic material and having a cavity (space between the vertical walls of C as shown in Fig. 10) open at an upper side thereof;
a light emitting diode chip (“deep ultraviolet LED chip 1”, see e.g. para 160) mounted in the cavity of the body and generating and emitting UV light; and
a light transmission member (“window member W”, see e.g. para 107) disposed on top of the body to cover the cavity;
wherein the light transmission member comprises
a light transmission layer (e.g. comprising W and top 10 in Fig. 10) formed of sapphire (portion W of the identified light transmission layer comprises sapphire, see e.g. para 107) and
a light loss prevention layer (e.g. lower 10 as shown in Fig. 10) formed on at least one surface of the light transmission layer,
the light loss prevention layer comprising a lower light loss prevention layer (lower 10 as shown in Fig. 10) formed on a lower surface of the light transmission layer,
the light emitting diode chip and the light transmission member are spaced apart from each other to form a space therebetween (see Fig. 10),
UV light emitted from the light emitting diode chip sequentially passes through an air layer (space between 2 and 10 in Fig. 10), the lower light loss prevention layer (lower 10 in Fig. 10) and the light transmission layer so as to be emitted from the light emitting package (light may pass through both W and the top 10 on the way out of the package),
wherein the light emitting package has a structure in which a ceramic layer C, a metal layer (comprising one or more of e.g. E1, E2, 6, 7, 4, and 5), a UV light generation layer 3, the air layer (space between 2 and 10), the light loss prevention layer (lower 10), and the light transmission layer (combination of W and upper 10) are disposed sequentially within the structure, the light transmission layer being a highest layer of the light emitting package (The combination of W and upper 10 are the highest layer of the package, see Fig. 10).
2. The light emitting package according to claim 1, wherein the body comprises a circuit formed therein, and the circuit is partially exposed to the cavity of the body and is electrically connected to the light emitting diode chip (see “electrodes E1 and E2”, Fig. 10, which are connected to the LED chip 1 via gold bumps 6 and 7, see e.g. para 161, and electrodes 4 and 5 of the chip).
3. The light emitting package according to claim 2, wherein the light emitting diode chip comprises an electrode formed of a conductive metallic material at a lower side thereof, and the electrode of the light emitting diode chip is electrically connected to the circuit exposed to the cavity of the body (see “electrodes E1 and E2”, Fig. 10, which are connected to the LED chip 1 via gold bumps 6 and 7, see e.g. para 161, and electrodes 4 and 5 of the chip).
5. The light emitting package according to claim 3, wherein the lower light loss prevention layer has a single-layer structure (see e.g. Fig. 10 wherein 10 is shown as a “single layer” or a “single film”; furthermore, the claim has not recited what a “single-layer structure” requires, so the multiple materials formed in sub-layers in e.g. Figs 4-9 could still read thereon; furthermore, even if the sublayers are considered as different layers, one single sublayer such as 110 in Fig. 4 could be reasonably interpreted as a “lower light loss prevention layer” having a “single-layer structure”, attached to other light loss prevention layers such as 120).
18. The light emitting package according to claim 1, wherein the light transmission member has a flat upper surface and a flat lower surface (see e.g. Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama in view of Ishida.
Re claim 6, Maruyama teaches claim 3, as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the lower light loss prevention layer is formed of magnesium fluoride (MgF2).
Ishida teaches and/or would have suggested as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, in combination with Maruyama, wherein the lower light loss prevention layer is formed of magnesium fluoride (MgF2) (see e.g. para 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the invention of Ishida to the invention of Maruyama. The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable results of using one or more of many well-known materials used in antireflection films, such as MgF2, Al2O3, SiO2, Ta2O5, HfO2, ZrO2, TiO2, and Nb2O5, all of which are known to effectively emit the light from the recess to the exterior of the device (see e.g. para 31).
Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed material is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, which are criteria that have been held to be necessary for material limitations to be prima facie unobvious. The claimed material is considered to be a "preferred" or "optimum" material out of a plurality of well known materials that a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found obvious to provide to the invention of the cited prior art reference, using routine experimentation and optimization of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
It has been established that “the [obviousness] analysis need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim” because the Office or “a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR Int’ Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). It is also well settled that a reference stands for all of the specific teachings thereof as well as the inferences one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably been expected to draw therefrom. See In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264-65 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/14/26 with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Maruyama does not teach the newly amended claim limitations of claim 1 because it “explicitly requiring that ‘the anti-reflection 10 is provided at least on a a surface of the window member W on the side opposite to the deep ultraviolet LED chip 1” (see page 9).
This is not persuasive because the claim requires a “light transmission layer” to be the highest layer of the device, and the combination of W and the upper 10 in Maruyama is a layer that transmits light and is the highest layer in the device.
It is reasonable to interpret W+10 as a “light transmission layer” comprising two sublayers, as both W and 10 transmit light. Claim 1 does not requires any specific requirements of the light transmission layer other than it be “composed of sapphire”, and portion W of W/10 comprises sapphire. Claim 1 does not narrow the materials of the “light transmission layer” in any way that would prohibit this interpretation. Claim 1 does not narrow the structure of the “light transmission layer” in any way that would prohibit this interpretation.
Conclusion
Conclusion / Finality
Applicant's amendment changed the scope of the claims and necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion / Contact Information
/Kevin Parendo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896