DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Pursuant to the election without traverse on June 8, 2026, claims 8 and 14-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examiner proposes: IR LIGHT SENSING DEVICE WITH AN ABSORPTION LAYER OVER A CHANNEL LAYER
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeller, US 11,374,187 B1.
Claim 1: Zeller discloses
a channel layer (540);
a first electrode (520) provided on a first surface of the channel layer;
a second electrode (530) provided on the first surface of the channel layer and spaced apart from the first electrode;
and a light absorption layer (510) provided on the channel layer between the first electrode and the second electrode and configured to absorb infrared rays (Title), wherein the light absorption layer comprises a doped semiconductor layer (silicon doped with germanium).
Claim 2: the channel layer comprises an n-type semiconductor layer. “n-type graphene (which may be realized, for example, through hydrazine treatment of graphene oxide before reduction) has a significantly smaller work function in the range of 3.6 eV to 4.0 eV, and consequently a lesser built-in potential with Ge/SiGe.” Col. 6 ll. 10-14.
Claim 3: the light absorption layer directly contacts the first surface of the channel layer (FIG 5).
Claim 4: the channel layer comprises: a first doped region corresponding to the first electrode; and a second doped region corresponding to the second electrode. “n-type graphene (which may be realized, for example, through hydrazine treatment of graphene oxide before reduction) has a significantly smaller work function in the range of 3.6 eV to 4.0 eV, and consequently a lesser built-in potential with Ge/SiGe.” Col. 6 ll. 10-14. The region under 520 is the first doped region and the region under 530 is the second doped region.
Claim 5: the light absorption layer comprises a doped Ge layer or a doped Si layer (Si doped with Ge or Ge doped with Si).
Claim 6: the doped semiconductor layer is amorphous or polycrystalline. Each of the quantum dots of layer 510 has its own crystal structure, thus the overall layer can be understood as polycrystalline.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, CN 109786498 A, in view of Zeller.
Claim 7: Zhou discloses
an insulating layer (103);
a channel layer (104) provided on the insulating layer;
a first electrode (105) provided on a first surface of the channel layer;
a second electrode (111) provided on the first surface of the channel layer and spaced apart from the first electrode;
a light absorption layer (108) provided on the channel layer between the first electrode and the second electrode and configured to absorb infrared rays (abstract);
and a gate insulating layer (106) provided between the channel layer and the light absorption layer,
wherein the channel layer comprises a semiconductor layer,
“the channel layer is composed of any one of or a combination of any two-dimensional material graphene” (machine translation p. 6, second paragraph)
and wherein the light absorption layer comprises an undoped semiconductor layer.
“infrared radiation absorbing layer is made of any one kind of or mixture of several of metal thin film material, graphene and carbon nano-tube in the formed film layer” (machine translation p. 5 third from bottom paragraph)
Zhou does not disclose that the channel is n-doped. However, Zeller discloses that “n-type graphene (which may be realized, for example, through hydrazine treatment of graphene oxide before reduction) has a significantly smaller work function in the range of 3.6 eV to 4.0 eV.” Col. 6 ll. 10-14. It would have been obvious to have n-doping in order to adjust the work function of the graphene.
Claim 9: Zhou discloses a first semiconductor layer (101 or 110), wherein the insulating layer is between the first semiconductor layer and the channel layer (FIG. 1).
Claim 11: Zhou discloses that the substrate can be silicon germanium, etc., but does not address doping. Zeller discloses using a n doped silicon germanium (FIG. 5). It would have been obvious to have used this in Zhou as a known material for the substrate of a graphene IR detector. Thus the first semiconductor layer comprises a semiconductor layer of a type (n) that is the same as a type of the channel layer.
Claim 12: the channel layer comprises a first doped region corresponding to the first electrode and a second doped region corresponding to the second electrode. “n-type graphene (which may be realized, for example, through hydrazine treatment of graphene oxide before reduction) has a significantly smaller work function in the range of 3.6 eV to 4.0 eV, and consequently a lesser built-in potential with Ge/SiGe.” Col. 6 ll. 10-14. The region under 520 is the first doped region and the region under 530 is the second doped region.
Claim 13: Zhou does not disclose that the light absorption layer comprises a Ge layer. Zeller discloses that The absorbing layer is an SiGe quantum dot layer, which is a layer comprising Ge. It would have been obvious to have used this in Zhou as a known absorption layer for an IR detector.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zeller and Kim, US 2019/0237611 A1. Kim discloses a substrate that has both p (110) and n (115) type semiconductor layers in an IR detector (FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to use such a substrate in Zhou as known for the purpose of forming an IR detector. In Zhou in view of Kim, the first semiconductor layer (Kim layer 11) comprises a p-type semiconductor layer.
Conclusion
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897