DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, 19, 29-30, 32, 34-35, 44, 52, 62-63, in the reply filed on 04/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 70 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant’s further election without traverse of (ii) sulfite as the species of modified cytosine, in the reply filed on 04/16/2026 is acknowledged
Claims 5-7, and 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Amendments to claims 8, 10, and 44 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-10, 19, 29-30, 32, 34-35, 44, 52, 62-63 and 70 are pending.
Claims 1-4, 8, 19, 29-30, 32, 34-35, 44, 52, and 62-63 are under examination on the merits.
Priority
This application 18/413,996 filed on 01/16/2024 claims the benefit of provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/439,522, filed on 01/17/2023.
The priority date of claim 1 and its dependent claims is determined to be 01/17/2023, the filing date of provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/439,522.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c).
See p. 82-83 of the specification dated 04/30/2024.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
See Fig. 19B.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 19B contains nucleotide sequences without the required SEQ ID NO. See deficiency detailed above in the Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures section. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. See p.16.
The use of terms which are trade names or marks used in commerce (including IIlumina®, Agilent®, and TapeStation® among others), has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM, or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 52 recites “a hybridization complement sequence” and a “hybridization sequence”; a “first precursor polynucleotide fragment” and a “second precursor polynucleotide fragment”; and a “first precursor polynucleotide sequence”. No guidance is provided in the claims or specification to regarding structural limitations necessary to define or identify each of these sequences. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, and for purposes of examination, each of these limitations is considered to be any nucleic acid sequences that form two polynucleotides capable of annealing and extending to form a sequence that can be used to synthesize the at least one polynucleotide sequence.
Claim Interpretation 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a/the "conversion reagent configured to convert -- cytosine" in claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is drawn to a method that requires “at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion”. Dependent claims 34 and 35 are further drawn to methods that require “a proportion of first portions -- capable of generating a first signal and a proportion of second portions -- capable of generating a second signal”. Claims 34 and 35 encompass any and all polynucleotide portions that generate a signal.
To provide evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing/identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claims 34 and 35, the specification does not provide sufficient written description for any and all structures necessary for proportions of first and second portions of polynucleotides to be capable of generating a first and second signal. There is a lack of guidance/support in the claims and/or specification as to what general features of the first and second portions of polynucleotides must be present to generate first and second signals. The specification only describes “In one embodiment, the first signal component, second signal component, --- are generated based on light emissions” (p. 10). Regarding the signal, the specification discloses a set of modified nucleotides [that] may carry labels [that] may be configured to emit a signal such as an electromagnetic signal, or a (visible) light signal (p. 29). The specification further discloses embodiments where the label is a fluorescent label (e.g. a dye) (p.29), but further discloses that the detectable label need not be a fluorescent label, but that any label can be used which allows the detection of the incorporation of the nucleotide into the DNA sequence (p. 30).
The specification does not provide specific guidance for determining what the structure of claimed portions of polypeptide sequences should be that will work as expected. The specification only describes a subset of examples describing the use of labels to generate a signal. Thus, any portion of a polynucleotide would be expected to be capable of generating a signal following any type of labelling.
The claims encompass a genus of structurally undefined polynucleotide first and second portions. The claims cover all possible means for polynucleotide portions generating a signal, and the specification lacks written description for this complete genus.
For claims drawn to a genus, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that “only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies” that “are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.”). The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615. Further, University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404, 1405 held that:
To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention.” Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“ [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed.”). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement “by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious,” and by using “such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention.” Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966.
Thus, considering the breadth of polynucleotide first and second portions required by the claimed methods, their specific required functionalities, and the teachings of the instant specification, it is the conclusion that the specification does not provide an adequate written description of the broadly claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-4, 8, 19, 29-30, 32, 34, 35, 44, 52, and 62-63 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites limitations regarding “the template” in lines 7-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It should be made clear that the template is the double-stranded nucleic acid template of the claim if that is what is intended.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the template is generated from a target polynucleotide to be sequenced via complementary base pairing”. As written, it is unclear if the target polynucleotide is intended to be sequenced via complementary base pairing or the template is intended to be generated from the target polynucleotide via complementary base pairing.
Claims 2-4, 8, 19, 29-30, 32, 34, 35, 44, 52, and 62-63 are similarly indefinite because they directly or indirectly depend from claim 1.
Claim 32 recites the limitation “the method further comprises a step of preparing the first portion and the second portion for concurrent sequencing”. The preparing step does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. The specification provides one embodiment “simultaneously contacting first sequencing primer binding sites located after a 3'-end of the first portions with first primers and second sequencing primer binding sites located after a 3'-end of the second portions with second primers” (p. 5 and 50-51)but this example is not limiting. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted as broadly encompassing any further step that allows and does not prevent concurrent sequencing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106, part II.
Based upon consideration of the claims as a whole, as well as consideration of elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception, the present claims fail to meet the elements required for patent eligibility.
Step 1
The claimed invention is directed to the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A, Prong One
The claim is (claims are) taken to be directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception.
Claim 63 is directed to a method comprising “identifying modified cytosines by detecting differences when comparing a sequence output from the first portion with a sequence output from the second portion”. This limitation is an abstract mental process (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). As written, the comparing step encompasses the mental step of looking at two sets of sequencing reads and making mental judgements.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The exception is not integrated into a practical application of the exception. The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
While claim 1 recites the active steps ”synthesizing at least one polynucleotide sequence --- ”, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Instead, this element is data gathering required to perform the method.
Step 2B
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim does not add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Steps directed to synthesizing polynucleotide sequences are techniques that are routine, conventional, and well-known in the art as demonstrated in the 103 rejection documented below.
Furthermore, the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activities in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014); and
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 19, 29-30, 32, 34-35,44, and 62-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boutell (US 2017/0298430) in view of Booth et al. (US 2016/0258014).
Regarding claim 1, Boutell teaches a sequencing method comprising sequencing by synthesis (SBS) (para 3, 45), the method comprising the addition of nucleotides against a template strand to synthesize a polynucleotide sequence (para 133) comprising a first portion comprising a forward strand of a template (SBS3) and a second portion comprising a reverse complement strand of the template (SBS8’) (Fig. 1). Boutell teaches the method has the advantage of increased rates of sequencing and an increase in the density of sequencing data (Abstract and para 3).
Boutell does not teach a double-stranded nucleic acid template generated from a target polynucleotide or wherein the target polynucleotide has been pre-treated using a conversion reagent or further limitations on the conversion agent.
Booth teaches a method for the detection of modified nucleotides, the method comprising oxidizing treating the polynucleotides with bisulfite to deaminate cytosines to uracil (paras 3, 41 and Fig. 1C), which reads on a conversion agent configured to convert an unmodified cytosine to uracil or a nucleobase which is read as thymine/uracil. Booth further teaches amplification of treated polynucleotides and sequencing of the amplified portions, which reads on generating a double-stranded template from a target polynucleotides.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Boutell and Booth to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the method of Booth to produce the template for the method of Boutell. Booth teaches treatment of polynucleotides to convert unmodified cytosines for quantifiable identification in sequencing (para 3 and Fig. 1C). Boutell teaches a method of sequencing that improves the rate and density of sequencing. One would have been motivated to use the method of Boutell on the samples of Booth by the advantage of improved sequencing data produced after bisulfite conversion. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites a limitation directed to a conversion agent that is configured to convert an modified cytosine to thymine or a nucleobase which is read as thymine/uracil. However, claim 1, which claim 3 depends from, does not require a conversion agent configured to convert a modified cytosine.
Regarding claim 3, Booth teaches bisulfite treatment that converts unmodified cytosines to uracil which reads as thymine (para 41 and Fig. 1C)
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Booth teaches treatment with bisulfite, a chemical agent (Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Booth teaches oxidizing the sample with an oxidizing agent before bisulfite treatment (conversion agent) (Abstract and para 104).
Regarding claim 29, Booth teaches identifying (detecting) modified cytosines comprising 5-methylcytosine, 5-hydroxymethylcytosine, 5- formylcytosine (Abstract).
Regarding claim 30, Boutell teaches the polynucleotide of Fig 1 comprising SBS3 (first portion) and SBS8’ (second portion) which are not identical.
Regarding claim 32, Boutell teaches performing the method under conditions that give a plurality of extension reads that comprise simultaneous extension reads (i.e. concurrent sequencing) (paras 40-44).
Regarding claim 34, Boutell teaches obtaining signal data corresponding to at least one nucleotide base incorporated at each of the primer extensions and determining from said signal data the identity of the nucleotide bases and allocating said bases to an extension read (paras 27-28). Boutell further teaches four reversibly terminating nucleotide analogues or reversible terminators selected from analogues of dGTP, dCTP, dTTP, dUTP, and dATP, each of the four analogues having a unique label (para 90), which reads on a first portion and a second portion having substantially the same signal intensity when sequencing by synthesis of each portion detects an identical nucleotide in each portion.
Regarding claim 35, Boutell teaches blocked and unblocked primers are used to chemically differentiate between extension reads (para 67, 124) such that primer 1 would give a 100% signal on sequencing and “primer 2” would give a 25% signal (para 124), which reads on a first signal greater than the intensity of a second signal.
Regarding claim 44, Boutell teaches the nucleic acid is bound to a solid substrate of the type used in sequencing by synthesis (para 56). Boutell further teaches use of a flow cell (paras114, 152)
Regarding claim 62, Boutell teaches plurality of extension reads that comprise simultaneous extension reads (paras 40-44), which reads on concurrent sequencing of first and second portions.
Regarding claim 63, Boutell and Booth teach the method of claim 1 as described above in the 103 rejection.
Boutell teaches performing the method under conditions that give a plurality of extension reads that comprise simultaneous extension reads (paras 40-44), which reads on concurrent sequencing of first and second portions.
Boutell does not teach identifying modified cytosines by detecting differences when comparing a sequence output from the first portion with a sequence output from the second portion.
Booth teaches comparing sequences to identify modified cytosines by comparing sequence outputs (paras 24, 32, 40, 41).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Boutell and Booth to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the method taught by Booth to interpret the sequencing data produced by the method of Boutell. One would have been motivated by the benefit of the already established method of Booth to interpret sequencing differences as modified vs. unmodified cytosines. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boutell (US 2017/0298430) in view of Booth et al. (US 2016/0258014) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 19, 29-30, 32, 34-35,44, and 62-63 above, and further in view of Boutell (US 2018/0100192, herein Boutell 2018).
Regarding claim 52, Boutell teaches synthesizing polynucleotides (para 45) and bridge amplification (para 63), but is silent as to the steps of synthesizing.
Neither Boutell nor Booth teach the recited steps of synthesizing the at least one polynucleotide sequence.
Boutell2018 teaches a method for concatenating strands during bridge amplification.
Boutell2018 teaches the method comprises synthesizing a complementary copy of the target nucleic acid (first precursor polynucleotide fragment) comprising a complement of the forward strand (first portion) a second immobilized strand (second precursor polynucleotide fragment) comprising a reverse complement of the template (second portion) (claims 1-2).
Boutell2018 further teaches bridged structures (hybridized adduct) can be formed by annealing pairs of immobilized strands (para 37). which reads on annealing the hybridization complement sequence of the first precursor polynucleotide fragment with the hybridization sequence on the second precursor polynucleotide fragment to form a hybridized adduct.
Boutell2018 further teaches configuring regions such that repeated cycles of hybridization and extension produce a concatemer of the second immobilized strand, each copy in the concatemer separated from the next by sequence from the reverse complementarity region (para 13, claim 9), and teaches extending a 3′ OH of the first region of known sequence to generate a concatemer of the second immobilized strand (para 9), which reads on synthesizing a first precursor polynucleotide sequence by extending the first precursor polynucleotide fragment to form a complement of the second portion. Boutell2018 teaches further forming double stranded library constructs (Fig. 2), which reads on forming a complement to the first precursor polynucleotide sequence.
Boutell2018 teaches the method has the advantage of creating brighter clusters that provide better quality of reads, support for longer read lengths, faster scan times for sequencing, and increased system robustness (para 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Boutell and Booth with Boutell2018 to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the bridge amplification method of Boutell2018 as the bridge amplification method of Boutell. One would have been motivated by the stated sequencing advantages described by Boutell2018. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 19, 29-30, 34-35, 44, and 62-63 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 19, 29-30, 35-36, 53, and 62-63 of copending Application No. 18/414,085 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims substantially anticipate the identified claims of this application. The additional limitations of the ‘085 claims are encompassed by the open claim language "comprising" found in the instant claims.
Regarding instant claim 1, copending claim 1 requires “synthesizing a first polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second polynucleotide sequence comprising a second portion, wherein the first polynucleotide sequence comprising the first portion and the second polynucleotide sequence comprising the second portion each comprise portions of a double-stranded nucleic acid template, and the first portion comprises a forward strand of the template, and the second portion comprises a reverse complement strand of the template, or wherein the first portion comprises a reverse strand of the template, and the second portion comprises a forward complement strand of the template, wherein the template is generated from a target polynucleotide to be sequenced and wherein the template comprises a forward complement strand and a reverse complement strand of the target polynucleotide, and wherein the target polynucleotide has been pre-treated using a conversion reagent”. Copending claim 2 requires “wherein the target polynucleotide has been pre-treated using a conversion reagent configured to convert a modified cytosine to thymine or a nucleobase which is read as thymine/uracil.” Copending claim 3 requires “wherein the target polynucleotide has been pre-treated using a conversion reagent configured to convert an unmodified cytosine to uracil or a nucleobase which is read as thymine/uracil.” The first and second polynucleotides of copending application ‘085 are encompassed by the at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion comprising the first and second polynucleotides. Copending claims 1-3 anticipate instant claim 1.
Regarding instant claims 2-4, 19, 29-30, 34-35, 44, and 62, copending claims 2-4, 19, 29-30, 35-36, 53, and 62 respectively require identical or equivalent language. Therefore, the copending claims anticipate the respective instant claims.
Regarding instant claim 63, copending claim 63 requires sequencing polynucleotide sequences to detect modified cytosines, comprising: preparing polynucleotide sequences for detection of modified cytosines using a method according to claim 1;concurrently sequencing nucleobases in the first portion and the second portion; and identifying modified cytosines by detecting differences when comparing a sequence output from the first portion with a sequence output from the second portion.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JESSICA GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682