DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 8-20, in the reply filed on 07/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions are capable of being used together, do not have a materially different design or mode of operation, and the inventions overlap in scope. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are mutually exclusive and have a materially different design insofar as the structure of Group I requires a compressible material whereas the structure of Group II required a first and second heat transfer device.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al (US 2024/0347832).
Regarding claim 8, Jang teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery assemblies, and a pack of housing configured to accommodate the battery assemblies. The pack housing includes a unit frame assembly (0010). In figures 2 and 3, a plurality of battery modules 10 are shown as being installed in a pack housing 21 of a battery pack 20. Each battery module 10 is installed between partition walls 22 provided on a base plate 23 of the pack housing 21. A heat transfer member l’ made of a thermal conductive adhesive or the like may be disposed between the battery module and the base plate 23 on which the module is mounted. A cooling plate 24 is disposed below the base plate 23 (0067). The heat transfer member l’ is considered to be the instantly claimed first heat transfer device and the cooling plate 24 is considered to be the second heat transfer device thermally coupled with the heat transfer device l’.
Regarding claim 9, Jang teaches in figures 2 and 3, a plurality of battery modules 10 being installed in a pack housing 21 of a battery pack 20. Each battery module 10 is installed between partition walls 22 provided on a base plate 23 of the pack housing 21 (0067).
Regarding claim 10, Jang teaches the batteries can be connected in series (0004).
Regarding claim 11, Jang teaches the battery cells to be stacked and surfaces of adjacent battery cells may be fixed to each other through double-sided tape (0076) which is considered to be a compressible material.
Regarding claim 13, Jang teaches a cooling plate 24 is disposed below the base plate 23 (0067).
Regarding claim 14, Jang teaches busbar assemblies 120 which are coupled to electrode leads at the front and rear end portions of the cell stack base unit 100. The busbar assembly 120 may include an inter-busbar 122 that electrically connected the battery cells (0077).
Regarding claim 15, Jang shows in figure 2 the battery cells arranged with alternating positive and negative terminals along a first edge of the frame, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (US 2024/0347832)
Regarding claim 12, Jang teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery assemblies, as discussed above. A heat transfer member l’ made of a thermal conductive adhesive or the like may be disposed between the battery module and the base plate 23 on which the module is mounted. A cooling plate 24 is disposed below the base plate 23 (0067). The heat transfer member l’ is considered to be the instantly claimed first heat transfer device and the cooling plate 24 is considered to be the second heat transfer device thermally coupled with the heat transfer device l’.
Jang does not explicitly teach the first heat transfer device to be a metal conductor, as claimed.
As Jang teaches the heat transfer member to be a thermal conductive adhesive, or the like, it is considered that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize any known heat transfer device, such as a metal conductor, as such would have been well within the purview of an ordinarily skilled artisan without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, Jang teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery assemblies, and a pack of housing configured to accommodate the battery assemblies. The pack housing includes a unit frame assembly (0010). In figures 2 and 3, a plurality of battery modules 10 are shown as being installed in a pack housing 21 of a battery pack 20. Each battery module 10 is installed between partition walls 22 provided on a base plate 23 of the pack housing 21. A heat transfer member l’ made of a thermal conductive adhesive or the like may be disposed between the battery module and the base plate 23 on which the module is mounted. A cooling plate 24 is disposed below the base plate 23 (0067). The heat transfer member l’ is considered to be the instantly claimed first heat transfer device and the cooling plate 24 is considered to be the second heat transfer device thermally coupled with the heat transfer device l’.
Jang does not explicitly teach the housing being shaped to fit within a powertrain compartment of a heavy-duty vehicle after a fuel-based powertrain is removed from a chassis of the heavy-duty vehicle, as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to shape the housing in any shape dependent upon the desired use for the housed module as a means of design choice. It is noted that the claim is drawn to the battery module and not the heavy-duty vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, Jang teaches the batteries can be connected in series (0004). Jang shows in figure 2 the battery cells arranged with alternating positive and negative terminals along a first edge of the frame, as claimed.
Regarding claim 18, Jang teaches the batteries can be connected in series (0004).
Regarding claim 19, Jang teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery assemblies, as discussed above. A heat transfer member l’ made of a thermal conductive adhesive or the like may be disposed between the battery module and the base plate 23 on which the module is mounted. A cooling plate 24 is disposed below the base plate 23 (0067). The heat transfer member l’ is considered to be the instantly claimed first heat transfer device and the cooling plate 24 is considered to be the second heat transfer device thermally coupled with the heat transfer device l’.
Jang does not explicitly teach the first heat transfer device to be a metal conductor, as claimed.
As Jang teaches the heat transfer member to be a thermal conductive adhesive, or the like, it is considered that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize any known heat transfer device, such as a metal conductor, as such would have been well within the purview of an ordinarily skilled artisan without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, Jang teaches a cooling plate 24 is disposed below the base plate 23 (0067).
Conclusion
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 September 23, 2026