DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
The specific location of the driving circuit transistor or dummy transistor (claim 3) (not shown because the layer TFT extends from the display area AA into the non-display area NA and it is unclear); and
The metal layers of the transistor (claim 5) (transistor only shown as layer TFT with no metal layers specified)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a transistor electrically connected to a pad disposed in the pad area, and disposed in the non-display area” in lines 2-3. It is unclear as to whether the transistor itself is disposed in the non-display area or if due to the pad being disposed in the non-display area, the electrical connection to the pad area has to happen in the non-display area. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “a transistor disposed in the non-display
area, electrically connected to a pad disposed in the pad area”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "another metal material" in the second line. The claim is unclear as to what the ‘other’ metal material is referring to, and if the metal material stated in the claim is required to be distinctly different from that previous metal. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as, “a metal material”.
Dependent claims 3 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on their dependency on parent claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s)
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Jaehyeong et al. (US 2021/0134931 A1; hereinafter Kim 931) in view of Kim Jae Hong et al. (KR 2021/0086029 A; hereinafter Kim 029).
Regarding claim 1, Kim 931 teaches a display device (Fig. 4, 10, 11), comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 11: substrate 101) including a display area (Fig. 10: AA) and a non-display area (Fig. 10: “The non-display area corresponds to the edge area of the display panel”; [0258]);
a pad area (Fig. 10: lower end portion of the display panel; [0262]) disposed in the non-display area (“The non-display area includes a pad area… plurality of pads 155”; [0262]);
a printed circuit board electrically connected to the pad area;
an encapsulation layer (115h; [0299]) formed of a metal material (Fig. 11: 115h; "may be formed of… or aluminum oxide (AlyOz); [0143]) and disposed on the substrate (Fig. 11);
a protection layer (Fig. 11: planarization layer 115e) formed of a non-metallic material (“may be formed of one or more materials selected from among acrylic resin…”; [0116]) and disposed on the encapsulation layer (Fig. 11: layers 115h and 115e shown disposed on each other);
a heat dissipation plate disposed on the protection layer; and
a ground member (Fig. 11: doped layer 145 and electrode 533; [0267]) positioned on the substrate and connected between the pad area and the encapsulation layer (Fig. 11: electrode 533 in contact with encapsulation layer 115h and “may be connected to the pads 145”; [0268]).
Kim 029 discloses the following claim limitations not disclosed in Kim 931:
a printed circuit board (Fig. 5: circuit element 161, may be a flexible printed circuit (fpc); Pg. 105, [0142]) electrically connected to the pad area (Fig. 5, “161 may be bonded to the pad part through an anisotropic conductive film”; Pg. 104, [0141]);
a heat dissipation plate (Fig. 8: heat dissipation sheet 180; Pg. 126 [0178]) disposed on the protection layer (Fig. 8: back cover 101, “can serve to cushion external shocks”; [0170]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim 931 with the PCB and heat dissipation sheet of Kim 029 in order to provide signals to the display area, and to evenly dissipate heat from the display device.
Regarding claim 2, Kim 931 teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a transistor (“a driver IC… can be implemented as transistors”; [0076]) electrically connected to a pad disposed in the pad area (“A driver IC, a driving circuit, or a flexible film may be connected to the pad area through the plurality of pads 155”; [0077]), and disposed in the non-display area (stated that it “may be disposed in the non-display area”; [0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim 931 teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the transistor includes a driving circuit transistor included in a gate driving circuit disposed in the non-display area or a dummy transistor disposed in the non-display area (“the driver IC may include a gate driver, a data driver, and the like”, with the driving circuit and gate driving circuit are analogous with a gate driver and the data driver respectively; [0076]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim 931 teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the ground member (Fig. 11: 533 and 145) includes:
a ground pattern (Fig. 11: electrode 533, “extending through a plurality of contact holes 540 is electrically connected to the doped layer (or conductive layer) 145… may also be connected (or grounded) to the low-potential power supply line”) patterned on the substrate to have a preset shape and electrically connect the transistor to the pad area (Fig. 10, 4, 2: 533 “formed by extending the cathode of the light emitting element”, in which the light emitting element is stated to be 130 and connecting to the transistor through lines 117 and 116, and is also connected to the pads 155, [0053] – [0055], [0268] – [0269]); and
a conductive member (Fig. 11 doped layer 145) surrounding a portion of the protection layer, the encapsulation layer, and the ground pattern (Fig. 10: doped layer 145 shown having a “quadrangular frame shape” surrounding the edge of the non-display area, thereby surrounding all other layers presently disclosed; [0271] – [0273]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim 931 teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein: the ground pattern is formed on a same layer as at least one metal layer of the transistor (Fig. 4 and 11: ground pattern 533 connected to layer 145 via plurality of contact holes 540, extending through layers 115f to 110, which extends past the transistor layers 115a to 115e, shown in Fig. 4 with transistor 120)
Regarding claim 6, Kim 931 teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the ground pattern extends to the pad area along an edge of the substrate (Fig. 10: electrode 533 shown “extend[ing] in a direction towards the non-display area as to overlap a portion of the doped layer 145”, and may be connected to the pads 155 in a “rectangular shape”; [0274] and [0296]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim 931 teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the ground pattern is formed by depositing another metal material on the substrate (the second electrode 533 stated that it “may be formed of a metallic material”; [0269]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim 931 teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the conductive member is formed to cover:
a side rear surface of the ground pattern (Fig. 11: doped layer 145 disposed below 533);
a side portion of the encapsulation layer and the protection layer (Fig. 10-11: layer 145 disposed below and covering the bottom side of layers 115h and 115e, as well has surrounding the embodiment from a planar view);
and a rear surface of the protection layer (Fig. 11: a rear surface of the layer 115e is covered by the doped layer 145 “formed to overlap a portion of the display area as well as the non-display area”; [0286]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim 931 does not explicitly teach the display device of claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation plate is attached to the protection layer through an adhesive.
However, Kim 029 teaches the heat dissipation plate (Fig. 8: 180) is attached to the protection layer (Fig. 8: 101) through an adhesive (Fig. 8: back plate 101 is attached to cushion tape 170 by an adhesive PSA, which is then attached to heat dissipation sheet 180; Pg. 124 - 126 [0175] – [0178]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim 931 with the adhesive of Kim 029 in order to connect the heat dissipation plate to the protective layer.
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 931 in view of Kim 029 and in further view of Kim Sang Youn et al. (KR 2008/0010108 A; hereinafter Kim 108).
Regarding claim 8, Kim 931 doesn’t teach the display device of claim 4, wherein the ground pattern is formed by attaching a conductive tape to the substrate.
However, Kim 108 teaches wherein the ground pattern is formed by attaching a conductive tape to the substrate (Fig. 5: A conductive tape 800 for grounding attached to the tft substrate 112 of the LCD panel 110; Pg. 16, [0071] – [0073]). Kim 108 also teaches that the conductive tape connects multiple gate drive chips and connected earths, serving to further stabilize the ground voltage of the gate drivers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim 931 with the conductive tape of Kim 108 in order to stabilize the ground voltage of the gate drivers.
Regarding claim 12, Kim 931 does not explicitly teach the display device of claim 1, further comprising a chip-on-film electrically connecting the pad area to the printed circuit board.
However, Kim 108 teaches a chip-on-film (Fig. 1: flexible circuit board 125, stated that a flexible circuit board could be a COF: Pg. 21) electrically connecting the pad area to the printed circuit board (Fig. 1 and 2: 125 connected to data-side and gate-side printed circuit board (130, 135) and the pad area formed of electrode pads 114: Pg. 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim 931 with the circuit board connection of Kim 108 in order to apply external image signals and gate driving signals to the thin-film transistors.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 931 in view of Kim 029 and in further view of Karenzos, Marcos et al. (US 2002/0127778 A1; hereinafter Karenzos).
Regarding claim 10, Kim 931 does not explicitly teach the display device of claim 4, wherein the conductive member is formed of silver (Ag) and has a spherical surface.
However, Karenzos teaches the conductive member (Fig. 2-3: parts 72,73, and 74) is formed of silver (Ag) (Fig. 2-3: silver plated sites 74: [0038]) and has a spherical surface (Fig. 2-3: ground ball 72: [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim 931 with the ground balls of Karenzos, in order to provide better conductivity to ground by filling or replacing the contact holes with the ground balls.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 931 in view of Kim 029 and in further view of Kim Tae Hyuck et al. (KR 2008/0021985 A; hereinafter Kim 985)
Regarding claim 13, Kim 931 does not explicitly teach the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a back cover covering a rear surface of the substrate; and
a conductive gasket disposed between the back cover and the printed circuit board.
However, Kim 985 teaches:
a back cover covering a rear surface of the substrate (Fig. 5 and 7: bottom cover 150); and
a conductive gasket (Fig. 7: conductive member 140) disposed between the back cover and the printed circuit board (Fig. 7: connected between bottom cover 150 and printed circuit board 120).
Kim 985 also teaches, that the conductive member creates an even gap between the PCB, and the case of the display improving the appearance quality of the display (Pg. 15, para. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim 931 with the back cover and gasket of Kim 985 in order to improve the appearance quality of the display.
Regarding claim 14, Kim 931 does not teach the display device of claim 13, wherein the back cover includes a ground potential, and wherein the conductive gasket is electrically connected to the ground potential of the back cover and the printed circuit board.
However, Kim 985 teaches the back cover includes a ground potential (Bottom cover is grounded and can “easily discharge the static electricity flowing from the outside”; [ Pg. 16, para. 5), and wherein the conductive gasket is electrically connected to the ground potential of the back cover and the printed circuit board (Fig. 7: “conductive member 140 electrically connects the ground pattern 124 and bottom cover of the printed circuit board 120”; Pg. 16, last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim 931 with the back cover of Kim 985 in order to discharge the static electricity to the back cover of the display.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN HOANG TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817