DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The objection to the title has been withdrawn in view of the amendment thereto.
Drawings
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in view of the amendments to Figs 5 and 10 as well as the remarks regarding claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka (US 2024/0155816) in view of Hughes et al. (US 2010/0027220 – hereinafter, “Hughes”).
With respect to claim 1, Matsuoka teaches (In Figs 1-10) an electronic device (1) comprising: a housing (2); a substrate (8) disposed in an interior of the housing; an electronic element (14) mounted on the substrate; a first cooling member (15) in contact with the electronic element and configured to absorb heat generated by the electronic element; a second cooling member (12) spaced apart from the electronic element and configured to circulate air into and out of the housing, and a heat dissipation member (3) configured to dissipate heat to the outside of the housing, wherein the second cooling member includes a fan (12) coupled to the housing and configured to draw the air from the outside to the inside of the housing, and a second guide portion guiding, toward the heat dissipation member (3), a flow of another portion of the air drawn to the inside of the housing by the fan (See Fig A below).
Matsuoka fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the first cooling member includes: a heat pipe including a first end in contact with the electronic element and a second end spaced apart from the first end, and configured to transfer the heat received from the electronic element from the first end toward the second end; and a heat dissipation member in contact with the heat pipe and configured to dissipate heat received from the heat pipe to the outside of the housing, a first guide portion guiding, toward the heat pipe, a flow of a portion of the air drawn to the inside of the housing by the fan.
Hughes, however, teaches (In Fig 4) a first cooling member includes: a heat pipe (401) including a first end in contact with an electronic element (108) and a second end spaced apart from the first end (See Fig 4), and configured to transfer the heat received from the electronic element from the first end toward the second end; and a heat dissipation member (111) in contact with the heat pipe and configured to dissipate heat received from the heat pipe to an outside of a housing (100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hughes with that of Matsuoka, such that the first cooling member of Matsuoka includes: a heat pipe including a first end in contact with the electronic element and a second end spaced apart from the first end, and configured to transfer the heat received from the electronic element from the first end toward the second end; and a heat dissipation member in contact with the heat pipe and configured to dissipate heat received from the heat pipe to the outside of the housing, since doing so would increase heat removal from the electronic element (14) and further allow for the heat to be dispersed further away from the element. See Fig A below for how the heat pipe of Hughes is placed within the electronic device of Matsuoka.
With respect to the limitations requiring that a first guide portion guiding, toward the heat pipe, a flow of a portion of the air drawn to the inside of the housing by the fan, these limitations are taught by the combination of Matsuoka and Hughes as per Fig A below.
With respect to claim 3, Matsuoka as modified by Hughes teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Hughes further teaches that the heat pipe (401) is disposed to face a topmost substrate (Substrate below 108) vertically on an upper side of the housing (100, see Figs 1 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hughes with that of Matsuoka, such that, in Matsuoka the heat pipe is disposed to face a topmost substrate vertically on an upper side of the housing, as taught by Hughes since doing so would increase heat removal from the electronic element (14) and further allow for the heat to be dispersed further away from the element. See Fig A above for how the heat pipe of Hughes is placed within the electronic device of Matsuoka.
With respect to claim 4, Matsuoka as modified by Hughes further teaches the heat dissipation member includes: a heat dissipation body (3) coupled to the housing (2) and in contact with the heat pipe (See Fig A above); a first heat dissipation portion (See Fig B below) protruding from the heat dissipation body toward the outside of the housing (See Figs 11, B); and a second heat dissipation portion (See Fig B below) protruding from the heat dissipation body toward the outside of the housing and spaced apart from the first heat dissipation portion (See Figs 11, B).
With respect to claim 5, Matsuoka further teaches that a volume of the second heat dissipation portion is greater than a volume of the first heat dissipation portion (See Fig B above, the second heat dissipation portion has a larger area than the first heat dissipation portion and appears to have the same depth thus the second heat dissipation portion has more volume than the first heat dissipation portion).
With respect to claim 6, Matsuoka further teaches that the first heat dissipation portion is disposed between the first end and the second end (See Fig A above, 13a is disposed between the left and right ends of the heat pipe).
With respect to claim 8, Matsuoka as modified by Hughes teaches the limitations of claim 4 as per above and Matsuoka as modified by Hughes further teaches that the first guide portion includes: an inner channel disposed between the substrate and the second end (See Fig A above); and a discharge hole (Matsuoka Fig 4b) penetrating through the housing or the heat dissipation body and configured to discharge the air drawn into the inner channel to the outside of the housing (See Fig A above).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka in view of Hughes and further in view of Matsuoka (JP 2022-15561 – hereinafter, “Matsuoka-561”).
With respect to claim 11, Matsuoka as modified by Hughes teaches the limitations of claim 4 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of claim 11.
Matsuoka-561, however, teaches that a second guide portion includes: an outer channel (Channel between 18) externally disposed on a housing (2) in a position facing a first heat dissipation portion (18); and a transfer hole (21) penetrating through a heat dissipation body (19) so as to be connected to the outer channel and configured to transfer the air drawn to the inside of the housing to the outer channel (See Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsuoka-561 with that of Matsuoka as modified by Hughes, such that Matsuoka further includes an outer channel externally disposed on the housing in a position facing a first heat dissipation portion; and a transfer hole penetrating through a heat dissipation body so as to be connected to the outer channel and configured to transfer the air drawn to the inside of the housing to the outer channel, as taught by Matsuoka-561, since doing so would allow for convective flow over the heat dissipation member thus increasing cooling of the heat dissipation member.
With respect to claim 12, Matsuoka as modified by Hughes and Matsuoka-561 teaches the limitations of claim 11 as per above and Matsuoka-561 further teaches that the outer channel includes a form of a groove that is recessed downwardly from a top surface of the heat dissipation member (See Fig 5, the top of 2 has grooves therein).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsuoka-561 with that of Matsuoka, such that, in Matsuoka, the outer channel includes a form of a groove that is recessed downwardly from a top surface of the heat dissipation member, as taught by Matsuoka-561, since doing so would allow for convective flow over the heat dissipation member thus increasing cooling of the heat dissipation member.
With respect to claim 13, Matsuoka as modified by Hughes and Matsuoka-561 teaches the limitations of claim 12 as per above and Matsuoka-561 further teaches a first heat dissipation portion (18) is provided in plural (See Fig 5 which shows multiple heat dissipation portions (18)) so that the outer channel is disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of first heat dissipation portions (See Fig 5, there are multiple channels formed by the plurality of heat dissipation portions (18)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsuoka-561 with that of Matsuoka, such that, a first heat dissipation portion is provided in plural so that the outer channel is disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of first heat dissipation portions, as taught by Matsuoka-561, since doing so would allow for additional heat transfer away from the electronic device of Matsuoka.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka in view of Hughes and further in view of Ushijima (US 2012/0043652).
With respect to claims 9-10, Matsuoka in view of Hughes teaches the limitations of claim 8 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a gap between the substrate and the second end is greater than a gap between the substrate and the first end, a stepped portion formed with first and second ends disposed crosswise with respect to the first end and the second end.
Ushijima, however, teaches (In Fig 4) a heat pipe (20) and a gap between a substrate (46) and a second end of the heat pipe (20) is greater than a gap between the substrate and a first end of the heat pipe (20, see Fig 4), a stepped portion (Inclined portion of 20) formed with first and second ends (Left end of the stepped portion, and right end of the stepped portion, respectively) disposed crosswise with respect to the first end and the second end (See Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ushijima with that of Matsuoka as modified by Hughes, such that, in modified Matsuoka a gap between the substrate and the second end is greater than a gap between the substrate and the first end, a stepped portion formed with first and second ends disposed crosswise with respect to the first end and the second end, as taught by Ushijima, since doing so would allow for the heat pipe to follow the profile the bottom side of the heat dissipation body of Matsuoka thus allowing for additional space for components on the substrate, if desired. See Fig C below for how Matsuoka would be further modified in view of Ushijima.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 14-16, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 14 and at least in part because claim 14 recites, “a first blocking member disposed between the first heat dissipation portion and the second heat dissipation portion and configured to block moisture from entering the outer channel”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 14 are believed to render said claim 14 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Matsuoka, Hughes, and Matsuoka-561 together teach many of the limitations of claim 14 as per the above rejection to claim 11, neither Matsuoka nor Hughes nor Natsuoka-561 nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 14.
With respect to claims 17-19, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 17 and at least in part because claim 17 recites, “a second blocking member protruding from the outer channel toward the transfer hole and configured to block moisture from entering the inside of the housing”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 17 are believed to render said claim 17 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Matsuoka, Hughes, and Matsuoka-561 together teach many of the limitations of claim 17 as per the above rejection to claim 11, neither Matsuoka nor Hughes nor Natsuoka-561 nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 17.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 that, “Applicant respectfully submits that Matsuoka, Hughes, Matsuoka 561, Ushujima, taken individually or combined, fail to teach or suggest inventive features of the presently claimed invention, i) wherein the first cooling member includes: a heat pipe including a first end in contact with the electronic element and a second end spaced apart from the first end, and configured to transfer the heat received from the electronic element from the first end toward the second end; and a heat dissipation member in contact with the heat pipe and configured to dissipate heat received from the heat pipe to the outside of the housing, and ii) wherein the second cooling member includes: a fan coupled to the housing and configured to draw the air from the outside to the inside of the housing; a first guide portion guiding, toward the heat pipe, a flow of a portion of the air drawn to the inside of the housing by the fan; and a second guide portion guiding, toward the heat dissipation member, a flow of another portion of the air drawn to the inside of the housing by the fan, as is called for by claim 1.” (Present remarks page 9) the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As per the above rejection to claim 1, Matsuoka teaches an electronic device comprising: a housing; a substrate disposed in an interior of the housing; and electronic element mounted on the substrate; a first cooling member in contact with the electronic element and configured to absorb heat generated by the electronic element; a heat dissipation member in contact with the first cooling member and configured to dissipate heat received from the first cooling member to the outside of the housing, and a second cooling member spaced apart from the electronic element and configured to circulate air into and out of the housing, wherein the second cooling member includes: a fan coupled to the housing and configured to draw the air from the outside to the inside of the housing; and a second guide portion guiding, toward the heat dissipation member, a flow of another portion of the air drawn to the inside of the housing by the fan (See Fig A above).
Matsuoka fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the first cooling member includes: a heat pipe including a first end in contact with the electronic element and a second end spaced apart from the first end, and configured to transfer the heat received from the electronic element from the first end toward the second end; and a heat dissipation member in contact with the heat pipe and configured to dissipate heat received from the heat pipe to the outside of the housing, and, consequently, a first guide portion guiding, toward the heat pipe, a flow of a portion of the air drawn to the inside of the housing by the fan.
These limitations, however are easily remedied by Hughes where Hughes teaches a first cooling member includes: a heat pipe including a first end in contact with an electronic element and a second end spaced apart from the first end, and configured to transfer the heat received from the electronic element from the first end toward the second end; and a heat dissipation member in contact with the heat pipe and configured to dissipate heat received from the heat pipe to the outside of a housing. And it is the COMBINATION of Matsuoka and Hughes that teaches a first guide portion guiding, toward the heat pipe, a flow of a portion of the air drawn to the inside of the housing by the fan since, once Matsuoka is modified to include the heat pipe as taught by Hughes, the combination then discloses the claimed first guide portion as per Fig A above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835