DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This is a response to Applicant’s amendment filed 15 July 2026, wherein:
Claims 1 and 4-8 are amended.
Claims 2 and 3 are canceled.
Claims 1 and 4-8 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 2 does not illustrate what the specification recites that it illustrates. In particular, para. 21 of the specification recites that Fig. 2 illustrates the user moving their head back and forth. Moving the head back and forth is motion in the sagittal plane. However, Fig. 2 illustrates the user tilting their to the left and to the right, which is in the frontal plane. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 has been amended to be inconsistently formatted. In particular, some limitations end with a semi-colon while others end a comma. Uniformity is recommended. Conventional practice is to use the semi-colon.
Claim 8 has been amended to recite “motion motion” in line 3 of the claim.
Dependent claims 4, 5, 7, and 8 inherit the deficiencies of their respective parent claims, and are thus objected to under the same rationale.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 4-8, it is unclear how the LEDs “visually indicate the user’s state of attentiveness,… the red LEDs indicating a first state of attentiveness” in claims 1 and 6, “the yellow LEDs indicating a second state of attentiveness, the second state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness” in claims 4 and 7, and “the green LEDs indicating a third state of attentiveness of the user, the third state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness” in claims 5 and 8. In particular, independent claims 1 and 6 recite that the LEDs are configured to be illuminated when motion is detected by the motion sensor… to visually indicate the user’s state of attentiveness. However, the claims and disclosure are silent regarding linking motion to attentiveness. In other words, the LEDs illuminate based on rate of motion but there’s no analysis of that motion to determine an amount of attentiveness. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the patent protection sought. Dependent claims 4, 5, 7, and 8 inherit the deficiencies of their respective parent claims, and are thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3-8, the disclosure fails to provide sufficient written description for the LEDs to “visually indicate the user’s state of attentiveness,… the red LEDs indicating a first state of attentiveness” in claims 1 and 6, “the yellow LEDs indicating a second state of attentiveness, the second state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness” in claims 4 and 7, and “the green LEDs indicating a third state of attentiveness of the user, the third state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness” in claims 5 and 8 to show one of ordinary skill in the art that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention. Claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See MPEP 2161.01(I). The specification, at best, merely recites that this function is performed without providing sufficient, if any, description of the steps, calculations, or formulas necessary to perform the claimed functionality. See, for example, at least para. 19-23 of the specification. For instance, para. 19 explicitly identifies that “LED light is configured to display one of three colors, e.g., green, red, and yellow, depending upon a movement or movement frequency of the wearer’s head.” Para. 20-23 recite the user is in various attentiveness mode and assert the drawings illustrate this. However, the drawings are silent regarding any illustration of attentiveness. They only show a face looking forward with the head either upright or tilted to the left or to the right. In other words, the drawings only illustrate some motion of the head. Furthermore, para. 20-23 are silent regarding any analysis of head motion as it relates to attentiveness. Thus, the disclosure is silent regarding any description for determining attentiveness of a user, let alone attentiveness based on head motion. Dependent claims 4, 5, 7, and 8 inherit the deficiencies of their respective parent claims, and are thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jorasch et al. (US 2021/0399911, hereinafter referred to as Jorasch).
Regarding claim 1, Jorasch teaches motion sensitive eyeglasses (Jorasch, para. 2091, “a frame-based headset (e.g., a glasses headset)”), comprising:
an eyeglass frame configured to be worn on a user’s head (Jorasch, para. 2091, “a frame-based headset (e.g., a glasses headset)”);
a motion sensor located along the eyeglass frame (Jorasch, para. 2091, “Sensors, cameras and microphones could be fitted in or on the frame of the glasses… could include… accelerometer”); and
LEDs located along the eyeglass frame (Jorasch, para. 2091, “Sensors, cameras and microphones could be fitted in or on the frame of the glasses… could include… lights”), wherein the LEDs are configured to be illuminated when motion is detected by the motion sensor in response to the user moving the user’s head back and forth while wearing the eyeglass frame on the user’s head to visually indicate the user’s state of attentiveness (Jorasch, para. 484, “Engagement may refer to one or more behaviors of an attendee as described herein. Such behaviors may include paying attention, focusing, making contributions to a discussion, performing a role (e.g., keeping notes), staying on topic, building upon the ideas of others, interacting with others in the meeting, or to any other behavior of interest. In some embodiments, headset 4000 or camera 4100 may provide data that informs the determining of an engagement level (e.g. detection of head drooping down, eyes closing, snoring sounds).” Para. 2217, “communication of the users status could take the form of light, motion, or sound from the user's headset. For example, the ear coverings of the headset could contain one or more LED lights”; para. 2445, “Devices according to various embodiments could allow an AI module to be trained that predicts the device owner's engagement level, mood, and level of alertness or attention.”),
wherein the LEDs include red LEDs, yellow LEDs and green LEDs (Jorasch, para. 2217, “A color scheme could be used such as Green, Yellow, and Red”),
wherein the red LEDs are configured to be illuminated when the motion sensor detects motion in response to the user moving the user’s head back and forth while wearing the eyeglass frame on the user’s head, the red LEDs indicating a first state of attentiveness of the user (Jorasch, para. 484, “Engagement may refer to one or more behaviors of an attendee as described herein. Such behaviors may include paying attention, focusing, making contributions to a discussion, performing a role (e.g., keeping notes), staying on topic, building upon the ideas of others, interacting with others in the meeting, or to any other behavior of interest. In some embodiments, headset 4000 or camera 4100 may provide data that informs the determining of an engagement level (e.g. detection of head drooping down, eyes closing, snoring sounds).” Detection of head drooping down is construed as back and forth motion of user’s head. Para. 2217, “communication of the users status could take the form of light, motion, or sound from the user's headset. For example, the ear coverings of the headset could contain one or more LED lights”; para. 2445, “Devices according to various embodiments could allow an AI module to be trained that predicts the device owner's engagement level, mood, and level of alertness or attention.”).
Regarding claim 6, Jorasch teaches a method of utilizing motion sensitive eyeglasses (Jorasch, Abstract, “methods… are provided for providing information about individuals, such as capabilities in the context of meetings.”), comprising:
wearing motion sensitive eyeglasses on a user’s head (Jorasch, para. 2091, “a frame-based headset (e.g., a glasses headset)”);
sensing a back and forth motion motion of the motion sensitive eyeglasses through a motion sensor located along a frame of the motion sensitive eyeglasses in response to the user moving the user’s head back and forth while wearing the motion sensitive eyeglasses on said user’s head (Jorasch, para. 2091, “Sensors, cameras and microphones could be fitted in or on the frame of the glasses… could include… accelerometer”; para. 2109, “The headset could be used as a head orientation tracker. Accelerometers located in the headband, ear cups, or other locations in the device could be used to detect head orientation in X, Y, Z coordinates, as well as tilt, pitch, velocity and acceleration of the head.”); and
illuminating red LEDs located along the frame of the motion sensitive eyeglasses when the back and forth motion is sensed by the motion sensor, the red LEDs visually indicating a first state of attentiveness of the user (Jorasch, para. 484, “Engagement may refer to one or more behaviors of an attendee as described herein. Such behaviors may include paying attention, focusing, making contributions to a discussion, performing a role (e.g., keeping notes), staying on topic, building upon the ideas of others, interacting with others in the meeting, or to any other behavior of interest. In some embodiments, headset 4000 or camera 4100 may provide data that informs the determining of an engagement level (e.g. detection of head drooping down, eyes closing, snoring sounds).” Detection of head drooping down is construed as back and forth motion of user’s head. Para. 2217, “communication of the users status could take the form of light, motion, or sound from the user's headset. For example, the ear coverings of the headset could contain one or more LED lights”; para. 2445, “Devices according to various embodiments could allow an AI module to be trained that predicts the device owner's engagement level, mood, and level of alertness or attention.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorasch et al. (US 2021/0399911, hereinafter referred to as Jorasch).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Jorasch teaches (claim 4) the motion sensitive eyeglasses as recited in claim 1, wherein the LEDs are illuminated when the motion sensor detects a decrease in back and forth motion of the user’s head, the yellow LEDs indicating a second state of attentiveness of the user (Jorasch, para. 484, “Engagement may refer to one or more behaviors of an attendee as described herein. Such behaviors may include paying attention, focusing, making contributions to a discussion, performing a role (e.g., keeping notes), staying on topic, building upon the ideas of others, interacting with others in the meeting, or to any other behavior of interest. In some embodiments, headset 4000 or camera 4100 may provide data that informs the determining of an engagement level (e.g. detection of head drooping down, eyes closing, snoring sounds).” Detection of head drooping down is construed as back and forth motion of user’s head. Para. 2217, “communication of the users status could take the form of light, motion, or sound from the user's headset. For example, the ear coverings of the headset could contain one or more LED lights”; para. 2445, “Devices according to various embodiments could allow an AI module to be trained that predicts the device owner's engagement level, mood, and level of alertness or attention.”).
Jorasch teaches (claim 5) the motion sensitive eyeglasses as recited in claim 1, wherein the LEDs are illuminated when the motion sensor does not detect back and forth motion of the user’s head, the green LEDs indicating a third state of attentiveness of the user (Jorasch, para. 484, “Engagement may refer to one or more behaviors of an attendee as described herein. Such behaviors may include paying attention, focusing, making contributions to a discussion, performing a role (e.g., keeping notes), staying on topic, building upon the ideas of others, interacting with others in the meeting, or to any other behavior of interest. In some embodiments, headset 4000 or camera 4100 may provide data that informs the determining of an engagement level (e.g. detection of head drooping down, eyes closing, snoring sounds).” Detection of head drooping down is construed as back and forth motion of user’s head. Para. 2217, “communication of the users status could take the form of light, motion, or sound from the user's headset. For example, the ear coverings of the headset could contain one or more LED lights”; para. 2445, “Devices according to various embodiments could allow an AI module to be trained that predicts the device owner's engagement level, mood, and level of alertness or attention.”).
While Jorasch teaches using a red, yellow, green visual alert scheme (identified above) to distinguish between user states, Jorasch does not explicitly teach which LED color is used for each motion detection scenario in claims 4 and 5, the second state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness in claim 4, and the third state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness in claim 5.
However these differences are only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. The method would be performed the same regardless of which order of the red, yellow, green colors are used to for each motion detection scenario and corresponding state of attentiveness. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Jorasch to illuminate the yellow LEDs when the motion sensor detects a decrease in motion and the second state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness and to illuminate the green LEDs when the motion sensor does not detect motion and the third state attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness because these color designations are merely a design choice that does not functionally relate to the steps claimed and has not been disclosed to solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose which does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Jorasch teaches (claim 7) the method as recited in claim 6, further comprising illuminating LEDs located along the frame of the motion sensitive eyeglasses when decreased motion is detected by the motion sensor, the yellow LEDs indicating a second state of attentiveness of the user (Jorasch, para. 484, “Engagement may refer to one or more behaviors of an attendee as described herein. Such behaviors may include paying attention, focusing, making contributions to a discussion, performing a role (e.g., keeping notes), staying on topic, building upon the ideas of others, interacting with others in the meeting, or to any other behavior of interest. In some embodiments, headset 4000 or camera 4100 may provide data that informs the determining of an engagement level (e.g. detection of head drooping down, eyes closing, snoring sounds).” Para. 2217, “communication of the users status could take the form of light, motion, or sound from the user's headset. For example, the ear coverings of the headset could contain one or more LED lights”; para. 2445, “Devices according to various embodiments could allow an AI module to be trained that predicts the device owner's engagement level, mood, and level of alertness or attention.”).
Jorasch teaches (claim 8) the method as recited in claim 6, further comprising illuminating LEDs located along the motion sensitive device when no motion is detected by the motion sensor, the green LEDs indicating a third state of attentiveness of the user (Jorasch, para. 484, “Engagement may refer to one or more behaviors of an attendee as described herein. Such behaviors may include paying attention, focusing, making contributions to a discussion, performing a role (e.g., keeping notes), staying on topic, building upon the ideas of others, interacting with others in the meeting, or to any other behavior of interest. In some embodiments, headset 4000 or camera 4100 may provide data that informs the determining of an engagement level (e.g. detection of head drooping down, eyes closing, snoring sounds).” Para. 2217, “communication of the users status could take the form of light, motion, or sound from the user's headset. For example, the ear coverings of the headset could contain one or more LED lights”; para. 2445, “Devices according to various embodiments could allow an AI module to be trained that predicts the device owner's engagement level, mood, and level of alertness or attention.”).
While Jorasch teaches using a red, yellow, green visual alert scheme (identified above) to distinguish between user states, Jorasch does not explicitly teach which LED color is used for each motion detection scenario in claims 7 and 8, the second state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness in claim 7, and the third state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness in claim 8.
However these differences are only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. The method would be performed the same regardless of which order of the red, yellow, green colors are used to for each motion detection scenario and corresponding state of attentiveness. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Jorasch to illuminate the yellow LEDs when decreased motion of the user’s head is detected by the motion sensor and the second state of attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness and to illuminate the green LEDs when no motion of the user’s head is detected by the motion sensor and the third state attentiveness corresponding to a higher level of attentiveness of the user than the first state of attentiveness because these color designations are merely a design choice that does not functionally relate to the steps claimed and has not been disclosed to solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose which does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the IDS have been fully considered. The updated IDS filed 15 July 2026 follows the most current Office guidance. This IDS has been considered.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In pg. 6-8, Applicant asserts that the specification as a whole and the drawings clearly demonstrate that the claims are definite and in compliance with 35 USC 112(b). Here, Applicant points to para. 3, 20, and 21 as support.
Examiner is not persuaded. As identified in the rejection, the claims and disclosure are silent regarding linking motion to attentiveness. The LEDs illuminate based on rate of motion, but there is no analysis of that motion to determine an amount of attentiveness. This is further evidenced in the instant claim amendments, wherein claims 1 and 6 each recite “the LEDs are configured to be illuminated when motion is detected by the motion sensor in response to the user moving the user's head back and forth while wearing the eyeglass frame on the user's head to visually indicate the user's state of attentiveness”. The LEDs illuminate when head motion is detected, but there the claims and the disclosure as a whole are silent regarding identifying a user’s state of attentiveness from analysis of head motion. Thus, it is unclear how the LEDs illuminate to visually indicate the user’s state of attentiveness.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112(a) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In pg. 10-12, Applicant asserts that the specification clearly conveys that the user’s level of inattentiveness is determined based on the frequency and/or duration of the user’s head motion. Here, Applicant points to para. 21 and 22 as support.
Examiner is not persuaded. One of ordinary skill in the art understands that head motion can mean many different things. A generic statement, provided in results-based language, that an indication that the user is not being attentive “based on the frequency and/or duration of the head motion” is insufficient as the disclosure does not provide any description of the analysis of frequency and/or duration of head motion to distinguish attentiveness from any other meaning tied to head motion. For example, there is no disclosure of any context analysis nor any description of identifying anything other than motion of the head. With respect to motion, the disclosure is silent regarding any description of analyzing the motion to determine a user’s state of attentiveness. As noted in the rejection, MPEP 2161.01(I) explicitly identifies that the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. Merely restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Jorasch does not teach the amendments to the claims.
Examiner is not persuaded. Applicant is directed to the rejections above which have been updated to address the amendments to the claims. For instance, in contrast to Applicant’s conclusory statement that a head drooping down is different from back and forth motion of the head, a head drooping down is, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, back and forth motion of the head because drooping down and back and forth motion are both forward and backward motion in the sagittal plane. Furthermore, Jorasch explicitly teaches “Accelerometers located in the headband, ear cups, or other locations in the device could be used to detect head orientation in X, Y, Z coordinates, as well as tilt, pitch, velocity and acceleration of the head." See Jorasch at para. 2109.
Conclusion
/DANIEL LANE/Examiner, Art Unit 3715