Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the new amendment overcomes the references, specifically Li and Long Chen. The limitations of pressurizing by 3.7 GPa and initial pressure of 1.0 GPa with a gradient controlled within 1.0 GPa.
Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Li addresses the new limitations. Li teaches pressurizing the pressure chamber by rotating a press bolt on the diamond anvil cell 1 (i.e., see how to close the diamond anvil cell 1, rotate pressurizing screws, and apply a high pressure to the photoelectric material 3, to make a pressure in the sample chamber reach a preset pressure) (Step 105) (Col. 4, Line 65 to Col. 5, Line 22), and conducting photoelectric detection using the pressurized semiconductor (Step 107) (Col. 4, Line 1 to Col. 5, Line 55).
See Figure 1 for a layout of the steps such as that taught by Li. FIG. 1 is a flowchart of a method for regulating a photoelectric spectral response range teaching many steps (Steps 101 to 107) similar to the present disclosure.
Notice that it would have been obvious to optimize the BiOBr photoelectric detection under pressure, because Li teaches pressure dependent photo response testing and Long Chen teaches BiOBr as a high-performance photoelectric detector material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 – 8, 16 and 19 - 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Patent 11,474,027 B1) in view of Long Chen et al. (High-performance UV detectors based on 2D CVD bismuth oxybromide single-crystal nanosheets, Journal of Materials Science & Technology, Volume 48, 2020, Pages 100-104).
With regards to claims 1 and 16, Li discloses a method for high pressure regulation and control of photoelectric detection based on semiconductor (Col 4, Lines 1 – 2), comprising:
inserting an insulation layer into a pressure chamber of a diamond anvil cell 1 and adding semiconductor (Step 101). Next disposing two platinum sheets 4 on the semiconductor as an electrode, and placing a pressure-calibrating substance 6 (Step 104) on a culet of the diamond anvil cell (Step 102);
See how by pre-pressurizing a gasket material 2 by using a diamond anvil cell 1, and a laser to drill a circular hole at the center of indentation creates a sample chamber. Notice how a T301 steel sheet used as the gasket material 2 is pre-pressurized by a thickness of about 40 μm, and a circular hole with a diameter of 120 μm is drilled by using a laser at the center of indentation as a sample chamber (Col. 4, Lines 15 – 34).
Li further teaches pressurizing the pressure chamber by rotating a press bolt on the diamond anvil cell 1 (i.e., see how to close the diamond anvil cell 1, rotate pressurizing screws, and apply a high pressure to the photoelectric material 3, to make a pressure in the sample chamber reach a preset pressure) (Step 105) (Col. 4, Line 65 to Col. 5, Line 22), and conducting photoelectric detection using the pressurized semiconductor (Step 107) (Col. 4, Line 1 to Col. 5, Line 55).
See Figure 1 for a layout of the steps such as that taught by Li. FIG. 1 is a flowchart of a method for regulating a photoelectric spectral response range teaching many steps (Steps 101 to 107) similar to the present disclosure.
Li fails to expressly disclose the photoelectric detection using the BiOBr and 3.7 GPa and the exact initial pressure of 1.0 GPa or the exact pressure gradient of 1.0 GPa.
Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Notice that Li teaches pressure as the controlled variable, teaches an initial pressure of 1.2 GPa, teaches a pressure gradient with 1.5 GPa, teaches test pressures across 1.2 – 5.8 GPa, and teaches that photo response appears and is enhances as pressure increases (Figure 1) (Col 1, Lines 1-2) (Col. 3, Lines 1-16) (Col. 5, Lines 23-51) (Col. 4, Lines 15 -41) Steps 101-102) (Col 4, Line 34 to Col 5, Line 51). Therefore, selecting 3.7 GPa an using a smaller initial enhanced as pressure increase. Therefore selecting 3.7 GPa and using a smaller initial pressure and/or gradient would have been routine optimization of known workable pressure parameters.
Long Chen discloses a photoactive photodetector including BiOBr (Abstract) Fig. 3(a) shows the schematic diagram of the photodetector under the UV light as shown in Fig. 3(c), the stable current change with incident light on/off operation confirms the long-term cyclability and stability of the BiOBr-based photodetectors (3. Results and discussion).
In view of the utility, to create stable current, stability and a predictable photo response measurement under pressure or when needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Long Chen. Notice that it would have been obvious to optimize the BiOBr photoelectric detection under pressure, because Li teaches pressure dependent photo response testing and Long Chen teaches BiOBr as a high-performance photoelectric detector material.
With regards to claim 4, Li discloses the pressure- calibrating substance comprises ruby (Step 104) (Col. 4, Line 64).
With regards to claim 6, Li discloses the pressure chamber is pressurized by rotating a press bolt on the diamond anvil cell at pressure points. Li teaches initial pressures is set to 1.2 GPa, and a pressure gradient is kept within 1.5 GPa. The high-pressure ranges from 1.2 GPa to 5.8 GPa. Selected test pressures are 1.2 GPa, 2.5 GPa, 4.6 GPa, and 5.8 GPa, respectively, and the test pressures are preset pressures (Step 105) (Col. 4, Line 65 to Col. 5, Line 21).
Li teaches that the high-pressure range is not limited to those values. Li fails to expressly teach 1.0 GPa, 1.9 GPa, 2.5 GPa, 3.1 GPa, and 3.7 GPa as a specific grouping. Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li to include the specific grouping such as is claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to include a grouping of high pressures as claimed for the purpose of providing routine parameter selection/optimization according to application requirements to regulate a photoelectron spectral response range.
With regards to claims 7 and 19, Li discloses, as shown in FIG. 5, the system for regulating a photoelectric spectral response range includes: a diamond anvil cell 1, a gasket material 2, a photoelectric material 3, two platinum electrodes 4, and a digital source-meter 5. The diamond anvil cell 1 includes pressurizing screws, and the pressurizing screws are configured to apply a high pressure to the photoelectric material by rotating pressurizing screws, and apply a high pressure to the photoelectric material 3, to make a pressure in the sample chamber reach a preset pressure (Step 105) (Embodiment 6), (Col 4, Line 1 to Col. 5, Line 22), (Col. 7, Lines 40 to Col. 8, Line 5).
Notice how the gasket material 2 includes a sample chamber, and culet faces of the diamond anvil cell 1 are embedded in the sample chamber; and the photoelectric material 3 is placed in the sample chamber, the culets are on the photoelectric material 3, and the photoelectric material 3 and the sample chamber are insulated from each other. Two ends of the photoelectric material 3 each are connected to one of the platinum electrodes 4, and the two electrodes are respectively connected to probes of the digital source-meter 5; and the digital source-meter 5 (i.e., Keithley digital source meter 2461; see Col. 4, Line 48) is used to apply a 5 V bias voltage to the photoelectric material 3 and display a current-time curve at a preset pressure (Embodiment 6), (Col 4, Line 1 to Col. 5, Line 22), (Col. 7, Lines 40 to Col. 8, Line 5).
Li also teaches using a high-pressure in-situ photoelectric experimental technology to apply a high pressure to the semiconductor iodine, to change the size of a band gap and thereby regulate its photoelectric spectral response range (Col. 7, Line 62 – Col. 8, Line 5).
Lastly, Li also teaches connecting two 0.1-mm wires to the two electrodes to one probe of the digital source-meter 5, and connecting the other end of the other wire to the other probe of the digital source-meter 5 (Step 103), (Embodiment 6), (Col 4, Line 1 to Col. 5, Line 22), (Col. 7, Lines 40 to Col. 8, Line 5). Notice the electronic shutter used to precisely control a time with or without illumination. The time with/without illumination is set to 30 seconds, and one cycle is 60 seconds. By recording and observing current-time curves for 5 cycles, it is determined whether the semiconductor has a photo response to the irritating light (Step 106) (Col. 5, Lines 23 – 51).
Li modified fails to specifically discloses that the wire is a copper wire (i.e., Li teaches a general wire not copper), a bias voltage of 10 V (i.e., Li teaches a 5 V bias), a pulse frequency of 1 Hz and 0.5 on/off (Li teaches using 30 seconds on/30 seconds off).
Chen teaches a pressurized photelectric detection including a BiOBr photodetector device performing time-resolved photo response (I-t) measurements at Vds = 10 V under irradiation, including applying periodic light on/off (i.e., supporting shorter timing is meaningful), evaluating performances metrics including responsivity with variable P (i.e., optical power density: 15, 60, 95, 150, 225 μW/cm2), response speed via rise/decay times (i.e., about 80ms / 40ms).
Li and Chen fail to expressly disclose the precise 1 Hz, irradiation time is 0.5s and that the wire is copper.
Notice that the Supreme Court noted in KSR that an obviousness “analysis need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim” because one “can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 418.
Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li and Chen to include the precise nominal values for laser frequency, irradiation time and the wire being copper, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to include these limitations for the purpose of improving the total detection and/or to enhance the responsivity and response speed from the I-t cures as pressure changes.
With regards to claim 8, Li discloses a laser 8 is used to irradiate the semiconductor through the diamonds, and an optical power density of the laser irradiated onto the semiconductor is about 0.8 mW/cm2.
Li fails to expressly disclose that the pulse laser irradiates the semiconductor at an optical power density of 0.3 mW/cm2.
Chen teaches a pressurized photelectric detection based on BiOB, wherein in order to better compare the performance of different kinds of detectors, the critical parameters of R, EQE and D* were calculated to evaluate the photo detecting performance of BiOBr-based photodetector through Eqs. (2–4):
where I (light)=I(current)-I(dark) is the photocurrent, Icurrent is the total current under the light, Idark is dark current, P is the optical power density, and S is the area of the device, h is the Planck’s constant, c is the velocity of light, is the wavelength of incident light and e is the charge of unit electron).
Chen teaches that responsivity and detectivity change with optical power density, including R, D can improve with reduced optical power due to photogating/trapped states.
Fig.4. (a) Power dependent curves under 340nm light irradiation; (b)Corresponding fitting curve between light power density and photocurrent and (c) The calculated R, D* of BiOBr based photodetectors. As such, Chen teaches routine optimization of a result-effective variable (i.e., optical power density).
Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li and Chen to include the claimed power density, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to obtain the desired I-t photo response behavior (as a need that is application specific) for the purpose of optimizing for stability and greater responsibility.
With regards to claims 20 and 21, Li discloses a method for high pressure regulation and control of photoelectric detection based on semiconductor (Col 4, Lines 1 – 2), comprising:
inserting an insulation layer into a pressure chamber of a diamond anvil cell 1 and adding semiconductor (Step 101). Next disposing two platinum sheets 4 on the semiconductor as an electrode, and placing a pressure-calibrating substance 6 (Step 104) on a culet of the diamond anvil cell (Step 102);
See how by pre-pressurizing a gasket material 2 by using a diamond anvil cell 1, and a laser to drill a circular hole at the center of indentation creates a sample chamber. Notice how a T301 steel sheet used as the gasket material 2 is pre-pressurized by a thickness of about 40 μm, and a circular hole with a diameter of 120 μm is drilled by using a laser at the center of indentation as a sample chamber (Col. 4, Lines 15 – 34).
Li further teaches pressurizing the pressure chamber by rotating a press bolt on the diamond anvil cell 1 (i.e., see how to close the diamond anvil cell 1, rotate pressurizing screws, and apply a high pressure to the photoelectric material 3, to make a pressure in the sample chamber reach a preset pressure) (Step 105) (Col. 4, Line 65 to Col. 5, Line 22), and conducting photoelectric detection using the pressurized semiconductor (Step 107) (Col. 4, Line 1 to Col. 5, Line 55).
See Figure 1 for a layout of the steps such as that taught by Li. FIG. 1 is a flowchart of a method for regulating a photoelectric spectral response range teaching many steps (Steps 101 to 107) similar to the present disclosure.
Li fails to expressly disclose using a BiOBr substrate with measurable responsivity/response speed photelectric characteristics.
Chen discloses a photoactive photodetector including BiOBr (Abstract) Fig. 3(a) shows the schematic diagram of the photodetector under the UV light as shown in Fig. 3(c), the stable current change with incident light on/off operation confirms the long-term cyclability and stability of the BiOBr-based photodetectors (3. Results and discussion).
In view of the utility, to create stable current, stability and a predictable photo response measurement under pressure or when needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Chen.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 11, 13 – 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Patent 11,474,027 B1) and Long Chen et al. (High-performance UV detectors based on 2D CVD bismuth oxybromide single-crystal nanosheets, Journal of Materials Science & Technology, Volume 48, 2020, Pages 100-104) in view of Matsumoto et al. (Novel diamond anvil cell for electrical measurements using boron-doped metallic diamond electrodes. Rev. Sci. Instrum. 1 July 2016; 87 (7): 076103 (2016)).
With regards to claims 2 and 17, Li modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, and further having a culet diameter of 300 micron, not 400 microns as claimed.
Matsumoto discloses a diamond anvil cell suitable for electrical transport measurements using boron-doped metallic diamond electrodes under high pressure has been developed. Matsumoto teaches selecting a top anvil wit culet size 0.4 mm (400 microns) in order to generate the higher pressures (4. Results and discussion; page 2).
In view of the utility, to create the high pressures as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Matsumoto.
With regards to claim 9, see the claim rejections to claims 1 and 2.
With regards to claim 11, Li discloses the pressure- calibrating substance comprises ruby (Step 104) (Col. 4, Line 64).
With regards to claim 13, see the rejections of claims 1 and 6.
With regards to claim 14, see the rejections of claim 7, 9 and 13.
With regards to claim 15, Li modified discloses a laser 8 is used to irradiate the semiconductor through the diamonds, and an optical power density of the laser irradiated onto the semiconductor is about 0.8 mW/cm2.
Li fails to expressly disclose that the pulse laser irradiates the semiconductor at an optical power density of 0.3 mW/cm2.
Chen teaches a pressurized photelectric detection based on BiOB, wherein in order to better compare the performance of different kinds of detectors, the critical parameters of R, EQE and D* were calculated to evaluate the photo detecting performance of BiOBr-based photodetector through Eqs. (2–4):
where I (light)=I(current)-I(dark) is the photocurrent, Icurrent is the total current under the light, Idark is dark current, P is the optical power density, and S is the area of the device, h is the Planck’s constant, c is the velocity of light, is the wavelength of incident light and e is the charge of unit electron).
Chen teaches that responsivity and detectivity change with optical power density, including R, D can improve with reduced optical power due to photogating/trapped states.
Fig.4. (a) Power dependent curves under 340nm light irradiation; (b)Corresponding fitting curve between light power density and photocurrent and (c) The calculated R, D* of BiOBr based photodetectors. As such, Chen teaches routine optimization of a result-effective variable (i.e., optical power density).
Notice that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li and Chen to include the claimed power density, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to obtain the desired I-t photo response behavior (as a need that is application specific) for the purpose of optimizing for stability and greater responsibility.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Patent 11,474,027 B1) and Long Chen et al. (High-performance UV detectors based on 2D CVD bismuth oxybromide single-crystal nanosheets, Journal of Materials Science & Technology, Volume 48, 2020, Pages 100-104) in view of Parakh (Standard Operating Procedure – Diamond Anvil Cell, Stanford, August 2019).
With regards to claims 3 and 18, Li modified teaches the inserting an insulation layer into a pressure chamber of a diamond anvil cell comprises placing a T301 steel sheet into the pressure chamber and pre-pressing the T301 steel sheet by a thickness of 40 m via the diamond anvil cell (Step 101) (Col. 4, Lines 15 – 34); punching the pre-pressed T301 steel sheet using a laser boring device to obtain a sample chamber having a diameter of 120 micron (Step 101) (Col. 4, Lines 15 – 34); and filling an insulation powder in the sample chamber, and pre-pressing the sample chamber filled with the insulation powder such that the insulation powder is attached to the T301 steel sheet (Col. 4, Lines 26 – 33).
Li modified discloses a sample chamber having a diameter of 120 micron (Step 101), not the 300 microns as claimed.
Parakh teaches a standard operating procedure (Diamond Anvil Cell) including a sample chamber on the order of 300 micron and includes examples of a 300-micron diameter chamber in a T-301 plate (Pages 20 – 22).
In view of the utility, to adjust the drilled sample chamber diameter in Li to approximately 300 micron as routine design/parameter selection depending on experimental needs and DAC geometry and in to enhance the pressure and control of the photelectric of the detection, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Parakh.
With regards to claims 5 and 12, Li modified discloses a pressure is calibrated by the ruby (Embodiment 2) but fails to expressly disclose using a fluorescence peak of the ruby when the pressure chamber is pressurized by rotating a press bolt on the diamond anvil cell.
Matsumoto discloses a diamond anvil cell for electrical measurements using a ruby powder mixed in a pressure-transmitting medium of cBN powder. The pressure values were determined from the peak position of the ruby fluorescence (3. Transport measurements under high pressure) (4. Results and discussion).
In view of the utility, to create the high pressures calibrations as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Matsumoto.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Patent 11,474,027 B1), Long Chen et al. (High-performance UV detectors based on 2D CVD bismuth oxybromide single-crystal nanosheets, Journal of Materials Science & Technology, Volume 48, 2020, Pages 100-104) and R. Matsumoto, Y et al. (Novel diamond anvil cell for electrical measurements using boron-doped metallic diamond electrodes. Rev. Sci. Instrum. 1 July 2016; 87 (7): 076103 (2016)) and Parakh (Standard Operating Procedure – Diamond Anvil Cell, Stanford, August 2019).
With regards to claim 10, Li modified discloses the claimed limitations according to claim 9, and further teaches inserting an insulation layer into a pressure chamber of a diamond anvil cell comprises placing a T301 steel sheet into the pressure chamber and pre-pressing the T301 steel sheet by a thickness of 40 m via the diamond anvil cell (Step 101) (Col. 4, Lines 15 – 34); punching the pre-pressed T301 steel sheet using a laser boring device to obtain a sample chamber having a diameter of 120 micron (Step 101) (Col. 4, Lines 15 – 34); and filling an insulation powder in the sample chamber, and pre-pressing the sample chamber filled with the insulation powder such that the insulation powder is attached to the T301 steel sheet (Col. 4, Lines 26 – 33).
Li fails to expressly disclose a sample chamber having a diameter of 300 micron.
Parakh teaches a standard operating procedure (Diamond Anvil Cell) including a sample chamber on the order of 300 micron and includes examples of a 300-micron diameter chamber in a T-301 plate (Pages 20 – 22).
In view of the utility, to adjust the drilled sample chamber diameter in Li to approximately 300 micron as routine design/parameter selection depending on experimental needs and DAC geometry and in to enhance the pressure and control of the photelectric of the detection, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Li to include the teachings such as that taught by Parakh.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 112391651 B1 to Sun et al. teaches a BiOBr/TiO2 nano-tube array composite electrode containing oxygen cavity and preparation method thereof and application of photoelectric catalytic fixation thereof. The use of BiOBr in combination with the application of the direct current-voltage set up that creates the photoelectric output that would be of interest when considering applicants claimed limitations and Sun et al. teachings.
Sensors 2009, 9, 6504-6529 to Zhai et al. teaches a comprehensive review of 1-Dim metal-oxide photodetectors with many powers’ density conditioned with photodetector time responses See Table 2 (Page 6512). Theses power densities show what is considered routine in the art.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884