DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung et al (US 2022/0091446 A1) in view of Gill (US 2008/0159680 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheung discloses (Figs. 1, 2, and 4; Abstract; para. 0017 – 0031 and 0042 – 0045) a method of manufacturing an optical device (an optical waveguide coupler/modulator), the method comprising (see annotated Fig. 4 below):
forming a first dopant region 406,408 (P-type doped) over a substrate 402, the first dopant region 406,408 comprising a first waveguide 407 and a second waveguide 409 (“the reference numerals 407 and 409 respectively represent a first optical waveguide and a second optical waveguide” at para. 0044);
depositing a cladding material 410 over the first waveguide 407 and the second waveguide 409 (as seen in Fig. 4; “the second insulating layer 410” at para. 0044); and
forming a second dopant region 416 (N-type doped) overlying the first waveguide 407 and the second waveguide 409 (as seen in Fig. 4), wherein the forming the second dopant region comprises forming a first (central) region extending over both the first waveguide 407 and the second waveguide 409, the first (central) region having a concentration of a first (N-type) dopant (the ends of 416 are doped at N++ and there is no teaching/indication of a dopant polarity reversal, as opposed to the embodiment in Fig. 3).
Annotated Fig. 4 of Cheung.
While Cheung generally renders obvious that the first (central) region can be configured to have a constant concentration of the first (N-type) dopant, Cheung does not expressly teach such arrangement. However, Gill discloses (Figs. 1, 2, and 4 – 9; para. 0015 – 0046 and 0049 – 0064) a method of manufacturing an optical device (an optical waveguide modulator), the method comprising:
forming a first dopant region 520,610,620 (e.g., P-type doped; para. 0055) over a substrate 410, the first dopant region 520,610,620 comprising a waveguide 520 (ridge-shaped waveguide (para. 0053), which is the same type as in Cheung); and
forming a second dopant region 810,820,910,920 (N-type doped; para. 0061) overlying the waveguide 520 (as seen in Fig. 9), wherein the forming the second dopant region 810,820,910,920 comprises forming a first region (a central region between 910 and 920) extending over both the waveguide 520, the first region having a constant concentration of a first (N-type) dopant at a low concentration level, according to the central region 155a,255a in Fig. 2 (“the relatively low doped region 155a has a dopant level at least ten times lower than a dopant level of the relatively higher doped region 155b” at para. 0028; “the fourth semiconductor slab 220 contains a relatively low doped region 225a proximate the ridge-shaped semiconductor optical core 130” at para. 0043).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first (central) region in Cheung can be configured, as expressly taught by Gill, to have a constant low concentration of the first (N-type) dopant, so that the optical loss to a high dopant concentration can be avoided (para. 0004, 0014, and 0047 of Gill) by using low-concentration central region over the waveguides and placing heavily doped regions away from the waveguides: as seen in Fig. 2 of Gill, heavily-doped regions 155b and 225b are placed away from the waveguide 520 and correspond to the heavily doped (N++) ends of the second dopant region 416 in Fig. 4 of Cheung.
In light of the foregoing analysis, the Cheung – Gill combination teaches expressly or renders obvious all of the recited limitations.
As an aside and relevant comment to all claims, it is also noted that the optical device of the Cheung – Gill combination has essential structural features (a 2x2 coupler formed a pair of optically coupled waveguides) and a principle of operation (an electro-optically tunable splitting ratio of optical power between the two waveguides by an applied voltage which creates a vertical flow of carriers) that are substantially similar/identical to those of the claimed device, as evident from a direct side-by-side comparison of Figs. 2 and 4 of Cheung and Figs. 8 and 9 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 2, the Cheung – Gill combination considers that the forming the second dopant region further comprises:
forming a second (peripheral) region (identified in annotated Fig. 4 provided above for claim 1) extending away from the first region, the second region having a higher concentration (N++) of the first (n-type) dopant than the first (central) region (it has a low concentration, according to Gill); and
forming a third region (peripheral) extending away from the first (central) region, the third region having a higher concentration (N++) of the first (n-type) dopant than the first (central) region (it has a low concentration, according to Gill).
Regarding claim 3, the Cheung – Gill combination considers that the method further comprises forming a first contact 426 to the second (peripheral) region; and forming a second contact 428 to the third (peripheral) region (“a second metal contact 426, a third metal contact 428” at para. 0043 of Cheung).
Regarding claim 4, the Cheung – Gill combination considers that the forming the first dopant region comprises forming a connective region (identified in annotated Fig. 4 provided above for claim 1) in physical contact with the first waveguide 407, the connective region having a smaller thickness than the first waveguide 407 (as seen in Fig. 4 of Cheung).
Regarding claim 5, the Cheung – Gill combination considers that the forming the first dopant region comprises forming a first contact region (peripheral region doped at P++) in physical contact with the connective region, the first contact region having a larger concentration (P++) of a second (P-type) dopant than the connective region (according to the teachings of Gill for the low-concentration regions 145a,215a in Fig. 2; para. 0024 and 0039).
Regarding claim 6, the Cheung – Gill combination considers that the first dopant is an n-type dopant and the second dopant is a p-type dopant.
Regarding claim 7, Cheung teaches that the optical device can operate as an electro-optic 2x2 beam splitter (Fig. 2; “the optical coupler 100 may be used as an optical splitter where the light signal may be transferred from the input port to a plurality of the output ports in a predetermined proportion” at para. 0017).
Claims 8 and 10 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung in view of Gill, and further in view of Jiang et al (US 2017/0255079 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the teachings of Cheung and Gill combine (see the arguments and motivation for combining, as provided above for claim 1) to teach expressly or render obvious a method of manufacturing the contemplated optical device (an optical coupler and/or combiner), the method comprising (with reference to Fig. 4 of Cheung):
forming a first polysilicon material 416 (Cheung cites silicon as a suitable/workable material choice for 416 (para. 0023) and Gill cites polysilicon as a suitable/workable material choice (para. 0021)) overlying both the first waveguide 407 and the second waveguide 409, the first polysilicon material 416 having a constant (low) concentration (according to the teachings of Gill, as detailed above for claim 1) of a first (N-type) dopant, the first polysilicon material 416 extending over the coupler (as seen in Fig. 4).
Cheung states that the disclosed coupler can be used as a (electro-optically tunablefig. 8) splitter and/or combiner (Fig. 2; “the optical coupler 100 may be used as an optical splitter where the light signal may be transferred from the input port to a plurality of the output ports in a predetermined proportion. In yet another example, the optical coupler 100 may be used as an optical combiner where light signals from a plurality of input ports may be combined into a single output port” at para. 0017) and that such couplers can be used in Mach-Zehnder interferometers (para. 0013), but Cheung does not explicitly illustrate such embodiment. However, Jiang discloses (Fig. 8; para. 0040) a Mach-Zehnder interferometer 80 comprising two elector-optically tunable couplers 10 (detailed in Fig. 1; para. 0025 – 0030), one of which operates a splitter and the other as a combiner. The Mach-Zehnder interferometer 80 comprises a first coupler 10 (e.g., left 10), a first modulating region (comprising a phase shifter 40), and a second coupler 10 (right) using a first waveguide 12 and a second waveguide 14.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the optical coupler of the Cheung – Gill combination can be used, as a drop-in component, to enable a Mach-Zehnder interferometer, as a suitable/workable application illustrated by Jiang. The use of the electro-optically tunable coupler has the benefit of improving/increasing the extinction ratio of the Mach-Zehnder interferometer (para. 0040 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 10, the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination considers (Fig. 4 of Cheung) that the first waveguide 407 comprises a P+ region.
Regarding claim 11, the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination considers (Fig. 4 of Cheung) that the first polysilicon material 416 comprises an N+ region.
Regarding claim 12, the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination considers (Fig. 4 of Cheung) forming a first contact 426 to a N++ region (peripheral portion of 416), the N++ region electrically connecting the first polysilicon material 416 to the first contact 426.
Regarding claim 13, the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination considers (Fig. 4 of Cheung) comprising forming a second contact 424 to a P++ region (peripheral portion of 406), the P++ region electrically connecting the first waveguide 407 to the second contact 424.
Regarding claim 14, the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination considers (Fig. 4 of Cheung) that the second contact 424 is located further from the first waveguide 407 than the first contact 426.
Regarding claim 15, the teachings of Cheung, Gill, and Jiang combine (see the arguments and motivation for combining, as provided above for claim 1 and 8) to teach expressly or render obvious all of the recited limitations, as detailed above for claims 1 and 8 Specifically, the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination considers an optical device comprising (see annotated Fig. 4 of Cheung provide above for claim 1):
a first waveguide 407 over a substrate 402;
a second waveguide 409 over the substrate 402, wherein the first waveguide 407 and the second waveguide 409 form a first coupler (a 2x2 splitter corresponding to the left coupler 10 in Fig. 8 of Jiang), a modulation region (comprising a phase shifter 40), and a second coupler (the right coupler 10); and
a first polysilicon material 416 overlying both the first waveguide 407 and the second waveguide 409, the first polysilicon material having a constant (low) concentration of a first (N-type) dopant (according to the teachings of Gill (para. 0043) for the central region 155a,255a in Fig. 2), the first polysilicon material 416 extending over the first coupler (formed by 407,409).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung in view of Gill, in view of Jiang, and further in view of Wooten et al (US 2004/0240765 A1).
Regarding claim 9, while the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination considers only a single-stage Mach-Zehnder interferometer (Fig. 8 of Jiang), multi-stage/cascaded Mach-Zehnder interferometers are also well known in the art. For example, Wooten discloses (Fig. 18; para. 0118) a two-stage/cascaded Mach-Zehnder interferometer comprising two Mach-Zehnder interferometers 1820a,1820b in series with each other, each Mach-Zehnder interferometer comprising a splitter, a combiner, and a modulating section.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the optical coupler of the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination can be implemented in a two-stage/cascaded Mach-Zehnder interferometer, as a suitable/workable application that is described by Wooten. The use of the electro-optically tunable couplers has the benefit of improving/increasing the extinction ratio of the Mach-Zehnder interferometer (para. 0040 of Jiang).
The corresponding method of manufacturing further comprises forming a third coupler, a second modulating region, and a fourth coupler in series with the first coupler, the first modulating region, and the second coupler.
Claims 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung in view of Gill, in view of Jiang, and further in view of Gunn et al (US 2006/0008223 A1).
Regarding claim 16, while the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination considers (Fig. 2 of Gill) embodiments with a low-doped central region 155a,225a and a highly-doped peripheral region 155b,225b, and does not explicitly illustrate embodiments with more levels of dopant concentration, Gunn discloses an optical shifter and discloses both embodiment (Figs. 1 – 3) with two levels of dopant concentration on each side from the waveguide center and an embodiment (Figs. 11 and 12; para. 0068 – 0076) with at least three levels of dopant concentration.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the optical coupler of the Cheung – Gill – Jiang combination can further comprise more doped regions with at least three levels of dopant concentration, such as N, N+, and N++ and P, P+, P++. The use of more levels of dopant concentration optimizes the trade-off between optical loss and electrical resistance (para. 0076 of Gunn).
The Cheung – Gill – Jiang – Gunn combination (CGJG) considers that the first waveguide 407 comprises a P+ region and the first polysilicon material 416 comprises an N+ region.
Regarding claim 17, the CGJG combination considers (Fig. 4 of Cheung) that the optical device can further comprise a first contact 424 in physical contact with a P++ region 406, the P++ region 406 in electrical connection with the first waveguide 407 (for electro-optic tuning/modulation).
Regarding claim 18, the CGJG combination considers (Fig. 4 of Cheung) that the optical device can further comprise a second contact 428 in physical contact with an N++ region (left end of 416), the N++ region in electrical connection with the first polysilicon material 416.
Regarding claim 19, the CGJG combination considers (Fig. 4 of Cheung) that the first contact 426 is located on an opposite side of the second contact 428 from the N++ region.
Regarding claim 20, the CGJG combination considers (annotated Fig. 4 of Cheung) that the first waveguide 407 is adjacent to a P+ region (denoted as a connected region and doped at P+ according to Gunn), the P+ region having a smaller thickness than the first waveguide 407.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2016/0202503 A1
/ROBERT TAVLYKAEV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896