DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to the following: -
With respect to (Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102/bullet A); Applicant argues in bullet A, pages 1-3 of Remarks filed on 02/06/2026. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In accordance with broadest reasonable interpretation; Veyres does teach and suggest "a compensation circuit comprising a first input configured to receive a coupled RF power and reduce the coupled RF power back through the first input" as recited in claim 1, because Veyres discloses clearly the compensation circuit as in (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), and that is right-side triangle 15-10-Transformed shape, also, left-side triangle 10-5-Transformed shape which is exactly the compensation circuit in claim 1 as referenced by the numeral 308 in the Applicant's figure 4. In other words, the Examiner does not understand what is the Applicant's point of view nor know the reason behind the Applicant's diving deep into an irrelevant figure and concluding an incorrect deduction. Again, Veyres explicitly teaches and suggests claims 1-6 and 8-10.
With respect to (Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103/bullet B); Applicant argues in bullet B, pages 3-4 of Remarks filed on 02/06/2026. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In accordance with broadest reasonable interpretation; Carman does remedy the optional modifications in claims 7, 11 and 20 due to the reason discussed above in bullet A {See above bullet A}. Again, Veyres in view of Carman does teach and suggest "a compensation circuit comprising a first input configured to receive a coupled RF power and reduce the coupled RF power back through the first input" as recited in claims 1 and 11, and "transmitting the coupled RF power processed by the compensation circuit directly to a first RF band-stop filter configured to filter out a first frequency of the coupled RF power, the first frequency corresponding to a highest frequency of an RF signal that generates the coupled RF power" as recited by claim 20.
Therefore, as for the reasons stated above, the rejection still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(l) as being anticipated by Veyres et al
(US Patent No. 6870441).
Regarding claim 1, Veyres discloses an RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), comprising: a
compensation circuit (i.e., transformed shape) comprising a first input (15) configured to receive a coupled
RF power (i.e., RF source clamped to 15) and reduce the coupled RF power (i.e., RF source clamped to 15)
back through the first input (15); and an RF filter block (i.e., CKT b/w 10 & 2) comprising a second input
(10) configured to receive signals (i.e., RFs) processed by the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed
shape) and comprising one or more RF filters (i.e., LC/10, LC/5, etc.) configured to filter out predetermined frequencies (i.e., solution within frequency range) of the coupled RF power (i.e., RF source clamped to 15).
Regarding claim 2, Veyres discloses the RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the
compensative circuit (i.e., transformed shape) comprises an inductive component (Lsb) formed by an
inductor (L), a segment (i.e., a section of impedances) of a transmission line (i.e., resonators cable), or a
combination of an inductor (L) and a segment (i.e., a section of impedances) of a transmission line (i.e.,
resonators cable).
Regarding claim 3, Veyres discloses the RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the
inductive component (Lsb) is connected to the first input (15), and the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed shape) further comprises a first capacitor (i.e., C/12-11) connected to the inductive component (Lsb) and grounded (GND).
Regarding claim 4, Veyres discloses the RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the
compensation circuit (i.e., transformed shape) comprises a first tank circuit (i.e., CKT/12-GND) that is
connected to the inductive component (Lsb) and the first capacitor (i.e., C/12-11), and the first tank circuit
(i.e., CKT/12-GND) is connected to the RF filter block (i.e., CKT b/w 10 & 2) in parallel.
Regarding claim 5, Veyres discloses the RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the
inductive component (i.e., such as Lsb) is formed by a segment (i.e., a section of impedances) of a transmission line (i.e., resonators cable) of the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed shape).
Regarding claim 6, Veyres discloses the RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the
compensation circuit (i.e., transformed shape) further comprises a second capacitor (i.e., C/6-GND)
coupled with the inductive component (i.e., L/6-GND) in parallel to form a second tank circuit (i.e., CKT/7- GND).
Regarding claim 8, Veyres discloses the RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the
RF filter block (i.e., CKT b/w 10 & 2) comprises a plurality of serially connected RF filters (i.e., LC/10, LC/5, etc.) configured to filter out predetermined frequencies (i.e., solution within frequency range) from a highest one (i.e., high band) to a lowest one (i.e., low band).
Regarding claim 9, Veyres discloses the RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), further
comprising a grounded shunt capacitor (Cpt) connected to the RF filter block (i.e., CKT b/w 10 & 2).
Regarding claim 10, Veyres discloses the RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the
RF filter assembly (i.e., fig. 16) is connected to a high voltage module (e), and the ground shunt capacitor
(Cpt) is connected to the high voltage module (e) in parallel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veyres et al (US
Patent No. 6870441) in view of Carman et al (US Patent No. 9953825).
Regarding claim 7, Veyres discloses the RF filter assembly (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+).
Veyres does not explicitly disclose wherein the first input is connected to a heating electrode or a chucking
electrode of a substrate support assembly.
Carman discloses (fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 25+) an apparatus and system for plasma processing a substrate using
RF power includes a chamber having walls for housing an electrostatic chuck (ESC) and a top electrode
(fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 25+); wherein the first input (216) is connected to a heating electrode (105) or a chucking
electrode (210) of a substrate support assembly (220).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to have optionally included the RF chucking electrode assembly in Veyres, as taught by
Carman, as it provides the advantage of maintaining clear and reliable signal transmission as well as safeguarding against system malfunctions.
Regarding claim 11, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman
have been discussed above.
Veyres discloses a compensation circuit (i.e., transformed shape) connected to the chucking electrode of
the substrate support assembly (i.e., radioelectric cable/RF assembly) and configured to receive a coupled
RF power (i.e., RF source clamped to 15) from an input (15) and reduce a reflection (i.e., limit the signal
spectrum) of the coupled RF power (i.e., RF source clamped to 15) back through the input (15); and an RF
filter block (i.e., CKT b/w 10 & 2) configured to receive signals (i.e., RFs) processed by the compensation
circuit (i.e., transformed shape) and comprising a plurality of RF filters (i.e., LC/10, LC/5, etc.) configured
to filter out predetermined frequencies (i.e., solution within frequency range) of the signals (i.e., RFs)
processed by the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed shape).
Carman further discloses (fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 25+); a chucking circuit (i.e., ESC 227 and its electrodes
assembly 105 and 210) for a substrate support assembly (220) of a processing chamber (101), comprising:
a chucking electrode (210) coupled with an electric box (i.e., frame support assembly/box which accommodates RF power input ports 216).
Regarding claim 12, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman
have been discussed above.
Veyres further discloses (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed
shape) comprises an inductive component (Lsb) formed by an inductor (L), a transmission line (i.e.,
resonators cable), or a combination of an inductor (Lsb) and a transmission line (i.e., resonators cable).
Regarding claim 13, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman
have been discussed above.
Veyres further discloses (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+) wherein the inductive component (Lsb) is connected to
the input (15), and the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed shape) further comprises a first capacitor
(i.e., C/12-11) connected to the inductive component (Lsb) and grounded (GND).
Regarding claim 14, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman
have been discussed above.
Veyres further discloses (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed
shape) comprises a first tank circuit (i.e., CKT/12-GND) that is connected to the inductive component (Lsb)
and the first capacitor (i.e., C/12-11), and the first tank circuit (i.e., CKT/12-GND) is connected to the RF
filter block (i.e., CKT b/w 10 & 2) in parallel.
Regarding claim 15, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman have been discussed above.
Veyres further discloses (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the inductive component (Lsb) is formed by a
segment (i.e., a section of impedances) of a transmission line (i.e., resonators cable) of the compensation
circuit (i.e., transformed shape).
Regarding claim 16, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman have been discussed above.
Veyres further discloses (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed
shape) further comprises a second capacitor (i.e., C/6-GND) coupled with the inductive component (i.e.,
L/6-GND) in parallel to form a second tank circuit (i.e., CKT/7-GND).
Regarding claim 17, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman
have been discussed above.
Carman further discloses (fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 25+), wherein the input (216) is connected to the chucking
electrode (210).
Regarding claim 18, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman
have been discussed above.
Veyres further discloses (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the RF filter block (i.e., CKT b/w 10 & 2)
comprises a plurality of serially connected RF filters (i.e., LC/10, LC/5, etc.) configured to filter out
predetermined frequencies (i.e., solution within frequency range) from a highest one (i.e., high band) to
a lowest one (i.e., low band).
Regarding claim 19, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman
have been discussed above.
Carman further discloses (fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 25+), wherein the electric box (i.e., frame support
assembly/box which accommodates RF power input ports 216) comprises a first housing (i.e., top housing
accommodating electrode assembly 210) enclosing a high voltage module (i.e., chucking/RF), a second
housing (i.e., bottom housing accommodating electrode assembly 105) enclosing the compensation
circuit (i.e., heating/RF), and a bracket (200a) coupling the first housing (i.e., top housing accommodating
electrode assembly 210) and second housing (i.e., bottom housing accommodating electrode assembly
105), the bracket (200a) and the second housing (i.e., bottom housing accommodating electrode assembly
105) comprising a plurality of vents (i.e., plurality of openings and dummy opening such as 228, 218, etc.)
that allow air to flow (i.e., smooth gas flow between compartments for cooling purposes) from the first
housing (i.e., top housing accommodating electrode assembly 210) to the second housing (i.e., bottom
housing accommodating electrode assembly 105).
Regarding claim 20, Veyres in view of Carman and the teachings of Veyres as modified by Carman
have been discussed above.
Carman discloses (fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 25+), a method for processing a coupled RF power (i.e., frame support
assembly/box which accommodates RF power input ports 216) originated from a substrate support
assembly (220) of a processing chamber (101), comprising: transmitting the coupled RF power (i.e., frame
support assembly/box which accommodates RF power input ports 216) from an electrode (i.e., 210, 105)
within the substrate support assembly (220) directly to a compensation circuit (i.e., RF power source
assembly within input ports 216), the electrode (i.e., 105, 210) comprising a chucking electrode (210) or a
heating electrode (105); reducing, by the compensation circuit (i.e., RF power source assembly within
input ports 216), the coupled RF power (i.e., frame support assembly/box which accommodates RF power
input ports 216) back to the electrode (i.e., 105, 210).
Veyres further discloses (fig. 16, Col. 16 lines 55+), wherein the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed
shape) comprises an inductive component (Lsb) connected to a first grounded capacitor (i.e., C/12-11),
and the inductive component (Lsb) comprises an inductor (L), a segment (i.e., a section of impedances) of
a transmission line (i.e., resonators cable), or a combination of an inductor (L) and a segment (i.e., a
section of impedances) of the transmission line (i.e., resonators cable); transmitting the coupled RF power
(i.e., RF source clamped to 15) processed by the compensation circuit (i.e., transformed shape) directly to
a first RF band-stop filter (i.e., such LC/10) configured to filter out a first frequency (i.e., high/low band
frequency) of the coupled RF power (i.e., RF source clamped to 15), the first frequency (i.e., high/low band
frequency) corresponding to a highest frequency (i.e., high band) of an RF signal (i.e., RF/radioelectric)
that generates the coupled RF power (i.e., RF source clamped to 15); transmitting an output (i.e.,
refined/filtered signal) of the first RF band-stop filter (i.e., LC/10) to a second RF band-stop filter (i.e., LC/5)
configured to filter a second frequency (i.e., high/low band frequency) of the coupled RF power (i.e., RF
source clamped to 15), the second frequency (i.e., high/low band frequency) corresponding to a lowest frequency (i.e., low band frequency) of the RF signal (i.e., radioelectric/RF) that generates the coupled RF
power (i.e., RF source clamped to 15); and coupling the second RF band-stop filter (i.e., LC/5) with a high
voltage module (e).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838