DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1-20
Withdrawn claims: 1-8 and 14-20
Previously canceled claims: None
Newly canceled claims: None
Amended claims: 9
New claims: None
Claims currently under consideration: 9-13
Currently rejected claims: 9-13
Allowed claims: None
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 9-13, in the reply filed on 05/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strobel et al. (U.S. 2020/0046661 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Strobel et al. discloses a method of reducing microbial contamination of raw animal tissue during meat processing for preparation of food products, the method comprising administering an effective amount of a composition to the raw animal tissue ([0079], where treatment of meats “in which contamination is commonly a problem” with the composition functioning as an antimicrobial spray is considered to anticipate the claimed method steps; [0347]-[0348]), the composition comprising an organic acid component (i.e. propanoic acid, a.k.a., propionic acid) ([0007]), isoamyl hexanoates ([0007]), and lecithin ([0141], [0146]).
As for claim 12, Strobel et al. discloses the microbial contamination that is reduced is Salmonella contamination ([0347]-[0348]).
As for claim 13, Strobel et al. discloses the raw animal tissue is from chicken (i.e., poultry) ([0348]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strobel et al. (U.S. 2020/0046661 A1).
As for claim 11, Strobel et al. discloses the composition comprises a mixture of the propionic acid and the isoamyl hexanoates at a volume ratio of 7:2 ([0009]).
Strobel et al. does not disclose the volume percent of the mixture in a composition as being in the range of 1.25-2.5% or the volume percent of lecithin as being 0.02%.
However, Strobel et al. discloses an embodiment comprising 1% of the composition ([0243]) and further discloses that “it is typically edible in dilute solutions” ([0347]), which suggests low concentrations of the mixture are suited for use in the treatment of meat. MPEP 2144.05 I states: “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”. The disclosed concentration of 1% and the generalized suggestion of using dilute solutions are considered adequate to render a concentration of 1.25% obvious, which likewise renders the claimed range of 1.25-2.5% obvious to a skilled practitioner.
As for the lecithin concentration, Strobel et al. indicates it may be used as an optional coating ([0141]) or as a dispersing agent or emulsifying agent ([0146]), which renders obvious a range of values of from 0% to amounts larger than 0%. A skilled practitioner would recognize that the lecithin may be added at a concentration that achieves the desired effects related to its disclosed uses, thus rendering its concentration a result-effective variable. MPEP 2144.05 II B. The claimed concentration of 0.02% lecithin is thus considered obvious to a skilled practitioner due the relatively low amount being in a range that would be characteristic of an ingredient added as a coating or emulsifying agent and the lecithin concentration being a result-effective variable.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY P MORNHINWEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793