Examiner Note
The examination is for claims submitted on 03/07/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok, US 20160283325, hereinafter Kwok, in view of Georg Schmidt, "Collaborative Decoding of InterleaveReed-Solomon Codes and Concatenated Code Designs," IEEE Transactions on Information Theory, Vol. 55, No. 7, July 2009, hereinafter Georg.
As per claim 1, Kwok teaches A memory system comprising:
a plurality of memory components; (FIG.1, memory device 1 110, memory device 2 112; [0018]) and
a controller in communication with the plurality of memory components and configured to: (FIG.1, controller 142; [0018])
perform error correction code (ECC) decoding on first and second received codewords read from the plurality of memory components;
respectively calculate first and second syndromes for the first and second received codewords in parallel;
(FIG.3, syndrome calculator 220)
Except
combine results of the first and second syndromes in a multiple shift register computation to generate a single error location polynomial;
produce a set of polynomial roots from the single error location polynomial;
determine whether each of the first and second codewords have non-zero syndrome values when the produced set of polynomial roots is invalid;
perform an erasure search (i) on symbols in only one the first and second codewords (ii) when only the first codeword or the second codeword has a non-zero syndrome value; and
correct each of the first and second codewords responsive to the performed erasure search.
Georg teaches
combine results of the first and second syndromes in a multiple shift register computation to generate a single error location polynomial;
(Pg. 2994, Chap. D. 1st para. combine the syndrome coefficients of the received words…...This is equivalent to synthesizing the shortest linear feedback shift-register capable of generating the syndrome sequences)
produce a set of polynomial roots from the single error location polynomial; (Pg. 2994, Chap. D. last para., However, by the definition of the error locator polynomial, A(x) is only a valid error locator polynomial, if it has exactly distinct roots)
determine whether each of the first and second codewords have non-zero syndrome values when the produced set of polynomial roots is invalid; (Pg. 2996, 1st para.)
perform an erasure search (i) on symbols in only one the first and second codewords (ii) when only the first codeword or the second codeword has a non-zero syndrome value; and
correct each of the first and second codewords responsive to the performed erasure search.
(Pg.2995-2996, Chap. E. Joint Error and Erasure Correction)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to have modified Kwok to incorporate the teaching of the elements from Georg as indicated above, in order to efficiently decoding both homogeneous and heterogeneous IRS codes (Georg, Pg 3008).
As per claim 2, Kwok- Georg teaches The memory system applied above in claim 1, Kwok further teaches wherein the erasure search is performed in accordance with Chien search principles. ([0078] . The error locator polynomial 512 is provided to a logic for a Chien search 514 to generate the roots)
As per claim 3, Kwok- Georg teaches The memory system applied above in claim 2, Kwok further teaches wherein the search is performed on each of the symbols in the only one codeword in an iterative manner. ([0078])
As per claim 4, Kwok- Georg teaches The memory system applied above in claim 3, Georg further teaches wherein the correcting further comprises validating roots of the identified error locations of the only one codeword. (Pg.2994, Chap.D, last para.)
As per claim 5, Kwok- Georg teaches The memory system applied above in claim 4, Georg further teaches wherein the roots are valid if only one search attempt was performed. (Pg.2994, algorithm 1)
As per claim 6, Kwok- Georg teaches The memory system applied above in claim 5, Georg further teaches wherein error locations of the valid roots are identified. (Pg.2994, algorithm 1)
As per claim 7, Kwok- Georg teaches The memory system applied above in claim 6, Kwok further teaches further comprising calculating error magnitudes for each of the first and second codewords responsive to the error locations of the valid roots. (Pg.2994, algorithm 1)
Claims 8-14 are corresponding method claims of claims 1-7, they are rejected under the same reason respectively as claims 1-7.
Claims 15-20 are corresponding method claim stored as computer executable instructions in a non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 1-6, they are rejected under the same reason respectively as claims 1-6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berman et al., US 11855658, Efficient Hard Decision Decoding Of Generalized Reed-Solomon Codes In Presence Of Erasures And Errors Within The Singleton Bound
/RONG TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/MARK D FEATHERSTONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2111