PRE-STACKING APPARATUS AND BATTERY PROCESSING EQUIPMENT
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/18/2024, 11/25/2024, and 5/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “battery cells”, “the first drive member is connected between the main body and the mounting seat”, “the pushing member is movably disposed on the mounting seat along the arrangement direction of the battery cells”, and “at least two pre-stacking positions” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 disclose a “pre-stacking position” and a “pressurization position”. How are these two limitations different from one another? The drawings simply point to two locations on the support member but they do not seem different from each other. Further, in regards to the “pressurization position”, what is being pressurized?
Claim 7 discloses the limitation “rollably disposed”. The term “rollably” is not an actual word in the English language.
Claims 2-6 and 10 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109585901 A) and further in view of Gao et al. (CN 113054260 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Wang et al. teach a pre-stacking apparatus (Figs. 1-3, paragraph0012disclose an automatic pre-assembly device.), comprising:
a mounting seat (Figs. 1-3 disclose an indexing turntable, element 1.), wherein the mounting seat is provided with a pre-stacking position (Fig. 1 discloses a battery cell loading and stacking station, element 2.) and a pressurization position (Fig. 1, element 5 discloses an unloading station.);
a tray, disposed on the mounting seat, wherein the tray is configured to bear at least two battery cells, and the battery cells are arranged along a thickness direction of the battery cells (Fig. 1, paragraph 0014 discloses a battery stacking bracket, element 6, arranged on the turntable, element 1. Fig. 3 shows the battery cells being arranged in a thickness direction.);
and a pushing assembly (Fig. 1, element 8), movably disposed in the pressurization position along the arrangement direction of the battery cells (Paragraphs 0006, 0015, 0020; Fig. 1) and configured to push the battery cells on the tray in the pressurization position to attach to each other (Figs. 1 and 3, paragraphs 0005-0008; 0012-0024.
However, Wang et al. do not teach a first clamping assembly, disposed on the tray and configured to clamp the battery cells on the tray; a second clamping assembly, disposed in the pressurization position and configured to be capable of being apart from the first clamping assembly along a height direction of the battery cells when the tray has moved from the pre-stacking position to the pressurization position, and to clamp the battery cells on the tray.
Gao et al. teach a first clamping assembly (Fig. 5 discloses an extrusion plate, element 504), disposed on the tray and configured to clamp the battery cells on the tray (Fig. 5 discloses the extrusion plate, element 504, is disposed on a module stacking tray, element 503.); a second clamping assembly, disposed in the pressurization position (Fig. 1, paragraph 0050 discloses a first pressing assembly, element 100.) and configured to be capable of being apart from the first clamping assembly along a height direction of the battery cells when the tray has moved from the pre-stacking position to the pressurization position, and to clamp the battery cells on the tray (Paragraph 0050 discloses the first pressing assembly includes a plurality of press rollers, element 101, that can be raised and lowered, thus configured to be movably arranged along the height direction of the battery cells on the mounting seat, element 501 in fig. 1.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang with the cell clamping mechanism of Gao to ensure flatness of the top.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Gao et al. teach the pre-stacking apparatus according to claim 1. Further, Gao et al. teach wherein the first clamping assembly and the second clamping assembly each comprise a first clamping member and a second clamping member that are respectively disposed on two sides of the tray along a width direction of the battery cells, at least one of the first clamping member and the second clamping member being movably disposed along the width direction of the battery cells (See annotated Figs. 3 and 5 below.).
Fig. 3 of Gao
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Fig. 5 of Gao
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang with the cell clamping mechanism of Gao to ensure flatness of the top.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang and Gao et al. teach the pre-stacking apparatus according to claim 3. Further, Wang et al. teach wherein the second clamping assembly further comprises a main body (Fig. 1, paragraph 0016 discloses a clamping plate, element 11.) and a first drive member (Fig. 1, paragraph 0016 discloses a clamping cylinder, element 9.), wherein the first drive member is connected between the main body and the mounting seat and wherein the first clamping member and the second clamping member in the second clamping assembly are disposed on the main body (Fig. 3, paragraph 0016 discloses the use of clamping blocks, element 10.).
However, Wang et al. do not disclose they are configured to drive the main body to move along the height direction of the battery cells.
Gao et al. teach a battery module shaping and pressing mechanisms comprising a first driving member (Paragraph 0051 discloses a first air cylinder.) to drive the main body to move along the height direction of the battery cells (Paragraphs 0055-0056).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang with the cell clamping mechanism of Gao to ensure flatness of the top.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wang and Gao et al. teach the pre-stacking apparatus according to claim 4. Further, Gao et al. teach a limiting assembly (Fig. 1, paragraph 0050 discloses a bottom of first pressing assembly, element 100.) arranged on the main body (Fig. 6 discloses a first support frame, element 102) and located between the first clamping member and the second clamping member (Paragraph 0050 discloses a pressing plate, element 201.). Gao further discloses the limiting assembly is used to press the battery cells on the tray along the height direction of the battery cells (Paragraph 0055; fig 6).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include limiting device to stacking device of Wang as the limiting assembly “compresses the top surface of battery module” to “effectively ensure the key dimensions of the battery module” as taught by Gao above (para 55, 62).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wang and Gao et al. teach the pre-stacking apparatus according to claim 5. Further, Gao et al. teach the limiting assembly (Paragraph 50, “bottom of first pressing assembly” 100) comprises a adjustment member (Paragraph 51, “the first spring 110”, fig 6) and a pressing member (Paragraph 51, “press rollers 101”; fig 6), the adjustment member is telescopically connected between the main body and the pressing member along the height direction of the battery cells (fig 6), and the pressing member is used to press the battery cells on the tray along the height direction of the battery cells (Paragraph 55).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include limiting device comprising adjustment member and a pressing member to stacking device of Wang as the limiting assembly comprising adjustment member and a pressing member “compresses the top surface of battery module” to “effectively ensure the key dimensions of the battery module” as taught by Gao above (para 55, 62).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wang and Gao et al. teach the pre-stacking apparatus according to claim 6. Further, Gao et al. teach the pressing member comprises a connecting portion and a rolling portion (See annotated figure 6 below), the connecting portion is connected to the adjustment member, and the rolling portion is rollably arranged on the connecting portion along the thickness direction of the battery cells to be rollably pressed against the battery cells on the tray along the height direction of the battery cells (fig 6).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the artto include pressing member comprising connecting portion and rolling portion to stacking device of Wang as the connecting portion and the rolling portion in the pressing member “compresses the top surface of battery module” to “effectively ensure the key dimensions of the battery module” as taught by Gao above (para 55, 62).
Fig. 6 of Gao
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wang and Gao et al. teach the pre-stacking apparatus according to claim 6. Further, Wang et al. teach discloses the pushing assembly comprises an abutting member (Paragraph 15, “stopper”) and a pushing member (Paragraph 15, “push cylinder 8”), the abutting member is arranged on the tray (Paragraph 15; fig 1). The stopper restrains the movement of the stack, while the push cylinder drives the stopper to “perform the pushing and retracting movement” (Paragraph 15). As stated in claim 1, the pushing member is movably arranged on the mounting seat along the thickness direction of the battery cells. The abutting member and the pushing member are necessarily arranged on two sides of the tray along the thickness direction of the battery cells; and the pushing member is configured to be able to push the battery cells on the tray along the thickness direction of the battery cells against the abutting member.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses battery processing equipment (fig 1) comprising the pre-stacking device according to claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/501,662 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in claims 1-15 of ‘662 encompass all of the limitations recited in claims 1-10 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 June 23rd, 2026