DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–14 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0154263 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 18 January 2024 and 30 April 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters of FIGS. 1, 3, 6, and 10 are not at least 0.32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least 0.32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRODE ASSEMBLY HAVING TAB WITH BENT PORTION AT FREE END, AND TRACTION BATTERY INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 220 is referred to as an outermost bent section in paragraph [0058]. Reference character 220 is used to designate a bent portion. Reference character 220 should not be used to designate an outermost bent portion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the bent free end" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the at least one tab" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a weld spot." Claim 12, which claim 13 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a weld spot." It is unclear if "a weld spot" recited in claim 13 is further limiting or referencing "a weld spot" recited in claim 12. Claim 12 has provided antecedent basis for the term "weld spot." However, claim 13 does not include a modifier (e.g., the or said) indicating the term "weld spot" is further limiting or referencing "a weld spot" recited in claim 12.
Claim Interpretation
The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. Claim 14 recites the limitation "wherein the tape has a slit corresponding to the weld spot." The plain meaning of the term "slit" is a long narrow cut or opening (see slit, New Oxford American Dictionary). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a tape having a slit does not require an opening. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a tape having a slit is a tape having a long, narrow cut; and the cut may be formed along an entire side and would not form an opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (US 4,098,966 A).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses an electrode assembly, comprising:
a plurality of tabs (28) stacked to each other (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21),
at least one of the plurality of tabs (28) comprising a tab body and a free end (32) connected to the tab body (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21),
the free end (32) being formed into a bent portion (32) through at least a single bending (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21), and
the bent portion (32) being stacked at a side of the tab body (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21).
Regarding claim 2, Brown discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the bent portion (32) comprises a first bent section and a second bent section (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21),
the first bent section being stacked at the side of the tab body (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21), and
the second bent section being stacked at a side of the first bent section away from the tab body (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21).
Regarding claim 3, Brown discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the first bent section is a bent section formed through a single bending of the free end of the at least one tab (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21),
wherein after the first bent section is further bent inwards, the first bent section is sandwiched between the tab body and the bent free end (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21), and
the second bent section is an outermost bent section (FIG. 3, C2/L46–C3/L21).
Regarding claim 4, Brown discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the plurality of tabs (28) comprises a tab (28) with the bent portion (32) and a plurality of tabs without the bent portion (FIG. 3, C2/L46–C3/L21),
wherein the tab (28) with the bent portion (32) is arranged between the plurality of tabs (28) without the bent portion; or the tab (28) with the bent portion (32) is arranged at a side of the plurality of tabs (28) without the bent portion (FIG. 3, C2/L46–C3/L21).
Regarding claim 5, Brown discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the plurality of tabs (28) comprises a plurality of positive tabs (28') and a plurality of negative tabs (28", C2/L46–C3/L21),
a quantity of the plurality of positive tabs (28') being identical to a quantity of the plurality of negative tabs (28", C2/L46–C3/L21).
Regarding claim 6, Brown discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein a quantity of tabs (28) with the bent portions (32) in the plurality of positive tabs (28') is identical to a quantity of tabs (28) with the bent portions (32), in the plurality of negative tabs (28", C2/L46–C3/L21).
Regarding claim 7, Brown discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the at least one tab (28) is a first tab (28') or a second tab (28"), the first tab (28') and the second tab (28") having opposite polarities (FIG. 1, C2/L46–C3/L21).
Regarding claim 8, Brown discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the bent portion (32) has a rectangular shape or a trapezoidal shape (FIG. 4, C2/L46–C3/L21).
Regarding claim 11, Brown discloses a traction battery, comprising at least one electrode assembly (FIG. 1, C2/L28–45), the at least one electrode assembly comprises:
a plurality of tabs (28) stacked to each other (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21),
at least one of the plurality of tabs (28) comprising a tab body and a free end (32) connected to the tab body (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21),
the free end (32) being formed into a bent portion (32) through at least a single bending (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21), and
the bent portion (32) being stacked at a side of the tab body (FIG. 2, C2/L46–C3/L21).
Regarding claim 12, Brown discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a traction battery, further comprising:
an adapting member (6) connected to the plurality of tabs (28) of the electrode assembly through welding (FIG. 4, C2/L46–C3/L21),
wherein the bent portion (32) of the at least one tab (28) is located at a side of the tab body away from the adapting member (6, C2/L46–C3/L21),
wherein a weld spot at a connection (34) between the adapting member (6) and the at least one tab (28) is located at the bent portion (32, C2/L46–C3/L21).
Claims 1 and 9–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2021/0083256 A1, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an electrode assembly (10, [0048]), comprising:
a plurality of tabs (20) stacked to each other (FIG. 4, [0094]),
at least one of the plurality of tabs (20) comprising a tab body (201) and a free end (202) connected to the tab body (201, [0054]),
the free end (202) being formed into a bent portion (201) through at least a single bending (FIG. 5, [0054]), and
the bent portion (201) being stacked at a side of the tab body (201, [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly, further comprising:
a protection sheet (70) sandwiched between two adjacent ones of the plurality of tabs (20) and/or located at a side of the bent portion (201) away from the tab body (201, [0094]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the protection sheet (70) covers the bent portion (201, [0094]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses a traction battery (100), comprising at least one electrode assembly (10, [0048]), the at least one electrode assembly comprises:
a plurality of tabs (20) stacked to each other (FIG. 4, [0094]),
at least one of the plurality of tabs (20) comprising a tab body (201) and a free end (202) connected to the tab body (201, [0054]),
the free end (202) being formed into a bent portion (201) through at least a single bending (FIG. 5, [0054]), and
the bent portion (201) being stacked at a side of the tab body (201, [0054]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a traction battery, further comprising:
an adapting member (40) connected to the plurality of tabs (20) of the electrode assembly through welding (FIG. 5, [0096]),
wherein the bent portion (201) of the at least one tab (20) is located at a side of the tab body away from the adapting member (40, [0049]),
wherein a weld spot (71) at a connection between the adapting member (40) and the at least one tab (20) is located at the bent portion (201, [0096]).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a traction battery, further comprising:
a tape (60) adhering to a surface of a weld spot (71) formed through the welding (FIG. 3, [0076]).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a traction battery:
wherein the tape (60) has a slit corresponding to the weld spot (FIG. 3, [0097]).
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725