BINDER AND PREPARATION METHOD AND APPLICATION THEREOF
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 and 19-23 in the reply filed on 8/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/18/2024, 11/26/2024, 2/26/2025, 6/16/2025, 9/23/2025, 12/31/2025, and 4/10/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 19, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iguchi et al. (US 2015/0017532 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Iguchi et al. teach a binder, comprising a polyvinylidene fluoride having a weight average molar mass of 1.5 million to 5.0 million; optionally, the polyvinylidene fluoride has a weight average molar mass of 1.8 million to 3.2 million (Paragraphs 0071, 9973-0074 discloses a binder component comprising vinylidene fluoride such as PVDF. PVDF has a weight average molecular weight of 50,000 to 2,000,000. Further, paragraph 0086 discloses PVDF has a weight average molecular weight of 35,000 to 1,300,000).
Regarding claim 6, Iguchi et al. teach the binder according to claim 1, wherein a viscosity of a binder solution made from the polyvinylidene fluoride dissolved in N-methyl pyrrolidone is 3500 mPa-s-5000 mPa-s, and a mass percentage content of the binder in the binder solution is 3%-5% (Paragraph 0024 discloses a solution viscosity of 10-20,000 mPas of a 5% mass solution of fluoropolymer in NMP.).
Regarding claim 19, Iguchi et al. teach a secondary battery (Abstract), comprising a cathode plate, a separator, and an anode plate, the separator is disposed between the cathode plate and the anode plate; wherein the cathode plate comprises a cathode current collector and a cathode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the cathode current collector, the cathode active material layer comprises the binder according to claim 1 (Paragraphs 0176; 0182.).
Regarding claim 20, Iguchi et al. teach the secondary battery according to claim 19, wherein a mass percentage content of the binder in the cathode active material layer is 0.6%-1.2%; optionally, a mass percentage content of the binder is 0.6%-0.8% (Paragraph 0173 discloses the binder of the present invention is used as a binder in the positive electrode mixture and/or negative electrode mixture, the amount thereof is 0.1 to 20% by mass.).
Regarding claim 23, Iguchi et al. teach an electric device, comprising one or more of the secondary battery according to claim 19 (Paragraph 0002 discloses laptops, phones, and automobiles.).
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2006/0069223 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Lee et al. teach a binder, comprising a polyvinylidene fluoride having a weight average molar mass of 1.5 million to 5.0 million; optionally, the polyvinylidene fluoride has a weight average molar mass of 1.8 million to 3.2 million (Abstract; Paragraphs 0035; 0103 disclose PVDF as a binder having an average molecular weight of 500,000 to 1,500,000 g/mol.).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. teach the binder according to claim 1, wherein the polyvinylidene fluoride has a polydispersity index of 1.5 to 2.5; optionally, the polyvinylidene fluoride has a polydispersity index of 2 to 2.3 (Paragraph 0033 discloses a polydispersity of 1.3-6.0).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. teach the binder according to claim 1, wherein the polyvinylidene fluoride has a crystallinity of 38%-48%; optionally, the polyvinylidene fluoride has a crystallinity of 40%-45% (Claim 35 discloses crystallinity in excess of 40%.).
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uezono et al. (JP 2016-219212 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Uezono et al. teach a binder, comprising a polyvinylidene fluoride having a weight average molar mass of 1.5 million to 5.0 million; optionally, the polyvinylidene fluoride has a weight average molar mass of 1.8 million to 3.2 million (Abstract discloses a binder comprising polyvinylidene fluoride. Paragraph 0019 discloses PVDF has a molecular weight of 1-2 million.).
Regarding claim 4, Uezono et al. teach the binder according to claim 1, wherein the polyvinylidene fluoride has a Dv50 particle size of 50 µm-150 µm; optionally, the polyvinylidene fluoride has a Dv50 particle size of 60 µm -100 µm (Paragraphs 0071-0072 disclose the particle size of PVDF is 71 µm.).
Regarding claim 19, Uezono et al. teach a secondary battery (Abstract), comprising a cathode plate, a separator, and an anode plate, the separator is disposed between the cathode plate and the anode plate; wherein the cathode plate comprises a cathode current collector and a cathode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the cathode current collector, the cathode active material layer comprises the binder according to claim 1 (Paragraphs 0052-0055.).
Regarding claim 20, Uezono et al. teach the secondary battery according to claim 19, wherein a mass percentage content of the binder in the cathode active material layer is 0.6%-1.2%; optionally, a mass percentage content of the binder is 0.6%-0.8% (Paragraph 0009 discloses 1-2%.).
Regarding claim 21, Uezono et al. teach a battery module, comprising the secondary battery according to claim 19 (Paragraph 0088).
Regarding claim 22, Uezono et al. teach a battery pack, comprising the battery module according to claim 21 (Paragraph 0088).
Regarding claim 23, Uezono et al. teach an electric device, comprising one or more of the secondary battery according to claim 19 (Paragraph 0002).
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 August 25th, 2026