Priority
Benefit of earlier filing date of 09/05/2023 of provisional application No. 63/536,528 is acknowledged as required by 35 U.S.C. 119.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the Group II (method claims) in the reply filed on 02/09/2029 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 and 13-20 are cancelled. New method claims 21-36 are added.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; the following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for.";and
Claim 1 recites “a lever engagement member configured to engage the lever”. The three prong tests are:
Prong C is not met and therefore this claim limitation is not going to be interpreted to invoke 35 USC 112f.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “when the semiconductor wafer is in the target wafer position relative to the platen, moving, using a biasing force applied by the biasing member to the lever, the lever to the closed position relative to the platen” which is ambiguous. Examiner suggests amending this limitation as below to overcome the rejection: -- when the semiconductor wafer is in the target wafer position relative to the platen, moving the lever to the closed position relative to the platen--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24, 27-28 and 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 2005070972 A) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a method, comprising: supporting a substrate (transparent substrate 1) on a platen (platen 104) of a semiconductor processing station (thin film deposition chamber 110);
biasing a lever (clamp bar 120) of a retainer assembly to a closed position relative to the platen by a biasing member (“tension spring coil(130) for pulling the bottom end of the clamp bar from the platen”), the biasing member being coupled to the lever and to a mounting member (138) coupled to the platen; and inhibiting movement of the substrate by the lever when the lever is in the closed position.
Regarding claim 22, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) apply a lever-opening force to the lever by a lever engagement member (roller pin 140), the lever-opening force (upward force of roller pin 140) moving the lever from the closed position to an open position relative to the platen.
Regarding claim 23, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) moving the lever from the closed position to the open position comprises: moving the lever from the closed position in which the lever obstructs a first path of motion of the substrate (when the lever 120 is in closed position, projected upper end 120a of the lever 120 obstructs first path/upward motion of the substrate 120); and moving the lever to the open position in which the lever does not obstruct the first path of motion of the substrate (when the lever 120 is in open position, projected upper end 120a of the lever 120 is away from top surface of the substrate 1 and therefore does not obstruct first path/upward motion of the substrate 120).
Regarding claim 24, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) moving the lever from the closed position to the open position comprises: applying the lever-opening force overcoming a biasing force applied by the biasing member to the lever (roller pin 140 forces the lever/clamp 120 to open overcoming a biasing force applied by the extension spring 130).
Regarding claim 27, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. below) biasing the lever comprises: connecting a spring of the biasing member (130) to a power region of the lever.
Regarding claim 28, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. below) inhibiting movement of the substrate comprises: disposing at least a portion of a weight region (120a) of the lever (120) over the substrate.
Regarding claim 29, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a method, comprising: inhibiting movement of a substrate (transparent substrate 1) on a platen (platen 104) of a semiconductor processing station (thin film deposition chamber 110)
along a path of motion by a first lever when the first lever is in a first closed position relative to the platen (when the lever 120 is in closed position, projected upper end 120a of the lever 120 inhibits movement of the substrate 120 along an upward path of motion), the first lever being pivotally coupled to a first mounting member (138) coupled to the platen; and applying a first lever-opening force to the first lever to pivot the first lever relative to the first mounting member such that the first lever is moved from the first closed position to a first open position relative to the platen (roller pin 140 forces the lever/clamp 120 to open overcoming a biasing force applied by the extension spring 130), wherein the first lever does not inhibit the movement of the substrate along the path of motion when the first lever is in the first open position (when the lever 120 is in open position, projected upper end 120a of the lever 120 is away from top surface of the substrate 1 and therefore does not inhibit movement of the substrate 120 along the upward path of motion).
Regarding claim 30, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) inhibiting the movement of the substrate along the path of motion by a second lever (Fig. 2 shows four retaining assemblies/clamp assemblies, each comprising a lever 120 which is shown in detail in annotated Fig. 3 above) when the second lever is in a second closed position relative to the platen (when the lever 120 is in closed position, projected upper end 120a of the lever 120 inhibits movement of the substrate 120 along an upward path of motion), the second lever being pivotally coupled to a second mounting member (138) coupled to the platen; and applying a second lever-opening force to the second lever to pivot the second lever relative to the second mounting member such that the second lever is moved from the second closed position to a second open position relative to the platen, wherein the second lever does not inhibit the movement of the substrate along the path of motion when the second lever is in the second open position (when the lever 120 is in open position, projected upper end 120a of the lever 120 is away from top surface of the substrate 1 and therefore does not inhibit movement of the substrate 120 along the upward path of motion).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) biasing the first lever to the first closed position by a first biasing member coupled between the first lever and the first mounting member; biasing the first lever comprises coupling a spring between the first lever and the first mounting member (ends of extension spring 130 are connected to the power portion of the lever 120 and the mounting member 138; the extension spring 130 pulls the power portion of the lever 120 to closed position clamping the substrate 1).
Regarding claim 33, Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) applying the first lever-opening force (by upward force of roller pin 140) comprises: applying the first lever-opening force to overcome a first biasing force applied by a first biasing member to the first lever (roller pin 140 forces the lever/clamp 120 to open overcoming a biasing force applied by the extension spring 130).
Claims 9, 11-12, 21-25, 27-28, 29-30 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato (US 10790182 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a method of operating a wafer retaining device, the wafer retaining device comprising: a platen (rotary table 2) configured to support a semiconductor wafer (W); a retainer assembly comprising a lever (lever comprises substrate holding member 80, 82, 83) and a biasing member (90) configured to bias the lever to a closed position relative to the platen (par. 12, lines 27-39);
and a lever engagement member (100) configured to engage the lever; and the method comprising: applying, through the lever engagement member (par. 12, lines 27-39), a lever-opening force (F) to the lever to move the lever from the closed position to an open position relative to the platen; and when the lever is in the open position, transferring (by lift pin 16) the semiconductor wafer to a target wafer position (position shown in Fig. 8A) relative to the platen.
Regarding claim 11, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the lever does not obstruct a path of motion of the semiconductor wafer when the lever is in the open position; transferring the semiconductor wafer to the target wafer position comprises moving the semiconductor wafer along the path of motion (upward path) to the target wafer position when the lever is in the open position; and the method comprises when the lever is in the closed position, obstructing the path of motion of the semiconductor wafer using the lever.
Regarding claim 12, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the lever moves from the closed position to the open position when the lever opening force overcomes a biasing force applied by the biasing member to the lever (movement of the lever engagement member 100 upward forces the lever 80 to rotate away from the platen 2 to open position).
Regarding claim 21, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a method, comprising: supporting a substrate (W) on a platen (rotary table 2) of a semiconductor processing station (“substrate processing apparatus”; “processing chamber”); biasing a lever (lever comprises 80, 82, 83) of a retainer assembly to a closed position relative to the platen by a biasing member (90), the biasing member being coupled (from top) to the lever and to (from bottom) a mounting member (spring support member 91) coupled to the platen; and inhibiting movement of the substrate by the lever when the lever is in the closed position (as shown in Fig. 11 above when part 80 of the lever is in closed position, movement of W in upward direction is obstructed).
Regarding claim 22, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) apply a lever-opening force to the lever by a lever engagement member (pushing pin 100), the lever-opening force moving the lever from the closed position to an open position relative to the platen (col. 11, lines 1-21; “The pressing member 83 is pushed by the pushing pin 100 so that a pressing force against the biasing force of the spring 90 is transmitted to the connection member 82”).
Regarding claim 23, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) moving the lever from the closed position to the open position comprises: moving the lever from the closed position in which the lever obstructs a first path of motion of the substrate (when lever/clamp 80 is rotated toward the platen 2 by pulling force of the spring 90, the outer edge of the wafer W is gripped by 80 and upward motion of the substrate is obstructed, which is shown in Fig. 8B above); and moving the lever to the open position (by upward force F of 100 to rotate 80 away from platen 2) in which the lever does not obstruct the first path of motion of the substrate.
Regarding claim 24, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) moving the lever from the closed position to the open position comprises: applying the lever-opening force overcoming a biasing force applied by the biasing member to the lever (col. 11, lines 1-21; “The pressing member 83 is pushed by the pushing pin 100 so that a pressing force against the biasing force of the spring 90 is transmitted to the connection member 82”).
Regarding claim 25, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) separating the substrate from a semiconductor processing component by at least a threshold distance (D) by a hard stop device (lift pin 16) coupled to the platen (col. 13, lines 1-36).
Regarding claim 27, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) biasing the lever comprises: connecting a spring of the biasing member (90) to a power region (83) of the lever (80, 82, 83).
Regarding claim 28, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) inhibiting movement of the substrate comprises: disposing at least a portion of a weight region (80) of the lever (80, 82, 83) over the substrate (W).
Regarding claim 29, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a method, comprising: inhibiting movement of a substrate on a platen of a semiconductor processing station along a path of motion by a first lever when the first lever is in a first closed position relative to the platen (as shown in Figs. 8B and 11 above, when part 80 of the lever is in closed position, movement of W in upward direction is inhibited), the first lever being pivotally (at 81) coupled to a first mounting member (outer portion of plated 2) coupled to the platen (2); and applying a first lever-opening force (by upward force F of pushing pin 100) to the first lever to pivot the first lever relative to the first mounting member such that the first lever is moved from the first closed position to a first open position relative to the platen, wherein the first lever does not inhibit the movement of the substrate along the path of motion when the first lever is in the first open position (col. 11, lines 1-21; “The pressing member 83 is pushed by the pushing pin 100 so that a pressing force against the biasing force of the spring 90 is transmitted to the connection member 82”).
Regarding claim 30, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) inhibiting the movement of the substrate along the path of motion by a second lever (second lever of a second retaining assembly) when the second lever is in a second closed position relative to the platen, the second lever being pivotally coupled (at 81) to a second mounting member (outer portion of plated 2) coupled to the platen; and applying a second lever-opening force (by upward force F of pushing pin 100) to the second lever to pivot the second lever relative to the second mounting member such that the second lever is moved from the second closed position to a second open position (by rotating away from the wafer) relative to the platen, wherein the second lever does not inhibit the movement of the substrate along the path of motion when the second lever is in the second open position (Fig. 3 shows three clamps and Fig. 8 shows two of these clamps similar to each other).
Regarding claim 33, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) applying the first lever-opening force comprises: applying the first lever-opening force (F) to overcome a first biasing force applied by a first biasing member to the first lever (to rotate part 80 of lever away from the platen 2).
Regarding claim 34, Kato teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) separating the substrate from the semiconductor processing station by at least a threshold distance (D) by a hard stop device (lift pin 16) coupled to the platen (col. 13, lines 1-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Walther (US 20030082891 A1).
Regarding claims 26 and 35, Kato does not teach using a faraday cup for ion detection.
Walther teaches a wafer holding device with a platen 76 and “A Faraday cup 148 may be positioned in alignment with ribbon ion beam 62 for dose and uniformity measurements” (see par. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a Faraday cup for using device of Kato in ion implementation process. Doing so would make it possible to test uniformity in ion deposition on the wafer.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Gleissner et al. (US 11942356 B2) hereinafter Gleissner.
Regarding claim 36, Kato is silent regarding protective structure for the first lever.
Gleissner teaches a wafer gripper with a protective structure “To avoid scratching of a substrate during processing” (col. 6. Line 58-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a first protective structure on the first lever. Doing so would avoid scratching of the substrate during processing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 10 is Kim.
Kim teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a method of operating a wafer retaining device (Abstract: “clamp assembly … for gripping a transparent substrate”), the wafer retaining device comprising: a platen (platen 104) configured to support a semiconductor wafer (transparent substrate 1); a retainer assembly comprising a lever (clamp bar 120) and a biasing member (tension spring coil 130) configured to bias the lever to a closed position relative to the platen (“tension spring coil(130) for pulling the bottom end of the clamp bar from the platen”); and a lever engagement member (140) configured to engage the lever; and the method comprising: applying, through the lever engagement member (by movement of 140 upward as shown above), a lever-opening force to the lever to move the lever from the closed position to an open position relative to the platen; (pivoting around O) relative to the platen.
However in device of Kim, the wafer is clamped in vertical target position by vacuum and not a lever.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bang Sang Won (KR 20090055712 A) teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) supporting a substrate (W) on a platen (20); biasing a lever (23) of a retainer assembly to a closed position (Fig. 3b) relative to the platen by a biasing member (27), the biasing member being coupled to the lever and to a mounting member; inhibiting movement of the substrate by the lever when the lever is in the closed position (Fig. 3b); a lever engagement member (pressing portion 33) configured to engage the lever (Fig. 2b); and the method comprising: applying, through the lever engagement member, a lever-opening force to the lever to move the lever from the closed position to an open position relative to the platen (Fig. 2b).
Min Chang-ki (KR 100333362 B1) teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a wafer retaining device, comprising: a platen (4), a lever (6) biased by a biasing member (helical spring 5) to a closed position (clamping wafer 20); and a lever engagement member (7) to force the lever to open position.
Burggraf et al. (US 20120110825 A1) teaches a wafer clamping device with a hard stop device 12 for separate the substrate 1 from platen 6.
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723