DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application No. 18416008 filed on 01/18/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 6/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al. (US 2012/0222894).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kaneko et al. teach a semiconductor package comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 3, element 52, paragraph 0116); and
a pad (Fig. 3, element P1, paragraph 0120) on one surface of the substrate and includes a first metal layer (Figs. 2 & 3, element 12, paragraph 0116) and a second metal layer (Figs. 2 & 3, element 13, paragraph 0116) covering the first metal layer,
wherein a side surface of the second metal layer is nonplanar (Figs. 2 & 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kaneko et al. teach wherein the side surface of the second metal layer includes two or more protrusions (Figs. 2 & 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kaneko et al. teach wherein a surface roughness of a side surface of the pad is greater than that of an upper surface of the pad (Figs. 2 & 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kaneko et al. teach further comprising an insulating layer (Fig. 3, element 20, paragraph 0139) on the one surface of the substrate, wherein a surface of the insulating layer in contact with of a side surface of the pad is nonplanar.
Regarding claim 6, Kaneko et al. teach wherein a surface roughness of the surface of the insulating layer in contact with the side surface of the pad is greater than a surface roughness of a surface of the insulating layer in contact with an upper surface of the substrate (Figs. 2 & 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US 2012/0222894) in view of Kao et al. (US 2024/0332158).
Regarding claim 3, Kaneko et al. teach wherein the first and second metal layer comprises metal (paragraph 1014).
Kaneko et al. do not explicitly disclose the first metal layer includes copper and the second metal layer includes nickel.
Before the effective filling date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select known metal materials as shown by Kao et al. (paragraph 0040 discloses a pad comprising a first metal layer (Fig. 1I, element 200a-1) made of copper and paragraph 0037 discloses a second metal layer (Fig. 1I & 2, element 108p) comprising nickel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 7-8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US 2012/0222894).
Regarding claim 7, Kaneko et al. teach further comprising a seed layer (Fig. 3, element 11, paragraph 0104 discloses metal layer, Before the effective filling date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known metal such as Cu or Al, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416)between the substrate and the pad.
Regarding independent claim 8, Kaneko et al. teach a semiconductor package comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 3, element 52, paragraph 0116);
a seed layer (Fig. 3, element 11, paragraph 0104 discloses metal layer, Before the effective filling date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known metal such as Cu or Al, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416) on a first surface of the substrate;
a pad (Fig. 3, element P1, paragraph 0120) on the seed layer and including a first metal layer (Figs. 2 & 3, element 12, paragraph 0116) and a second metal layer (Figs. 2 & 3, element 13, paragraph 0116) on the first metal layer;
an insulating layer (Fig. 3, element 20, paragraph 0139) on the first surface of the substrate and including a side surface in contact with the second metal layer; and
a semiconductor chip (Fig. 3, element 50, paragraph 0116) above a second surface of the substrate,
wherein an interface between the side surface of the insulating layer and the second metal layer is nonplanar (Figs. 2 & 3).
Regarding claim 10, Kaneko et al. teach wherein the substrate includes an interconnection layer (Fig. 3, elements 51 & 14, paragraph 0040, 0050) that electrically connects the semiconductor chip and the pad.
Regarding claim 11, Kaneko et al. teach wherein a side surface of the pad includes two or more protrusions (Figs. 2 & 3).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US 2012/0222894) in view of Kao et al. (US 2024/0332158).
Regarding claim 9, Kaneko et al. teach wherein the first and second metal layer comprises metal (paragraph 1014).
Kaneko et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the first metal layer includes copper and the second metal layer includes nickel.
Before the effective filling date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select known metal materials as shown by Kao et al. (paragraph 0040 discloses a pad comprising a first metal layer (Fig. 1I, element 200a-1) made of copper and paragraph 0037 discloses a second metal layer (Fig. 1I & 2, element 108p) comprising nickel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/SHAHED AHMED/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813