DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, with claims 1-7 and 9-12 in the reply filed on 06/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9- 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torii et al. (JP 2012-146747 A, hereinafter refer to Torii) in view of Shingyoji et al. (U.S. Pat. No.5,936,492, hereinafter refer to Shingyoii).
JP 2012146747 A (hereinafter refer to Torii) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of JP 2012-146747 A.
Regarding Claim 1: Torii discloses a method (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown below and abstract), comprising:
arranging a semiconductor die (1) at a die mounting location of a substrate (3), the substrate (3) comprising an array of electrically conductive leads (3a/3b) at a periphery of the substrate (3) (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above); and
electrically coupling the semiconductor die (1) and selected ones of the electrically conductive leads (3a/3b) in the array of electrically conductive leads (3a/3b) via electrically conductive ribbons (7) having a body portion with a first width as well as first and second end portions bonded to the semiconductor die (1) and to electrically conductive leads (3a) in the array of electrically conductive leads (3a), respectively (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above).
Torii is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein at least one of the first and second end portions of the electrically conductive ribbons comprises a tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion.
For support see Shingyoii, which teaches wherein at least one of the first and second end portions of the electrically conductive ribbons (11e) comprises a tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown below, col.2, lines 63-67, and col.3, lines 1-13).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Torii and Shingyoii to enable the Torii’s first and second end portions of the electrically conductive ribbons to comprises a tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion as taught by Shingyoii in order to reduced production costs .
Regarding Claim 2: Torii as modified teaches a method as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Torii and Shingyoii further teaches wherein the electrically conductive ribbons (7) have a substantially constant thickness at the first and second end portions and at the body portion (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Torii as modified teaches a method as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Torii and Shingyoii further teaches wherein dispensing electrically conductive material at the tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion to provide a current conduction path of substantially constant cross- sectional area extending between the first and second end portions (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown above).
Regarding Claim 4: Torii as modified teaches a method as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Torii and Shingyoii further teaches wherein wedge-bonding the first and second end portions to the semiconductor die (1) and to electrically conductive leads (3a) in the array of electrically conductive leads (3a) (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Torii as modified teaches a method as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Torii and Shingyoii further teaches wherein electrically coupling (11e) comprises: providing a metal strip having the first width at body portions and including a plurality of tapered portions each having the second width smaller than the first width (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown above);
forming the ribbon (7) by (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown above):
bonding one of the tapered portions of the metal strip (11e) to one of the semiconductor die (11) or electrically conductive leads (17b/17z) in the array of electrically conductive leads (Fig.1. 3a) to provide the first end portion of the ribbon (7) (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown above and see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above);
bonding another one of the tapered portions of the metal strip (11e) to the other of the semiconductor die (11) or electrically conductive leads (17b/17z) in the array of electrically conductive leads (Fig.1, 3a) (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown above and see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above); and
cutting the another one of the tapered portions to provide the second end portion of the ribbon (11e) (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown above).
Regarding Claim 6: Torii discloses an electrically conductive ribbon (7) (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above and abstract), comprising:
a body portion having a first width as well as first and second end portions configured to be bonded to a semiconductor die (1) and to electrically conductive leads (3a) in an array of electrically conductive leads (3a/3b), respectively (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above).
Torii is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein at least one of the first and second end portions of the electrically conductive ribbon comprises a tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion.
For support see Shingyoii, which teaches wherein at least one of the first and second end portions of the electrically conductive ribbon (11e) comprises a tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown above, col.2, lines 63-67, and col.3, lines 1-13).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Torii and Shingyoii to enable the Torii’s at least one of the first and second end portions of the electrically conductive ribbon to comprise a tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion as taught by Shingyoii in order to reduced production costs .
Regarding Claim 7: Torii as modified teaches an electrically conductive ribbon (7) as set forth in claim 6 as above. The combination of Torii and Shingyoii further teaches wherein the ribbon (7) has a substantially constant thickness at the first and second end portions and at the body portion (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 9: Torii discloses a device (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above and abstract), comprising:
a semiconductor die (1) arranged at a die mounting location of a substrate (3), the substrate (3) comprising an array of electrically conductive leads (3a/3b) at a periphery of the substrate (3) (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above); and
electrically conductive ribbons (7) electrically coupling the semiconductor die (1) and selected ones of the electrically conductive leads (3a) in the array of electrically conductive leads (3a/3b), the electrically conductive ribbons (7) having a body portion with a first width as well as first and second end portions bonded to the semiconductor die (1) and to electrically conductive leads (3a) in the array of electrically conductive leads (3a/3b), respectively (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above).
Torii is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein at least one of the first and second end portions of the electrically conductive ribbons comprises a tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion.
For support see Shingyoii, which teaches wherein at least one of the first and second end portions of the electrically conductive ribbons (11e) comprises a tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown above, col.2, lines 63-67, and col.3, lines 1-13).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Torii and Shingyoii to enable the Torii’s at least one of the first and second end portions of the electrically conductive ribbons to comprise a tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion as taught by Shingyoii in order to reduced production costs .
Regarding Claim 10: Torii as modified teaches a device as set forth in claim 9 as above. The combination of Torii and Shingyoii further teaches wherein the electrically conductive ribbons (7) have a substantially constant thickness at the first and second end portions and at the body portion (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 11: Torii as modified teaches a device as set forth in claim 9 as above. The combination of Torii and Shingyoii further teaches wherein the electrically conductive ribbons (7) are wedge-bonded at the first and second end portions to the semiconductor die (1) and to electrically conductive leads (3a) in the array of electrically conductive leads (3a/3b) (see Torii, Fig.1 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 12: Torii as modified teaches a device as set forth in claim 9 as above. The combination of Torii and Shingyoii further teaches wherein electrically conductive material (11e) dispensed at the tapered portion having a second width smaller than the first width of the body portion to provide a current conduction path of substantially constant cross- sectional area extending between the first and second end portions (see Shingyoii, Fig.4C and 5B as shown above).
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812