DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masuda et al (JP2016225014A, given in the 01/18/2024 IDS, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet).
Regarding claim 1, Masuda discloses a battery cell (secondary battery 10 in Figs. 1-2; see entire disclosure and especially P20), comprising:
a housing, on which an opening is created (casing 200 in Figs. 1-2; see entire disclosure and especially P11);
an electrode assembly, accommodated in the housing (wound electrode group 110 in Figs. 2-3), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a main portion and a first tab, and the first tab protrudes from an end of the main portion (main portion drawn to center portion of wound electrode group 110 in Fig. 2, first tab drawn to one of the negative electrode tabs 117 in Figs. 2 and 6; see entire disclosure and especially P12, 23);
an end cap, configured to fit and cover the opening (negative electrode external terminal 145 in Figs. 2-3 and 6), wherein an injection port is created on the end cap (injection hole 145c in Figs. 2-3 and 6; see entire disclosure and especially P52); and
a current collection component, accommodated in the housing and located on a side of the end cap (negative electrode current collector ring 121 in Figs. 2-3 and 6; see entire disclosure and especially P51),
wherein
the side is oriented toward the main portion (see Figs. 2-3 and 6), and the current collection component is configured to connect the first tab and the end cap to implement electrical connection between the end cap and the first tab (see entire disclosure and especially P51-52); and
the current collection component comprises a first center hole and a guide channel, the first center hole is disposed opposite to the injection port in an axial direction of the first center hole (empty space in fitting cylindrical portion 121b in Figs. 3 and 6), and the guide channel is configured to guide at least a part of an electrolytic solution into the main portion after the electrolytic solution enters the battery cell from the injection port (opening 121e in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P49-50).
Regarding claim 2, Masuda discloses wherein the current collection component comprises an outer surface and an inner surface opposite to each other, the outer surface is oriented toward the end cap, and the inner surface is oriented toward the first tab (see Fig. 3); and
the guide channel comprises a guide hole (opening 121e in Fig. 3), and
the guide hole penetrates the outer surface and the inner surface of the current collection component (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Masuda discloses wherein the guide hole deviates from the first center hole so as to be independent of the first center hole (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Masuda discloses wherein the guide channel comprises a plurality of guide holes, and the plurality of guide holes are distributed around the first center hole circumferentially at intervals (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Masuda discloses wherein a second center hole is created on the main portion, and the second center hole is disposed opposite to the first center hole in the axial direction of the first center hole (see Figs. 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 16, Masuda discloses a method for manufacturing a battery cell (secondary battery 10 in Figs. 1-2; see also Fig. 7; see entire disclosure and especially P20, 59-76), comprising:
providing a housing, wherein an opening is created on the housing (casing 200 in Figs. 1-2; see entire disclosure and especially P11, 60-63);
providing an electrode assembly, accommodated in the housing (wound electrode group 110 in Figs. 2-3), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a main portion and a first tab, and the first tab protrudes from an end of the main portion (main portion drawn to center portion of wound electrode group 110 in Fig. 2, first tab drawn to one of the negative electrode tabs 117 in Figs. 2 and 6; see entire disclosure and especially P12, 23, 64);
providing an end cap (negative electrode external terminal 145 in Figs. 2-3 and 6), wherein an injection port is created on the end cap (injection hole 145c in Figs. 2-3 and 6; see entire disclosure and especially P52, 69-70, 75);
providing a current collection component, wherein the current collection component comprises a first center hole and a guide channel (negative electrode current collector ring 121 in Figs. 2-3 and 6; the first center hole being empty space in fitting cylindrical portion 121b in Figs. 3 and 6; the guide channel being opening 121e in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P49-51, 69);
connecting the current collection component to the first tab (see entire disclosure and especially P69-70);
letting the electrode assembly be accommodated in the housing (see entire disclosure and especially P72);
letting the end cap fit and cover the opening (see entire disclosure and especially P71-73); and
connecting the end cap to the current collection component to implement electrical connection between the end cap and the first tab (see entire disclosure and especially P51-52, 70-71, 73),
wherein
the current collection component is accommodated in the housing and located on a side of the end cap, the side is oriented toward the main portion (see Figs. 2-3 and 6; see entire disclosure and especially P51-52); and
the first center hole is disposed opposite to the injection port in an axial direction of the first center hole (see Figs. 3 and 6), and the guide channel is configured to guide at least a part of an electrolytic solution into the main portion after the electrolytic solution enters the battery cell from the injection port (see entire disclosure and especially P49-50, 75-76).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Masuda et al (JP2016225014A, given in the 01/18/2024 IDS, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet).
Regarding claim 17, Masuda discloses equipment for manufacturing a battery cell (secondary battery 10 in Figs. 1-2; see also Fig. 7; see entire disclosure and especially P20, 59-76), comprising:
a first providing apparatus, configured to provide a housing, wherein an opening is created on the housing (casing 200 in Figs. 1-2; see entire disclosure and especially P11, 60-63; Masuda teaches a manufacturing method, therefore, there is necessarily a first providing apparatus to provide the housing for the manufacturing method);
a second providing apparatus, configured to provide an electrode assembly, accommodated in the housing (wound electrode group 110 in Figs. 2-3), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a main portion and a first tab, and the first tab protrudes from an end of the main portion (main portion drawn to center portion of wound electrode group 110 in Fig. 2, first tab drawn to one of the negative electrode tabs 117 in Figs. 2 and 6; see entire disclosure and especially P12, 23, 64; Masuda teaches a manufacturing method, therefore, there is necessarily a second providing apparatus to provide the electrode assembly for the manufacturing method);
a third providing apparatus, configured to provide an end cap (negative electrode external terminal 145 in Figs. 2-3 and 6), wherein an injection port is created on the end cap (injection hole 145c in Figs. 2-3 and 6; see entire disclosure and especially P52, 69-70, 75; Masuda teaches a manufacturing method, therefore, there is necessarily a third providing apparatus to provide the end cap for the manufacturing method);
a fourth providing apparatus, configured to provide a current collection component, wherein the current collection component comprises a first center hole and a guide channel (negative electrode current collector ring 121 in Figs. 2-3 and 6; the first center hole being empty space in fitting cylindrical portion 121b in Figs. 3 and 6; the guide channel being opening 121e in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P49-51, 69; Masuda teaches a manufacturing method, therefore, there is necessarily a fourth providing apparatus to provide the current collection component for the manufacturing method); and
an assembling apparatus, configured to: connect the current collection component to the first tab; let the electrode assembly be accommodated in the housing; let the end cap fit and cover the opening; and connect the end cap to the current collection component to implement electrical connection between the end cap and the first tab (see entire disclosure and especially P51-52, 69-73; Masuda teaches a manufacturing method including an assembly process, and the manufacturing method includes the described connections and composing, therefore, there is necessarily an assembling apparatus to provide these limitations),
wherein
the current collection component is accommodated in the housing and located on a side of the end cap, the side is oriented toward the main portion (see Figs. 2-3 and 6; see entire disclosure and especially P51-52); and
the first center hole is disposed opposite to the injection port in an axial direction of the first center hole (see Figs. 3 and 6), and the guide channel is configured to guide at least a part of an electrolytic solution into the main portion after the electrolytic solution enters the battery cell from the injection port (see entire disclosure and especially P49-50, 75-76).
Alternatively, if Applicant disagrees that Masuda’s manufacturing method necessarily provides equipment for the manufacturing method, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide equipment for the manufacturing method such as a first providing apparatus, a second providing apparatus, a third providing apparatus, a fourth providing apparatus, and an assembling apparatus as claimed, given it is well known that a manufacturing method utilizes equipment in order to manufacture a product, and Masuda’s manufacturing method is the same as Applicant’s manufacturing method claimed.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al (JP2016225014A, given in the 01/18/2024 IDS, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Mori et al (US 20060019158 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Masuda does not disclose wherein the guide hole penetrates a hole wall of the first center hole.
In a similar field of endeavor, Mori teaches a collector plate to be connected to an electrode assembling having at least two types of flange structures, therefore, allowing for an easy way to evenly distribute the connection points between the collector plate and one of the electrode plates included in the electrode assembly (P13). Mori teaches the negative collector plate can include the flange structures (P23, 64).
Mori teaches a collector plate (positive collector plate 15 in Fig. 3A) includes a connection area (15b in Fig. 3A) having ring-shaped flange structures (152 in Fig. 3A), semi ring-shaped flange structures (153 in Fig. 3A), a linear flange structure (154 in Fig. 3A), and a semi ring-shaped inner flange structure (155 in Fig. 3A; P49-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Mori and modified the current collection component of Masuda to have the design as taught by Mori or substituted the current collection component of Masuda with a current collection component having the design of Mori, given Mori teaches their design allows for an easy way to evenly distribute the connection points between the collector plate and one of the electrode plates included in the electrode assembly. Further, the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Modified Masuda meets the limitation wherein the guide hole penetrates a hole wall of the first center hole (see the annotated Fig. below).
Annotated Mori Fig. 3A
Regarding claim 5, modified Masuda meets the limitation wherein the guide hole extends along a radial direction of the first center hole (see the annotated Fig. included in the rejection of claim 4).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al (JP2016225014A, given in the 01/18/2024 IDS, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Lee et al (US 20170372844 A1, equivalent to CN107112137A given in the 01/18/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 7, Masuda does not disclose wherein the end cap comprises an abutment face, and the abutment face is configured to abut against the outer surface; and a recess is created on the end cap, the recess is recessed from the abutment face away from the main portion, the recess communicates with the injection port, and the recess is disposed opposite to at least one guide hole in the axial direction of the first center hole.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches a battery (electric energy storage device) including a cell assembly (160 in Figs. 2-4), a cylindrical metal case (100 in Figs. 2-4), and an end cap connected to a negative electrode of the cell assembly (upper terminal 110 in Figs. 2-4; P33). Lee teaches their end cap includes a portion that abuts a current collector member (first internal terminal 115 in Figs. 3-4) having a plurality of electrolyte injection holes (P36-37). Lee teaches the end cap and current collector member are tightly coupled at the lower edge of the end cap (P37).
Lee teaches the end cap includes a recessed portion that is recessed away from the portion that abuts the current collector member (see Fig. 4). Lee teaches the recessed portion communicates with a hollow (113 in Fig. 4) that is used as a path for injecting electrolyte (P41) and installing a safety valve (120 in Fig. ), and the recessed portion is disposed opposite to guide holes found in the current collector member (see Figs. 3-4).
Lee teaches when the battery is placed in a reverse or tilted state, residual electrolyte may be prevented from flowing out to the safety valve, and thereby out of the hollow, by staying in an accommodation space formed by the recessed portion of the end cap (P21, 45, 47, 51-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Lee and substituted the end cap and corresponding end-section housing design of Masuda with the end cap and corresponding end-section housing design of Lee to provide wherein the end cap comprises an abutment face, and the abutment face is configured to abut against the outer surface; and a recess is created on the end cap, the recess is recessed from the abutment face away from the main portion, the recess communicates with the injection port, and the recess is disposed opposite to at least one guide hole in the axial direction of the first center hole, given Lee teaches their end cap includes a hollow used for injecting electrolyte and installing a safety valve, Lee teaches their end cap design prevents residual electrolyte from flowing out to the safety valve when a battery is placed in a reverse or tilted space, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Masuda meets the limitation wherein the end cap comprises an electrolyte outlet surface located in the recess, one end of the injection port penetrates the electrolyte outlet surface, and the electrolyte outlet surface is in clearance fit with the outer surface (see section of upper terminal 110 that forms the hollow 113 in Fig. 4).
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al (JP2016225014A, given in the 01/18/2024 IDS, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hamasaki et al (US 20060234120 A1, equivalent to CN184821A given in the 01/18/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 9, Masuda does not disclose wherein the guide channel comprises a guide groove, the guide groove is located on a side of the current collection component, wherein the side is oriented toward the first tab, and the first center hole communicates with the guide groove.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hamasaki teaches a positive collector plate including four convex parts (14 in Figs. 2A-2C) and an opening region (12 in Fig. 2A) in the center (P43-44, 46-47). Hamasaki teaches the convex parts extend from the opening region to a peripheral part of the collector plate (P46). Hamasaki teaches the convex part includes a linear top part (14a in Fig. 2B) wherein a part of each linear top part in the vicinity of the peripheral part of the collector pate is cut out to form a cutout region (15 in Fig. 2A; P47-48).
Hamasaki teaches the first advantageous effect of the positive electrode plate with the above-described structure is that current does not flow between regions on both sides of the cutout region, in the width direction of the cutout region; therefore, the cutout region can heighten the current density of the region close to the opening region (P49). Hamasaki teaches this allows sufficient Joule heat to be generated at the linear top part, which is in contact with an end part of a positive electrode plate, thereby allowing the linear top part and end part to be welded firmly together (P50).
Hamasaki teaches the second advantageous effect of the positive electrode plate with the above-described structure is that the linear top part formed on the positive collector plate intersects with the end part of the positive electrode plate that is spirally wound in the electrode assembly, therefore, the linear top part can be in contact with the end part at a sufficient number of contact points allowing the positive collector plate to maintain a high current-collecting efficiency and achieve a high output (P52).
While Hamasaki teaches their collector plate design for a positive electrode rather than a collector plate design for a negative electrode, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that ensuring firm welding, maintaining a high current-collecting efficiency, and achieving a high output would also be beneficial to a negative collector plate, such as the current collection component (negative electrode current collector ring 121) of Masuda. If a technique has been used to improve one device (utilize a collector plate having convex parts extending from an opening region to a peripheral part wherein the convex parts include a linear top part having a cutout region to provide a positive collector plate able to be firmly welded to another component, able to maintain a high current-collecting efficiency, and able to achieve a high output), and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way (utilize a collector plate having convex parts extending from an opening region to a peripheral part wherein the convex parts include a linear top part having a cutout region to provide a negative collector plate able to be firmly welded to another component, able to maintain a high current-collecting efficiency, and able to achieve a high output), using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. SEE MPEP § 2141 (III) Rationale C, KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Hamasaki and modified the current collection component of Masuda to have the design as taught by Hamasaki or substituted the current collection component of Masuda with a current collection component having the design as taught by Hamasaki, given Hamasaki teaches their collector plate design ensures firm welding to electrode plates, maintains a high current-collecting efficiency, and achieves a high output. Further, the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Therefore, modified Masuda meets the limitation wherein the guide channel comprises a guide groove (see the annotated Fig. below), the guide groove is located on a side of the current collection component, wherein the side is oriented toward the first tab (the side at which 14a is protruded towards is the side oriented towards "the first tab" as claimed, given 14a is the contact point at which the collector plate is welded to the electrode plate/tab, Hamasaki P47), and the first center hole communicates with the guide groove (see the annotated Fig. below).
Annotated Hamasaki Figs. 2A-2B
Regarding claim 10, modified Masuda meets the limitation wherein the current collection component comprises:
a body portion, configured to abut against the end cap, wherein the first center hole is located on the body portion (main body 11 in Figs. 2A-2B of Hamasaki; as seen in Fig. 6 of Masuda, the negative electrode current collector ring 121 and negative electrode external terminal 145 abut, see also Masuda P51-52); and
two abutment portions (two of the convex portions 14 in Fig. 2A of Hamasaki), configured to abut against the first tab (14a is the contact point at which the collector plate is welded to the electrode plate/tab, Hamasaki P47), wherein both of the abutment portions are disposed protrusively on a side of the body portion, wherein the side is away from the end cap (the side at which 14a is protruded towards is the side away from the end cap as claimed, given 14a is the contact point at which the collector plate is welded to the electrode plate/tab, Hamasaki P47), the two abutment portions are located on two sides of the first center hole in a radial direction respectively (see Fig. 2A of Hamasaki), and the guide groove is formed between the two abutment portions (see the annotated Fig. provided in the rejection of claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 11, modified Masuda meets the limitation wherein the abutment portions are V-shaped, and the two abutment portions are arranged back-to-back against each other (see the annotated Fig. below).
Annotated Hamasaki Figs. 2A-2B
Regarding claim 13, modified Masuda teaches wherein the first tab is welded to the abutment portions to form a weld mark, and the weld mark extends along a track of the abutment portions (14a is the contact point at which the collector plate is welded to the electrode plate/tab, Hamasaki P47, 50, 57).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al (JP2016225014A, given in the 01/18/2024 IDS, using the provided machine English translation from Espacenet) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kim (US 20060220615 A1).
Regarding claims 14-15, Masuda does not disclose an electrical device comprising a battery including the battery cell according to claim 1 and a box configured to accommodate the battery cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches a battery module includes a plurality of batteries and a housing for receiving the plurality of batteries (P37). Kim teaches battery modules including a plurality of batteries can be used as a power source for driving motors, such as those of hybrid electric vehicles (P5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Kim and provided the battery cell of Masuda to be included with a plurality of battery cells of its kind in a housing to form a battery module and used within an electrical device such as an electric vehicle, given Kim teaches battery modules including a plurality of batteries can be used as a power source for driving motors, such as those of hybrid electric vehicles.
Conclusion
/MARY GRACE HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1729