DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/416,212 filed on 01/23/2026.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 3, 5 – 8, 10 – 15 and 17 have been amended.
This action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkar et al. (US-20160266886-A1) further in view of Pradhan et al. (US-20240256249-A1), Kim et al. (US 20220069450 A1) and Bao et al. (WO2024031699A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sarkar teaches a method, comprising: modifying one or more components of a connected vehicle communication system of a vehicle, the connected vehicle communication system operative to communicate vehicle data with network equipment of a service provider over a mobile network of a mobile network operator; (Sarkar: Paragraph 0012: “With reference to FIG. 1, there is shown an operating environment that comprises a mobile vehicle communications system 10 and that can be used to implement the method disclosed herein. Communications system 10 generally includes a vehicle 12, one or more wireless carrier systems 14, a land communications network 16, a computer 18, and a call center 20. It should be understood that the disclosed method can be used with any number of different systems and is not specifically limited to the operating environment shown here. Also, the architecture, construction, setup, and operation of the system 10 and its individual components are generally known in the art. Thus, the following paragraphs simply provide a brief overview of one such communications system 10; however, other systems not shown here could employ the disclosed method as well.”; Paragraph 0014: “Telematics unit 30 can be an OEM-installed (embedded) or aftermarket device that is installed in the vehicle and that enables wireless voice and/or data communication over wireless carrier system 14 and via wireless networking. This enables the vehicle to communicate with call center 20, other telematics-enabled vehicles, or some other entity or device. The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel (a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel, or via a voice channel using techniques known in the art. For combined services that involve both voice communication (e.g., with a live advisor or voice response unit at the call center 20) and data communication (e.g., to provide GPS location data or vehicle diagnostic data to the call center 20), the system can utilize a single call over a voice channel and switch as needed between voice and data transmission over the voice channel, and this can be done using techniques known to those skilled in the art.”)
… confirming, by a processing system including a processor, operational connectivity among the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system; and (Sarkar: Paragraph 0003: “According to an embodiment of the invention, there is provided a method of performing a software update at a vehicle. The method includes the steps of: providing a vehicle user of an update availability message associated with a vehicle electronic control unit (ECU); receiving a vehicle user consent to install the update; determining whether a vehicle ignition OFF condition is TRUE; when the vehicle ignition OFF condition is TRUE, then installing the update; and providing a notification to a mobile device associated with the vehicle user that the installation is complete.”).
In sum, Sarkar teaches a method, a method, comprising: modifying one or more components of a connected vehicle communication system of a vehicle, the connected vehicle communication system operative to communicate vehicle data with network equipment of a service provider over a mobile network of a mobile network operator; confirming, by a processing system including a processor, operational connectivity among the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system. Sarkar however does not teach the modifying to ensure compatibility with a next-generation mobile network standard for the mobile network of the mobile network operator to meet performance metric of the next-generation mobile network standard.
Kim teaches the modifying to ensure compatibility with a next-generation mobile network standard for the mobile network of the mobile network operator (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “ there is an increasing need to provide communication services and multimedia services by mounting such mobile terminals in vehicles. Meanwhile, there is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service, as well as existing communication services such as LTE (Long Term Evolution) and the like in relation to communication services.”; Paragraph 0010: “ In such a plurality of communication systems and a plurality of antenna systems, when an antenna of a 4G communication system such as LTE and an antenna of a 5G communication system are arranged, isolation considering interference between them is important. In this regard, it is particularly important in LTE re-farming in which an antenna of a 5G communication system operates in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less or partially uses a frequency band of a 4G communication system.”)
… to meet performance metric of the next-generation mobile network standard (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “There is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service,”; Paragraph 0023: “According to one embodiment, the plurality of second antenna elements may be first to fourth array antennas operating in a millimeter wave (mmWave) band. On the other hand, the plurality of third antenna elements may be first to fourth sub-6 antennas operating in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Sarkar teaches the ability to update the software of a vehicle by downloading a software update from the vehicle’s telematics unit (Sarkar: Paragraph 0005; Paragraph 0038). The telematics unit utilizes GSM, CDMA and LTE standards (Sarkar: Paragraph 0015). These standards are everchanging with new technology and consumer demands, thus allowing the vehicle to also update the telematics unit to an antenna which is capable of next-generation 5G communication standards as taught by Kim would be obvious to try to implement by one of ordinary skill in the art with the vehicle of Sarkar. For example, if a software update it too large and requires additional bandwidth, a 5G connection can be used to download the software much faster. This is useful for situations in which the user needs to use their vehicle quickly yet still wants to update their vehicle software prior to driving. This improves the user experience as the software updates can be downloaded much faster and increases the longevity of the vehicle’s usefulness. For example, if a software update can only be performed on a next-generation standard, the telematics unit of Sarkar can be easily upgraded to support the new standard as taught by Kim. For these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the antenna upgrade system of Kim with the vehicle of Sarkar. Sarkar in view of Kim still do not teach communicating, by the processing system, to the network equipment of the service provider, information confirming a successful modification of the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system.
Pradhan teaches communicating, by the processing system, to the network equipment of the service provider, information confirming a successful modification of the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system, (Pradhan: Paragraph 0034: “the one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In an exemplary embodiment, MQTT over SSL may be utilized to allow the communication of data that may associated with the execution of one or more remote commands from the vehicle 102 to an OEM server 116 to be published as a MQTT pub/sub message on the IoT broker 114.”,
Supplemental Note: once installed on the mobile device and connected with the OEM servers/vehicle. The OEM is able to connect with the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Pradhan with a reasonable expectation of success. Sarkar teaches the ability of a vehicle to utilize network communication in updating its vehicle software. Pradhan teaches the ability of a mobile communication application installed on a mobile device allowing the OEM and the user of the vehicle to connect with the vehicle. Once the application is installed, both the user and the OEM server is able to view a status of the vehicle and provide commands to the vehicle. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this teaching of Pradhan with the vehicle system of Sarkar as it increases the vehicle’s functionality. For example, the OEM can have a new software update for the vehicle, by utilizing the mobile communication application, the software can be applied to the vehicle. Furthermore, the user is also able to remotely control functions of the vehicle such as locking/unlocking among a myriad of functions (Pradhan: Paragraphs 0027 – 0028), thus mitigating the need for the user to walk back to the vehicle to check/change its status. Sarkar in view of Pradhan however still do not teach information confirming a successful modification of the connected vehicle communication module to operate on the next-generation mobile network standard.
Bao teaches the information verifying successful modification of the connected vehicle communication system to operate on the next-generation mobile network standard (Bao: Abstract: “The present application relates to a connection establishment method and a device. The method comprises: a first device receives first information sent by a second device, the first information being used for requesting to establish a connection with the first device, the first information carrying a first parameter, and the first parameter being related to a historical connection; and when verification on the first parameter by the first device is successful, the first device sends response information of the first information to the second device, the response information of the first information being used for confirming that the first device can establish a connection.”; lines 143 – 144, lines 150 – 152 :“The technical solutions of the embodiments of the present application can be applied to various communication systems, such as… Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN), wireless fidelity (Wireless Fidelity, WiFi), fifth-generation communication (5th-Generation, 5G) system or other communication systems, etc.”; lines 300 – 301: “Next, the process of establishing a connection between the two devices respectively for the terminal device and the vehicle device to control the vehicle device”; lines 304 – 318: “S301. Establish a secure configuration channel between the terminal equipment and the vehicle equipment; S302. The terminal device configures the accessible identification code list to the vehicle device; S303. The vehicle equipment saves the identification code list; S304. The vehicle equipment returns to the configuration state; S305. The terminal device configures the certificate to the vehicle device; S306. The terminal equipment and vehicle equipment exit the configuration channel; S307. The terminal device sends an interoperability session establishment request to the vehicle device; S308. The vehicle device returns the interoperability establishment type it supports to the terminal device;”,
Supplemental Note: described above is a connection being verified between a terminal and a vehicle which can be done over a 5G network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Bao with a reasonable expectation of success. Boa teaches the ability of a terminal and vehicle to verify if they are able to communicate with each other through a 5G network. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the system of Boa with the vehicle of Sarkar. Sarker teaches the ability to update the software of a vehicle, thus creating a secure connection with a remote terminal is required as to prevent any malicious connection with an unknown entity. Other scenarios such as a power outage or device failure at the remote terminal or the vehicle may disrupt the communication (Bao: lines 18 – 22), wherein Bao also teaches its communication system to overcomes these scenarios. Therefore, the combination of Sarkar’s vehicle with Bao communication system increases the security of the vehicle when communicating through a next-generation communication standard, thus would be obvious to try to combine by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Sarkar, as modified, teaches wherein the modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system comprises: upgrading, by the processing system, operating software of a communications module of the connected vehicle communication system (Sarkar: Paragraph 0037: “Turning now to FIG. 3, there is shown an embodiment of a method 300 for performing a vehicle software update. The update may have been downloaded previously via the VMU 100 or the telematics unit 30. The method begins with step 305 by the user 13 consenting to perform the software update—this may include providing an indication of consent to the vehicle 12 or using vehicle electronics 28. As will be explained more below, the vehicle first may provide a prompt or notification to the user 13 indicating the update is or may be available. The user's indication may be received by the vehicle 12 via a voice command, tactile input, touch screen input, etc. Regardless of how the consent is received, the method may next proceed to step 310.”; Paragraph 0038: “In step 310, the vehicle 12 may perform a verification process. The verification process may include: receiving the software update at the telematics unit 30 from a remote server (e.g., the computer 18 or from the call center 20) or receiving the update at the VMU 100 via SRWC or other suitable communication; comparing one or more ECU parameters (e.g., ECU 95ECM parameters) with one or more software update parameters; and providing the notifying step only when the one or more ECU parameters correspond with the one or more software update parameters. The ECU parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers of a target ECU (i.e., the ECU for which the software update is intended; in one example, ECUECM 95). Similarly, the software update parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers associated with the particular software update. In one embodiment, the ECU parameters may only correspond with the software update parameters when the software update identifiers match the ECU parameters or when the software update parameters are within a predetermined range of values of the ECU parameters (or vice-versa). The verification process may fail when the parameters do not correspond. When the verification fails, installation will not follow.”).
Regarding claim 3, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach wherein the modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system comprises: replacing an antenna of the connected vehicle communication system with a new antenna.
Kim teaches wherein the modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system comprises: physically removing an antenna of the connected vehicle communication system with and substituting a new antenna for the antenna, the new antenna configured to operate at frequencies specified for the next-generation mobile network standard (Kim: Paragraph 0050: “FIG. 1 is a view illustrating a structure for mounting an antenna system in a vehicle in a mobile terminal having the antenna system loaded in the vehicle. In this regard”; Paragraph 0051: “Referring to FIG. 1, in order to improve the appearance of the vehicle and to maintain a telematics performance at the time of collision, an existing shark fin antenna is replaced with a flat antenna of a non-protruding shape. In addition, the present invention proposes an integrated antenna of an LTE antenna and a 5G millimeter wave (mmWave) antenna considering fifth generation (5G) communication after 2020, while providing the existing mobile communication service (e.g., LTE). In this regard, the LTE antenna may be an LTE 4×4 MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output) antenna. In addition, the present invention proposes a package type antenna for enhancing durability of a patch antenna mounted inside from an impact.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 1, it would be obvious to try to implement the antenna upgrade functionality of Kim with the vehicle of Sarkar as upgrading to a next-generation network standard increases the speed in which the vehicle can now upgrade its software while also future proofing the vehicle for any updates that only get communicated using a next-generation network. This antenna upgrade as taught by Kim requires a brand new antenna which will replace the existing antenna. One of ordinary skill would find it obvious to try to implement this function of Kim with the vehicle system of Sarkar as it is another form of vehicle update. As the software of the vehicle updates, updating the telematics unit as taught by Sarkar would also be obvious to try for the reasons stated above. A next-generation standard may require additional components not found in the existing antenna, thus physically removing and upgrading the antenna as taught by Kim would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach further comprising: confirming, by the processing system, functional connectivity between the communications module and the new antenna of the connected vehicle communication system.
Pradhan teaches further comprising: confirming, by the processing system, functional connectivity between the communications module and the new antenna of the connected vehicle communication system (Pradhan: Paragraph 0027: “The one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. For example, the graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to input user interface icons that may send particular remote commands from the mobile device 110 to be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. Such commands may include, but may not be limited to, a remote vehicle start function, a remote vehicle lock/unlock function, a remote alarm activation/deactivation function, a remote HVAC control function, a remote vehicle location tracking function, a remote vehicle data fetching function, a remote garage door open/close function, a remote home automation control function, and the like.”; Paragraph 0028: “The one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may also enable the user 104 to receive updates associated with one or more functions and/or systems of the vehicle 102 and/or the one or more IoT devices 106. For example, the graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to view status update information associated with a real-time location of the vehicle 102, a fuel/battery charge level of the vehicle 102, a lock/unlock status of doors of the vehicle 102, a trip mileage of the vehicle 102, a lifetime mileage of the vehicle 102, a garage door status of a garage door opener, an operational status of a home automation control function (e.g., lighting ON/OFF, HVAC Mode/Temperature), and the like.”,
Supplemental Note: being able to use the mobility software to control the vehicle operations is interpreted as confirming that a functional connectivity is met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Pradhan with a reasonable expectation of success. Pradhan teaches the ability of a vehicle system to download software onto a mobile device which allows it to connect with vehicles that do not have enriched connected vehicle mobility communication with the vehicle and the user/internet-of-things (IoT). One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this function with the vehicle system of Sarkar as it allows vehicle that are not currently able to be controlled directly from the user or over the internet by the OEM server. This allows the user additional functionality with the vehicle. For example, once the software is downloaded onto a mobile device and connected with the vehicle, Pradhan states this software allows the user to remotely perform vehicle lock/unlock functions among a myriad of functions (Pradhan: Paragraphs 0027 – 0028), thus mitigating the need for the user to walk back to the vehicle to check/change its status.
Regarding claim 5, Sarkar, as modified, teaches further comprising: tuning, by the processing system, a connection between the communications module and the antenna of the connected vehicle communication system (Sarkar: Paragraph 0014: “Telematics unit 30 can be an OEM-installed (embedded) or aftermarket device that is installed in the vehicle and that enables wireless voice and/or data communication over wireless carrier system 14 and via wireless networking. This enables the vehicle to communicate with call center 20, other telematics-enabled vehicles, or some other entity or device. The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel (a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel, or via a voice channel using techniques known in the art.”: Paragraph 0022: “As shown in both FIGS. 1 and 2, the VMU 100 may include all suitable electronics, software, etc. for providing vehicle entertainment and vehicle infotainment services to the vehicle users and/or occupants including an ECU 95VMU having memory 104 coupled to a processor or processing device 106. The VMU 100 may be coupled to (and in communication with) the telematics unit 30, various other VSMs 42—e.g., by wire (e.g., via bus 44 and/or 46) or wirelessly using a short-range wireless communication (SRWC) chipset 110 and antenna 112.”)
to ensure reliable operation of the connected vehicle communication system on the mobile device network of a mobile network operator (Sarkar: Paragraph 0016: “Processor 52 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 54, which enable the telematics unit to provide a wide variety of services. For instance, processor 52 can execute programs or process data to carry out at least a part of the method discussed herein. Collectively, the processor(s) 52 and memory 54 may be part of a vehicle telematics unit (VTU) electronic control unit (ECU) 95VTU that enables communication over one or more vehicle buses (e.g., 44, 46) (see FIG. 2).”: Paragraph 0017: “Returning to FIG. 1, telematics unit 30 can be used to provide a diverse range of vehicle services that involve wireless communication to and/or from the vehicle. Such services include: turn-by-turn directions and other navigation-related services that are provided in conjunction with the GPS-based vehicle navigation module 40; airbag deployment notification and other emergency or roadside assistance-related services that are provided in connection with one or more collision sensor interface modules such as a body control module (not shown); diagnostic reporting using one or more diagnostic modules; and infotainment-related services where music, webpages, movies, television programs, videogames and/or other information is downloaded by an infotainment module (not shown) and is stored for current or later playback. The above-listed services are by no means an exhaustive list of all of the capabilities of telematics unit 30, but are simply an enumeration of some of the services that the telematics unit is capable of offering. Furthermore, it should be understood that at least some of the aforementioned modules could be implemented in the form of software instructions saved internal or external to telematics unit 30, they could be hardware components located internal or external to telematics unit 30, or they could be integrated and/or shared with each other or with other systems located throughout the vehicle, to cite but a few possibilities. In the event that the modules are implemented as VSMs 42 located external to telematics unit 30, they could utilize vehicle bus 44 to exchange data and commands with the telematics unit.”; Paragraph 0001: “The present invention relates to performing a vehicle update, and more particularly, to performing the update for an electronic control unit in a vehicle.”;
Supplemental Note: the software update updates the electronic control unit of the vehicle which also consists of telematics functions of the vehicle such as the vehicle’s communication system. Applying a software update is interpreted to provide updates to the telematics unit so it can work with future standards).
In sum, Sarkar teaches tuning, by the processing system, a connection between the communications module and the antenna of the connected vehicle communication system to ensure reliable operation of the connected vehicle communication system on the mobile device network of a mobile network operator. Sarkar however does not teach the network is according to the next-generation mobile network standard.
Kim teaches according to the next-generation mobile network standard (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “There is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service,”; Paragraph 0023: “According to one embodiment, the plurality of second antenna elements may be first to fourth array antennas operating in a millimeter wave (mmWave) band. On the other hand, the plurality of third antenna elements may be first to fourth sub-6 antennas operating in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 6, Sarkar, as modified, teaches wherein the modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system comprises: upgrading, by the processing system, a subscriber identify module of the connected vehicle communication system, wherein the upgrading comprises providing, to the subscriber identify module, information for communicating on a next-generation mobile communication network of the mobile network operator (Sarkar: Paragraph 0016: “Processor 52 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 54, which enable the telematics unit to provide a wide variety of services. For instance, processor 52 can execute programs or process data to carry out at least a part of the method discussed herein. Collectively, the processor(s) 52 and memory 54 may be part of a vehicle telematics unit (VTU) electronic control unit (ECU) 95VTU that enables communication over one or more vehicle buses (e.g., 44, 46) (see FIG. 2).”; Paragraph 0038: “In step 310, the vehicle 12 may perform a verification process. The verification process may include: receiving the software update at the telematics unit 30 from a remote server (e.g., the computer 18 or from the call center 20) or receiving the update at the VMU 100 via SRWC or other suitable communication; comparing one or more ECU parameters (e.g., ECU 95ECM parameters) with one or more software update parameters; and providing the notifying step only when the one or more ECU parameters correspond with the one or more software update parameters. The ECU parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers of a target ECU (i.e., the ECU for which the software update is intended; in one example, ECUECM 95). Similarly, the software update parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers associated with the particular software update. In one embodiment, the ECU parameters may only correspond with the software update parameters when the software update identifiers match the ECU parameters or when the software update parameters are within a predetermined range of values of the ECU parameters (or vice-versa). The verification process may fail when the parameters do not correspond. When the verification fails, installation will not follow.”,
Supplemental Note: the calibration part identifiers make sure the new software is installed by the ECU. Since the ECU also consists of the telematics function, this ensures proper communication is maintained with the new software per their calibration part identifiers).
In sum, Sarkar teaches modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system comprises: upgrading, by the processing system, a subscriber identify module of the connected vehicle communication system, wherein the upgrading comprises providing, to the subscriber identify module, information for communicating on a next-generation mobile communication network of the mobile network operator. Sarkar however does not teach the network is according to the next-generation mobile network standard.
Kim teaches according to the next-generation mobile network standard (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “There is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service,”; Paragraph 0023: “According to one embodiment, the plurality of second antenna elements may be first to fourth array antennas operating in a millimeter wave (mmWave) band. On the other hand, the plurality of third antenna elements may be first to fourth sub-6 antennas operating in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 7, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach wherein the modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system comprises: replacing a communications module of the connected vehicle communication system with a next-generation communication system operable for communication on the next-generation mobile communication network of the mobile network operator.
Kim teaches wherein the modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system comprises: electrically disconnecting and physically removing a communications module of the connected vehicle communication system and substituting for the communication module a next-generation communication system (Kim: Paragraph 0050: “FIG. 1 is a view illustrating a structure for mounting an antenna system in a vehicle in a mobile terminal having the antenna system loaded in the vehicle. In this regard”; Paragraph 0051: “Referring to FIG. 1, in order to improve the appearance of the vehicle and to maintain a telematics performance at the time of collision, an existing shark fin antenna is replaced with a flat antenna of a non-protruding shape. In addition, the present invention proposes an integrated antenna of an LTE antenna and a 5G millimeter wave (mmWave) antenna considering fifth generation (5G) communication after 2020, while providing the existing mobile communication service (e.g., LTE). In this regard, the LTE antenna may be an LTE 4×4 MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output) antenna. In addition, the present invention proposes a package type antenna for enhancing durability of a patch antenna mounted inside from an impact.”)
operable for communication on the next-generation mobile communication network of the mobile network operator according to the next-generation mobile network standard (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “There is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service,”; Paragraph 0023: “According to one embodiment, the plurality of second antenna elements may be first to fourth array antennas operating in a millimeter wave (mmWave) band. On the other hand, the plurality of third antenna elements may be first to fourth sub-6 antennas operating in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the antenna upgrade system of Kim with the vehicle of Sarkar as to improve the software download speeds and increasing the longevity of the vehicle’s usefulness. The antenna upgrade as taught by Kim requires the existing antenna to be substituted with another that is able to communicate on the next-generation standards. Therefore this function of Kim would also be obvious to try to implement with the vehicle of Sarkar to upgrade the telematics unit so it can communicate on the next-generation standards. This provides the vehicle of Sarkar to receive the improvements stated above with the new antenna.
Regarding claim 8, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach wherein the modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system comprises: physically removing an antenna of the connected vehicle communication system and substituting a new antenna for the antenna, the new antenna adapted for communication with the next-generation mobile communication network of the mobile network operator according to the next-generation mobile network standard.
Kim teaches wherein the modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system comprises: physically removing an antenna of the connected vehicle communication system and substituting a new antenna for the antenna, (Kim: Paragraph 0050: “FIG. 1 is a view illustrating a structure for mounting an antenna system in a vehicle in a mobile terminal having the antenna system loaded in the vehicle. In this regard”; Paragraph 0051: “Referring to FIG. 1, in order to improve the appearance of the vehicle and to maintain a telematics performance at the time of collision, an existing shark fin antenna is replaced with a flat antenna of a non-protruding shape. In addition, the present invention proposes an integrated antenna of an LTE antenna and a 5G millimeter wave (mmWave) antenna considering fifth generation (5G) communication after 2020, while providing the existing mobile communication service (e.g., LTE). In this regard, the LTE antenna may be an LTE 4×4 MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output) antenna. In addition, the present invention proposes a package type antenna for enhancing durability of a patch antenna mounted inside from an impact.”)
the new antenna adapted for communication with the next-generation mobile communication network of the mobile network operator according to the next-generation mobile network standard (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “There is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service,”; Paragraph 0023: “According to one embodiment, the plurality of second antenna elements may be first to fourth array antennas operating in a millimeter wave (mmWave) band. On the other hand, the plurality of third antenna elements may be first to fourth sub-6 antennas operating in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 7 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 9, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach wherein the connected vehicle communication system is operative to communicate telematics data of the vehicle with network equipment of an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) of the vehicle over the mobile network of the mobile network operator.
Pradhan teaches wherein the connected vehicle communication system is operative to communicate telematics data of the vehicle with network equipment of an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) of the vehicle over the mobile network of the mobile network operator (Pradhan: Paragraph 0028: “The one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may also enable the user 104 to receive updates associated with one or more functions and/or systems of the vehicle 102 and/or the one or more IoT devices 106. For example, the graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to view status update information associated with a real-time location of the vehicle 102, a fuel/battery charge level of the vehicle 102, a lock/unlock status of doors of the vehicle 102, a trip mileage of the vehicle 102, a lifetime mileage of the vehicle 102, a garage door status of a garage door opener, an operational status of a home automation control function (e.g., lighting ON/OFF, HVAC Mode/Temperature), and the like.”: Paragraph 0034: “As discussed above, the one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In an exemplary embodiment, MQTT over SSL may be utilized to allow the communication of data that may associated with the execution of one or more remote commands from the vehicle 102 to an OEM server 116 to be published as a MQTT pub/sub message on the IoT broker 114.”: Paragraph 0046: “In an exemplary embodiment, the OEM server 116 may be owned and/or managed by a vehicle manufacturer (OEM). In additional embodiments, a third-party that may be associated with the OEM may own and/or manage the OEM server 116. The OEM server 116 may be used to send/receive data that may be associated with vehicles that are manufactured by the OEM. As such, data associated with one or more remote commands that are provided through the mobility communication application 108, one or more status updates that are provided by the vehicle 102, software updates that may be provided to one or more systems, sub-systems of the vehicle 102, and/or additional information related to the vehicle 102 may be managed through the OEM server 116 to be sent to the ECU 118 of the vehicle 102 and/or to the mobile device 110 to be presented to the user 104.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Pradhan with a reasonable expectation of success. Sarkar teaches the ability of the vehicle system to receive software updates to keep their vehicle components up-to-date. Pradhan teaches the ability of the vehicle to connect with the OEM of the vehicle per its mobile communication application which allows the OEM to send the vehicle software updates. One with knowledge in the art would find both of these functions to be a simple substitution as both are able to update the software of the vehicle from an online network.
Regarding claim 10, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach wherein the modifying the one or more components of a connected vehicle communication system comprises: modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system from communication on an old mobile communication network of the mobile network operator to communication on a new mobile communication network of the mobile network operator according to the next-generation mobile network standard.
Pradhan teaches wherein the modifying the one or more components of a connected vehicle communication system comprises: modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system from communication on an old mobile communication network of the mobile network operator (Kim: Paragraph 0050: “FIG. 1 is a view illustrating a structure for mounting an antenna system in a vehicle in a mobile terminal having the antenna system loaded in the vehicle. In this regard”; Paragraph 0051: “Referring to FIG. 1, in order to improve the appearance of the vehicle and to maintain a telematics performance at the time of collision, an existing shark fin antenna is replaced with a flat antenna of a non-protruding shape. In addition, the present invention proposes an integrated antenna of an LTE antenna and a 5G millimeter wave (mmWave) antenna considering fifth generation (5G) communication after 2020, while providing the existing mobile communication service (e.g., LTE). In this regard, the LTE antenna may be an LTE 4×4 MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output) antenna. In addition, the present invention proposes a package type antenna for enhancing durability of a patch antenna mounted inside from an impact.”)
to communication on a new mobile communication network of the mobile network operator according to the next-generation mobile network standard (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “There is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service,”; Paragraph 0023: “According to one embodiment, the plurality of second antenna elements may be first to fourth array antennas operating in a millimeter wave (mmWave) band. On the other hand, the plurality of third antenna elements may be first to fourth sub-6 antennas operating in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 7 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 11, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach further comprising: communicating information about the modifying of the one or more components to the network equipment of the OEM of the vehicle over the mobile network of the mobile network operator.
Pradhan teaches further comprising: communicating information about the modifying of the one or more components to the network equipment of the OEM of the vehicle over the mobile network of the mobile network operator (Pradhan: Paragraph 0032: “ In one embodiment, an OEM server 116 may be configured as a publisher to complete publish/subscribe communication of MQTT pub/sub messages to be published to an IoT broker 114 of the system 100. The IoT broker 114 is accordingly configured as a medium that is configured to manage the MQTT pub/sub messages between the publisher OEM server 116 that publishes the MQTT pub/sub messages to the IoT broker 114 and one or more subscribers. In an exemplary embodiment, the mobile device 110 used by the user 104 may be configured as a subscriber of the publisher subscriber model. As a subscriber, the mobile device 110 may be configured to instantaneously receive the MQTT pub/sub messages that include the data associated with the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106 that are output and communicated from the IoT broker 114 through the internet cloud 124.”: Paragraph 0034: “As discussed above, the one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In an exemplary embodiment, MQTT over SSL may be utilized to allow the communication of data that may associated with the execution of one or more remote commands from the vehicle 102 to an OEM server 116 to be published as a MQTT pub/sub message on the IoT broker 114.”; Paragraph 0046: “In an exemplary embodiment, the OEM server 116 may be owned and/or managed by a vehicle manufacturer (OEM). In additional embodiments, a third-party that may be associated with the OEM may own and/or manage the OEM server 116. The OEM server 116 may be used to send/receive data that may be associated with vehicles that are manufactured by the OEM. As such, data associated with one or more remote commands that are provided through the mobility communication application 108, one or more status updates that are provided by the vehicle 102, software updates that may be provided to one or more systems, sub-systems of the vehicle 102, and/or additional information related to the vehicle 102 may be managed through the OEM server 116 to be sent to the ECU 118 of the vehicle 102 and/or to the mobile device 110 to be presented to the user 104.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Pradhan with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 9, Sarkar teaches the ability of the vehicle system to receive software updates to keep their vehicle components up-to-date. Pradhan teaches the ability of the vehicle to connect with the OEM of the vehicle per its mobile communication application which allows the OEM to send the vehicle software updates. One with knowledge in the art would find both of these functions to be a simple substitution as both are able to update the software of the vehicle from an online network. The software update is applied to the vehicle which updates its various components, thus both Sarkar and Pradhan teach modifying the components of the vehicle with these updates.
Regarding claim 12, Sarkar teaches a device, comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: (Sarkar: Paragraph 0013: “Vehicle 12 is depicted in the illustrated embodiment as a passenger car, but it should be appreciated that any other vehicle including motorcycles, trucks, sports utility vehicles (SUVs), recreational vehicles (RVs), marine vessels, aircraft, etc., can also be used. Some of the vehicle electronics 28 is shown generally in FIG. 1 and includes a telematics unit 30, a microphone 32, one or more pushbuttons or other control inputs 34, an audio system 36, a visual display 38, and a GPS module 40 as well as a number of vehicle system modules (VSMs) 42. Some of these devices can be connected directly to the telematics unit such as, for example, the microphone 32 and pushbutton(s) 34, whereas others are indirectly connected using one or more network connections, such as a communications bus 44 or an entertainment bus 46. Examples of suitable network connections include a controller area network (CAN), a media oriented system transfer (MOST), a local interconnection network (LIN), a local area network (LAN), and other appropriate connections such as Ethernet or others that conform with known ISO, SAE and IEEE standards and specifications, to name but a few.”: Paragraph 0016: “Processor 52 can be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs). It can be a dedicated processor used only for telematics unit 30 or can be shared with other vehicle systems. Processor 52 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 54, which enable the telematics unit to provide a wide variety of services. For instance, processor 52 can execute programs or process data to carry out at least a part of the method discussed herein. Collectively, the processor(s) 52 and memory 54 may be part of a vehicle telematics unit (VTU) electronic control unit (ECU) 95VTU that enables communication over one or more vehicle buses (e.g., 44, 46) (see FIG. 2).”).
In sum, Sarkar teaches a device, comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising. Sarkar however does not teach modifying the connected vehicle communication module according to the modification to conform future connected vehicle communications of the connected vehicle communication module to a next-generation mobile network standard of the mobility network of the mobile network operator.
Kim teaches modifying the connected vehicle communication module according to the modification to conform future connected vehicle communications of the connected vehicle communication module to a next-generation mobile network standard of the mobility network of the mobile network operator; and(Kim: Paragraph 0050: “FIG. 1 is a view illustrating a structure for mounting an antenna system in a vehicle in a mobile terminal having the antenna system loaded in the vehicle. In this regard”; Paragraph 0051: “Referring to FIG. 1, in order to improve the appearance of the vehicle and to maintain a telematics performance at the time of collision, an existing shark fin antenna is replaced with a flat antenna of a non-protruding shape. In addition, the present invention proposes an integrated antenna of an LTE antenna and a 5G millimeter wave (mmWave) antenna considering fifth generation (5G) communication after 2020, while providing the existing mobile communication service (e.g., LTE). In this regard, the LTE antenna may be an LTE 4×4 MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output) antenna. In addition, the present invention proposes a package type antenna for enhancing durability of a patch antenna mounted inside from an impact.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Sarkar in view of Kim however still do not teach communicating information about a modification of a connected vehicle communication module associated with a vehicle, wherein the communicating comprises providing data to network equipment of a manufacturer of the vehicle including the connected vehicle communication module, wherein the connected vehicle communication module is operative to provide connected vehicle data to the network equipment of the manufacturer over a mobility network of a mobile network operator; communicating, to the network equipment of the manufacturer.
Pradhan teaches communicating information about a modification of a connected vehicle communication module associated with a vehicle, (Pradhan: Paragraph 0024: “As discussed in more detail below, the system 100 may provide the enriched connected vehicle mobility communication between a vehicle 102 and a user 104 and/or one or more Internet of Things (IoT) devices 106 through a connected vehicle IoT mobility communication application (mobility communication application) 108. The mobility communication application 108 may be configured as an application programming interface (API) that is executed as a client on one or more computing systems. The mobility communication application 108 is configured to provide an interface between the user 104, the vehicle 102, and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In particular, the mobility communication application 108 may be configured to provide a human machine interface (HMI) that enables the user 104 to remotely engage with the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106 to provide remote commands, receive status updates, and/or to provide additional communications.”: Paragraph 0025: “In one or more embodiments, the mobility communication application 108 may be executed through a mobile device 110 that may be used by the user 104. However, it is appreciated that the mobility communication application 108 may be executed on one or more additional or alternative types of computing devices (e.g., computers, laptops, tablets, mobile phones, etc.) that may be used by the user 104. The mobility communication application 108 may be configured to provide the HMI through one or more graphical user interfaces that enable the user 104 to engage with the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices”,
Supplemental Note: the mobility communication application installed on the mobile device is interpreted as replacing the antenna as it is another form of communication)
wherein the communicating comprises providing data to network equipment of a manufacturer of the vehicle including the connected vehicle communication module, wherein the connected vehicle communication module is operative to provide connected vehicle data to the network equipment of the manufacturer over a mobility network of a mobile network operator; (Pradhan: Paragraph 0028: “The one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may also enable the user 104 to receive updates associated with one or more functions and/or systems of the vehicle 102 and/or the one or more IoT devices 106. For example, the graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to view status update information associated with a real-time location of the vehicle 102, a fuel/battery charge level of the vehicle 102, a lock/unlock status of doors of the vehicle 102, a trip mileage of the vehicle 102, a lifetime mileage of the vehicle 102, a garage door status of a garage door opener, an operational status of a home automation control function (e.g., lighting ON/OFF, HVAC Mode/Temperature), and the like.”: Paragraph 0034: “As discussed above, the one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In an exemplary embodiment, MQTT over SSL may be utilized to allow the communication of data that may associated with the execution of one or more remote commands from the vehicle 102 to an OEM server 116 to be published as a MQTT pub/sub message on the IoT broker 114.”: Paragraph 0046: “In an exemplary embodiment, the OEM server 116 may be owned and/or managed by a vehicle manufacturer (OEM). In additional embodiments, a third-party that may be associated with the OEM may own and/or manage the OEM server 116. The OEM server 116 may be used to send/receive data that may be associated with vehicles that are manufactured by the OEM. As such, data associated with one or more remote commands that are provided through the mobility communication application 108, one or more status updates that are provided by the vehicle 102, software updates that may be provided to one or more systems, sub-systems of the vehicle 102, and/or additional information related to the vehicle 102 may be managed through the OEM server 116 to be sent to the ECU 118 of the vehicle 102 and/or to the mobile device 110 to be presented to the user 104.”)
communicating, to the network equipment of the manufacturer, (Pradhan: Paragraph 0034: “the one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In an exemplary embodiment, MQTT over SSL may be utilized to allow the communication of data that may associated with the execution of one or more remote commands from the vehicle 102 to an OEM server 116 to be published as a MQTT pub/sub message on the IoT broker 114.”,
Supplemental Note: once installed on the mobile device and connected with the OEM servers/vehicle. The OEM is able to connect with the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Pradhan with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated in claim 4, Pradhan teaches the ability of a vehicle system to download software onto a mobile device which allows it to connect with vehicles that do not have enriched connected vehicle mobility communication with the vehicle and the user/internet-of-things (IoT). One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this function with the vehicle system of Sarkar as it allows vehicle that are not currently able to be controlled directly from the user or over the internet by the OEM server. This allows the user additional functionality with the vehicle. For example, once the software is downloaded onto a mobile device and connected with the vehicle, Pradhan states this software allows the user to remotely perform vehicle lock/unlock functions among a myriad of functions (Pradhan: Paragraphs 0027 – 0028), thus mitigating the need for the user to walk back to the vehicle to check/change its status. Furthermore, as stated for claim 1, Pradhan teaches the ability of a mobile communication application installed on a mobile device allowing the OEM and the user of the vehicle to connect with the vehicle. Once the application is installed, both the user and the OEM server is able to view a status of the vehicle and provide commands to the vehicle. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this teaching of Pradhan with the vehicle system of Sarkar as it increases the vehicle’s functionality. For example, the OEM can have a new software update for the vehicle, by utilizing the mobile communication application, the software can be applied to the vehicle. Sarkar in view of Pradhan however still do not teach information confirming a successful modification of the connected vehicle communication module to operate on the next-generation mobile network standard.
Bao teaches information confirming a successful modification of the connected vehicle communication module to operate on the next-generation mobile network standard (Bao: Abstract: “The present application relates to a connection establishment method and a device. The method comprises: a first device receives first information sent by a second device, the first information being used for requesting to establish a connection with the first device, the first information carrying a first parameter, and the first parameter being related to a historical connection; and when verification on the first parameter by the first device is successful, the first device sends response information of the first information to the second device, the response information of the first information being used for confirming that the first device can establish a connection.”; lines 143 – 144, lines 150 – 152 :“The technical solutions of the embodiments of the present application can be applied to various communication systems, such as… Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN), wireless fidelity (Wireless Fidelity, WiFi), fifth-generation communication (5th-Generation, 5G) system or other communication systems, etc.”; lines 300 – 301: “Next, the process of establishing a connection between the two devices respectively for the terminal device and the vehicle device to control the vehicle device”; lines 304 – 318: “S301. Establish a secure configuration channel between the terminal equipment and the vehicle equipment; S302. The terminal device configures the accessible identification code list to the vehicle device; S303. The vehicle equipment saves the identification code list; S304. The vehicle equipment returns to the configuration state; S305. The terminal device configures the certificate to the vehicle device; S306. The terminal equipment and vehicle equipment exit the configuration channel; S307. The terminal device sends an interoperability session establishment request to the vehicle device; S308. The vehicle device returns the interoperability establishment type it supports to the terminal device;”,
Supplemental Note: described above is a connection being verified between a terminal and a vehicle which can be done over a 5G network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Bao with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 13, Sarkar, as modified, teaches wherein the modifying the connected vehicle communication module comprises: replacing current operating software of the connected vehicle communication module of with upgraded software to enable communication (Sarkar: Paragraph 0016: “Processor 52 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 54, which enable the telematics unit to provide a wide variety of services. For instance, processor 52 can execute programs or process data to carry out at least a part of the method discussed herein. Collectively, the processor(s) 52 and memory 54 may be part of a vehicle telematics unit (VTU) electronic control unit (ECU) 95VTU that enables communication over one or more vehicle buses (e.g., 44, 46) (see FIG. 2).”; Paragraph 0038: “In step 310, the vehicle 12 may perform a verification process. The verification process may include: receiving the software update at the telematics unit 30 from a remote server (e.g., the computer 18 or from the call center 20) or receiving the update at the VMU 100 via SRWC or other suitable communication; comparing one or more ECU parameters (e.g., ECU 95ECM parameters) with one or more software update parameters; and providing the notifying step only when the one or more ECU parameters correspond with the one or more software update parameters. The ECU parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers of a target ECU (i.e., the ECU for which the software update is intended; in one example, ECUECM 95). Similarly, the software update parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers associated with the particular software update. In one embodiment, the ECU parameters may only correspond with the software update parameters when the software update identifiers match the ECU parameters or when the software update parameters are within a predetermined range of values of the ECU parameters (or vice-versa). The verification process may fail when the parameters do not correspond. When the verification fails, installation will not follow.”,
Supplemental Note: the calibration part identifiers make sure the new software is installed by the ECU. Since the ECU also consists of the telematics function, this ensures proper communication is maintained with the new software per their calibration part identifiers).
In sum Sarkar teaches wherein the modifying the connected vehicle communication module comprises: replacing current operating software of the connected vehicle communication module of with upgraded software to enable communication. Sarkar however does not teach the network is according to the next-generation mobile network standard of the mobility network of the mobile network operator.
Kim teaches according to the next-generation mobile network standard of the mobility network of the mobile network operator (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “ there is an increasing need to provide communication services and multimedia services by mounting such mobile terminals in vehicles. Meanwhile, there is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service, as well as existing communication services such as LTE (Long Term Evolution) and the like in relation to communication services.”; Paragraph 0010: “ In such a plurality of communication systems and a plurality of antenna systems, when an antenna of a 4G communication system such as LTE and an antenna of a 5G communication system are arranged, isolation considering interference between them is important. In this regard, it is particularly important in LTE re-farming in which an antenna of a 5G communication system operates in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less or partially uses a frequency band of a 4G communication system.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 14, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach wherein the modifying the connected vehicle communication module comprises: electrically and mechanically removing, by a technician, the connected vehicle communication module and electrically and mechanically substituting, by the technician, a replacement communication module therefor, the replacement communication module operative to enable communication according to the next-generation mobile network standard of the mobility network of the mobile network operator.
Kim teaches wherein the modifying the connected vehicle communication module comprises:
electrically and mechanically removing, by a technician, the connected vehicle communication module and electrically and mechanically substituting, by the technician, a replacement communication module therefor, (Kim: Paragraph 0050: “FIG. 1 is a view illustrating a structure for mounting an antenna system in a vehicle in a mobile terminal having the antenna system loaded in the vehicle. In this regard”; Paragraph 0051: “Referring to FIG. 1, in order to improve the appearance of the vehicle and to maintain a telematics performance at the time of collision, an existing shark fin antenna is replaced with a flat antenna of a non-protruding shape. In addition, the present invention proposes an integrated antenna of an LTE antenna and a 5G millimeter wave (mmWave) antenna considering fifth generation (5G) communication after 2020, while providing the existing mobile communication service (e.g., LTE). In this regard, the LTE antenna may be an LTE 4×4 MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output) antenna. In addition, the present invention proposes a package type antenna for enhancing durability of a patch antenna mounted inside from an impact.”,
Supplemental Note: removing and replacing an antenna is known by one of ordinary skill in the art to be done physically by a user, robot or machine)
the replacement communication module operative to enable communication according to the next-generation mobile network standard of the mobility network of the mobile network operator (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “There is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service,”; Paragraph 0023: “According to one embodiment, the plurality of second antenna elements may be first to fourth array antennas operating in a millimeter wave (mmWave) band. On the other hand, the plurality of third antenna elements may be first to fourth sub-6 antennas operating in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 7 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 15, Sarkar, as modified, teaches confirming operational connectivity between the modified communication module and an antenna for reliable communication (Sarkar: Paragraph 0015: “According to one embodiment, telematics unit 30 utilizes cellular communication according to either GSM or CDMA standards and thus includes a standard cellular chipset 50 for voice communications like hands-free calling, a wireless modem for data transmission, an electronic processing device 52, one or more digital memory devices 54, and a dual antenna 56. ”; Paragraph 0016: “Processor 52 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 54, which enable the telematics unit to provide a wide variety of services. For instance, processor 52 can execute programs or process data to carry out at least a part of the method discussed herein. Collectively, the processor(s) 52 and memory 54 may be part of a vehicle telematics unit (VTU) electronic control unit (ECU) 95VTU that enables communication over one or more vehicle buses (e.g., 44, 46) (see FIG. 2).”; Paragraph 0001: “The present invention relates to performing a vehicle update, and more particularly, to performing the update for an electronic control unit in a vehicle.”;
Supplemental Note: the software updates update the electronic control unit of the vehicle which also consists of telematics functions of the vehicle such as the vehicle’s communication system. Applying a software update is interpreted to provide updates to the telematics unit so it can work with future standards which includes dual antennas).
In sum, Sarkar teaches confirming operational connectivity between the modified communication module and an antenna for reliable communication. Sarkar however does not teach wherein the operations further comprise: modifying the connected vehicle communication module according to the modification, forming a modified communication module.
Pradhan teaches wherein the operations further comprise: modifying the connected vehicle communication module according to the modification, forming a modified communication module; and (Pradhan: Paragraph 0024: “As discussed in more detail below, the system 100 may provide the enriched connected vehicle mobility communication between a vehicle 102 and a user 104 and/or one or more Internet of Things (IoT) devices 106 through a connected vehicle IoT mobility communication application (mobility communication application) 108. The mobility communication application 108 may be configured as an application programming interface (API) that is executed as a client on one or more computing systems. The mobility communication application 108 is configured to provide an interface between the user 104, the vehicle 102, and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In particular, the mobility communication application 108 may be configured to provide a human machine interface (HMI) that enables the user 104 to remotely engage with the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106 to provide remote commands, receive status updates, and/or to provide additional communications.”: Paragraph 0025: “In one or more embodiments, the mobility communication application 108 may be executed through a mobile device 110 that may be used by the user 104. However, it is appreciated that the mobility communication application 108 may be executed on one or more additional or alternative types of computing devices (e.g., computers, laptops, tablets, mobile phones, etc.) that may be used by the user 104. The mobility communication application 108 may be configured to provide the HMI through one or more graphical user interfaces that enable the user 104 to engage with the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices”,
Supplemental Note: the mobility communication application installed on the mobile device is interpreted as modifying the communication module as it is another form of communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Pradhan with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 4, Pradhan teaches the ability of a vehicle system to download software onto a mobile device which allows it to connect with vehicles that do not have enriched connected vehicle mobility communication with the vehicle and the user/internet-of-things (IoT). One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this function with the vehicle system of Sarkar as it allows vehicle that are not currently able to be controlled directly from the user or over the internet by the OEM server. This allows the user additional functionality with the vehicle. For example, Pradhan states this software allows the user to remotely perform vehicle lock/unlock functions among a myriad of functions (Pradhan: Paragraphs 0027 – 0028), thus mitigating the need for the user to walk back to the vehicle to check/change its status. Sarkar in view of Pradhan however still do not teach the communication is according to the next-generation mobile network standard of the mobility network of the mobile network operator.
Kim teaches according to the next-generation mobile network standard of the mobility network of the mobile network operator (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “There is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service,”; Paragraph 0023: “According to one embodiment, the plurality of second antenna elements may be first to fourth array antennas operating in a millimeter wave (mmWave) band. On the other hand, the plurality of third antenna elements may be first to fourth sub-6 antennas operating in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 16, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach wherein the communicating, to the network equipment of the manufacturer, information confirming a successful modification of the connected vehicle communication module comprises: communicating, to the network equipment of the manufacturer, information about the modified communication module, information about the antenna, and information about a subscriber identity module, to enable future communication of vehicle data of the vehicle from the modified communication module to the network equipment of the manufacturer.
Pradhan teaches wherein the communicating, to the network equipment of the manufacturer, information confirming a successful modification of the connected vehicle communication module comprises: communicating, to the network equipment of the manufacturer, information about the modified communication module, information about the antenna, and information about a subscriber identity module, to enable future communication of vehicle data of the vehicle from the modified communication module to the network equipment of the manufacturer (Pradhan: Paragraph 0034: “the one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In an exemplary embodiment, MQTT over SSL may be utilized to allow the communication of data that may associated with the execution of one or more remote commands from the vehicle 102 to an OEM server 116 to be published as a MQTT pub/sub message on the IoT broker 114.”; Paragraph 0046: “In an exemplary embodiment, the OEM server 116 may be owned and/or managed by a vehicle manufacturer (OEM). In additional embodiments, a third-party that may be associated with the OEM may own and/or manage the OEM server 116. The OEM server 116 may be used to send/receive data that may be associated with vehicles that are manufactured by the OEM. As such, data associated with one or more remote commands that are provided through the mobility communication application 108, one or more status updates that are provided by the vehicle 102, software updates that may be provided to one or more systems, sub-systems of the vehicle 102, and/or additional information related to the vehicle 102 may be managed through the OEM server 116 to be sent to the ECU 118 of the vehicle 102 and/or to the mobile device 110 to be presented to the user 104.”,
Supplemental Note: once installed on the mobile device and connected with the OEM servers/vehicle. The OEM is able to connect with the vehicle and receive information about the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Pradhan with a reasonable expectation of success. Sarkar teaches the ability of the vehicle system to receive software updates to keep their vehicle components up-to-date. Pradhan teaches the ability of the vehicle to connect with the OEM of the vehicle per its mobile communication application which allows the OEM to receive information related to the vehicle’s system status. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine this teaching of Pradhan with the vehicle of Sarkar. For example, any data pertaining to modifying the vehicle sub-system is able to be sent to the OEM, the OEM is then able to send updates to the vehicle which can allow the modified component to work properly. In this example the vehicle can be in a non-OEM maintenance shop getting repairs and once the OEM receives data about the repairs, they can provide the vehicle with updates so it can function properly.
Regarding claim 17, Sarkar teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: (Sarkar: Paragraph 0013: “Vehicle 12 is depicted in the illustrated embodiment as a passenger car, but it should be appreciated that any other vehicle including motorcycles, trucks, sports utility vehicles (SUVs), recreational vehicles (RVs), marine vessels, aircraft, etc., can also be used. Some of the vehicle electronics 28 is shown generally in FIG. 1 and includes a telematics unit 30, a microphone 32, one or more pushbuttons or other control inputs 34, an audio system 36, a visual display 38, and a GPS module 40 as well as a number of vehicle system modules (VSMs) 42. Some of these devices can be connected directly to the telematics unit such as, for example, the microphone 32 and pushbutton(s) 34, whereas others are indirectly connected using one or more network connections, such as a communications bus 44 or an entertainment bus 46. Examples of suitable network connections include a controller area network (CAN), a media oriented system transfer (MOST), a local interconnection network (LIN), a local area network (LAN), and other appropriate connections such as Ethernet or others that conform with known ISO, SAE and IEEE standards and specifications, to name but a few.”: Paragraph 0016: “Processor 52 can be any type of device capable of processing electronic instructions including microprocessors, microcontrollers, host processors, controllers, vehicle communication processors, and application specific integrated circuits (ASICs). It can be a dedicated processor used only for telematics unit 30 or can be shared with other vehicle systems. Processor 52 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 54, which enable the telematics unit to provide a wide variety of services. For instance, processor 52 can execute programs or process data to carry out at least a part of the method discussed herein. Collectively, the processor(s) 52 and memory 54 may be part of a vehicle telematics unit (VTU) electronic control unit (ECU) 95VTU that enables communication over one or more vehicle buses (e.g., 44, 46) (see FIG. 2).”)
… automatically confirming operation of the modified communication system; and (Sarkar: Paragraphs 0038 – 0040: “In step 310, the vehicle 12 may perform a verification process. The verification process may include: receiving the software update at the telematics unit 30 from a remote server (e.g., the computer 18 or from the call center 20) or receiving the update at the VMU 100 via SRWC or other suitable communication; comparing one or more ECU parameters (e.g., ECU 95ECM parameters) with one or more software update parameters; and providing the notifying step only when the one or more ECU parameters correspond with the one or more software update parameters. The ECU parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers of a target ECU (i.e., the ECU for which the software update is intended; in one example, ECUECM 95). Similarly, the software update parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers associated with the particular software update. In one embodiment, the ECU parameters may only correspond with the software update parameters when the software update identifiers match the ECU parameters or when the software update parameters are within a predetermined range of values of the ECU parameters (or vice-versa). The verification process may fail when the parameters do not correspond. When the verification fails, installation will not follow. It should be appreciated that step 310 may be performed before and after receiving consent from the user 13. Provided the verification process is validated, method 300 may proceed to step 315. In step 315, the software update may be installed in the target ECU (e.g., ECU 95ECM). This may occur automatically or without further user interaction. Techniques for installing software updates are known to skilled artisans and will not be discussed in more detail here.”,
Supplemental Note: in the example above, the software update can be performed automatically without the need of the user).
In sum, Sarkar teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising modifying one or more components of the connected vehicle communications system to conform to a next-generation communication standard of the mobility network, forming a modified communications system; automatically confirming operation of the modified communication system. Sarkar however does not teach modifying one or more components of the connected vehicle communications system to conform to a next-generation communication standard of the mobility network, forming a modified communications system.
Kim teaches modifying one or more components of the connected vehicle communications system to conform to a next-generation communication standard of the mobility network, forming a modified communications system; (Kim: Paragraph 0006: “ there is an increasing need to provide communication services and multimedia services by mounting such mobile terminals in vehicles. Meanwhile, there is a need for a fifth generation (5G) communication service, which is a next generation communication service, as well as existing communication services such as LTE (Long Term Evolution) and the like in relation to communication services.”; Paragraph 0010: “ In such a plurality of communication systems and a plurality of antenna systems, when an antenna of a 4G communication system such as LTE and an antenna of a 5G communication system are arranged, isolation considering interference between them is important. In this regard, it is particularly important in LTE re-farming in which an antenna of a 5G communication system operates in a sub-6 band of 6 GHz or less or partially uses a frequency band of a 4G communication system.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Sarkar in view of Kim however still do not teach communicating vehicle information of a vehicle to a manufacturer of the vehicle, wherein the communicating comprises communicating the vehicle information between a connected vehicle communications system of the vehicle and a mobility network of a mobile network operator; communicating verification information to the manufacturer of the vehicle.
Pradhan teaches communicating vehicle information of a vehicle to a manufacturer of the vehicle, wherein the communicating comprises communicating the vehicle information between a connected vehicle communications system of the vehicle and a mobility network of a mobile network operator; (Pradhan: Paragraph 0028: “The one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may also enable the user 104 to receive updates associated with one or more functions and/or systems of the vehicle 102 and/or the one or more IoT devices 106. For example, the graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to view status update information associated with a real-time location of the vehicle 102, a fuel/battery charge level of the vehicle 102, a lock/unlock status of doors of the vehicle 102, a trip mileage of the vehicle 102, a lifetime mileage of the vehicle 102, a garage door status of a garage door opener, an operational status of a home automation control function (e.g., lighting ON/OFF, HVAC Mode/Temperature), and the like.”: Paragraph 0034: “As discussed above, the one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In an exemplary embodiment, MQTT over SSL may be utilized to allow the communication of data that may associated with the execution of one or more remote commands from the vehicle 102 to an OEM server 116 to be published as a MQTT pub/sub message on the IoT broker 114.”: Paragraph 0046: “In an exemplary embodiment, the OEM server 116 may be owned and/or managed by a vehicle manufacturer (OEM). In additional embodiments, a third-party that may be associated with the OEM may own and/or manage the OEM server 116. The OEM server 116 may be used to send/receive data that may be associated with vehicles that are manufactured by the OEM. As such, data associated with one or more remote commands that are provided through the mobility communication application 108, one or more status updates that are provided by the vehicle 102, software updates that may be provided to one or more systems, sub-systems of the vehicle 102, and/or additional information related to the vehicle 102 may be managed through the OEM server 116 to be sent to the ECU 118 of the vehicle 102 and/or to the mobile device 110 to be presented to the user 104.”)
… communicating verification information to the manufacturer of the vehicle, (Pradhan: Paragraph 0034: “the one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In an exemplary embodiment, MQTT over SSL may be utilized to allow the communication of data that may associated with the execution of one or more remote commands from the vehicle 102 to an OEM server 116 to be published as a MQTT pub/sub message on the IoT broker 114.”,
Supplemental Note: once installed on the mobile device and connected with the OEM servers/vehicle. The OEM is able to connect with the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Pradhan with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 12 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Sarkar in view of Pradhan however still do not teach the verification information verifying a successful modification of the connected vehicle communication system to operate on the next-generation communication standard of the mobility network.
Boa teaches the verification information verifying a successful modification of the connected vehicle communication system to operate on the next-generation communication standard of the mobility network (Bao: Abstract: “The present application relates to a connection establishment method and a device. The method comprises: a first device receives first information sent by a second device, the first information being used for requesting to establish a connection with the first device, the first information carrying a first parameter, and the first parameter being related to a historical connection; and when verification on the first parameter by the first device is successful, the first device sends response information of the first information to the second device, the response information of the first information being used for confirming that the first device can establish a connection.”; lines 143 – 144, lines 150 – 152 :“The technical solutions of the embodiments of the present application can be applied to various communication systems, such as… Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN), wireless fidelity (Wireless Fidelity, WiFi), fifth-generation communication (5th-Generation, 5G) system or other communication systems, etc.”; lines 300 – 301: “Next, the process of establishing a connection between the two devices respectively for the terminal device and the vehicle device to control the vehicle device”; lines 304 – 318: “S301. Establish a secure configuration channel between the terminal equipment and the vehicle equipment; S302. The terminal device configures the accessible identification code list to the vehicle device; S303. The vehicle equipment saves the identification code list; S304. The vehicle equipment returns to the configuration state; S305. The terminal device configures the certificate to the vehicle device; S306. The terminal equipment and vehicle equipment exit the configuration channel; S307. The terminal device sends an interoperability session establishment request to the vehicle device; S308. The vehicle device returns the interoperability establishment type it supports to the terminal device;”,
Supplemental Note: described above is a connection being verified between a terminal and a vehicle which can be done over a 5G network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Bao with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 18, Sarkar, as modified, teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from an application operating on a user equipment device, control information for performing modifications on the one or more components of the connected vehicle communications system, wherein the user equipment device is in communication with the mobility network; and (Sarkar: Paragraph 0037: “Turning now to FIG. 3, there is shown an embodiment of a method 300 for performing a vehicle software update. The update may have been downloaded previously via the VMU 100 or the telematics unit 30. The method begins with step 305 by the user 13 consenting to perform the software update—this may include providing an indication of consent to the vehicle 12 or using vehicle electronics 28. As will be explained more below, the vehicle first may provide a prompt or notification to the user 13 indicating the update is or may be available. The user's indication may be received by the vehicle 12 via a voice command, tactile input, touch screen input, etc. Regardless of how the consent is received, the method may next proceed to step 310.”; Paragraph 0038: “In step 310, the vehicle 12 may perform a verification process. The verification process may include: receiving the software update at the telematics unit 30 from a remote server (e.g., the computer 18 or from the call center 20) or receiving the update at the VMU 100 via SRWC or other suitable communication; comparing one or more ECU parameters (e.g., ECU 95ECM parameters) with one or more software update parameters; and providing the notifying step only when the one or more ECU parameters correspond with the one or more software update parameters. The ECU parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers of a target ECU (i.e., the ECU for which the software update is intended; in one example, ECUECM 95). Similarly, the software update parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers associated with the particular software update. In one embodiment, the ECU parameters may only correspond with the software update parameters when the software update identifiers match the ECU parameters or when the software update parameters are within a predetermined range of values of the ECU parameters (or vice-versa). The verification process may fail when the parameters do not correspond. When the verification fails, installation will not follow.”,
Supplemental Note: a software update can be sent to a vehicle from a remote server where it can be installed and updating ECU parameters of the vehicle)
providing, to the application operating on the user equipment device, confirmation information about the modified communications system (Sarkar: Paragraph 0040: “In step 315, the software update may be installed in the target ECU (e.g., ECU 95ECM). This may occur automatically or without further user interaction. Techniques for installing software updates are known to skilled artisans and will not be discussed in more detail here.”; Paragraph 0043: “Following step 330, the user 31 may ingress or re-enter the vehicle 12 having now installed the software update. In at least one implementation, prior to re-entry, the user has received notification indicating a completed software update installation has occurred. Thus, user 13 may re-enter the vehicle 12 at least partially in response to the notification. In this implementation, the user 13 may have assurance that his/her trip will not be delayed by the vehicle's request to finish the software update installation.”).
Regarding claim 19, Sarkar, as modified, does not teach wherein the communicating the vehicle information of the vehicle to the manufacturer of the vehicle comprises: communicating telematics information of the vehicle to the manufacturer of the vehicle.
Pradhan teaches wherein the communicating the vehicle information of the vehicle to the manufacturer of the vehicle comprises: (Pradhan: Paragraph 0034: “the one or more graphical user interfaces of the mobility communication application 108 may enable the user 104 to provide one or more remote commands that may be executed by the vehicle 102 and/or one or more IoT devices 106. In an exemplary embodiment, MQTT over SSL may be utilized to allow the communication of data that may associated with the execution of one or more remote commands from the vehicle 102 to an OEM server 116 to be published as a MQTT pub/sub message on the IoT broker 114.”,
Supplemental Note: once installed on the mobile device and connected with the OEM servers/vehicle. The OEM is able to connect with the vehicle)
communicating telematics information of the vehicle to the manufacturer of the vehicle (Pradhan: Paragraph 0046: “In an exemplary embodiment, the OEM server 116 may be owned and/or managed by a vehicle manufacturer (OEM). In additional embodiments, a third-party that may be associated with the OEM may own and/or manage the OEM server 116. The OEM server 116 may be used to send/receive data that may be associated with vehicles that are manufactured by the OEM. As such, data associated with one or more remote commands that are provided through the mobility communication application 108, one or more status updates that are provided by the vehicle 102, software updates that may be provided to one or more systems, sub-systems of the vehicle 102, and/or additional information related to the vehicle 102 may be managed through the OEM server 116 to be sent to the ECU 118 of the vehicle 102 and/or to the mobile device 110 to be presented to the user 104.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sarkar with the teachings of Pradhan with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 16, Sarkar teaches the ability of the vehicle system to receive software updates to keep their vehicle components up-to-date. Pradhan teaches the ability of the vehicle to connect with the OEM of the vehicle per its mobile communication application which allows the OEM to receive information related to the vehicle’s system status. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine this teaching of Pradhan with the vehicle of Sarkar. For example, any data pertaining to modifying the vehicle sub-system is able to be sent to the OEM, the OEM is then able to send updates to the vehicle which can allow the modified to work properly. In this example the vehicle can be in a non OEM maintenance shop getting repairs and once the OEM receives data about the repairs, they can provide the vehicle with updates so it can function properly.
Regarding claim 20, Sarkar, as modified, teaches wherein the modifying the one or more components of the connected vehicle communications system comprises: receiving updated software for a communications module of the connected vehicle communications system, the updated software operable to enable radio communication by the communications module according to the next-generation communication standard of the mobility network; and (Sarkar: Paragraph 0014: “Telematics unit 30 can be an OEM-installed (embedded) or aftermarket device that is installed in the vehicle and that enables wireless voice and/or data communication over wireless carrier system 14 and via wireless networking. This enables the vehicle to communicate with call center 20, other telematics-enabled vehicles, or some other entity or device. The telematics unit preferably uses radio transmissions to establish a communications channel (a voice channel and/or a data channel) with wireless carrier system 14 so that voice and/or data transmissions can be sent and received over the channel. By providing both voice and data communication, telematics unit 30 enables the vehicle to offer a number of different services including those related to navigation, telephony, emergency assistance, diagnostics, infotainment, etc. Data can be sent either via a data connection, such as via packet data transmission over a data channel, or via a voice channel using techniques known in the art. For combined services that involve both voice communication (e.g., with a live advisor or voice response unit at the call center 20) and data communication (e.g., to provide GPS location data or vehicle diagnostic data to the call center 20), the system can utilize a single call over a voice channel and switch as needed between voice and data transmission over the voice channel, and this can be done using techniques known to those skilled in the art.”; Paragraph 0037: “Turning now to FIG. 3, there is shown an embodiment of a method 300 for performing a vehicle software update. The update may have been downloaded previously via the VMU 100 or the telematics unit 30. The method begins with step 305 by the user 13 consenting to perform the software update—this may include providing an indication of consent to the vehicle 12 or using vehicle electronics 28. As will be explained more below, the vehicle first may provide a prompt or notification to the user 13 indicating the update is or may be available. The user's indication may be received by the vehicle 12 via a voice command, tactile input, touch screen input, etc. Regardless of how the consent is received, the method may next proceed to step 310.”; Paragraph 0038: “In step 310, the vehicle 12 may perform a verification process. The verification process may include: receiving the software update at the telematics unit 30 from a remote server (e.g., the computer 18 or from the call center 20) or receiving the update at the VMU 100 via SRWC or other suitable communication; comparing one or more ECU parameters (e.g., ECU 95ECM parameters) with one or more software update parameters; and providing the notifying step only when the one or more ECU parameters correspond with the one or more software update parameters. The ECU parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers of a target ECU (i.e., the ECU for which the software update is intended; in one example, ECUECM 95). Similarly, the software update parameters may include software and calibration part identifiers associated with the particular software update. In one embodiment, the ECU parameters may only correspond with the software update parameters when the software update identifiers match the ECU parameters or when the software update parameters are within a predetermined range of values of the ECU parameters (or vice-versa). The verification process may fail when the parameters do not correspond. When the verification fails, installation will not follow.”,
Supplemental Note: a software update can be sent to a vehicle from a remote server where it can be installed and updating ECU parameters of the vehicle)
installing the updated software for subsequent control of the communications module (Sarkar: Paragraph 0040: “In step 315, the software update may be installed in the target ECU (e.g., ECU 95ECM). This may occur automatically or without further user interaction. Techniques for installing software updates are known to skilled artisans and will not be discussed in more detail here.”; Paragraph 0043: “Following step 330, the user 31 may ingress or re-enter the vehicle 12 having now installed the software update. In at least one implementation, prior to re-entry, the user has received notification indicating a completed software update installation has occurred. Thus, user 13 may re-enter the vehicle 12 at least partially in response to the notification. In this implementation, the user 13 may have assurance that his/her trip will not be delayed by the vehicle's request to finish the software update installation.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112 of the Remarks, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) indefiniteness rejection of claims 1 – 11 and 14 – 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) indefiniteness rejection of claims 1 – 11 and 14 – 16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112 of the Remarks, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection of claims 1 – 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant states regarding claim 1, neither the prior art of Sarkar or Pradhan teach the amended claim limitations of "modifying one or more components of a connected vehicle communication system of a vehicle... to ensure compatibility with a next-generation mobile network standard for the mobile network of the mobile network operator," or "confirming ... operational connectivity among the one or more components of the connected vehicle communication system to meet performance metrics of the next-generation mobile network standard," or “communicating ... information ... verifying successful modification of the connected vehicle communication system to operate on the next- generation mobile network standard.". Examiner agrees however, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim (US 20220069450 A1) and Bao (WO2024031699A1). Furthermore, independent claims 12 and 17 recite similar claim amendments as stated in claim 1 and therefore still rejected for the same reasons. Please see section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above for the prior art citations and motivation to combine.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665