DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 7-8 have been added. Claims 1-8 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzgibbons (US 2007/0265749 A1) hereinafter Fitzgibbons and Soltis (US 4,621,833) hereinafter Soltis.
Claim 1:
Fitzgibbons discloses a vehicle control system, comprising: a damper configured to damp a vibration of a vehicle [¶¶12, 17; Items 112, 114]; a vehicle height adjuster configured to adjust the height of a vehicle [¶¶17; Item 104]; a controller [101] configured to change a setting of at least one of a damping force of the damper and the height of the vehicle by a user selection signal indicating selection by a user [¶17; Item 102; Figs. 3-4]; and a notification unit comprising at least one of a speaker or a vibrator and configured to use at least one selected from the group consisting of a sound, a vibration, and an appearance of the vehicle [¶20; Item 103] wherein the controller is capable of changing, depending on the user selection signal, only the damping force, only the height of the vehicle, or both the damping force and the height of the vehicle, and is configured to drive the vehicle height adjuster when changing the height of the vehicle [¶¶12, 17; "In various embodiments, mode controller 101 can output control signals to one or more of subsystems 104-115 to set the subsystems to a particular state in response to receiving an operator input for a particular mobility traction control mode and/or setting via input apparatus 102"].
Fitzgibbons doesn’t explicitly disclose (the notification unit is used) in conjunction with the change of the setting in response to the user selection signal to notify the user that the setting has changed.
However, Soltis does disclose (the notification unit is used) in conjunction with the change of the setting in response to the user selection signal to notify the user that the setting has changed. [col. 8, lines 13-20]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle control system of Fitzgibbons with the indicator light of Soltis to inform the driver of which state the vehicle is in to ensure appropriate performance for given conditions.
Claim 4:
Fitzgibbons and Soltis, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Fitzgibbons also discloses wherein a device configured to be able to communicate with the controller is included in the notification unit [¶20; Items 101, 103].
Claim 5:
Fitzgibbons discloses a vehicle control system, comprising: a damper configured to damp a vibration of a vehicle [¶¶12, 17; Items 112, 114]; a vehicle height adjuster configured to adjust the height of a vehicle; [¶¶17; Item 104]; a controller [101] configured to change settings of a damping force of the damper and the height of the vehicle by a user selection signal indicating selection by a user [¶17; Item 102; Figs. 3-4]; and a notification unit comprising at least one of a speaker or a vibrator and configured to use at least one selected from the group consisting of a sound, a vibration, and an appearance of the vehicle [¶20; Item 103] wherein the controller is capable of changing, depending on the user selection signal, only the damping force, only the height of the vehicle, or both the damping force and the height of the vehicle, and is configured to drive the vehicle height adjuster when changing the height of the vehicle [¶¶12, 17; "In various embodiments, mode controller 101 can output control signals to one or more of subsystems 104-115 to set the subsystems to a particular state in response to receiving an operator input for a particular mobility traction control mode and/or setting via input apparatus 102"].
Fitzgibbons doesn’t explicitly disclose (the notification unit is used) in conjunction with the change of the setting in response to the user selection signal to notify the user that the setting has changed.
However, Soltis does disclose (the notification unit is used) in conjunction with the change of the setting in response to the user selection signal to notify the user that the setting has changed. [col. 8, lines 13-20]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle control system of Fitzgibbons with the indicator light of Soltis to inform the driver of which state the vehicle is in to ensure appropriate performance for given conditions.
Claim 6:
Fitzgibbons discloses a vehicle control system, comprising: a damper configured to damp a vibration of a vehicle [¶¶12, 17; Items 112, 114]; a vehicle height adjuster configured to adjust the height of a vehicle [¶¶17; Item 104]; a controller [101] configured to change a setting of at least one of a damping force of the damper [22, 24, 26, 28] and the height of the vehicle by a user selection signal indicating selection by a user[¶17; Item 102; Figs. 3-4]; and a notification unit comprising at least one of a speaker or a vibrator and configured to use at least one selected from the group consisting of a sound and a vibration [¶20; Item 103] the controller is capable of changing, depending on the user selection signal, only the damping force, only the height of the vehicle, or both the damping force and the height of the vehicle, and is configured to drive the vehicle height adjuster when changing the height of the vehicle [¶¶12, 17; "In various embodiments, mode controller 101 can output control signals to one or more of subsystems 104-115 to set the subsystems to a particular state in response to receiving an operator input for a particular mobility traction control mode and/or setting via input apparatus 102"].
Fitzgibbons doesn’t explicitly disclose (the notification unit is used) in conjunction with the change of the setting in response to the user selection signal to notify the user that the setting has changed.
However, Soltis does disclose (the notification unit is used) in conjunction with the change of the setting in response to the user selection signal to notify the user that the setting has changed. [col. 8, lines 13-20]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle control system of Fitzgibbons with the indicator light of Soltis to inform the driver of which state the vehicle is in to ensure appropriate performance for given conditions.
Claim 8:
Fitzgibbons and Soltis, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Fitzgibbons also discloses wherein the notification unit is configured,
Fitzgibbons doesn’t explicitly disclose (notification unit is configured) in association with the change of the setting.
However, Soltis does disclose (notification unit is configured) in association with the change of the setting [col. 8, lines 13-20].
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzgibbons and Soltis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bell et al. (US 2004/0159515 A1) hereinafter Bell.
Claim 2:
Fitzgibbons and Soltis, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Fitzgibbons discloses the notification unit [103] uses the at least one selected from the group consisting of the sound, the vibration, and the appearance [¶20; Item 103].
Fitzgibbons doesn’t explicitly disclose further comprising: an adjustment unit configured to adjust a load applied in advance to an elastic body provided in the controller, wherein: controller is configured to change the setting of the at least one and a setting of the load; and to notify the user of a change in the setting of the at least one and the setting of the load.
However, Bell does disclose further comprising: an adjustment unit configured to adjust a load applied in advance to an elastic body provided in the controller, wherein: controller is configured to change the setting of the at least one and a setting of the load [Abstract].
Further, Soltis discloses to notify the user of a change in the setting of the at least one and the setting of the load. [col. 8, lines 13-20]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle control system of Fitzgibbons and Soltis with the load adjustment of Bell to maintain vehicle ride height.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzgibbons and Soltis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bartsch et al. (DE102018215606A1) hereinafter Bartsch.
Claim 3:
Fitzgibbons and Soltis, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Fitzgibbons doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the controller vibrates a member provided inside or outside the damper when the setting is changed.
However, Bartsch does disclose wherein the controller vibrates a member provided inside or outside the damper when the setting is changed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle control system of Fitzgibbons and Soltis with the vibration of Bartsch to maintain vehicle ride height.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzgibbons and Soltis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Coombs et al. (US 2021/0061040 A1) hereinafter Coombs.
Claim 7:
Fitzgibbons and Soltis, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Fitzgibbons discloses wherein the notification unit is provided separately from the damper and the vehicle height adjuster [¶20; Item 103].
Fitzgibbons doesn’t explicitly disclose is configured to wirelessly communicate with the controller.
However, Coombs discloses is configured to wirelessly communicate with the controller. [¶36]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle control system of Fitzgibbons and Soltis with the wireless alert of Coombs to provide flexibility on the mounting position of the notification system.
Conclusion
KURT P. LIETHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747