DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on August 25, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on August 25, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species I and II are the same species. This is not found persuasive because while species 2 may be employable to implement the IC package of Fig. 1, it is not the same species/invention. Species 2 has seven moisture channels, which is structurally distinct from Species 1. The Applicant is reminded that the MPEP states that there can be only one patent per invention, hence one invention per application.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Action on the merits is as follows:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an interconnect having a substrate with pads…wherein copper posts are coupled to pads of the substrate” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Zhang) (US 2023/0234835 A1) in view of Luo et al. (Luo) (US 2022/0210911 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Zhang (Fig. 4 and associated text) discloses an IC (integrated circuit) package (Fig. 4) comprising: an interconnect (item 120 plus shown but not labeled pads) having a substrate (item 120) with pads (shown but not labeled pads); a die (item 110) having moisture channels (item 113) and bond pads (item 114); solder balls (item 115) formed on the bond pads (item 114) of the die (item 110), wherein the solder balls (item 115) are coupled of the pads of the substrate (item 120); and a mold compound (item 400) encapsulating the die (item 110), the solder balls (item 115) and a portion of the interconnect (item 120 plus shown but not labeled pads), but does not specifically disclose copper post.
Luo (Figs. 2E, 2F, 4E and associated text) discloses copper posts (item 114) formed on the bond pads (item 108) of the die (item 102), wherein the copper posts (item 114) are coupled to pads (item 117) of the substrate (item 158, 458); and a mold compound (item 162) encapsulating the die (item 102), the copper posts (item 114) and a portion of the interconnect (458 plus 117 or 158 plus 117).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Luo for the purpose of an electrical connection.
In regards to claim 2, Zhang (Fig. 4 and associated text) discloses wherein the moisture channels (item 113) are through holes.
In regards to claim 4, Zhang (Fig. 4 and associated text) discloses wherein the moisture channels (item 113) are proximate a center of the die (item 110).
In regards to claim 5, Zhang (Fig. 4 and associated text) as modified by Luo (Figs. 2E, 2F, 4E and associated text) discloses wherein the copper posts (item 114, Luo) are adhered to the pads (shown but not labeled, Zhang) of the substrate (item 120) with solder.
In regards to claim 6, Zhang (Fig. 4 and associated text) as modified by Luo (Figs. 2E, 2F, 4E and associated text) discloses wherein the copper posts (item 114, Luo) are formed on metal pads (item 114, Zhang) of a metTop layer (layer containing item 114, Zhang) of the die (item 110, Zhang, item 102, Luo).
In regards to claim 7, Zhang (Fig. 4 and associated text) as modified by Luo (Figs. 2E, 2F, 4E and associated text) discloses wherein the mold compound (item 400, Zhang, item 162, Luo) is plastic (paragraph 36, Luo).
In regards to claim 8, Zhang (Fig. 4 and associated text) as modified by Luo (Figs. 2E, 2F, 4E and associated text) discloses wherein the mold compound (item 400, Zhang, item 162, Luo) has a water vapor transmission rate of at least 3 milligrams per square meter per day. Examiner notes that Luo discloses the same material as the Applicant, therefore the mold compound of Luo shares the same characteristics.
In regards to claim 9, Zhang (Fig. 4 and associated text) as modified by Luo (Figs. 2E, 2F, 4E and associated text) discloses wherein a moisture content of the moisture channels (item 113) is lower than regions of the IC package (Fig. 4) circumscribing the moisture channels (item 113).
In regards to claim 10, Zhang (Fig. 4 and associated text) as modified by Luo (Figs. 1, 2E, 2F, 4E and associated text) discloses wherein the IC package (Fig. 4, Zhang, Figs. 2E, 4E, Luo) is a quad flat no-leads (QFN) IC package (Fig. 1, paragraphs 6, 27, 31, Luo).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Zhang) (US 2023/0234835 A1) in view of Luo et al. (Luo) (US 2022/0210911 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2 and 4-10 above, and further in view of King, JR. et al. (King, JR.) (US 2012/0228779 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Zhang as modified by Luo does not specifically disclose wherein the through holes have a diameter of about 40 micrometers to about 200 micrometers.
King, JR. (Figs. 2, 4, 5A-5C, 6A, 6B, 10, 12 and associated text) discloses wherein the through holes (item 230, Fluidic TSV) have a diameter of about 40 micrometers to about 200 micrometers (paragraph 50).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of King, JR. for the purpose of fluidic routing.
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 September 22, 2026