DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alon-Braitbart et al., US 2020/0192288 A1 (cited in the IDS of January 18, 2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Alon-Braitbart discloses: A holographic display for displaying a computer-generated hologram from a three-dimensional image comprising a plurality of two-dimensional image layers, the holographic display comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
an illumination source configured to emit at least partially coherent light (coherent light 110 is projected onto SLM 104; paragraph [0125] and FIG. 1A of Alon-Braitbart);
a spatial light modulator (SLM 104; paragraph [0125] and FIG. 1A of Alon-Braitbart); and
a controller (CGH [computer generated hologram] computing unit 102; paragraph [0126] and FIG. 1A of Alon-Braitbart) configured to:
generate hologram data for each two-dimensional image layer of the three-dimensional image (first computing unit 120 receives data 125 describing a 3D scene, then calculates a hologram for producing the 3D scene as a 2D image, and a second computing unit 121 uses the received hologram for producing a holographic image of the 3D scene; paragraphs [0128]-[0168] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D of Alon-Braitbart);
update the hologram data of at least one two-dimensional image layer of the three-dimensional image based on the hologram data of the other two-dimensional image layers of the three-dimensional image (iterations are performed for a small number of Z-values, including adjusting the first optimized matrix by making, for each one of the plurality of slices, a correction to the complex amplitude associated with a depth of each of the plurality of slices along the viewing direction, and performing depth-related changes/corrections to a hologram of a 2D image representing a 3D scene, including making changes only to “regions of interest” in an image, such as portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping; paragraphs [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0220] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D of Alon-Braitbart); and
operate the spatial light modulator to display a hologram of the three-dimensional image based on: the updated hologram data of the at least one two-dimensional image layer; and the hologram data of the other two-dimensional image layers (adjusting the first optimized matrix by making, for each one of the plurality of slices, a correction to the complex amplitude associated with a depth of each of the plurality of slices along the viewing direction, and performing depth-related changes/corrections to a hologram of a 2D image representing a 3D scene, including making changes only to “regions of interest” in an image, such as portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping; paragraphs [0169], [0183] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 2, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the controller is configured to: iteratively update the hologram data of the at least one two-dimensional image layer based on the hologram data of the other two-dimensional image layers; and for at least two iterations, operate the spatial light modulator to display a hologram based on: the updated hologram data of the at least one two-dimensional image layer determined during that iteration; and the hologram data of the other two-dimensional image layers (ten or more iterations may be performed, the iterations comprising other 2D image layers, as explained above with respect to Claim 1; paragraphs [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0188], [0220] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D, 4 of Alon-Braitbart, but see especially paragraph [0188] and FIG. 4 of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 3, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein to update the hologram data of at least one two-dimensional image layer of the three-dimensional image based on the hologram data of the other two-dimensional image layers of the image, comprises the controller being configured to: update the hologram data of only one two-dimensional image layer of the three- dimensional image at any one time (iterations may be performed for a small number of Z-values, including only one Z-value; paragraph [0123] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 4, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein to operate the spatial light modulator to display the hologram, comprises the controller being configured to operate the spatial light modulator to display the hologram data using speckle reduction (the disclosure of Alon-Braitbart notes that in contrast to a method which takes into account the other image slices, a conventional method will introduce the problem of speckling; paragraphs [0122], [0265] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 5, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the three-dimensional image comprising the plurality of two-dimensional image layers corresponds to a current frame of video data, the video data comprising a plurality of frames including the current frame and a previous frame, each of the plurality of frames being a three-dimensional image comprising a plurality of two-dimensional image layers, wherein to generate hologram data for each two- dimensional image layer of the three-dimensional image comprises the controller being configured to, for each two-dimensional image layer of the plurality of two-dimensional image layers: generate hologram data of the current frame using both: two-dimensional image data of the current frame; and constraining data, wherein the constraining data is based on hologram data of the previous frame (an addressable spatial light modulator [SLM] enables a rapid series of images, i.e., video, and the parameters involving selection of “regions of interest”, portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping, may be identified as the claimed “constraining data”; paragraphs [0011], [0012], [0038], [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0220] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 6, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 5 and further discloses: wherein the constraining data comprises a two-dimensional array comprising constraining data for at least two two-dimensional image layers (parameters involving selection of “regions of interest”, portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping, which may be identified as the claimed “constraining data”; paragraphs [0011], [0012], [0038], [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0220] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 9, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 5 and further discloses: wherein the constraining data is updated based on determined motion between the previous frame and the current frame (analytical change in the complex amplitude due to the change Z0 of a single slice; paragraph [0200] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 10, Alon-Braitbart discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable medium (software instructions being executed by a computer using a suitable operating system; paragraph [0063] of Alon-Braitbart)
comprising instructions that, when executed by a controller of a holographic display, instructs the controller to generate a computer-generated hologram from a three-dimensional image comprising a plurality of two- dimensional image layers (CGH [computer generated hologram] computing unit 102; paragraph [0126] and FIG. 1A of Alon-Braitbart) by:
generating hologram data for each two-dimensional image layer of the three- dimensional image (first computing unit 120 receives data 125 describing a 3D scene, then calculates a hologram for producing the 3D scene as a 2D image, and a second computing unit 121 uses the received hologram for producing a holographic image of the 3D scene; paragraphs [0128]-[0168] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D of Alon-Braitbart); and
updating the hologram data of at least one two-dimensional image layer of the three- dimensional image based on the hologram data of other two-dimensional image layers of the three-dimensional image (iterations are performed for a small number of Z-values, including adjusting the first optimized matrix by making, for each one of the plurality of slices, a correction to the complex amplitude associated with a depth of each of the plurality of slices along the viewing direction, and performing depth-related changes/corrections to a hologram of a 2D image representing a 3D scene, including making changes only to “regions of interest” in an image, such as portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping; paragraphs [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0220] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 11, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 10 and further discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, instruct the controller to: iteratively update the hologram data of the at least one two-dimensional image layer based on the hologram data of other two-dimensional image layers; and for at least two iterations, cause a hologram to be displayed based on: the updated hologram data of the at least one two-dimensional image layer determined during that iteration; and the hologram data of other two-dimensional image layers (ten or more iterations may be performed, the iterations comprising other 2D image layers, as explained above with respect to Claim 1; paragraphs [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0188], [0220] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D, 4 of Alon-Braitbart, but see especially paragraph [0188] and FIG. 4 of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 12, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 10 and further discloses: wherein updating the hologram data of at least one two-dimensional image layer of the three-dimensional image based on the hologram data of the other two dimensional image layers of the image, comprises: updating the hologram data of only one dimensional image layer of the three- dimensional image at any one time (iterations may be performed for a small number of Z-values, including only one Z-value; paragraph [0123] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 13, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 10 and further discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, instruct the controller to display the hologram data using speckle reduction (the disclosure of Alon-Braitbart notes that in contrast to a method which takes into account the other image slices, a conventional method will introduce the problem of speckling; paragraphs [0122], [0265] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 14, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 10 and further discloses: wherein the three-dimensional image comprising the plurality of two-dimensional image layers corresponds to a current frame of video data, the video data comprising a plurality of frames including the current frame and a previous frame, each of the plurality of frames being a three-dimensional image comprising a plurality of two-dimensional image layers, wherein generating hologram data for each two-dimensional image layer of the three-dimensional image comprises, for each two-dimensional image layer of the plurality of two-dimensional image layers: generating hologram data of the current frame using both: two-dimensional image data of the current frame; and constraining data, wherein the constraining data is based on hologram data of the previous frame (an addressable spatial light modulator [SLM] enables a rapid series of images, i.e., video, and the parameters involving selection of “regions of interest”, portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping, may be identified as the claimed “constraining data”; paragraphs [0011], [0012], [0038], [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0220] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 15, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 14 and further discloses: wherein the constraining data comprises a two-dimensional array comprising constraining data for at least two two-dimensional image layers (parameters involving selection of “regions of interest”, portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping, which may be identified as the claimed “constraining data”; paragraphs [0011], [0012], [0038], [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0220] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 18, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 14 and further discloses: wherein the constraining data is updated based on determined motion between the previous frame and the current frame (analytical change in the complex amplitude due to the change Z0 of a single slice; paragraph [0200] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 19, Alon-Braitbart discloses: A computer implemented method of generating a computer-generated hologram from a three-dimensional image comprising a plurality of two-dimensional image layers (software instructions being executed by a computer using a suitable operating system; paragraphs [0063], [0125], [0126] of Alon-Braitbart), the method comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
generating hologram data for each two-dimensional image layer of the three-dimensional image (first computing unit 120 receives data 125 describing a 3D scene, then calculates a hologram for producing the 3D scene as a 2D image, and a second computing unit 121 uses the received hologram for producing a holographic image of the 3D scene; paragraphs [0128]-[0168] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D of Alon-Braitbart);
updating the hologram data of at least one two-dimensional image layer of the three- dimensional image based on the hologram data of other two-dimensional image layers of the three-dimensional image (iterations are performed for a small number of Z-values, including adjusting the first optimized matrix by making, for each one of the plurality of slices, a correction to the complex amplitude associated with a depth of each of the plurality of slices along the viewing direction, and performing depth-related changes/corrections to a hologram of a 2D image representing a 3D scene, including making changes only to “regions of interest” in an image, such as portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping; paragraphs [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0220] and FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A-2D, 3A-3D of Alon-Braitbart); and
displaying a hologram of the three-dimensional image based on: the updated hologram data of the at least one two-dimensional image layer; and the hologram data of the other two-dimensional image layers (adjusting the first optimized matrix by making, for each one of the plurality of slices, a correction to the complex amplitude associated with a depth of each of the plurality of slices along the viewing direction, and performing depth-related changes/corrections to a hologram of a 2D image representing a 3D scene, including making changes only to “regions of interest” in an image, such as portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping; paragraphs [0169], [0183] of Alon-Braitbart).
Regarding Claim 20, Alon-Braitbart discloses the limitations of Claim 19 and further discloses: wherein the three-dimensional image comprising the plurality of two-dimensional image layers corresponds to a current frame of video data, the video data comprising a plurality of frames including the current frame and a previous frame, each of the plurality of frames being a three-dimensional image comprising a plurality of two-dimensional image layers, wherein generating hologram data for each layer of the image comprises, for each two-dimensional image layer of the plurality of two-dimensional image layers: generating hologram data of the current frame using both: two-dimensional image data of the current frame; and constraining data, wherein the constraining data is based on hologram data of the previous frame (an addressable spatial light modulator [SLM] enables a rapid series of images, i.e., video, and the parameters involving selection of “regions of interest”, portions of several slices, slices which include a relatively large area, or slices which are part of a feature steeply sloping, may be identified as the claimed “constraining data”; paragraphs [0011], [0012], [0038], [0042], [0123], [0169], [0183], [0187], [0220] of Alon-Braitbart).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of their base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
With respect to Claims 7, 8, 16 and 17, although the prior art discloses various holographic displays and computer instructions therefor, including:
AND
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
OR
OR
OR
Examiner Note – Consider Entirety of References
Although various text and figures of the cited references have been specifically cited in this Office Action to show disclosures and teachings which correspond to specific claim language, Applicant is advised to consider the complete disclosure of each reference, including portions which have not been specifically cited by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN S DUNNING whose telephone number is 571-272-4879. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 10:30AM to 7:00PM Eastern Time Zone. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/RYAN S DUNNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872